Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fancy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 65 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 65 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • georgiepienz
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
9.4

Stayed here only one night on the way to fly out of Zagreb and arrived late so didn't really use much of the facilities but from what we saw it was a funky little hostel. Nice rooms and good bathrooms. The staff were all wonderfully welcoming even at 9pm when we arrived. Very helpful in pointing out places to get food and organising a taxi to the airport for us in the morning. Would definitely go back for a longer stay next time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Aug 2017
7.1

It was a nice place to stay with pleasant dorms but the common areas were lacking. And the Internet reception doesn't reach the rooms. The whole bathroom situation on the top floor was outdated and in need of some serious maintenance. It's a little far from the centre of town but when the city has fixed the trim rails it should be a lot easier to reach again. Lovely staff doing their best to help you with anything you want.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2017
4.6

According to HostelWorld the place has free breakfast. The night we arrived we were told to pay €3 for it, and next morning they told us they didn't offer breakfast since 2013. Total mess. The pictures of the common areas are misleading, as they don't seem to exist anymore. That was disappointing. We were relieved to leave.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
6.9

Fancy Hostel was very nice with a great kitchen and the rooms were air conditioned and clean. However, I felt awkward checking in because I was just stared at and then someone else came in to help check me in who I walked right past. There was no greeting or anything. However, the person during checkout was much more warm and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
7.1

I must have picked the squeakiest bed in our room, because any movement made the bed creak - a bit annoying if you want to sleep. Location was a bit far out from the centre but public transport was good to get in and out of town, so there were no problems there. Cleanliness - no washing up liquid but this was quickly rectified so we could clean. Fridge overfilled which left no room for us to put stuff in. Again, this is more to do with the tenants than the hosts. Helpful staff, good security.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jul 2017
9.7

Mirlav was the most amazing person working at reception, he did everything to make us truly enjoy stay at this hostel, also beds are really comfortable and bathroom facilities are great and kept clean. And cheap beer didn't hurt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.0

Great staff and comfortable beds. AC makes an unbelievable difference. Nice lounge area and terrace out the front of the cafe downstairs. Good atmosphere. A bit outside the city but can reach it in 20 minutes walk or in five minutes on the tram. Safe area surrounding it and convenient from the station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.4

If you're looking for a hostel with lovely, accomodating staff and kitchen facilities Fancy hostel should definitely be considered.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Gregthepeg4859
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
6.0

Nicely decorated. Was good value for money, and the bedrooms were very clean, but there was only one plug in my room which was falling out of the wall. The kitchen was very dirty and very messy. The toilet and shower were unclean and there were no locks on the bathroom doors. Absolutely no atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.0

A very pleasant stay. The staffs at the hostel were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were equipped with air conditioners which is great during the summer. They even had a rly cute fluffy white dog!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.