X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands Reviews

1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
919 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very good and clean bathroom facilities.


40%

I chose this hostel because of good reviews as all other reasonably priced rooms near ExCeL were already taken. I needed a good night's rest, so I booked a private room (at an insanely high price), only to be greeted by a creaky bunk bed and nothing else in a tiny room. One wall bordered on a bathroom and I could hear everything, including the incredibly loud hand drier - no way to sleep in there. The bathroom was small with broken tiles on floor. Avoid the private room. Dorms seemed OK though.


89%

The location was in a nice neighbourhood, across the Thames from Greenwich. The dorm bed was cheap and the pub and lobby downstairs were cozy. We were just staying for two nights and didn't spend much time in the hostel, but were really happy with the stay.


89%

Excellent ! Voilà ce que j'ai à dire ! Cependant ne comptez pas dormir avant minuit et d'avoir de l'électricité dans la chambre. Sinon rien à redire, propre, chaleureux et sécuritaire.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A better wifi is definitelt needed but overall the place is good, safe and clean. Although a bit more ventilation in the rooms wouldn't hurt. Otherwise i enjoyed my visit and would definitely reccommend it.


60%

Guess you get what you pay for, decent stay for a decent price.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Fresh @ Great Eastern was an awesome hostel. I would recommend to others and would stay again. However while I was there a laptop did get stolen, security could easily be upgraded to get an excellent review. The hostel doesn't have a kitchen but there are shops around and the friendly staff will lend you cutlery if needed. I stayed for two weeks and on the first day the sanitary bins were overflowing at the end of the stay they were the same. Disgusting. Breakfast was good and the free wifi 😃

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel almost ovelooks the Thames (must go for a walk along the river from here).5 minutes walk from Island Gardens station. lockers provided (padlocks available for purchase). Friendly staff. The hostel is part of a pub: nice vibe, nice character, pub hall with plenty of sockets for laptop users and comfy armchairs open 24 hours a day. free breakfast, free wifi (can be slow at times). 10% discount on food and beverages for hostel guests.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff here was very accommodating. I had a couple issues that didn't even have to do with the hostel and they were more than happy to help me out.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Не скажу , что все очень плохо и я не заселилась бы еще раз.Но все в меру. Обычный хостел, правда далековато от центра и ванная комната одна на 70 человек похоже. Некоторые неудобства были в том, что все время надо было код вводить.А в целом ничего против не имею.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This location was a little ways out from the city center, about a 25 minute train ride. However, it is near Greenwich which is a cool area in itself that I didn't really get to explore much. It was kind of nice to get away from all the hustle of the city center. A couple of the people handling the bar area were nice, and the guests here were a mixture of all kinds of people, from people there looking for work to some just visiting on vacation.


83%

Better wi-fi, please

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Very expensive, very baddly located, not a single advantage and the staff, altough polite, managed to give my bed to another person...I found out at 2 am I didn't have a bed.... Never stay at this hostel!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

One of the showers did not have a door on it and the rooms are a bit cramped - I assume to provide more beds for more people - but it´s a bit difficult to move about in the actual dorms. Also, there is no wifi in the rooms, only in the lounge. The location is a bit out of the way, but it's not too bad to get to and from central London.


63%

If you are looking for the absolute basics this is what you want. Bathroom wasn't nearly as clean as I had hoped it would be.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The place is awesome to stay for a few days but you gotta be lucky not to get in a moisty room and it will be a problem if you are allergic or something but the price is really good and it is located quite near from the tube station


74%

Un buen lugar, en una zona un poco alejada pero muy tranquila. Algunas cosas se pueden mejorar pero por el precio es un gran negocio.


54%

The hot water didn't work, the sheets weren't very clean, and the hostel was in the middle of nowhere

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

DIFICIL COMUNICARSE POR MI SPAINGLISH PERO EXCELENTE LUGAR PARA PERMACER COMPARTIR Y DESCANSAR!


54%

We booked a 6-bed-dorm and got a 12(!)-bed-dorm without any comment. The 12-bed didnt have a private bathroom, there were 3 showers and 2 toilets to be shared with the whole floor (>20 people), men an women (NO seperate bathrooms, unaccaptable!). 2 sockets for 12 people (good luck if you wanted to charge your phone), not enough plates, knives, jam etc. for breakfast. No sockets in the bathroom.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback