X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Esperanto Hostel Reviews

Beachfront, Montanita, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
17 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

We were there during the off season, and I'm not sure if they just kind of give up during that time. No wifi, no computer, no washer dryer. Showers were flip flop worthy. Small balcony but no chairs. Safe key was broken, safe didn't work. No restaurant. We found it to be a lot more of a sad place than other Montanita hostels.

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
please accept my apologize , not our intention to justify mistake , but we trying to fix them ASAP, , i am the owner and i was out Ecuador, 1 ) Internet normally is not good in the whole town and it took 24 hours to be repaired, 2) the key security , the employee did not report it on time , , 3) is a backpacker hostel, we do not have restaurant, and laundry services( just sheet and towel) info clear, but the town has a lot of them,, hopefully you enjoy the seaview from the room you good

63%

Onsite washing machines would be nice. More than one key per room, specially if you're sharing with 4 people, would be nice. Paying an $8 fee for using a credit card is excessive. Reasonable businesses charge $0 to 2.50. Personal LOCKERS are ESSENTIAL in rooms. Mud stains could have been removed from floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, 1) you were staying in a private room for 2 pax with a balcony with a sea view you were not staying in a sharing rooms , 2) the fee for credit card is 8% not 8 usd, so the cost is according to the payment. 3) we have security boxes in each private room and personal lockers in a shared room 4) the hostel is a B & B hostel, and motnañita is a town with land street in this part of the year is raining and muddy , beside that we try to keep always the ground floor

69%

A cool little spot - close to the beach and across the bridge from all the bars. Cleanliness wasn't the best and you get one towel for a minimum 3 night stay. Not a deal breaker at other hostels but its not the greatest when you're at the beach everyday in need of a shower before you go out to party. 8% surcharge on credit card use so bring cash.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments and we will consider your comments about cleanlisness as we do every day about towels, i am surprise your comments as there is a signe in the room where we let to the guest the option to ak whenever you want to change towels, the sign say "please let it in the floor by the door", the idea of this is trying do not save clean towels is more take care our enviroment reducing as minimum detergents or washing innecesary. is a pity you havne´t see it

74%

Nice room, mostly quiet with a good view. Staff works a lot of hours and conserves energy. No laundry service. Wifi not very effective in the rooms but acceptable in the lobby.




View all Montanita Hostels

Please give us your feedback