X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

FIT Youth Hotel Reviews

201 West 87th Street, New York, NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

58%

Rating
370 Total Reviews
  • 54%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 60%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 48%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

Bathroom was horrific, needs updated badly! The toilet didn't even have toilet roll! Bedroom was very basic and the lock didn't work very well which could have left the room open at times ! Overall experience was below average and I wouldn't recommend

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

The bathroom on the 4th floor was disgusting! Underwear outside the toilet just left there as well!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Lovely and big hostel room with just one double bed.. However it was extremely expensive. Over $60 for just one night.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

At first it was very expensive for a bad room that smelled. Then we switched room to one that couldn't close the window, but was without smell. Got no info from staff about toilets, showers or kitchen. First day we showered COLD, when we told then about the water they said the showers were complex and should be maneuvered in a special way. So second day we could shower warm. Free coffee in the moring - good. No info about it - bad. No security in the building, just walk in!?

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

This is a well located hostel, it's in a safe and very centric area. However I'm very dissappointed with the hostel because the treatment of the recepcionists is not kind. Moreover when I did my reservation, it included free continental breakfast and the only thing I got was coffee. The building is old and its rooms smell old as a result.


71%

The repairs for the bathroom blands need to be done, the kitchen ware always seems not clean.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

This time there was an okay bathroom in the room; but the last time there were not enough bathrooms in the morning. The shower door would not latch and there was constantly a puddle of water on the floor. The kitchen in incredibly small (One table for 4 and only enough room to walk around it and that is all), there are no cooking utensils other than knifes and only plastic forks and spoons. No stove only a hot plate and a microwave. no plates, bowls, cups or glasses. Rooms are roomy.


60%

It went well. It was a steal for the price. However the bathrooms were always wet and there were puddles everywhere. At the end of my stay I had to check for cockaroaches in my bag because it's infested with tiny ones. The floor were broken and the lounge is in the basement. It looked nothing like it does in the picture and it didn't feel clean. The staff was very helpful though if you speak Spanish you'll be good.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

This hostel has a convenient location, near the subway, and near central park. It is fairly cheap for being in Manhattan. The building is shared with some other neighbours that make life difficult for the staff, especially about neatness. Although it is not a failure of the hostel, it can be annoying for the client. Some of the receptionist are really nice and helpful, some others are just average.


57%

A/C didn't work in our oom. The wifi didn't work in the rooms. The showers were terrible.


46%

The facility is rather poor considering the price - a little bit of conservation, investment and emphasize for cleanliness would make a great difference eg. nice colors on walls, would be good to have two chairs in two-bed room; bathrooms - make them closed and available only for hostel guests --> clean (!) etc

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

This is a good value for money option. Very close to the 86th Street subway station. Staff speaks little. So, they are neither friendly nor intrusive. Washroom was quite clean (at least compared to what I read in other reviews). You get a decent place to crash at low price. If you expect/want anything beyond that, this may not want this place.


37%

This is a tenement building with a few rooms set aside for the hostel. One single stall bathroom per floor, and not all of them are meant for the hostel guests. All the showers back up, so you are standing in water - bringing flipflops along to shower in only provides thin comfort. The mattresses are thin, the pillows are thin, and only sheets are provided (okay, there are a few heavier blankets in the room, but they were very clearly full of holes and discolored).

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The location is really ideal: close to two subway stations, the Central Park and museum of natural history. A couple of restaurants in walkable distance. Breakfast is provided. (Not fabulous but no complaint) Yet it can be very noisy at night with trucks keeping rushing out of the window. The heating pipe also makes annoying noise sometime. Curtains are not thick enough. They're translucent. Bathrooms are awful:lack of necessary shelf/hook, flies, no curtains and windows open to the street.

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

not bad , for the price to stay in new york




View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback