X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Family Stanos Reviews

Bernard Shaw str. No 5, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
282 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Absolutely loved this place! Incredible view of the old town and the sea. The Stanos family is so welcoming and friendly, we had a lovely time talking with them and playing cards. Would highly recommend this place for anyone staying in dubrovnik.


91%

Exellent location with amazing views, just outside the old town walls which made it easy easy to go out at night but far enough out not to hear noise. We loved it so much we extended our stay for 2 days. Highly recommend

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Family Stanos is wonderful, funny and welcoming. Their house is one of the original old stone houses just above old town with a little garden. We had a room at the top floor with a stunning view over old town and the sea. Room was very basic but super clean, we had nothing to miss as we were just there to sleep. Its easy to find, just a min. Walking from the busstop and 5 min walk downhill to enter oldtown. Great location, host and just what you need!!!


94%

Great location up the steps above the old town overlooking the famous walls and tower. Host was extremely friendly - even offering us an alcoholic drink to warm us up when we came in soaked - and a morning coffee. Large room.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The family Stanos ar lovely and are extremely accommodating and kind. Their house is in an excellent location, just outside the old city walls a five minute walk from the Pile Gate (but be aware that the Pile Gate is down a very long set of stairs from the house). The room was large, bright and clean with very good wifi and a communal fridge for guests. There is no air conditioning, however there was a light breeze that kept the room cool. I would definitely recommend staying with family Stanos!


100%

Great host, made us feel at home and stayed up till late to welcome us on our arrival in Dubrovnik. Also graciously offered fresh grapes from the vine! Rooms are clean, good size and comfortable. The house has a lot of character with old style wooden stairs and wooden beams on the roof..loved it! You feel instantly welcome in a relaxed atmosphere. The patio area too is very comfortable. Location is superb. Literally 5 minutes walk from the old town. Will stay here again!


97%

Loved Loved Loved The stanos family!! Little Anna Maria is there to greet you at the door, but then she tells you her name is multiple different things! she is the cutest!! She has the best english for a 7 year old, that hasn't even started school yet!! Baldo is awesome. So friendly, and willing to help you out with anything! There home is awesome, with grapes growing freely. We stayed two nights, and came back at the end of the week for our last night in croatia. We will miss them!!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly Hostel, the Owner was lovely even if I forget his name his Daughter also was an interesting character and had plenty of questions for us. Gave us some good information in regards to restaurants/bars and sights to see. Found the place relatively easily.


94%

The Stanos family is welcoming and adorable. The location is idéal (just on top of the city walls) and the rooms are clean and simple. We had a great stay at their house.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The room was very spacious and clean. The view was really nice and location was perfect. The owners were friendly and we felt very welcome. The hospitality was outstanding, we were offered drinks, cookies and watermelon, and a game of chess. Their daughter offered us some magic orange juice that takes you back in time - totally fun! We recommend this place :)


100%

and Baldo can remove sea urchin from your foot ;)


77%

Host was very welcoming. Our arrival in Dubrovnik was late in the evening and it was extremely helpful that our host was waiting in the street outside the hostel which saved us time in locating it in the dark. Good location very close to the old town but far enough away not to be bothered by noise. Would stay here again/recommend to friends.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you Mr. Stanos for you hospitality!


89%

We'd recommend Family Stanos to anyone - lovely bedroom, quiet location and very welcoming.


100%

A really nice hostel located right next to the Old Town! Really nice clean rooms and bathrooms. Baldo who owns it was very helpful and welcoming especially seeing as we arrived very late at night on a bus from Split. Would definitely recommend!


94%

Our stay at Family Stanos was delightful. Loved it! Nice room with own bathroom and air-conditioning! Definitely worth the money. Family was awesome and everyone was so nice and welcoming. We got the best tips of restaurants and places to go. It was near old town, just a few steps ;) Yeah, really you have to climb quite many steps, but we didn't mind as the view from our window was so amazing. If I ever come back, I'll stay here. Enjoyed every bit! Best regards, The best finnish girls, vig's ;)

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was run down but the owners were very friendly. The beds were very basic and the facilities were only adequate. There was a good shower which we appreciated. The noise from other guests in the hostel disturbed most of our group.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm very sorry that you felt uncomfortable, but if you are 40 years older than all the other guests, you can expect some problems. I told you that the the best medicine against noise, is to drink a glass of brandy before bedtime.

97%

A really welcoming family! Clean room, nice bathroom and very close to old town.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staying with the Stanos was an excellent idea and we'd happily return the next time we're in Dubrovnik! Perfect location to visit the old city as well as the Srd Hill, a friendly family (with adorable Ana-Maria) that treats guests kindly, and very pleasant evenings chit-chatting in the garden too with Baldo and other guests. We get tips to places we want to go/activities we want to do etc, and even got to taste fresh tomatoes from their garden to go with our picnic one day.


97%

Baldo,his wife and his family were very kind to us. I have been in Dubrovnik a couple times but the Location of the Hostel was the best I everhad. A wonderful view on the old walls and the "Minceta", and the view on the sea is also awesome. The last night in Dubrovnik I was until 3 or 4 a.m. in the city and I ve forgotten to take the keys of the apartman with me, I thought that I had to sleep on the sreet but Baldo opened the door(wiht a smile), after ringing the bell just once time :)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Dubrovnik Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback