X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Farr Cottage Lodge Reviews

Farr Cottage, Corpach, Fort William, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
281 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice hostel and good staff. There is always someone to help or inform you.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The Hostel is generally clean and friendly, but the shower plumbing wasn't very good, so water leaked into the downstairs area where there's electrical equipment.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

There were 8 people in my room, no place to store, keep luggage, bathroom was dirty and mouldy all through, the kitchen was very small and congested with water dripping through the ceiling from the toilets and bath above, there was no ventilation in the bed room and it was badly lit. Overall an untidy, grimy and unpleasant place to stay. There is no chance that I would return or recommend it to anyone.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

It was a 10 bedded room with only 1 toilet and shower (one room) and you could hear everything when anybody went to the toilet. Especially in a mixed ward, you need to have more "privacy spaces". Even if the toilet and shower were separate rooms it would help. There did not appear to be any toilets in the communal space either. Maybe as a result of space or as most of the other guests were not English speakers, there was not much atmosphere in the evening, but it was not a bad atmosphere.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice plac :-)


83%

The owner was very nice, offer to get things from the convenient shop. 8 people sharing a toilet would be a problem and none in the common area. However the hostel is clean, proper kitchen facility although the other one stayed in oban provided oil and salt, some basic cooking ingredients. Lovely dinning area and sufficient parking space for guest.


97%

Great hostel. Lovely view of Ben Nevis from the window. Signed a sheet the day before out climbing Ben Nevis and got back later than stipulated time - hostel staff informed the police to report me as a person of concern. Sorry for the incident!


97%

loved that small, friendly, well equipped hostel. stayed in private double, the bed was excellent! staff was easy going, correct at the same time. would go again!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A really nice little hostel, not far from the waters edge. Really glad I stayed here and not inFort William as you get a much better view of Ben Nevis (UKs highest mountain) from Corpach. Nice little village, awesome, friendly staff. Would love to stay here again.


54%

Owner was grumpy and rude, and most of the guests were senior citizens, which meant extreme snoring (someone actually moved their bed out into the hall it was so bad) and ignoring hostel etiquette, such as talking in the dorms at 1am or 5am or whenever they felt like it. Quite far out of Ft. William, you will need to take a bus. Overall, just not a very good experience, especially considering the price paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very sorry you didn't have a good experience staying with us. I would like to point out none of your comments actually fault our hostel, just the people who were staying. Please for future reference comment on the hostel not our guests. Thank you.

77%

was a nice cheap place to stay while riding the world cup dh course. place was clean and it had plenty of facillities such as cooking area, tvs, bar area and sitting areas. private car park was good and a lockup for bikes was handy. all in all ill be back again for sure. staff were friendly. wish breakfast had of been on to save travelling but wasnt a massive put out...jase.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

great place to stay, bunks were comfortably and warm, staff were great and looked after all their guests.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Cliff and Kristy were excellent and very entertaining hosts, they were able to share great Scottish tales. The eight bed dorm was pretty tight, but very decent for a one-night stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad our stories entertained you :) Hope to see you again in the future

94%

Staff were very helpful and accommodating we had a lovely stop over thanks.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're more than welcome :)

94%

Very pleasant atmosphere with friendly & helpful staff.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice location with good views of the mountains from the front (we had room on this side). Also only 10 min drive from Ben Nevis. Good base if your there on a walking weekend.


60%

The hotel closes from 10 am til 4.30 so you feel like , you have to hurry every morning. But didn't feel very welcommed;. As soon as we have checked in ; the receptionist start to say a list of rules to respect. Not really nice atmosphere when you have spent a long day on the road to get there But overall everything is very clean; there is a nice lounge and bar ; and if you looking for just a room; i guess that's fine.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We've made sure we advertise everywhere we can to make people aware of our closure during the day. For us to make sure the place can be as clean as possible we ask guests to leave so we can achieve this instead of just clearing up after people as soon as they reuse what we have cleaned. We're not the only hostel that does this. As for the rest we can only say sorry you didn't feel very welcomed. All our staff enjoy meeting new guests on a daily basis. Two rules listed are actually Scottish law.

63%

Be aware about you arrival time because it really matters to the staff. Terrible shower, freezing room.. they turned the heater off at night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well actually we like knowing the arrival time of our guests so we can make sure we're not in the middle of cooking or eating dinner and/or if it's a big group we make sure more than one member of staff is on-site. Heating is working fine, turning the radiator off at the wrong end doesn't help. 3 out of the 4 showers are new. If you had trouble asking for help goes a long way. We're always happy to help.



View all Fort William Hostels

Please give us your feedback