Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 934 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 934 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.8
Encore Express Hotel/Hostel Located at 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA, San Francisco.
Encore Express Hotel/Hostel
USA
San Francisco California 94109 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco CA
75% 934
37.7888151 -122.4196002
Encore Express Hotel/Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.9

Had a great stay here! Perfect location to the wharf, downtown and transport to other parts of the city. Staff were super friendly and rooms really clean. Noise from the bands down stairs was a little disruptive but they finish no later than 11 so it was totally fine after that! Definitely recommend to someone coming to Sanfransisco for the first time or frequent travellers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
5.1

Really didn't have a good stay here. Rooms vary HUGELY in size. Some are so small and cramped you literally can't move. There are no amenities; no kitchen, no common room, no breakfast. If you're in a shared bathroom dorm there's only 3 showers for the entire floor. I waited over an hour to have a shower. You're basically paying a LOT of money for an uncomfortable bed. I've been in San Fran a while and there are much better hostels than this.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
4.3

Extremely cramped room, loads of noise constantly! Not very good facilities and rubbish value for money! Wouldn't recommend to anyone!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
6.6

Biggest problem was that they have no social area so it was't great for a solo traveler like myself. The wifi barely worked when you were in your room but the 6 bed dorm was clean, the bed was really comfy and staff were all helpful whenever I had any questions.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • WouldIComeBack
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.6

The staff were all very friendly &helpful. It was a different but very appreciated experience having your bed made & new towel (albeit I think a bit wasteful as I would've liked to reuse my towel a couple more times) each day. The room was very small which was manageable until 4 different travellers were all checking out on the same day. The plastic on the beds and swipe key into the bathrooms were a bit weird. There was no common area so the smell of food can linger if someone ate in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
7.1

Nice enough. Staff was very friendly, basement was awesome.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
5.7

Uncomfortable beds, door made a loud noise when opened or closed, stuffy carpet, too expensive for such a poor accommodation, doesn't accept cash. The person at the front desk was very nice but barely helpful with directions and suggestions as she was from out of town. Other than that, the only positive thing about the place is it's location. We will not be back. Sorry!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • NstKoala
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
8.9

It's a nice place to stay: close to everything and not so many hobos in the streets, a lot of bars, grocery store and Walgreens. Everything was clean: shared bathrooms, the rooms, they changed towels and beds and cleaned every day. The staff is friendly and helpful. The wi-fi is great! Minuses: a rat/mice gnawed a hole in my paper bag during the night. And they let homeless people stay in the room with us - they were clean and ok but tensed and I didn't feel relaxed in the their presence.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2016
6.3

This hostel was clean and in a good location for quite a good price. If you're travelling on a budget its fine. That being said the atmosphere here is not good, the people in my room were not interested in socialising and since there is no common area no real chance to meet people from other rooms. As a solo traveller not the best experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.1

Very clean hostel, friendly and helpful staff. Located in a nice area. Unfortunately no real common area. Would definitely recommend this hostel, much better and cheaper than other hostels in SF.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.