X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Reviews

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1665 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

There isn't any toilet paper in the toilets. The location is excellent. From the Hostel to London Eye takes 10 minutes.

  • 14th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff at this hostel were absolutely exceptional. They were extremely friendly, always willing to chat, and they went out of their way to make sure that our experience was the best it could be, without us even asking.

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

positive: - location - style - staff was nice although they have 12-hours-shifts, wow negative: - 3 people sleeping above one another - less toilets, wet floor and very narrow - Bar (where we could take the breakfast) smelled like spilled beer always - no facility for cooking or at least a fridge

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

this hostel was by far the dirtyist, least secure and in general i felt unsafe and disgusted by the living conditions. i have really low standards for hostels but when you are stacked three high on bunk beds and literally have no space to move in your own room that crosses the line. there were no redeeming qualities, the showers were covered in hair and dirt, the bathrooms were basically open, you had a door on your stall but there was no real door. do not stay here. you are wasting your time.

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Only drawback is that they just have 12/16 bed dorm options. Rest is fine.


100%

Great people and location for an interesting place to stay :)

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was above a bar which made it easy to meet people. It was nice overall. Just wish the rooms were not as crammed with all the beds.


94%

The location is what I love about this hostel. Only a 5 minute walk to southbank ( Big Ben, the eye etc) and it has such a nice atmosphere. For the price you are paying it is a bargain.


71%

Had a good time as we met great people. Hostel was clean. A little squishy in the rooms. Staff were helpful. Good location as only a 1 minute walk to underground.


89%

The staff was great and very welcoming. They were able to tell me a lot about where to go what to see and the best way to do it since I only had one day in London.

  • 3rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything's great, I enjoy it very much. Thank you and love you~

  • 2nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great time - close to the city and staff were always ready to help - Especially thanks to "Spanish Sergio" the night barman who kept us entertained through the early hours :D

  • 30th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

This place is pretty far away from anything cool. There is nowhere to hangout outside of the dorm rooms without going to the bar downstairs. Only two bathrooms and two showers for four dorms of a ton of people. Not enough lockers. No kitchen. Bunks stacked three high. This place is probably fine if you just want a place to pass out after a night out, but don't expect anything more. This doesn't have the fun community vibe of some hostels out there. Strangely large number of REALLY old people.


100%

I had such an amazing time here...the whole staff was great and so friendly. It's in a great location, easy to get to many sites in London. I would definitely go back!


91%

The staff here were really amazing and always willing to lend their advice on where to go and how to get there . The locals at the pub were also really friendly and entertaining. The rooms were a bit cramped but were clean . It would have been nice to have a kitchen or common room, and laundry but the hostel was close to everything . I met a lot of nice people and had an amazing time.

  • 24th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

It was an alright place to stay. Clean and decent staff, too few lockers, weird placement, but still somehow convenient. Nothing all that special about it, but no real complaints.


94%

Great hostel! The bar is awesome downstairs and open 24 hours for people staying there. Great way to meet people with the bar and pool table. Made new friends that we would sight see with during the day and go out with all night. Only complaints were the rooms were very small for the amount of people sleeping in them, and only two bathrooms for everyone. If you don't mind walking, it's walking distance to the sightseeing, otherwise it's just a few blocks from the metro. Staff was great!


63%

This is my first time staying in a hostel so I can not really compare to other places. I thought the staffs at the place was very helpful and they make you feel like home all over again!!! The locqtion is great as well, you can liteerally walk to all the attractions and the underground station is very closed by as well. The down side is that the room is really crowed, there are twelve bunk beds in a small room. Also there is no kthchen or common room, rather the common room is in the pub.


83%

Great place wi a great vibe. Pub downstairs is very chilled. Beds a bit uncomfy but clean. Friendly staff who were very helpful.

  • 16th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location! Very close to a Tube station and within easy walking distance of Westminster, the London Eye, etc. Hostel itself was very clean. The room itself was a bit cramped but overall it was no problem. Very secure. The staff and bar below were very pleasant, great people and a nice place to hang out. Only suggestion I have is to bring a flashlight so you can see in the room while others are sleeping (there was only one ceiling light).


(1088 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback