Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fairman House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.9

Nothing too spectacular, but very cosy! Definitely more of a BnB rather than hostel (which suited us fine), owner was lovely, good breakfast, comfy beds and dorm room, very good wifi Only downside was the walls were so thin we could hear the guy in the next room snoring unbelievably loudly all night so had a bad sleep (but can't blame the hostel for that!)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.1

Worth staying there, I loved it. A homey place. Nice kitchen and bathrooms. Neil was a great host. Pls buy some new frying pans!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
9.4

Lovely place, very relaxing with good facilities and a friendly owner. Would definitely recommend for a stay at in Derry (which is a also a great city to look around).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jun 2017
8.0

Hostel is about a 25 minute walk away from the bus station and is at the top of a large hill (I am from the Canadian prairies). The woman that owns the building is very nice and was super helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
8.9

The owners were super nice and helpful and the place was clean and had all the facilities you would need. There wasn't much of an atmosphere, probably due to it being a small hostel so not many guests. But overall it was a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2017
9.7

I stayed there for one night in May 2017. Had a lovely time, the house is very comfy and clean !! The location is 10-15 minutes from the city centre in a very quiet neighbourhood! The lady was also lovely and gave me a lot of info on places to go to !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2017
4.9

The room was OK, bed was comfortable. But we haven't felt so unwelcome yet. The man didn't even show us where the bathroom is or tell us anything about breakfast. But he did ask us for money for 4 times. Will not go there anymore.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
10.0

I have worked in Travel Business,When I decided to do a course in Derry because many days accommodation to book I looked for Youth Hostel accommodation,Very happy with the experience.I had the feeling of being in a B&B, 4 beds per room, clean free toilets/showers available all the time, sparkling Kitchen with breakfast available,cozy sitting room and the host lovely.I could not ask for more.:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
4.0

The staff is really awkward. They don't even greet back, if you greet them. Room was not that clean, it had a very awful smell of cigarettes. There were no lockers or closets in the room, only a small coat hanger, which is enough for the whole room to use. Also location is quite far from the city center, as it is placed uphill.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
8.9

Thanks for the stay. Nice hostel, friendly staff, good location for Derry. Laid back hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.