Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Encounters Hostel and Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Encounters Hostel and Guest House Located at #89, Street 108, , Phnom Penh.
Encounters Hostel and Guest House
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Phnom Penh A00 001 #89, Street 108
85% 418
11.5729127 104.9219655
Encounters Hostel and Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.3

We stayed in a 6-bed ensuite dorm with individual lockers (with a plug socket) just outside the room. There was a board where you could sign up to the killing fields in order to share a tuk tuk which the hostel organised. Somewhere nice to stay for a couple of nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel. I plan to stay here again when passing through Phnom Penh again. Really enjoyed how helpful the staff are, good food, VERY helpful with bus and transportation info/bookings, good internet, cold A/C in the rooms, friendly atmosphere, good security. Very good hostel. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
5.7

Staff seems friendly, but can be a bit over-bearing at times. This hostel isn't very conducive to meeting others. The staff is generally nice, but the cleaning ladies came way too early in the morning, waved me off my bed, and unplugged my fan at 8.30am so they could re-make the sheets. Beds are somewhat-comfortable mattresses on the floor. NO A/C, NO HOT WATER, HEAPS OF MOSQUITOES. If you're looking to save a few bucks and don't care too much about the crying babies, this hostel is for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
8.0

Great price and location. The owner is a native English speaker and knows a lot about the city,and is very helpful. The hostel is nothing fancy but is clean and you can get a good night's rest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.6

Good location close to the market and river. Very helpful with setting up our Killing Fields tour. The ensuite bathroom had a smell to it, but keeping the door closed prevented the room from smelling. Very cold AC!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Robert and his wife, the owners of the place are awesome!! I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with ac which was massive and spacious for, plenty for 4 people. The other rooms are like giant areas with mattresses on the floor and every bed has its own fan. You get a towel and a locker with a lock which is nice plus the food is delicious and the location is perfect, very central. I highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Our stay at encounters was wonderful. Robert and his wife, the owners, were incredibly helpful. They gave us advice on everything we could have possibly asked for in Phnom Penh. The place is self was a pretty standard budget hostel. AC and Internet were pretty reliable. Also there's a white board where you can sign up for group tuk tuks to major sights which is helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
8.6

I had a great stay here, the WiFi is superb, the location is good, close to some attractions, the staff are nice and helpful, and provide tons of information on Phnom Penh. nice atmosphere and good place to meet other traveller's. Everything is kept very clean and my room was great. They serve simple food, mostly English food like beans on toast. only negative I can think of is the shower's have no hot water, just lukewarm, but its not the end of the world. I would stay here again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
10.0

100% would stay here again. Stayed in the 4 person A/C dorm room, it was great. Owner Rob was excellent, very helpful and knowlegable in regards to the area and Cambodia in general. He was able to organise buses for us! Very very cheap hostel great value for money. This was quite a quiet hostel, nice to relax in and meet new people. Food was also cheap and tasty! Can't fault Encounters hostel at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
8.6

The owner was very friendly and helpful! Also he vas knowledgable and helped book transit to my next city. The location is pretty good. The palace is a bit of a walk but definitely doable. The air conditioning was perfect. Also the other staff is very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.