X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Exford Hotel Reviews

199 Russell Street, Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
617 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Thank you for a nice stay at Exford Hotel. I stayed over the weekend, so it was noisy because of the bar downstairs, but didn't bother me too much. A depsit for a clean towel suited me perfect so I could enjoy a shower. Included breakfast was nice. I usally ate a little bit at the hostel before enjoying a nicer brunch in Melbourne.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Decent place in an extremely well located area. Bed was comfy and I slept pretty well. A vast majority of guests are actually long termers (mainly Euros), but that's just normal in Australia. Shower temperature was a bit wild, going from boiling to freezing in seconds but it was ok. Common room is cool but I'm surprised there is a fee to use the WiFi - it's 2015!! People starve for internet!! All around good stay, nice staff and they show sports at the pub.


86%

Overall, very satisfied with the stay. Fantastic location in general and perfect for the places I went to in Melbourne. and was also at an affordable price. Only qualm that my mate's driver's licence had to be held as part of the deposit. It seems a bit odd to hold the most important form of ID for Australians travelling to Melbourne as we don't bring our passports, but otherwise overall a good place to stay.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The rooms were filthy, cold, damp and smelt worse than I could ever explain. There was no wifi unless you stayed more than a week. The toilets were filthy and key cards needed to get into bathrooms and THEN into shower or toilet...such a hassle. They asked for an outrageous $50 deposit for a key card. Breakfast would be the only good thing about this place.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Wasn't a bad hostel. No atmosphere but wasn't there to party, just need to a place to crash. Pub downstairs can get pretty loud but personally I wasn't bothered. Location is excellent and facilities are pretty good.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved it! Would always stay here again... Amazing people, bar downstairs open till 4am and everything you wish for in a hostel. Highly recommended!

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

There is no lift. It is okay for travellers with backpack but inconvenient for those with luggage bag. Anyway, overall it is a pretty good hotel at a good rate.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location in the middle of Chinatown! Great friendly staff. Very good complimentary breakfast with pancakes.


69%

Really basic accommodation, but great location!


66%

The staff was very nice dealing with any question we had. The facilities were not very clean and the Hotel is quite noisy during the night. However, great location in the middle of the City.


89%

Location could not be better. There were clean and I saw cleaning personel every day. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Upgraded from 10 to 4 bed dorm, really friendly staff, great location. A little noisy at night because of the bar downstairs but not bad enough to ruin our sleep. Great choice for inner city.


80%

Nice hostel in a great area of Melourne. The staff was nice but didn't make me feel at home! The bar downstairs is nice if you want to meet some locals or other travels.


83%

This hostel was a really good one, since it was very clean, they had free breakfast and you can meet nice people while sitting in the living room or kitchen. The location was very good too,only 5 min to vivid streets like Bourke Street.


74%

Okay hostel. Great location, Chinatown in the CBD.


86%

The staff was very genial and helpful, the facilities were clean and the location is convenient to Melbourne's sights. Great value.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

In the middle of the centre. A very nice bar is underneath the hostel. I was not noisy.


71%

Free breakfast is cereal and bread which is okay. Wifi is not free unless your there for a week, so I just walked to the library. Room was pretty hot at night, the fan didn't really do the job. Everyone seemed long term guys so the room was pretty messy, and couldn't locate a plug socket because of it. Location is great, in the middle of Chinatown and a few minutes walk from everything you need. If Urban is available for the same price i'd go there, otherwise this is okay if your low on money


77%

There really isn't any kind of information desk, as this is attached to a bar. There was a lot of people working/living in Melbourne while at this place, which can be good or not so good, depending on your perspective. There were movies downstairs, but always the "working contingency" were watching stuff there. Good location, right in the center of the downtown. No real complaints... just general notes.


63%

Please add a mirror and a small table to the rooms. Its nice to see how you look before you go out. Also please change the showercurtins, it would look so mutch better.m


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback