Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fairman House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2017
9.7

I stayed there for one night in May 2017. Had a lovely time, the house is very comfy and clean !! The location is 10-15 minutes from the city centre in a very quiet neighbourhood! The lady was also lovely and gave me a lot of info on places to go to !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2017
4.9

The room was OK, bed was comfortable. But we haven't felt so unwelcome yet. The man didn't even show us where the bathroom is or tell us anything about breakfast. But he did ask us for money for 4 times. Will not go there anymore.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
10.0

I have worked in Travel Business,When I decided to do a course in Derry because many days accommodation to book I looked for Youth Hostel accommodation,Very happy with the experience.I had the feeling of being in a B&B, 4 beds per room, clean free toilets/showers available all the time, sparkling Kitchen with breakfast available,cozy sitting room and the host lovely.I could not ask for more.:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
4.0

The staff is really awkward. They don't even greet back, if you greet them. Room was not that clean, it had a very awful smell of cigarettes. There were no lockers or closets in the room, only a small coat hanger, which is enough for the whole room to use. Also location is quite far from the city center, as it is placed uphill.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
8.9

Thanks for the stay. Nice hostel, friendly staff, good location for Derry. Laid back hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Feb 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel. Small and with friendly people. Easily reachable from the city-center. You really feel at home ! ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

Uphill but as if en extension of your family had outfitted their traditional home for a large family reunion. Wish the bunk beds had reading lights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
10.0

Lovely place. the best hostel I ever stayed in, and also better than many B and Bs. The lady of the house was lovely,helpful and welcoming. It was very clean, and also very comfortable, with warm colours ,and I felt like a family guest. Self service breakfast was included free, and it was eggs, cereals, milk or soya milk, bread , butter or lowfat spread-------clean towels and tea towels in kitchen. Towels were available to rent ( at £1 ---allor part of this money goes to a charity).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.3

Staff was nice, clean and comfortable room. Little downside was that the remaining balance had to be paid in cash (card is not possible)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

Incredible. The lady was so friendly and the free breakfast was sensational. Great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.