Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Family Peace House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.5
Family Peace House Located at Paknajol, Thamel, , Kathmandu.
Family Peace House
Nepal
Kathmandu nepal Paknajol, Thamel
87% 155
27.7180457 85.3083913
Family Peace House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.4

Great rooms, good place to meet people. Cosy and relaxed, close but not too close to busy Thamel! And super nice staff!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
9.4

Family Peace house is great! I stayed here for a week and really enjoyed my stay. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about trekking. The location is great. It's tucked away alittle off the main road. Right by everything and quite night sleeps. Great rooftop views too! I would recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
10.0

I spent a week at the Family Peace House and it made my vacation easy and worry free. It is located conveniently just steps away from Thamel but just off the main street so that you avoid the noise of the city. Delicious breakfasts every morning - I recommend the banana pancakes! The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the city. The owner and staff go out of their way to help you with anything you need- laundry, taxis, tours, activities. A wonderful place to stay in Katmandu!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
10.0

This hostel already has a lot of good reviews, it was the principle reason we stayed here, so maybe we could just highlight some of the things we liked: Free water refills, excellent. TP on demand. The roof has a decent view, and it is exactly a mile from both Swayambhunath and the Durbur square. If you don't haggle you can get to Boudhanath and Pashupatinath for 400rp. The vegetarian place close by is great. This hostel is great, if you are looking on Hostelworld you are now finished.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
10.0

Throughout my extended stay at the Family Peace Guest House the staff have become a sort of family to me. Everyone there has been unbelievably kind, hilarious, and helpful. With quick service and and a loose, friendly atmosphere, the Peace House has been the perfect vantage point for me and the many friends I've met while staying here. It's perfectly located near Thamel and a great vegetarian restaurant, yet remote enough that the bustling city doesn't keep you up or pose any trouble. LOVE EM

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

Family Peace House is awesome. During my month here I have met the best people and always felt safe. The location is great and the staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
8.6

Very nice place to stay to be close to Thamel, but not in all of the craziness. Very good price, and very nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
7.1

Decent place; overall a nice guesthouse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
8.3

Located away from the hustle and bustle of central Thamel but still close enough to get to all to main sights. Hostel is down an alley. Owners are friendly. Wifi stable. Electricity (like the rest of KTM) is switch off at certain times. Shared bathroom/toilet very basic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experiences here in hostelworld. We are happy to know that you like your stay at Family Peace House. We will be happy to welcome you back in future.

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2016
8.0

This hostel is average in terms of facilities but everything is relatively clean. The staff are lovely and the manager of the hotel's wife even cut my hair for me one evening (she has a salon in Kathmandu). There is a lovely roof terrace and the rooms are nice and light. The hotel is a few minutes walk from Thamel and just far enough for it to be quiet. We extended our stay but moved rooms to one which was a bit more run down around the back but was just $5 a night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.