X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Exford Hotel Reviews

199 Russell Street, Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
582 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

In the middle of the centre. A very nice bar is underneath the hostel. I was not noisy.


71%

Free breakfast is cereal and bread which is okay. Wifi is not free unless your there for a week, so I just walked to the library. Room was pretty hot at night, the fan didn't really do the job. Everyone seemed long term guys so the room was pretty messy, and couldn't locate a plug socket because of it. Location is great, in the middle of Chinatown and a few minutes walk from everything you need. If Urban is available for the same price i'd go there, otherwise this is okay if your low on money


63%

Please add a mirror and a small table to the rooms. Its nice to see how you look before you go out. Also please change the showercurtins, it would look so mutch better.m

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Enjoyed the stay and the friendly people here in this lovely place. I really like the pub downstairs, they have good live music.


80%

Absolutely loved my experience here. The staff is EXTREMELY helpful.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good and central location. Big rooms and nice bar. Only flaw is my room had no AC, just two ventilators. If you can't sleep in a warm room I would suggest going somewhere else.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Not amazing, Bed Ok, Clean bedding e.t.c. but bathroom disgusting, Urinal for a shower !! No mirror's and overal a dark dinghy place.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

I think that the place should be cleaner - especially the bathrooms. The staff in the reception/bar was ok, but could be more friendly. They offer breakfast, but if you have an early flight, they would not give you anything (not even a piece of bread). I think they have to work on these two issues the most.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is very basic but comfortable. Location is ideal. Staff behind the bar were all lovely. Only downside was no air con but great hostel for the price I paid!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel close to centre of melbourne. Would be nice to have air conditioning in the rooms in the summer but its an older hostel so understandable it doesn't have this facility. Free breakfast of cereal and toast was great each morning! A bonus! Would definitely stay again if in melbourne.


89%

first of all,the location is perfect. we can go anywhere in city. and at the pub at grand floor, we can get discount if you stay at this hostel. staff are are awesome. but shower room is a little bit small and toilet as well.


89%

Great place to stay and highly recommended if you're ever in Melbourne. The location is great, right in the heart of the CBD and the fact that it's attached to a pub means the atmosphere is great, especially during the weekend. Great value all up!


71%

excellent spot in the cbd close to main shopping streets. building it's a little bit old, there's no lift (which could be a problem if you get a room on the 3rd floor), there's no a/c in the room, window was kept open with a bottle. On the other hand it's clean, quiet and safe - you get a card to get to the stairs and the room. The kitchen in the basement is big and there's plenty of fire rings. Next to it there's the tv room (a bit gloomy though being placed below ground). wifi: 5$ 500mb/week.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Can't really fault it, great location, friendly staff and pretty good facilities. Tends to attract long stayers though so i could see how you might feel as if you were intruding in someone else's room/in the communal area. Also no free wifi


66%

- Good location and staff. - On the ground floor there is a bar with good atmosphere and many different types of beer. - Old facilities and cleanliness a bit poor.


86%

The hostel itself was very central location ; close to Chinatown and downtown Melbourne so easy to get around the city by walking. The first floor of building was pub and bar so it may get loud and noisy at night for someone who stayed at second floor but it was very fine for us stayed at 4th floor without loud. Basic breakfast was included. Would stay here again next time in Melbourne.


51%

Very good location to all amnesties. Unfortunately, as you walking in, it smells, the floor is so old that on the top of the street noises, we will get the footpath and floor noises to wake you up in the middle of night or early bird. some renovation can be done. Staff, only one guy that I though was friendly and smile, the rest of them were rude and arrogant. Skiping the situation by just telling you "NO" . My remarks are fixables

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Unfortunately a lot of traffic and drilling noise.. Staff were great. Atmosphere is something I don't really know because in only stayed for 1 night.


77%

Locations is AMAZING! RIGHT in the CBD! The common room and kitchen are in the basement, so not many people really go there. Wifi doesn't work in rooms, just on main floor and basement. Place was awesome value but the bathrooms need an upgrade, there is no shelves or anything to put your stuff and the sinks are so tiny - and the shower stalls are so tiny as well. Keycard to get into everywhere so its definitely a secure place.


74%

Including breakfast: cereals and bread. big kitchen, enough toilets and shower, it is also a bar-so it is very loud at weekend, good reception, dryer doesn't dry,


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback