Hostelworld.com

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.9
Encore Express Hotel/Hostel Located at 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco.
Encore Express Hotel/Hostel
USA
San Francisco California 94109 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA
76% 885
37.7888151 -122.4196002
Encore Express Hotel/Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.0

The hostel/hotel is in a good safe and clean location. I wouldn't really say it's a hostel as it doesn't have any cooking facility's only one microwave however the rooms have fridges and they offer free tea and coffee. There are a few washing machines you can do laundry in. The rooms are clean as well as the bathrooms. The manager is very kind man and very facilitating. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.6

Really good, nice and clean and very central. Only thing is there isn't a common area. It's also good that since it's unstaffed from 11pm you don't get people checking in all through the night, they also put a group of us all checking out on the same day which made it way better! Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
9.1

This is an excellent option if you're looking for a cheap stay in downtown San Fran. I stayed in the 4-bed girls dorm and had a lower double bunk to myself. The room was carpeted and had a sink, fridge, desk and closet. There's only a small locker for your valuables, but my roommates were super chill and I never worried about my stuff being stolen. Loved the atmosphere, the security (you had to swipe into all the doors) and the area is poppin' with bars (but also lots of homeless).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Extremely nice hostel! It was lovely to bump into a member of the staff that was from the same state as me. Very clean room. There is a music studio below and so there was often music playing but i found that lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
4.9

Smells bad, only two showers and toilets for an entire floor, not in the greatest location, bedbug central. Not worth it. Spend the extra money to avoid this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
29th May 2016
7.4

Good hostel, just wish there was a common area to meet some people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
3.7

This was a sub par experience for me. One of the biggest things was that I felt that their claim that they have lockers is unfair. The lockers are tiny, enough only for a shoebox, certainly not a backpack. They had luggage racks, but that's not very useful for someone who needs to access their stuff relatively frequently, or without hassle. The rooms were very small, which is understandable given SF. That, in combination with loud metal stairs and a peculiar plastic lining in the bed...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
9.7

Staff is super friendly and helpful. I've been to a few hostels an Encore stands out from them. Also I'm consistently able to have good sleep in a dorm room (which is unusual for hostels). All is clean and tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sayaleekarkare6791
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
5.7

Getting to Encore Express involves navigating some sketchy streets full of homeless folks, which doesn't feel entirely safe. Once inside, the premises felt secure enough. The staff was brisk and abrupt; they could be friendlier (it's free!). The biggest drawback is that the hotel/hostel does not have a common room where you can relax, have a coffee, plan your day, and most importantly, meet other travelers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.9

great value and a wonderful location. staff was very helpful and facilities were pretty clean. a good place to stay if you want a cheap room in the city, not ideal for making friends or socializing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.