Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Exford Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 827 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 827 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
Exford Hotel Located at 199 Russell Street, Melbourne, Melbourne.
Exford Hotel
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 199 Russell Street, Melbourne
76% 827
-37.8117504 144.9674534
Exford Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.1

Helpful, friendly staff. Excellent location. Will definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
7.7

Worst bunk I have slept on in Australia. The hostel is above a pub, Friendly staff but the place NEEDS a clean, the cleaners are slacking! The room was hot at night, but that wasn't helped by the people in our room leaving the windows closed... Downstairs they have Foxtel with all the channels! Really nice if you want to relax and watch some rubbish tv. The kitchen wasn't too bad, kinda had a funky smell to it but had enough stuff to be able to cook and eat without getting in each others way.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.9

Very plaisant hostel. The staff is great and very helpful. Convenient location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.0

Perfect location! Great breakfast with two slices of toast, cereal and pancake, bar, big kitchen but it was full of flies (there were food lockers, seemed like there was old, smelly food in them). Room and toilets clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
8.6

While I did not try the breakfast that was offered because I did not know where to go for it. My stay was comfortable and good. I heard a little noise but considering the establishment is above a bottle shop and bar in China town on a Friday and Saturday night it was not as bad as it could have been. Overall i would stay there again and I would also recommend to friends and family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.1

Good location. I had horrible roommates which made the stay very unpleasant. Not an easy place to meet other travellers! Staff were a little hostile.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Nov 2016
10.0

Always stay here as it is clean,comfortable & conveniently located in the city not far from Southern Cross station when I need the skybus to the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Nov 2016
6.6

Floors are very creaky and no elevators. Rooms were clean, toilets and showers were relatively clean but it's a very old building. Staff is nice. Breakfast is ok (don't expect a hotel buffet, cause that's not what you're paying for). The worst thing was the WiFi. If you book for 7 days you get a code for 500MB which is supposed to last you FOR 7 DAYS. Ridiculous, really. Also there often was no reception on the top floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Nov 2016
7.1

Not really clean, floors make lots of noise, mattress was sh**: my hips hurt after just 1 hr of laying in bed. Lots of stairs without lift. Kitchen does not have basic things like salt, pepper or oil. Staff was really nice and helpful, good location. There is free breakfast from 7.30-9.30, but at 8.30 everything is empty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
6.3

Good location Wifi is decent and cheap, but no dedicated reception : switching from the bottle shop to the bar to the reception. No lift when the kitchen is in the basement and your room at the 3rd floor. No basic kitchen stuff like oil, salt. Shower/bathroom feel cramped.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.