Hostelworld.com

Esperanto Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
Esperanto Hostel Located at Beachfront, , Montanita.
Esperanto Hostel
Ecuador
Montanita Santa Elena NA Beachfront
92% 198
-1.8248432 -80.7538701
Esperanto Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
9.4

Location is great! 2min walk down the beach from the main party st. ; close enough to stumble back easily from a night out but far enough that it's quiet. The terrace overlooking the water is unreal! The hostel isn't super busy during the week but fills up on weekends. Staff is super helpful and will direct you where te best place to surf / watch the football game / best party is! The only complaint is that the rooms are small but they are clean and do the trick.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
9.4

Had a great stay here. The staff is kind, the place is clean, and the view from the terrace is beautiful. It is not right in the middle of the madness which is a definite plus, Montanita gets LOUD on the weekends. This was a great place to rest my head, very quiet when I was there I think because the earthqakes have scared away some tourists. Not a party hostel, more chill, which I prefer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
9th Jun 2016
8.6

Located a short walk from the beach, Esparanto is a really reasonably priced hostel with a great roof top terrace! The staff are really friendly and helpful. It was a little quiet while we were there, but that actaully suited us. It is a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of central Montañita. Close enough to the parties, but easy to get some sleep away from the noise! Great place to stay for a few days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jun 2016
7.7

Really good location - not too close to centre to be kept up all night but it's still a 3-5 minute walk away (Montanita is very small!!), and a 30 second walk to the beach. Staff are lovely, beds are comfortable. Pillows are a little hard for me. Hostel was really empty when I was there, if you want a sociable experience I suggest arriving in Montanita between Wed-Sat. I was there Sun-Tues and even the centre was dead! It was creepy. Awesome rooftop with hammocks and amazing view of the beach.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you so much about your coments about the hostel , =) we are happy you were confortable there, and it is a pity about maybe The town as you said was not packed of people, i know this week , the whole town was almost empty and of course making the enviroment not nice, actully your days if you remenber well we have in your 4 nights 11 pax, 14 pax, 7 pax, 7 pax wchis is a lot unders this circunstance if we consider our hostel is jsut 6 rooms and i knew other hostel were completly empty , so it is hard to make a nice enviroment or atmosphere under this circunstance sometimes, situatin is not under our control sometimes even thought the staff wants to do the best :) . you punish us in the rating so hard then ha ha ha ha ( just kidding ) it is okey we completly undestand your feeling when no people are in the town, but is not always happen but its happen that wek, bad luck =(

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2016
9.7

Great place to stay! The staff is really helpful and tries in every possible way to make your stay even better. The hostel is perfectly located nearby the beach, the busstation and the city center. The rooftop view is amazing! The dorm rooms have big lockers, and comfortable beds. The bathrooms are clean and there is a hot shower (not that you need it, because the weather is great) I would definitely go back there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
10.0

Had an amazing stay, Jorge and his team looked after us like family. The hostel is a stone's throw away from the beach, with the best view of it as well. Right next to the town centre but just outside so you can get a good sleep. This is the perfect location to stay in Montanita, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, had a really nice stay. One of the best hostels I've stayed in Latin America..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
8th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel in a great location. Third floor terrace is great to hang out. Breakfast isnt included which makes it one of the more expensive hostels but it is worth the extra few dollars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed at Esperanto for 5 nights in April. It´s a great spot near the beach, well priced with a nice kitchen and terrace with hammocks. I´d recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Montanita!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

The location of the hostel is perfect! Close to the Beach as well as to the center of Montanita. The balcony on the top floor is already worth it to stay there! The rooms include everything which is needed (with balcony) and are very clean. The staff is very professional and extremely friendly! They even organized a spontaneous BBQ which was delicious!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I've stayed at on my 6 months trip. The terrace is the highlight of the hostel, its super cool to chill on the terrace with the best view of montanita, watch the waves and look at people. The owner is really cool, he hung out with us every night, helped us out with whatever we wanted. The staff is super chill, kitchen is very nice, hostel is super clean, and they would help you with anything you asked for. I met some really cool people too. I miss this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.