Hostelworld.com

Family Stanos

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
Family Stanos Located at Bernard Shaw str. No 5, , Dubrovnik.
Family Stanos
Croatia
Dubrovnik 20 000 Bernard Shaw str. No 5
93% 323
42.6438401 18.1080222
Family Stanos
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

We absolutely loved our stay at Family Stanos. It is ideally located just a short walk from the old town and the view from the bedroom window is breathtaking. The family are very welcoming and truly delightful. This is definitely a hidden gem of a hostel and we would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Dubrovnik!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.1

We had great time at Family Stanos! Baldo and his family are very welcoming, open-hearted people and we enjoyed their company a lot. Special thanks for the drinks and the good advice! The location is excellent, only a few minutes from the fabulous old town. If this place offered breakfast, I would give it full 10/10. The facilities could be improved, though: there's is no air conditioning or fan, and it got really hot when we were there (32'C in and out). Would recommend this place for friends!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2016
10.0

The Stanos family were extremely welcoming and had a fantastic dry sense of humour! They gave us some great advice on places to go in Dubrovnik. The house itself is lovely and in a great location, just up the hill from the city walls!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
8.0

The owner was very nice and we had a nice chat with him. The room was a bit old but big, all we need were available. The view from the room was great. The price was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2016
6.0

This is a family home, with some rooms. A good location not far from Dubrovnik old town and has some lovely views. I would say it seemed very secure as it has a large gate and wall to get in to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I like your British sense of humor...

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th May 2016
9.4

Nice clean place just out of old town. If you are after a quiet place with minimal interaction with other guests then this is the place to be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel! Baldo greeted us and gave us some tips to see the town. Awesome view and amazing location. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
10.0

The Stanos treat you like one of the family while providing a safe, clean and relaxed accommodation with a Dubrovnik location (right at the top of the Old Wall/minutes from Banje beach) that is absolutely hard to beat. As a solo female traveler, I have never been treated with such kindness & generosity. They went out of their way to look after me even when I was feeling ill one day. Staying with them is a fantastic way to get to learn about Croatian culture. I will be going back. Thank you!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vic2024
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

I'm not sure what the best part of my stay here was: the absolutely spectacular location (it's maybe a three minute walk to the old city, directly across from the bus station, and has a great view of the Adriatic and the city) or Baldo and his warm and loving family. Baldo has the best stories and goes above and beyond for the people who stay with him. The room and the view are the reason you book the place, but Baldo and his family are the reasons people come back year after year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.