X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Reviews

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1665 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great location, great staff, great value for money. The bathroom floor was very very wet so it was annoying to take a shower, but everything else was GREAT.


91%

Need a better thermostat in the shower as water was either cold, boiling or a tiny bit warm but the rest was just Perfect. Thanks!


77%

The staff where really friendly and helpful.

  • 15th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff was great, very helpful and would stay here again if i was back in London.

  • 5th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Value for the money, definitely. It´s located within 10 min walking distance to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, and London Eye. Also, about 3 min from metro station. Karaoke was definitely fun with the locals there. Pizza is great together with happy hour and discounted drink. Hopefully, you don´t get the bottom bunk if you don´t like sleeping next to the floor.


97%

We had such a good stay here during NYE. Hostel staff was very friendly! And the hostel was very clean, even during these busy days in london.

  • 29th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The Steam Engine is a very nice hostel! Located in the Central London, you can easily go to the main touristic places of the city. The staffs are very cool and they are always ready to help you.


100%

Very well located, nice peoples.


100%

I have stayed in many hostels during my travels around Europe. This is far the best hostel with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 27th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I only stayed the one night. But the location was really good, staff really friendly and the drinks/food in the pub was a decent price. The rooms were quite small and rather cramped and the triple bunks weren't overly flash. Downstairs, the pub was handy to have but was pretty quiet and although it said 24 hours, they stopped serving drinks at midnight. This place is a decent price and was ok to stay at if you are happy staying in small spaces.


100%

Lovely environment, with a cosy bar and warm hostel. Friendliest team of staff, personable and helpful. You'll definitely find yourself drowning in the good hospitality of the staff. Get to know them! Daniel, Albert, Elliot, Luka, Martina, Daisy and more! Brilliant location, just 5minutes away from most attractions. Best and affordable price for the greatest package! Come! (:


43%

The bathroom was puked for two days and no one cleaned. I has good location and cheap price though.


80%

Really awesome hostel seriously close to the London Eye and Big Ben. The staff is super friendly. Met some great people here. The bar's got a cool local vibe mixed with all the people staying from all around the world. A+ would recommend.


97%

We had a great time there! Everything was great! The location, the hostel itself, the ambience and all the staff. But, we would like to thank, specially, to Daniel and Albert that were super nice, helpful and friendly! We did't even miss our families during christmas!

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

really liked this place

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The nicest staff ever!


91%

I had a great time at the hostel, chatting to the staff who were all very friendly and welcoming. The location is great for a long walk through the famous places in London. The rooms are cramped and there is no space for bags (don't bring a big one!) but you can get your rest with no problem. Perfect for a short stay!

  • 18th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice staff and nice friends we met there! Very near to the tube!


100%

I had the best trip ever to london. Staff was great especially daniel madr me impression with excellent customer service and had allways a big smile for everybody:)

  • 15th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female
  • (1 review)


74%

It was okay specially considering the price but it was uncomfortable to be too many in a tiny room.

  • 9th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1088 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback