Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Family Stanos

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
9.1

Location of the property is very good. You have to climb some steps but not too much. It is a 5 min walk to the old town. Family Stanos is welcoming and kind. We received grapes from their own garden when we arrived. The room had a stunning view on the old town and sea. The room was clean and there was a good shower. We van recommend this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2017
5.7

To the point: - Location was the best part as it was only about a 5 min walk to the Old Town. - Staff was nice and funny. Even gave us a tip on free parking - It was quite expensive for a 1 night stay and wasn't worth the value. -The water in the bathroom was very weak. -The view from our room was very nice, overlooking the Old Town. -Very basic facility, basic cleanliness, and basic room. -Overall, decent stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
10.0

Great stay at the Family Stanos. The location was great, just outside of the old town, and meant that it always felt quite peaceful. Baldo and his family were really lovely. He was a great help in organising bus tickets for our onward journey and for tips on things to do and places to eat in Dubrovnik.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2017
9.7

This family is so nice and welcoming. As soon as I arrived i was offered water (it was really hot) and a place to sit for a few mins (the street has some steps and it can be tiring lugging luggage up them!). Also when arriving back at night they were often sitting outside and would always pout a glass of homemade liquor or grappa and invite you to sit and chat for awhile- you can tell they genuinely are interested in knowing their guests. Room was clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nadiachoudhry1235954
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Jul 2017
6.0

Baldos, the owner, started off as a nice and welcoming dude, but that facade was over pretty quickly when my husband asked his wife for some hot water whilst she was sunbathing. Baldos then loses his mind by angrily stating that this place is not a restaurant service and how dare my husband ask his wife for some hot water whilst she was asleep. Then he rudely talks about us to some of his guests in front of us thinking we don't understand. Body language is universal mate!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Respect the country you are visiting, respect the place you are staying, respect the people you meet ....

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2017
10.0

We had a lovely stay at Family Stanos. Baldo and his family are so warm and friendly. The location is perfect for exploring the old city, our room even had a beautiful view of one of the city wall towers and the pretty terracotta rooftops. Wouldn't hesitate to go back again if we went back to Dubrovnik!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
2.0

As the name suggests, you are staying with a family at their home. If you are planning on doing anything other than SLEEPING there ,then forget it. The owner mentioned nothing about a curfew , and when we came back at around 2 am,( we were quiet upon entering) he was waiting there in his boxers like a old grandma ,super pissed off that "we are not respecting the rules" and that "we can't stay there again". Well we will never stay or recommend this place again. Price was expensive too!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad you wrote a comment, so now I have a chance to clarify your situation and to warn other potential guests. You came back about 2 am, very quiet, but you forgot to say that you came back with the two women you picked up somewhere in the nightclub or on the way from the night club to my home. You can bring unknown guests in your house, but not in mine. The security of all my guests is my priority. So WE DO NOT CARE about your comment, and WE DO NOT CARE about your recommendation.

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
8.3

Excelent, excelent hosts! Really nice family, willing to help and facilitate your stay. Couldn't have found nicest people to welcome me in Croatia!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jun 2017
9.4

Excellent location. Just a short 10/15 minute walk to the Old Town. Basic room but very clean, with comfortable beds and a beautiful view. Baldo, the owner, was helpful and friendly, and the whole family were very welcoming. Excellent value for money. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Jun 2017
8.6

The family very friendly and helpful. The house is located a little bit up the hill at about the level of the big tower. The stairs were not a problem for us but something to keep in mind if you have mobility issues

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×