Hostelworld.com

Encounters Hostel and Guest House

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
Encounters Hostel and Guest House Located at #89, Street 108, , Phnom Penh.
Encounters Hostel and Guest House
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Phnom Penh A00 001 #89, Street 108
86% 411
11.5729127 104.9219655
Encounters Hostel and Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2016
8.0

Great price and location. The owner is a native English speaker and knows a lot about the city,and is very helpful. The hostel is nothing fancy but is clean and you can get a good night's rest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Robert and his wife, the owners of the place are awesome!! I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with ac which was massive and spacious for, plenty for 4 people. The other rooms are like giant areas with mattresses on the floor and every bed has its own fan. You get a towel and a locker with a lock which is nice plus the food is delicious and the location is perfect, very central. I highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Our stay at encounters was wonderful. Robert and his wife, the owners, were incredibly helpful. They gave us advice on everything we could have possibly asked for in Phnom Penh. The place is self was a pretty standard budget hostel. AC and Internet were pretty reliable. Also there's a white board where you can sign up for group tuk tuks to major sights which is helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
8.6

I had a great stay here, the WiFi is superb, the location is good, close to some attractions, the staff are nice and helpful, and provide tons of information on Phnom Penh. nice atmosphere and good place to meet other traveller's. Everything is kept very clean and my room was great. They serve simple food, mostly English food like beans on toast. only negative I can think of is the shower's have no hot water, just lukewarm, but its not the end of the world. I would stay here again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
10.0

100% would stay here again. Stayed in the 4 person A/C dorm room, it was great. Owner Rob was excellent, very helpful and knowlegable in regards to the area and Cambodia in general. He was able to organise buses for us! Very very cheap hostel great value for money. This was quite a quiet hostel, nice to relax in and meet new people. Food was also cheap and tasty! Can't fault Encounters hostel at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
8.6

The owner was very friendly and helpful! Also he vas knowledgable and helped book transit to my next city. The location is pretty good. The palace is a bit of a walk but definitely doable. The air conditioning was perfect. Also the other staff is very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th May 2016
8.0

Nice Hostel for few days in Phnom Penh! A bit out of direction in Phnom Penh but I did not mind it. Close to busstation though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Really good place to stay although the only let downs were that the beds were mattresses on the floor and there was no air conditioning (a fan was provided instead) in the dorm we stayed in which was the 7 bed, cheaper option. The best aspect was the owner Robert who was extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area. I would recommend staying but would advise spending a couple of extra dollars and choosing the smaller dorm where there are bunk beds and air-con.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.9

Nice hostel good location as within easy walking distance of the coach station and night market. Rob the owner is very informative and able to book coach journeys. Stayed in a dorm room with a fan at the end of each bed which kept us cold at night so all in all great value for money, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2016
8.3

A good hostel, maybe slightly lacking in atmosphere and the dorm rooms without air conditioning get VERY hot so book an air conditioned room. Generally staff and tours and lockers all good :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.