Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Family Stanos

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 348 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 348 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Family Stanos Located at Bernard Shaw str. No 5, , Dubrovnik.
Family Stanos
Croatia
Dubrovnik 20 000 Bernard Shaw str. No 5
93% 348
42.6438401 18.1080222
Family Stanos
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
10.0

We went on a 3 week trip through Europe, and staying with Baldo and his family at Family Stanos was by far our favorite place we stayed! The accomodations were very comfortable, perfect location right near the palace walls, and a very friendly welcome. Trust his directions! :) We asked at the bus station how to get to the Kapelica bus station, and they casually said oh all the buses go there. They do go NEAR there, but it's much better to wait for the #8 bus up the hill as he has suggested.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

Very much enjoyed my stay. Was a great location,though up many stairs as is most of Dubrovnik but only an issue because of luggage. Baldo the owner, kindly meet me at bus stop to help,me carry my bag as I had an injured foot.You will enjoy staying here if you want to feel what an authentic Croatian home is like. My room had an amazing view of old town and the sea and my room was very clean.Great to chat with Baldo as I got the opportunity to learn lot about the history of Croatia and Dubrovnik.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
9.7

My wife and I stayed at Family Stanos for 3 nights. This is an historic home with a lot of character. The owner and his family went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and helped us out when we were having transportation issues. We loved the terrace and garden, and the 2 resident turtles were very entertaining. Though a bit of a hike up the stairs from Pile Gate, the location offers great views of the town. We would definitely return to Family Stanos on our next visit to Dubrovnik

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location just outside of Dubrovnik. Considering how Dubrovnik is relatively expensive (compared to the rest of Croatia), this was a great spot and good value for a few nights. Great view from the room, friendly hosts with good advice, AC, and private bathroom, it checked all the boxes for a good private room. One note, it's not set up well to meet other guests if you're looking for more of a common room experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
7.7

Great location just above Dubrovnik's Minceta tower, so nice views over old town. Rooms and furniture a little basic/threadbare. Host somewhat cynical in his approach to tourists - definitely had the impression he was heartily sick of the summer ( my visit was in August) and was looking forward to a quieter time! Dubrovnik is expensive!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice little family run establishment. Mr Stanos was super friendly in greeting us and showing us our room. The mattresses were quite old and may have purchased during the Nixon administration. Time for an upgrade. Also the shower could have used a simple and cheap accessory that would the user to not have to hold the shower head while actually showering. Overall a nice place that could use a bit of a spruce up. And AC!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
8.9

Great place to stay in Dubrovnik! The view of the Minceta Tower from the bedroom in which we stayed was beautiful, its near the most interesting things you can see in the Old Town, near the bus stop from the airport also.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.7

Would recommend this place to a friend. Room was lovely with a great view and just up the steps from the old town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
9.7

Absolutely fabulous! Baldo and his family are an absolute treat to stay with, very welcoming, full of advice and the rooms are very nice and well kept! Location is awesome and very secure! Its more quiet than a hostel but also offers a considerably more complete experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Such a lovely place in such a good location, right above old town with stunning views. Mr Stanos was so helpful giving us directions and bus times without us even having to ask. Very accomodating and welcoming. 10/10 would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.