Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Esperanto Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 293 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • snoreood12
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

The hostel is one of my favorites in Ecuador. Close to the beach, great rooftop terrace, and amazing staff. Chris was especially helpful and friendly. He showed us around town and made sure we were comfortable. I've traveled a lot and would highly recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
9.7

The best choice in Montanita! This hostel offers everything - great rooms, a well equipped kitchen, amazing atmosphere, and last but not least the best view in town to the beach and sunset from the incredible terrace, with hammocks and comfortable chairs. The owners and staff all speak English and are willing to help out with anything. The hostel is 30m from the beach and is located in the quieter side of Montanita, but just a 2 minute walk from all the bars and parties. Highly recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
10.0

Pretty close to the beach. You get to see the sunrise and sunset from the rooftop. Rooms are nice, there is no AC but they have a sealing fun which is ok. Most of the rooms have balcony. The stuff is really helpful and friendly. If I get the chance to come back I will definitely stay at this hostel again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
10.0

Esperanto is the perfect location in Montanita, just far enough away from the town that you can't hear music all night, but also a 2 minute walk to the centre. The atmosphere is pretty chilled out, and the terrace is definately a highlight of the building. Christian (manager) and Jorge (owner) are very welcoming and accomodating, nothing was an issue for them, and the super volunteer Cammy made the place run smoothly. Would highly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
10.0

The location is great! Super close to the beach and close to the main strip, but far enough away to get sleep. Beautiful upstairs terrace, great for watching the surfers or sunsets. The kitchen is nice and you'll find everything you'll need to make you're own food. There's coffee 🙂! You can refill your own water bottles for only .25 which is nice. The guy working the front desk was super friendly and gave great recommendations on where to eat/go. We would stay there again! Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Cool hostel, away from the craziness but close enough if you want to join in. Cristian was great, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. He went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. We saw some other hostels in the area but this was by far the best. Thanks and we will recommend it to whoever goes to montanita!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
10.0

We got in late and were able to check in no problem. It is nice and quite. The room was warm, but being on the coast and in Ecuador, its to be expected. We had a pleasant stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.4

Great little hostel - will definitely stay again. Rooms could get a little warm in the morning but nothing unbearable. Highly recommend, the staff were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
7.1

Super friendly and welcoming place. Great location close to beach. Unfortunately kind of grubby. Really dirty kitchen and bathrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hi Marcus, we remenber as we do not use to have guest over their middle 50´sd , we sorry about your experience, you stayed in a shared dorm . fyi if you are in a hostel normally sharing kithen and batroom there are people before you that use it , we try to keep cleaning as muchas possible , besides is the guest responsabily to keep it clean for respect to the other ones, but sometimes the meaning of "clean " for people in their 20´s is differente than mine meaning cleaing in my 40´sd or you =( , sorry about it . About seurity , we wonder whay is about 6, we have 24 hours guard, we have lockers per person , you birng your padlock and inside the ocker there is a security box, which we can provide the key , so what made the hostel deserve 6 ?? in montanita other hostel similar, barely have the locker no 24 hours security guard or security box, so they would deserve then 1 ? , =) je je , anyway, we were glad you are traveling in your retiremtnent , that is must be =) the best wishes =) and vibes

  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.4

It was the second time I stayed at Esperanto and I will definitely come back. Great location, staff and atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.