Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Family Peace House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

What a peaceful place! Absolutely A* location being a 5 minute walk to the overly loud and packed streets of Thamel, Family Peace House is set down a small alleyway on the outskirts of Thamel with all late night shops, necessary facilities and cheap restraunts in close vicinity. Main plus is the tranquillity and lack of pollution here. When I first arrived I had major trouble with my visa and the manager personally drove around with me to sort it all out. Ended up staying a month. Recommend*****

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • v110791
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

Great value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
6.6

The room and bathroom was clean, but the windows were very thin (cold, noise) and there wasn't a good common area for meeting others. Most of the staff didn't speak much English, and the only help we found was when we went the travel agency next door. They booked a bus for us but when we got on, we couldn't sit together. One of us had to sit up front with the driver and the other in the back row; AND they charged us 100 NPR more than other passengers. We won't return.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. First we want to make sure that windows of the all guest house same and you can close properly, second it's march which is not cold season any more and every room has extra blanket. About bus tickets..there is always written seat number and you can always ask for same seat number to bus guy. I saw your bus tickets and seat number is 7/8 written. That was your mistake not to ask your seat. First time this is happened. Anyway thank you for your complain and we have inquired bus company to know what happened.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
8.9

Really good stay here! Location is really good and staff were nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Great place to stay! Very safe area with a very short walk (5 mins) to the main area of town. Clean rooms, fast and consistent wifi, everything you can ask for. The owner is very helpful, speaks perfect English, helps book travels throughout the rest of Nepal and is simply a nice guy and fun to be around. Definitely recommend this hostel, great place with comfy beds to relax and catch up on sleep after some long days of traveling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay Staff amazing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kevinyamauchi8463
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Dec 2016
10.0

I stayed in the Family Peace Home hostel on two separate occasions and received amazing service both times. They were kind enough to provide very late check-in (midnight) and gave great advice on treks to do around Pokhara. They even helped my partner and I find and catch a bus last minute, giving us a whole extra day to trek. We definitely would not have been able to do so without their guidance. Overall, a great hostel with great staff. I would recommend them to anybody visiting Kathmandu.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Dec 2016
7.7

Really nice simple hostel! The room was very big and good shower. Location was a bit out of the way but I liked being away from the touristy thamel area. Staff were really nice and good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel in the popular Thamel neighbourhood where the majority of tourists first stay in Kathmandu. The owner was a very friendly guy and was happy to help me with pointers on the easiest and cheapest way to prepare the permits and transport from Kathmandu for a trek in Annapurna that I completed while I was in Nepal. The rooms were basic but had comfortable beds and there was hot water and working wifi (just about all you could hope for in a hostel).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • annaka5965
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Nov 2016
9.1

Only stayed the one night as set off on a trek with one of the managers who was an absolute star. Bimal, organised full weeks trekking in jomsom region and all went exactly to plan. Hotel itself is reasonably well located and quiet at night. Room was very clean and comfortable with hot water and a lovely balcony. Would definitely recommend the hotel and certainly look up Bimal for any trekking itineraries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.