Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Exford Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
Exford Hotel Located at 199 Russell Street, Melbourne, Melbourne.
Exford Hotel
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 199 Russell Street, Melbourne
77% 808
-37.8117504 144.9674534
Exford Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Nov 2016
6.6

Floors are very creaky and no elevators. Rooms were clean, toilets and showers were relatively clean but it's a very old building. Staff is nice. Breakfast is ok (don't expect a hotel buffet, cause that's not what you're paying for). The worst thing was the WiFi. If you book for 7 days you get a code for 500MB which is supposed to last you FOR 7 DAYS. Ridiculous, really. Also there often was no reception on the top floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Nov 2016
7.1

Not really clean, floors make lots of noise, mattress was sh**: my hips hurt after just 1 hr of laying in bed. Lots of stairs without lift. Kitchen does not have basic things like salt, pepper or oil. Staff was really nice and helpful, good location. There is free breakfast from 7.30-9.30, but at 8.30 everything is empty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
6.3

Good location Wifi is decent and cheap, but no dedicated reception : switching from the bottle shop to the bar to the reception. No lift when the kitchen is in the basement and your room at the 3rd floor. No basic kitchen stuff like oil, salt. Shower/bathroom feel cramped.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
8.3

Kitchen is excellent as is the lounge with lots of movies to watch. A quiet chilled out hostel, good if you want some chill time and are looking for work. Probably suits longer term stayers than backpackers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Oct 2016
6.9

A lot of working people & who are living there. The wifi did not work when I was there what was really annoying, because I paid for it & had to arrange stuff! If the wifi worked I had no wifi in my room, so I had to sit in the hallway ;-)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Oct 2016
8.0

Good hostel for the price, the tv area is out of the way of the rooms so is noise free and the kitchen is clean most of the time, contrast to most hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
8.0

I was there for a week. Shared toilets were always clean, very good. Floor is quirky, in the room [my one was 311] and also in the corridor. When you move in the night you feel like you are waking somebody. Kitchen was not very crowded, maybe also because quite hidden. There was a kin of living room where you could see tv. Position is perfect. 10 minutes from Fed square and already inside ChinaTown. No noise from the pub, maybe because I was on the last floor

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Oct 2016
9.1

Amazing location. Comfortable beds. Bathroom facilities not the best but perfectly useable. Really friendly staff. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
3.4

It's so annoying that u have to swap key for ur ID. And it's noisy and the bathroom and shower rooms are not clean. I would not stay that again to be honest. The only good thing is good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
5.1

No lift, not a good AC Noises around the building lockers without a lock pad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.