Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Family Peace House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 200 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 200 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
10.0

This is a great place to stay and get acquainted with Kathmandu! Lovely and informative staff, great food, with an overall relaxed atmosphere. Hot showers as an added bonus and very clean. I would highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2017
7.7

Decent place. Not much you could ask for considering the price. Hostel is a little confusing to find. Get your taxi driver to call the hostel and they'll take you right there. Hot shower was a treat and beautiful view from the balcony. Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.9

Great place to relax off the beaten path of Thamel, while still being near everything. The dorms are newer so they're still working out some kinks, but they were very receptive to suggestions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Great place to stay, we decided to stay longer and return here after our trek. Bimal and all of the staff are very helpful and will be able to organise anything that you may need. The rooms are comfortable and were clean on arrival. The downstairs breakfast area is also very pleasant, breakfast is cheap and very good. Wifi is super speedy. 2 different modems for different locations In the Hostel both are very good. Free water and toilet roll for your convenience. Great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
9.7

Amazing, amazing hostel. I was traveling solo and they took me in like family, showed me around and made sure I had anything and everything that I needed. The staff are the friendliest and kindest in Kathmandu! 🙏🕉💜💚💙

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.6

This hostel is good value for the money... but it was quite loud at night and in the morning from the staff talking outside of our room. Also do not book a bus ticket from pokhara with them... they tell you it's ac and it's a run down hot bus (ours actually broke down). Other than that, the food options are good and the staff is friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
6.9

Located in a quieter and slightly less dusty area near thamel. There is no real hang out area except restaurant and small univiting room at bottom floor. Not very comfortable or conducive to hanging out. There are some nicer balconies and rooftop but are not used for hanging areas- there is trash and cigarette butts. The building has potential because of views and location but atmosphere was not there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

What a peaceful place! Absolutely A* location being a 5 minute walk to the overly loud and packed streets of Thamel, Family Peace House is set down a small alleyway on the outskirts of Thamel with all late night shops, necessary facilities and cheap restraunts in close vicinity. Main plus is the tranquillity and lack of pollution here. When I first arrived I had major trouble with my visa and the manager personally drove around with me to sort it all out. Ended up staying a month. Recommend*****

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • v110791
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

Great value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
6.6

The room and bathroom was clean, but the windows were very thin (cold, noise) and there wasn't a good common area for meeting others. Most of the staff didn't speak much English, and the only help we found was when we went the travel agency next door. They booked a bus for us but when we got on, we couldn't sit together. One of us had to sit up front with the driver and the other in the back row; AND they charged us 100 NPR more than other passengers. We won't return.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. First we want to make sure that windows of the all guest house same and you can close properly, second it's march which is not cold season any more and every room has extra blanket. About bus tickets..there is always written seat number and you can always ask for same seat number to bus guy. I saw your bus tickets and seat number is 7/8 written. That was your mistake not to ask your seat. First time this is happened. Anyway thank you for your complain and we have inquired bus company to know what happened.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.