Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls Located at Darroch Court, St John's Hill, Edinburgh, Edinburgh.
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Scotland
Edinburgh EH8 9UQ Darroch Court, St John's Hill, Edinburgh
78% 367
55.9485764 -3.1812889
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
4.9

Upon first arrival the hostel seems nice, however the beds in the room felt like prison mattresses, we also experienced electrical problems.The wardrobe (which is heavy) had to be turned 90 degrees to even reach the outlet, the outlet itself had a short and would only work if the object plugged in was wiggled precisely into place. The lamp had no bulb. I reported this to reception they said someone would be able to fix it in about an hour,no one came until I mentioned it again later the next day

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.1

Staff were fantastic and super friendly but the hostel was really loud however this was probably because I stayed on a Saturday night in the middle of the Edinburgh Fringe, so I don't think this is a reliable account. This probably accounts for the lack of atmosphere also in the hostel because people were out and about enjoying themselves!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
3.4

Unknown bodily fluids left on bedroom walls, nil elevators, shower didn't work, hand railing in bathroom hanging from wall, no safes and our beds were two stretchers with old mattresses. Would never stay here again and will never recommend it. Totally over priced

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
8.6

Location is great, about 5 minutes walk if that to the Royal mile and room was perfectly clean and upto standard. Would recommend if staying for a few nights on a budget and obviously not expecting hotel standards of rooms. Seems like old university halls but for the price and location would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
7.7

- Bed is really really crappy. It's impossible to get a good rest. + Staff tries to do their best to help. + It is located almost in the middle of the old town, so you can reach most of attractions by foot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
8.6

Basic but adequate and very clean. Security is important to me so one key to get into the block and another to access the room. The key for the first room I was allocated did not work in the lock and i had to go the 4 flights down and back to be moved to another. Annoying as I had heavy bags, but the staff were cooperative, helpful and apologetic. In fact the staff were friendly and helpful, patient and personal throughout, with advice for good eating places and directions to find things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
6.3

Great location. The single private rooms were spacious but double private rooms were tiny. Beds were okay. 2 of the 3 water heaters I tried malfunctioned (cycled between icy cold water and scalding hot water). Atmosphere is by far the worst part: no common area outside your own flats (and no one hung out in the flat common areas), everyone seemed to be in a rush, cheerless decor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.7

Ideal place to stay in Edinburgh if you want a private room in Edinburgh for cheap. I've stayed twice now and both rooms have been great. Beds are comfy enough, rooms are a good size and the wardrobe, shelves and desk are useful. Semi quiet. The kitchen facilities are a big plus and can save you a lot of money. The problem I experienced was that there was no tray to cook things in the oven so I had to use the microwave. There were a few pots to use the hob though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
7.7

everything was ok, staff friendly, the common bathrooms were clean. we didn't know that we have to pay for leaving our luggage in the luggage room. also towels have to be paid for. room was very basic. windows can only be opened a little. therefore, we were not satisfied with the prices for the room - in any other hostel where you pay the same price we had a free luggage room, towels, mostly even tvs and our own bathroom. luggage and towel prices increased the price per night for us even more...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
7.1

The front desk staff was completely overwhelmed and dopey (they were 2 people and it was just me). Great location though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.