X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Europa Hotel San Francisco Reviews

310 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
101 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Stuff was friendly. In the room there is a very small refridge, a microwave and TV. Sharing bathroom and restroom sucks. Very small restrooms. You should bring your own flip flops.


63%

Great location - access to downtown SF and Chinatown and all that.... but, the area becomes somewhat sketchy after dark (it's in a area where there are a lot of strip clubs (including the famous Condor)). As far as the room - the bed was severely slanted to one side. The door was hellishly squeaky. Windows have no screens. Lots of dirt/dust in the corners of the room. In the woman's bathroom when you take a shower, the 1st one on the left is best.


37%

Didn't actually stay here as our plans changed so can't fully review this place called to cancel our reservation and, spoken to very rudely by the member of staff who answered the phone. first he said he had no booking for us Then eventually did find our booking and was only interested in the fact he wanted to charge us for one nights stay to be able to cancel. just got the feeling this place is all about getting your money. All I would say is read the other reviews. Their not helping themselves


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
43%

It is next to a girls club so we could hear the music the whole night, NO CHILDREN please, it is not the best place to stay but the location is perfect

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

I've used hostel word accommodation all around the world and this is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a terrible review. I would strongly urge people to stay away from this place. We arrived to find a place above strip clubs and with horrible facilities. Some of the rooms seemed to be used as a halfway home for the homeless of San fran. On toilet for all the rooms also. It's a disgrace that this place is associated with such a good website as hostel world.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location. The room was much quieter than I expected. The staff was extremely helpful.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

We have decided to ask for changing room because the first was unclean and it was on the street ( there is a bar and club) We had to pay the second room which were acceptable. In morning we discovered bugs in the bed. A nice handyman cleaned the room, change the sheets and protected the mattress. Positive point: the location is good I don't recommend this hotel for a long stay.


51%

Price and location were good - unfortunately, it was very loud at night and we had a mouse in our room...


57%

It has got a really good location, but the staff is not very friendly and they'll charge you for everything. As we wanted to extend our stay, they gave us a higher price than before with a really strange explanation, why we need to pay more than the nights before. The bed was very dirty and the linen didn't fit in the dirty matress. All in all, it wasn't a comfortable stay.


91%

Down the street from the infamous Beat area, Chinatown, and the Red Light District. View of the skyline up close from our room. Hard to find parking. Shared bathroom was never full and the room had it's own sink.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The rooms could be a little cleaner and need a little renovation, but was a lot better than the reviews made it out to be. In a central location so was noisy, but that's what you get for being in the heart of it.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

I would not recommend anyone staying at this hostel - I honestly felt scared staying there because of really poor security, anyone could just walk right in from the street! There were homeless people sitting on the stairs when you came down, noise in the hallways, very poor cleanliness, I could go on. A recommendation would be to get some kind of key system for the main door, so not everyone could just walk right in.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

No flash but very well located and excellent value for money in SF

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Definitely a great location for a hotel, close to the center, close to the piers. The room looked pretty well and big for its price.

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The location is really good, very close to lots of restaurants, but the hotel is too bad, too dirty and it doesn't have too many restrooms.


43%

It's like a horror movie! Cheap and okay if you have a male with you.. Not for 2 young girls like us!

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Shares corner with all the strip clubs in san fran so it's very loud but location is perfect! This place is old and run down, bathrooms were fine but we did find traces of bed bugs on our mattress, though we never actually saw any bugs. Pay the extra money and stay at a nicer place.


63%

Location is amazing if you don't mind all the strip clubs. It's not a seedy area though - there's lots of bars and clubs and nightlife which is great if like us you're staying in the city in order to go out and have fun. However the rooms are pretty iffy and the whole atmosphere of the place is not great. There are lots of permanent residents who seem to be there because they can't afford to go anywhere better. If you can afford to sleep elsewhere - do so.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, helpfull staff. Kind of a shabby looking place but no real complaints.


77%

Quite nice, on a good location, quite nice looking room, no lights in the bathroom ( shower), noisy sometimes but taking all into account was good.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback