X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel Reviews

1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
729 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Pros: Cheap Stay for 1 night, Safe, Good enough to sleep, mostly empty CONS: Smelly rooms & carpet, 1 shower only for the entire upstairs hostel, Out of 3 staff i delt with 2 were 'ok' and one guy was less than ok, short answers, no smiles, no enthusism to help, it was obvious that the managment of this place is not being kind to their employees. Next time i will pay more and stay at a nicer place, I also got sick after getting back from my trip and i suspect i got it from the smelly room.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

It was clean and clerk was very helpful.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is well worth the money. The reception could do a better job in explaining about smaller things like, how often they change the towels, that coffee is included and where to find it, where to do laundry if necessary and where to get washing powder, if anything else is included, or what happens in the basement (bands playing). I wasn't informed about any of these things. These are minor things since I found out by myself but it would have been nice to know. Staff was friendly though!


46%

This place needs direction, its currently trying to be a hotel hostel but is actually neither. There is no common area where guests can relax, the décor is old and the place is falling apart. Until they clean up their act I suggest staying at USA Hostels or HI International.


20%

Horrific .

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Best buck for your 💰 money.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Worth for money you spend, all facilities were prepared and no problem even if u need to share with others

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Came in pretty quickly, the staff didn't have a bed available but said one would be ready soon enoug, 2 hours later, bed is free and in i go! nice room, staff were great.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

really good place but a little bit noisy due to the music recording studio on the entrance.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

To say it is renovated is overstatement. Bathrooms updated but rooms have dirty old carpet. No coomon areas to socialise no kitchen facilities


77%

Pros: clean, very secure, in-room lockers, excellent provision for afterhours arrival, helpful staff, Cons: no common space whatsoever, kitchen available in certain dorms only, cramped dorms, more of a budget hotel with bunks than an actual hostel. Overall: a solid option, but not conducive to meeting people.


74%

This hostel has local people in short trips to work in SAn Francisco. If you are looking for a place where you can meet other travellers and have fun, this is not the best place.


69%

Location was relatively central, close to public transport. It's just north of one of the worst places in San Fran, but avoid Tenderloin and you'll be fine. You need a card to enter the building and to enter all rooms and bathrooms, so security was good that way. Staff were helpful when asked, but not outstanding. Not really a hostel atmosphere - more like a hotel with a few hostel-like qualities (dorms, shared bathrooms, minimal food facilities). Adequately clean. Overall, a decent stay.


69%

Was fairly clean, and linen also seemed clean. No social areas though, so not such a great atmosphere! I was pleasantly surprised to find cooking facilities in my dorm though, which was a generous size and also included a table and chairs. Overall, good stay for a quiet night.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Common room and kitchen is needed.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

A nice hostel on a quiet street. I stayed in a private which was well furnished and comfortable. Two things let the hostel down though, the bands practising in the basement until 11.15 every night which you can hear faintly in the rooms and the unreliable wifi. Otherwise it was a great, reasonably priced place.


83%

A little inconvenient for me that they don't take cash payments but it turned out to be a small problem. Overall I really liked the place and would stay here again. Good location, clean, fun atmosphere and there's even a practice studio in the basement for any would-be musicians.


69%

Excellent location geographically but it is right above a music practice room and there are bands playing loudly much of the time. The six bed dorm was extremely cramped and there is no common area so this is fine as just a place to sleep but definitely not to hangout. Just bring ear plugs! Also they don't have any parking, if you have a car be ready to pay $22/night at a garage.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

the best stay I had in month!


80%

There is no public space whatsoever, which completely ruins the atmosphere and makes dorm style rooms much much less satisfying. The beds were quite rickety, and therefor loud. Every movement created squeaks. The mattresses were covered in a plastic that doesn't breathe at all, and makes one sweat at night. The rooms were clean and the shower and bathroom facilities were stellar. The security was tight, and the location was pretty good. The staff were very nice and helpful.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback