Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Family Stanos

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7
Family Stanos Located at Bernard Shaw str. No 5, , Dubrovnik.
Family Stanos
Croatia
Dubrovnik 20 000 Bernard Shaw str. No 5
94% 357
42.6438401 18.1080222
Family Stanos
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

We had an absolutely amazing stay here. Although the hostel was a little hard to find from the bus station in Dubrovnik when we did find it we realised the location was superb. The walk from the hostel to the Old Town is less than 5 minutes and a walk that's effectively a straight line. The hosts were wonderful and greeted us with open arms, even though we were early and gave us mandarins and rakijah whilst they made up the room and the family's daughter told us ghost stories.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Just a few minutes walk from old town. A private room with an ensuite bathroom. Wifi works great. The Stanos family are very nice people & will help with directions, bus schedules, etc. I highly recommend this place when you visit Dubrovnik

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Oct 2016
10.0

The owners of family Stanos is very welcoming and friendly. The room was perfect, clean and had a perfect view of the sea and old town. Old town Dubrovnik and the city walls are right outside the steps. The cable car and the bus to the airport was also walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
10.0

Very nice experience. Really closed to the old town, the staff was really nice with us and they help you with all they can. The room has an awsome views, was huge and clean and really confortable. We can imagine a better place to spent our two nights in dubrovnik. An authentical place in a incredible city. Thank you for everything!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
10.0

Great atmosphere and old world charm. Family Stanos were very welcoming with invaluable local knowledge and advice. I would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Nice place in a great location. Super nice Garden with terrace. Very friendly people, helped us with luggage and parking. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.7

Calling this house a "Hostel" is a misnomer. It is a family home, which has guest rooms. There is no hostel kitchen, so no facilities to make a cuppa. Diana made me a welcome cup of coffee one morning alright but it would have been so nice to have use of a kettle. Without a hostel common room there is no place for meeting other travellers/holiday makers to share knowledge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This is not a hostel, and it says on my microsite, this is a guesthouse. Coffee or tea in the morning are available to everyone for free. If you wake up every day at 11 am and go to bed at 8 in the evening you can not expect that you will meet a lot of other guests. We do not have a common room, but we have common garden, remember, that is the place where you sat with other guests drank coffee, ate just-picked grapes, tasting some of the local liqueur. But if you "pay on arrival" understood as "I'll send you the money when I get back home," nothing does not surprise me ...

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
10.0

We went on a 3 week trip through Europe, and staying with Baldo and his family at Family Stanos was by far our favorite place we stayed! The accomodations were very comfortable, perfect location right near the palace walls, and a very friendly welcome. Trust his directions! :) We asked at the bus station how to get to the Kapelica bus station, and they casually said oh all the buses go there. They do go NEAR there, but it's much better to wait for the #8 bus up the hill as he has suggested.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

Very much enjoyed my stay. Was a great location,though up many stairs as is most of Dubrovnik but only an issue because of luggage. Baldo the owner, kindly meet me at bus stop to help,me carry my bag as I had an injured foot.You will enjoy staying here if you want to feel what an authentic Croatian home is like. My room had an amazing view of old town and the sea and my room was very clean.Great to chat with Baldo as I got the opportunity to learn lot about the history of Croatia and Dubrovnik.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, we also enjoyed your company ...

29th Aug 2016
9.7

My wife and I stayed at Family Stanos for 3 nights. This is an historic home with a lot of character. The owner and his family went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and helped us out when we were having transportation issues. We loved the terrace and garden, and the 2 resident turtles were very entertaining. Though a bit of a hike up the stairs from Pile Gate, the location offers great views of the town. We would definitely return to Family Stanos on our next visit to Dubrovnik

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.