X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Euphemia Hotel Reviews

Fokke Simonzstraat 1-9, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1675 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It was a hostel so it was pretty noisy, especially at 6am when the partiers came back. It says it's 30-35 min walk from the train station which we made a lot of trips because we wanted to visit neighbouring cities. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. They were able to print some tickets for me for 1 euro. When you arrive they tell you about the 5% tax and that everyone charges it and that there is a €100 cleaning fine for smoking in the room. Overall it was a good stay.


77%

One shower and toilet for an entire floor wasn't ideal. Good location, staff are really friendly and helpful with anything you need :-)


43%

There was an awful smell throughout the reception area at the hostel. Our room (especially the sink) was dirty with old electric sockets uncovered and exposed on the wall. There was an old dirty sock wedged between my mattress and the wall. The toilets however were very clean but the shower curtain in the shared shower was disgusting. It smelt vile and the cleaner only sprayed it with air freshener to cover the smell when it could be replaced cheaply and easily. Overall not worh the money spent.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall I really liked the hotel, the only thing that crosses my mind that could be changed is the plastic cups in the bathroom. It looks a bit cheap and unhygienic. A pair of normal glasses would have looked perfect there. Other than that I do not have any complaints. I want to complement the services- all the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a nice place to chill out during your trip to Amsterdam and the best thing is it's not far for anything.


83%

We were 6 people and we had a 6 beds room just for us ! perfect ! The room was clean and warm ! The bathroom was also ok ! The only bad thing is that we could use only our bathroom , but still this seems fair for the rest of the hostel's guest i suppose ! Overall , it was a enjoyable stay !

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We had a problem with the hostel payment. They put some taxes that wasn't explained before we did the reservation. They had charged 17 euros just for reservation saying that the money would be refounded, but, till now it wasn't... These kind of things are very unpleseant because it's kind of charging more than initially was settled.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

A good hostel with a perfect location; within walking distance of basically everything. Friendly staff who gave us great tips of the city, clean rooms and good beds. Only minus for the toilet and shower facilities, which were a bit uncomfortable, but otherwise we had a comfortable stay.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great weekend break in Amsterdam, and this was the first hostel i'd ever stayed in and it's definitely been a good experience!


57%

It was overall a correct hotel but I thought the room was not very clean (bad smell+dirty curtains). Decoration of the room not really cheerful. Breakfast not included and expensive.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

My girlfriend & I stayed at Euphemia for two nights in a 4 bed ensuite room. What we liked 1.very clean 2.it was relatively quiet (even during the weekend) 3.staff was polite and helpful 4.tram station was close 5.2 coffeeshops right in the corner 6.within 5-10 min walking distance from Leidseplein We didn't like 1.the additional 5% tax charge for which they hadn't informed us 2.the lack of an elevator, since those stairs are impossible to climb if you are drunk/stoned 3.it's more of a hotel

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Everything was fine, the poeple, the bed, the loos, and the bathroom as well.


89%

Great place to stay in Amsterdam! Friendly staff and we walked everywhere in Amsterdam so it was a great location to do this from - only a 15/20 minute walk along the beautiful canals into the centre of town. Perfect for what we wanted!

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent hotel !! fantastic staff could not do enough for you


66%

Easy to walk to center, 10-15mins, good staff. Stayed in 2 rooms: room with 5 people is hard to move when everyones is inside, the dorm with 8 has more room to do your things. Big lockers, even though, in the 5 dorm, it didn't need a deposit for a key, just a padlock.


51%

Its the first time i feel not so friendly people from a hostel in Amsterdam. As all guests are clearly told the checkout time, Nobody likes to be awaken 1 hour before the checkout time with someone breaking into your dorm saying: "dont forget to check out" How is that even possible? and the night before, when we came downstairs to ask for a glass of water, the guy just said "Sorry, we're closed at this time" (at23:40) Just Rude. By the rest it was just fine.


74%

The staff were helpful when asked any questions. Rooms were clean and comfortable, although the heating did take some time to come on in my room. I would also say the breakfast offered was nice but was a bit on the small size for the price charged.


74%

Extremely comfortable beds.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

the staff is extemely attentious. I really recomend this hostel

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really cheap hostel in a great location, only criticism is that there is no kitchen. All else was great, very happy! Be mindful this is not a smoking or party hostel :)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback