Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Explore NY Hotel and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 77 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 77 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
7.4

Room was ok and facilities as well. But the reception staff was not very helpfull or knd. I was not given any information about the area, transportation or anything and my friend asked what could be done in the area and she was told she could check out Queens area, but nothing too specific or motivating. Very poor service. It is close to subway station, but still about an hour from the Manhattan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2017
10.0

EXCELLENT!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
8.3

it has its pros and cons as does everywhere you go. overall its worth the price but at the same time you get what you pay for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2017
4.3

My one night in this hostel was just a confusing experience from beginning to end. Staff barely interacted with guests and appeared plain confused whenever a new one arrived. I witnessed three separate occasions were people were complaining about reservation mix-ups. The room was vile and the Met tickets stuck on the wall in the equally vile bathroom dated april 22 indicate that's probably the last time it was cleaned. FYI, it was may 29. Just do yourself a favor ... don't stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2017
3.4

I would advise to every women travelling alone, not to take a shared bedroom. The area is especially at night very bad and I lived with three sketchy guys together in a room. When I arrived late at night, the lobby was filled with man drinking and everything seemed very messy. The bathroom was extremely dirty and I didn't feel very safe. After I asked for it, they cleaned the bathroom and it was okay afterwards. It was a very cheap stay, but I wouldn't stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
8.0

During the weekday it's a bargain for $20 a night. There's a direct line straight into manhattan not too far away. There were local new yorkers staying in the room with me and I also met some travelers in the lobby. Bathrooms had some stains and made noise. For the price it was good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
10.0

PETER IS A WONDERFUL STAFF MEMBER WHO IS PROFESSIONAL AND COURTEOUS. I COULDN'T FIND THE PLACE AT NIGHT SINCE IT WAS DARK AND PETER CAME OUT TO THE STREET TO HELP ME. HE THEN TOOK TIME CHECKING ME IN. A COMPUTER GLITCH HAD CREATED AN ERROR TO MY RESERVATION AND PETER ASKED ME TO SEND HIM THE EMAIL AND HE HONORED THE PRICE ON THE BOOKING. PETER IS GENUINE EMPLOYEE WHO SERVES THE CUSTOMER ALL THE WAY! THANK YOU PETER! I HAVE RECOMENDED THIS HOSTEL THREE TIMES SINCE THEN!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
4.9

If you are planning to spend your time in Manhattan, this hostel is not convenient. It is about a 1 hour trip to get to downtown Manhattan on the subway. However where the hostel is in an interesting area with good Chinese food and Queens is easily accessible. It is unfinished (shoddy construction and debris throughout) & slightly dirty with a poor atmosphere for meeting people. It took an hour to check in three people. While in the lobby I overheard many instances of overbooking & other issues

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
2.9

Unreachable. The closest subway is a 14 minute walk. Unclean. The bed I was assigned to was not made. The bathrooms were dirty with grime in the tub. Inconvenient. The oulets near the bed did not work. Don't spend your money here. Not worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2017
6.9

Some of the staff were excellent and so friendly, while others not so much. The hostel seemed a bit disorganised with bookings and beds. The last night I was there it was over booked and they were turning people away late at night. It was good value for money, however if you're in NY for a short period I'd recommend a closer hostel to manhattan. I also think the hostel would benefit from having a youth only policy. So many weird old men making the atmosphere feel very unfriendly and creepy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.