X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Family Stanos Reviews

Bernard Shaw str. No 5, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
256 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The hostel was run down but the owners were very friendly. The beds were very basic and the facilities were only adequate. There was a good shower which we appreciated. The noise from other guests in the hostel disturbed most of our group.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm very sorry that you felt uncomfortable, but if you are 40 years older than all the other guests, you can expect some problems. I told you that the the best medicine against noise, is to drink a glass of brandy before bedtime.

97%

A really welcoming family! Clean room, nice bathroom and very close to old town.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staying with the Stanos was an excellent idea and we'd happily return the next time we're in Dubrovnik! Perfect location to visit the old city as well as the Srd Hill, a friendly family (with adorable Ana-Maria) that treats guests kindly, and very pleasant evenings chit-chatting in the garden too with Baldo and other guests. We get tips to places we want to go/activities we want to do etc, and even got to taste fresh tomatoes from their garden to go with our picnic one day.


89%

Baldo is an excellent host. He will spend time with you and let you know about things to see and do and about the history of the area. He has good connections with the people of Dubrovnik. A thoroughly delightful stay. Thanks Baldo!

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent host, couldn't do enough to help us. We arrived sweaty, late and with broken bikes, Baldo immediately set to sorting us out! Don't know what we would have done without him. We traveled the whole of the Croatian coast and this place made Dubrovnik the highlight!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We loved family Stanos! The family is so kind and lovely, among arrival they greet you with water and snacks and give great recommendations. You have your own room and keys so you come and go as you please. The view from our room on the 3rd floor overlooked all of old town - absolutely beautiful! Overall it was clean, nice, safe, perfect location, and a great value for yor money! Stay here!


66%

A bit old fashioned, need refurbishment. Relatively close to the city walls but be aware - lots of stairs. No tea/coffee facilities and a bit too expensive for the standard provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, you are right. House which is 260 years old looks old-fashioned. No tea / coffee facilities, but every morning you drink coffee in the garden.

97%

We really enjoyed our stay at Family Stanos. The house is well located near the city center and public transport. The place is very clean. We especially liked the warm welcome and friendliness of the whole family. They gave plenty of useful pieces of advice.


83%

Baldo was an excellent host and did everything he could to help us with our plans and gave us ideas of where to explore. The location could not be better. You are only a set or two of stairs away from the old town and going up and down works off all that gelato close at hand anyways! Highly recommend.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a fantastic stay at Family Stamps. The price can't be beat and Baldo and his family were marvelous, friendly and entertaining. I would recommend this place to any friends or family. It is basic but a bargain and clean and comfortable.


100%

It was brilliant! Baldo was very kind, chatting with us and inviting us for shots! The room was amazing with amazing views and very near from the centre. The only thing i would improve, small little thing, it would be to offer breakfast, although Baldo offered us coffee before we left every day. I reckon is one of the best hostels i have ever been!


100%

As far as budget accommodation is concerned, Family Stanos went above and beyond my expectations. The owner, Baldp, is an unbelievably nice guy and his family is very sweet as well. We had a triple room (and our own bathroom!) with a beautiful view of the the sea. The location is excellent, less than a five minute walk to the the old city. Cleanliness was a non-issue--the place was spotless. Do yourself a favor and stay here!


100%

We had a great stay at Family Stanos. The family was extremely friendly and very helpful in planning our visit in Dubrovnik. The sobe was very central, just a few minute walk to the Old Town. I would definitely recommend this sobe to anyone staying in Dubrovnik!


89%

Excellent stay and very friendly family.. Always again, thanks.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Looking for a BnB in Dubrovnic? Go there! Nothing more to say about this place. Perhaps one more thing: lovely hosts!

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Family Stanos is awesome. Baldo and his family are lovely people and very welcoming. The location is superb - 5 minutes from the Old Town, Cable Car and Airport Bus Stop. Our room was on the second floor and facing towards the Old Town/Sea (the view was amazing). The room itself was spacious and clean. If you're looking for a place to stay in Dubrovnik then this is it. Highly recommend.


94%

Very nice family, Baldo, his wife and cute little AnaMaria. We were there at the Easter and it was very nice. Close to the old city, very near to the cable-car and airport bus stop. Good view and very nice experience. Definately recommend to others.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything about our stay with Family Stanos was awesome!! Our room was on the second floor with stunning views, very clean, tidy and had everything we needed for our stay. Baldo and his family are wonderful friendly people who make you feel very welcome. Baldo also prepared traditional croatian food which was better than any restaurant in Dubrovnik. If you are looking for a place to stay in Dubrovnik then this is it, I wish our stay could have been longer. Highly recommend to all!!!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Our stay with the Stanos family was excellent. The family is very welcoming and really makes you feel at home! Clean room, great wifi and probably the best view you can find looking over the beautiful old town of Dubrovnik. When we come back we will without a doubt stay with the Stanos family again - surely Hilton next door can't provide half the atmosphere that we experienced. Highly recommendable for anyone who wants to visit Dubrovnik :-)

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Dubrovnik Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback