Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Exford Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 897 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 897 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
6.6

Very noisy and cold and no air conditioning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
6.3

$50 cash deposit or driver's license for a plastic key card, seemed a little much. Single pane window and no heater means very cold rooms (May, 10 degree nights). Could barely open doors in male bathroom (1 sink, 2 toilets), it was designed as small as possible. The cleaning woman was very nice, but doesn't knock before entering rooms at random times. Bar on first floor is cool and couldn't hear it up on the 3rd floor.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.6

The hotel bar has cheap, good beer and food. You get discounts on drinks when you stay here too. The staff were awesome and helpful. It's affordable and centrally located right near Chinatown so lots of cheap food stops nearby too. Short walk to all major attractions in Melbourne. Kitchen was cleaned daily. The rooms were a bit dark but it's only a place to stay, bedding and sheets were clean and comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2017
7.7

No free wifi for short stay. Even when you stay a week, you get only 500MB. Breakfast is two slices of toast, 1 bowl cereal's and 1 cup drink. More is not allowed, that's a shame. No lagguage room, but you can leave your stuff in common room. You get your own set of dishes for a bond. You need your key card to go to toilet. The hostel is average. I think you can easy make friends here. It's close to free tram network.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • OlliB23
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
7.1

Good value for money. Myself and my partner stayed in a 4 bed room and it was a little small, so with no air con it got pretty warm and stuffy. The bathrooms were cleaned daily. The communal area and kitchen were a good size. Breakfast was simple but did the job. As we only stayed there a few nights and many other guests had been there for weeks/months there was a 'clicky' atmosphere, however everyone seemed inviting and friendly to newbies. Overall pleased.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Mar 2017
7.1

Okay hostel for a short stay. Our room was small and crowded and smelt quite bad. Have to leave a desposit for almost everything so bring cash! No lift, so not suitable for suitcases! Laundry facilities did their job, however had to put the tumble dryer on for 3 hours to fully dry our clothes. Free breakfast was decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
9.1

Very good location, in the heart of CBD, surrounded by hundred of restaurants and bars. supermarkets are only a short walk. Kitchen is big and there are plenty of stoves for every one's cooking even in rush hours. Big common room with large flat TV and a lot of movies, Good hotel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

Wifi should be free the whole time. Bathrooms could be more updated. But very nice vibe and friendly atmosphere and very nice staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
4.9

Seriously dated, old, dirty rooms. The curtains were covered with brown streaks. There were broken power points in the bathroom. Check in is at the bar and a number of patrons there heard the staff member giving me my room number which, as a young female, does not make you feel particularly safe. Stayed on a Saturday night and the noise from the street was unbearable. My friend and I ended up staying up talking all night because we couldn't sleep with the party going on down below.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
8.6

Fantastic location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.