X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Erupcion Hostel Banos Reviews

Central Park Crnr, Banos, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
147 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Nice hostel with great location. The only downside is there is no real common room but I still managed to make friends. Meet the dog Google!


83%

Great location, couple blocks away from the main plaza. Staff are very friendly and they will help you out with anything. Enjoy google (the massive dog)


100%

Owner is extremely nice. Location has views of the square and a restaurant. Great value.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Erupcion is run by Gloria, an excellent person who goes out of her way to help travelers who visit Baños. It can be a little noisy at night but it's due to its centrality in the city. I managed to sleep with no problem. I'd def recommend Erupcion. Great value. And try baniños breakfast.


89%

noisy at night, thats the only bad thing to say.


86%

Really nice hostel. Atmosphere could be improved. No real common room - it's a restaurant. Location can't be beat and the beds were great. Bathrooms really need to be cleaned more and better. Hostel staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. And there is an amazing bulldog named Google that made the hostel perfect!


74%

Friendly staff but the showers did not have any warm water, and it was very noisy on the street during the weekend. Earplugs are recommended :)


94%

Amazing breakfast, you can choose between different options (continental, Ecuadorian etc.). I'd love to have a bigger common area where you can meet fellow travelers. Internet worked well in the common areas, in the rooms you might have problems connecting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us in Banos and writting a review! It always helps us to improve when we hear the comments from our guest. The breakfast is defiantly superb, im glad your palate enjoyed our family run restaurant! We are trying within the year to create a bigger common area on the roof so our guests can have more space rather than meeting travelers in our restaurant ! Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to see these new additions. :) Sincerely, the staff of Erupcion

86%

The staff at this place are amazing, they do all they possibly can to help you out. However i got a dorm towards the main plaza, at 5am the police started their morning exercise running and singing (read screaming), and then at 6-8 the orcesthra played. If you want some good sleep i would recommend you to ask for a room thats not towards the mainsquare. Otherwise i had a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy to hear your wonderful message and to know that you had a great stay with us in banos. The main plaza can defiantly be pretty busy in this tourist haven town :) Next time you stay with us we shall defiantly find you a room away from the hustle and bustle of the town! I hope we can be apart of your future plans on your return to our beautiful city! Sincerely, the staff of Erupcion :)

40%

Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else! We stayed here based on some of the reviews, and now we literally can't understand why it's rated so high. For less money you can find somewhere so much better. And there's so much choice in Banos! The place is ok, but it's more like a 1 star hotel than a hostel. We changed after one night and went somewhere else. I wouldn't stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We try our best to do everything we can to make this a wonderful environment for our guest. If you have any suggestions to what we can do to improve we would love to hear them. Sincerely, Erupcion

100%

Really great hostel right in the centre of banos. Very helpful staff, comfortable rooms and lovely breakfast included. The staff left a very helpful information book with local attractions etc. All round great stay highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really happy to hear that your stay at Erupcion was lovely! We hope to have you return for your next great escape to the beautiful city of banos! cheers.

86%

Really good location and easy to find.


94%

If I go back to Banos, I will stay there again!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

The location is technically good because it is right next to the park in town and close to everything but at night (at least on the weekend) the bars and restaurants are literally blasting music, there were people fighting (screaming!) and dogs fighting all night...very difficult to sleep. There's no public kitchen and nowhere to hand wash/dry clothes if you want to do your own laundry.


86%

Great family run hostel, who were more than happy and willing to ensure you stay was as comfortable as possible!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your comment! We love hearing that our hard work is appreciated and that our guest are happy with their stay! Thank you for making our day a bit brighter! Sincerely the staff of Erupcion

86%

Amazingly friendly staff, good location. The only bad thing was the cold shower sadly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments! We love hearing feedback! On your next visit with us if you have trouble with the shower please let us know so we can fix it ! Thank you again for your message. Sincerely, the staff of Erupcion

77%

More of a hotel than a hostel, if you are after just a room and breakfast its fine (the breakfast is amazing) not very social thou and curtains are super thin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We are always looking for feedback to improve. We are working on building a social area on the roof top so hopefully within the year we will have more opportunities for people to communicate outside of the restaurant! Sincerely the staff of Erupcion

83%

A good hostel to meet people in a cracking location. Not the best looking but who cares you hardly spend any time in the hostel when in Banos.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! We love hearing feedback, and of course especially positive ones! We hope we can be part of your future plans when visiting banos! Sincerely the cracking staff of Erupcion :)

80%

Really nice staff. More like small hotel than a hostel. Daily room cleaning is great! Not really any communal space though. Our room didn't have any external windows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your comment :) Feedback is always important to us! We have some rooms with windows, hopefully if you book with us early we can get you into one of those spaces on your next visit to banos ! We are working on creating the roof into another communal space rather than just the restraunt and deck. Hopefully on your next visit we shall have our project completed! sincerely, the staff of Erupcion



View all Banos Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback