Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Encounters Hostel and Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
Encounters Hostel and Guest House Located at #89, Street 108, , Phnom Penh.
Encounters Hostel and Guest House
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Phnom Penh A00 001 #89, Street 108
85% 426
11.5729127 104.9219655
Encounters Hostel and Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Aug 2016
7.7

Nice, cheap hostel within walking distance of the riverside area. Get a dorm with AC instead of the open area beds. Easy enough to find people to do the Killing Fields and Prison Museum tour with as there's a white board in the main area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Best place for backpackers in Phnom Penh. The owners are good and helping. Robert has a great knowledge and loves to share. The hostel is well maintained and clean at all times. Not too crowded and not too noisy. Located nearby good restaurants and close to the river. They also provide free laundry below 1K if we stay for next night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
9.1

Staff are excellent. Rooms are very nice looking, clean, and comfortable. Good air con. Doesn't seem like a party place but the owner went out of his way to help me meet people and travel with them. There are large informational posters on the wall with info about where to go and what to do. Security guard and lockers with outlets in them. Only thing I had a problem with was the water was cold and there was no soap in the bathrooms. Generally a very clean and well managed hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rsmith000
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2016
7.1

We stayed in the 4 bed room with aircon. The bed themselves were very loud and worn out. The pillow was so thin there was almost no point using it. The size of the room was very big for 4 people. We had an arrangement with a tuk tuk driver to take us around whilst we were there, when he came to collect us the owner sent him away so we could use her friends. This really angered us and she then tried to explain what had happened and kept changing the story. The puppy made it worth the stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kebeliever101
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel! The dorm room I stayed in (6 bed) was really spacious and absolutely spotless with amazing aircon. There's a board to sign up for Tuk Tuk shares to S21 and the killing fields which was a great way to meet other travellers and save money. Rob, the owner was very friendly and knowledgable about the local area. The hostel is in a nice part of the city and is only a 10min walk or so to the riverside area which is full of good bars and restaurants. The palace is probably a 30min walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
8.6

Really helpful staff, made us feel very safe upon our arrival in P.P. Gave us great advice about where to eat, and what to do with our time. Also helped arrange our transport to vietnam! Would recommend, not party hostel, but we didn't mind that. Would recommend to friends for helpful staff alone :) thanks for everything

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.3

We stayed in a 6-bed ensuite dorm with individual lockers (with a plug socket) just outside the room. There was a board where you could sign up to the killing fields in order to share a tuk tuk which the hostel organised. Somewhere nice to stay for a couple of nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel. I plan to stay here again when passing through Phnom Penh again. Really enjoyed how helpful the staff are, good food, VERY helpful with bus and transportation info/bookings, good internet, cold A/C in the rooms, friendly atmosphere, good security. Very good hostel. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
5.7

Staff seems friendly, but can be a bit over-bearing at times. This hostel isn't very conducive to meeting others. The staff is generally nice, but the cleaning ladies came way too early in the morning, waved me off my bed, and unplugged my fan at 8.30am so they could re-make the sheets. Beds are somewhat-comfortable mattresses on the floor. NO A/C, NO HOT WATER, HEAPS OF MOSQUITOES. If you're looking to save a few bucks and don't care too much about the crying babies, this hostel is for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
8.0

Great price and location. The owner is a native English speaker and knows a lot about the city,and is very helpful. The hostel is nothing fancy but is clean and you can get a good night's rest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.