X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Exford Hotel Reviews

199 Russell Street, Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
697 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The room of 10beds is small, too many bunk beds, better with one less because you don't have place for your staff. And more important is to put oil in the door hinges, you wake up everytime someone goes to the bathroom.. The breakfast is simple but everything is good and enough.


83%

Room was a decent size for four beds, bunk was a bit squeaky getting up to the top, bed was comfy. Mattress was a little dirty ie hairs and dirt, but sheets to put on the bed were crisp and clean :-) Lockers were big enough to put all my valuables in (bring your own padlock), and security was good with a keycard to access accommodation part of the hotel, rooms and bathrooms. Showers were nice and hot, if a little run down. All in all, great value for money to stay in the city centre!!


51%

The location was brilliant but that was all that was brilliant about the place. $95 a night for a less than average room and not even towels were provided. Showers went from scalding hot to freezing cold unexpectedly. Extremely noisy. Could do with a furniture update. But the location was brilliant!

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

location was pretty much perfect. arrived at 2am and check in worked out really good. lockers in the rooms. free breakfast but didn't go for it


74%

Overall, a good hostel. Fairly clean, free breakfast and helpful staff. No air con so it was pretty stuffy throughout the hostel and the showers/toilets are a bit strange - you need your key card to use them. Good location. Wifi overpriced.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

clean, recommended higher floor for good sleep. on hot days small fans are not enough.

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice location on the edge of the CBD. Not the most welcoming kitchen or common room, but they were always clean. When my towel was accidentally taken the staff helped me to sort out the problem and loaned me a hostel towel in the interim.


89%

The internet isn't free, they only give you 500 MB


69%

Bathroom too small. No proper reception. Its a pub

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Loved the room, nice and big. Very clean! Had one bad night when a very unfriendly and unsafe person moved into our room, told the staff downstairs about the issue and they removed him from the premises immediately! Was very thankful to have good staff running the place. Kitchen is an awkward layout but quite clean, free and fast wifi for those staying 1 or more weeks. TV filled with movies and tv shows. The group there is quite right since many who stay end up living there. Was sad to leave!

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I think it's no problem to stay there for a few nights. But in my opinion it's not ideal for backpackers because it's more a pub with accommodation than a hostel that is specialized in them. But anyway our stay was good, the people in our room were really nice and there was a huge range of movies you can watch in the commen room downstairs. There should really be free WiFi and the community could have been ways better!

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location right on top of Melbourne's Chinatown and easy to get to everywhere from the hotel. Staff were amazing - helpful, friendly and accommodating! I've always been a hotel kinda girl but would definitely go back here when I return to Melbourne

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Enjoyed my stay here. Only annoying thing was you had to make sure you had your card even to unlock the toilet or shower door.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location (everything at a walking distance), next to chinatown's entrance (great for places to eat); super nice staff and amazing free breakfast (yummy pancakes !!)


29%

I had a problem in this booking and the hotel did not supply me. I have contacted you about the problem by email!

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We loved our stay at the hotel. The location is ideal, the room is just what you need and gives you a value for your money. It's a good place for a short term stay (we stayed for 4) over the Christmas period. Ours was the double bed private room, and it was just enough for us. Had read previous reviews that the noise can be bothering but, nope, wasn't a problem for us. So, highly recommended.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I can not sleep there, during the night time, it is crzay noisy because of their location just beside the main road and China town, also I think their design for the toilet and bathroom is so unreasonable, people need to use a pass card to go into the toilet and bathroom, imagine it how funny, use a card to go into toilet


86%

Great location inside the gates of Chinatown, nice clean rooms, easy check in.


46%

Need to improve the cleanlinesss and facilities.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback