X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Eva's Backpackers Reviews

6-8 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
793 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great hostel in a great location. Close to shops, bars, restaurants, the botanical gardens and the main harbour area. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms were a good size and was glad of good A/C. Bathrooms were big and clean. Only downsides were that although there were lockers in the rooms, they were not very secure and no safe in the room for valuables. Also the communal area and kitchen was very small and difficult to cook in if more than 1 person at a time. Would stay again.


74%

Alright hostel in decent location


86%

Cozy hostel in a great location. Wifi wasn't that great, other things to make up for it though. Like free waffle morning :)


83%

Nice staff, easy going people.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Overall it's a fine place to stay. A few negatives tho: In the 10bed room there is only 8 lockers, so you might not get one. The room was quite messy everyday, but I think that's because the people living there were slobs. My comforter had some mite type bugs, but I feel them in about half the hostels I go to. The free wifi did not work at all on my computer so I had to pay for wifi. The bathrooms were nice and clean. The rooftop is a great hangout spot.


91%

The hostel is really nice with a good equiped kitchen witch is having a fire place for the cold days. The staff is nice and helpful and the bathrooms where always clean. The location in kings cross is okay, it takes approx. 20 Min by foot reaching the pedestrian street, you can always take the train for 2 stops. Best thing about the hostel: the roof top with an amazing view over the Sydney skyline, especially by night.


77%

The double room was small but clean and perfect for what we needed. The Bathrooms were really well looked after and they were private unlike some other hostels. It is areally clean and friendly place to stay. Location was great, only a 5 minute walk to the train station and 20 min walk to city. Also a short walk to a lovely park

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Spacious rooms, comfy beds thoroughly cleaned daily. Good cooking facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy to reach location. Quiet at night. I have returned for a second stay.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful stay, thank you Liz for being so helpful!


100%

Great hostel! Very friendly and comfortable! Loved it!

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This is really more a place for long term and working-holiday people than for those just passing through, but it's a nice place to stay. Free towels and wifi (though only in the common areas), near a train station, close to tons of bars, yet far enough away to not be loud. The rooftop was amazing! And, if you want, you can hike the 20-30 minutes to the city center and skip public transport.


80%

Nice hostel, clean, good situated, free tea/coffee all day and sometimes even free waffles for breakfast! Liked our stay!


69%

Staff really friendly and helpful! The hostel is fairly out the way to the city by day but is near a range of bars and clubs for the evening ! The kitchen and tv area is rather small considering how many people they have to stay! The room are rather dates but still fairly comfortable ! Toilets and showers where homely. Overall an average stay.


91%

Stayed here for 3 days having previously lived in Sydney. Having lived here, I know the reputation and what to expect from kings cross, which basically isn't very nice. Chose Eva's as it was away from darlinghurst road but still central enough. Very clean with a good kitchen. Bathrooms and beds both excellent meaning we had an enjoyable stay here. Excellent hostel.


74%

Free Shuttle from Sydney Airport because we stayed more than 3 days, if not 15$ each. Clean toilets and showers. Too small possibilities for the luggage in the room. Kitchen good, but sometimes very full. Nice and helpfull staff. Free wifi but sometimes very slowly. In the room very cold and loud because the windows did not really close, but had enough blankets for the night. Free towels.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall an alright hostel, pretty small and dark rooms but clean and with ensuite bathroom in 4-share. Rooftop is very nice but closes at 10 pm. Worst thing: had bedbugs and staff didn't care! We got another room but it didn't seem like they did anything about that problem. Other than that we had a really good time with nice people :)

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

I was really happy with the first room I was in- a four-bed dorm with a bathroom ensuite. Unfortunately, on the second night I got attacked by some nasty bed bugs. As it turned out, someone had been moved from my room the night before after complaining of bed bugs but they didn't tell any of us or clean the room well enough. When I told the woman at the front desk about my bed bugs, she said "You must be sensitive to bed bugs. I never get bitten," as if to blame me. I was very disappointed.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

free wifi is the best part of this hostel. Location isn't nice as Kings cross is a nightlife district, there were strangers hanging around which made you feel dangerous. Only few restaurants nearby. I stayed in a 6 female dorm. Toilets are clean, lockers are big. Room is a bit too dark. But next time I still prefer staying in other hostels in the city centre as location isn't convenient at all. It's an average hostel. I dun understand why it got great reviews. Maybe other hostels are even worse.


77%

The location is great, just a few minutes from King's Cross station and the owner is lovely. The place itself is ok... It's got a fantastic rooftop terrace and the kitchen seemed alright, although a bit crammed. The bathrooms look good, but the fact that there are only 3 on the 2nd floor and no separate toilets, make for LONG waiting times. Also, be warned, the level of noise you have to put up with at night if your window faces the street is not for everybody... Bring earplugs!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, Eva and staff are lovely and met some great people here despite only staying two nights. Favourite hostel in sydney!


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback