X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Farr Cottage Lodge Reviews

Farr Cottage, Corpach, Fort William, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
336 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

not actually located in fort william, but im glad it wasnt. short train or bus ride from FW in a small secluded town on the other side of the loch (8£ taxi/to glen nevis visitors center, bus is 1.70£ so a full car will cost just about the same). amazing view of ben nevis from the water. small inn/hostel so everyone is really friendly with eachother. very clean place, probably the cleanest ive stayed in. ill be staying here again next time im up.


83%

Hostel was good. No real complaints.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Fair value for the money. Facilities not so good - small shower, toilet in way of wash hand basin making access to basin extremely difficult! Also guests should be advised on arrival not to make a noise , use the dorm as a chat shop, switch overhead light on/off etc when others are trying to sleep (with an early start the next day!) - as was my experience. Otherwise basic but ok for the money. Roy

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Guy running hostel was nice but did not need to list rules and regulations in such a way with not even a welcoming. Has full facilities of kitchen, dining benches, lounge and bar (but closes about 11). 8 bed dorm room was quite dark and depressing with a sad little bathroom. Main issue was location. After completing West Highland Way, is quite distressing to find you must walk over 3 miles or catch a bus, train or taxi. Also there is nowhere nice to eat around and it feels quite remote.


74%

Comfy beds, nice common areas. Could do with more toilets as the upstairs rooms share two, one of which has a shower in as well so is often occupied or has a wet floor. Also the shower leaks and drips down through the ceiling into the kitchen. About three miles from Fort William which was fine for us as we had a car. But a nice place over all.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Did not feel very welcome by the owner. The staff was great, but the location and the dorm rooms were small and crowded.


60%

Owners didn't let us use drying room. Fire alarm woke us up, with no one to turn it off.


100%

staff very helpful and welcoming.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

good, no frills accommodation - friendly staff and good atmosphere among residents easy to reach by bus from Fort William


37%

This place was terrible. Reception is only open between 4.30 anr 9.30 (which is also when you have to leave the hostel), and even in those hours often no one's there. The staff is unfriendly and unwilling to help, we didnt feel welcome. You have to pay extra if you want to pay by pin. There's no computer, the shower is cold half the time and very small. There's a strict no alcohol policy because there's a bar, but this bar was closed when we got back from dinner. Bus to fort William takes long.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Affordable little hostel right near the start of the Great Glen Way in Fort William. Showers are really good and have temp control and hot water, and there's a full kitchen. Staff at the desk were surly, not very nice, wifi wasn't great (didn't really work in the rooms), and most importantly the hostel closes literally almost all day from 10-4 for 'cleaning'. That means if you get sick or want to rest midday, you can't come into your accommodation whatsoever. Very weird!


49%

The bike store was unsecure as one of the locks were missing, the ramp up to the bike store was rotten and is a health and safety risk, the staff were not very welcoming, one of the toilets on the top floor had a broken flusher and there was a distinct lack of toilet paper, any time I spoke to one of the owners I got the feeling that he couldn't be bothered, had it not been for the other guests in the house then I feel I would have left early. I would not recommend Farr Cottage to anyone!

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Hostel is dark, dreary and felt unloved. Dorm was crowded, shower room for the dorm was extremely small, toilet took up most of the floor space, leaving no room to get changed in - they are mixed sex dorms! - and wash hand basin was a tiny hand basin. Bunk beds were comfortable and the bedding clean. The kitchen and eating area were small, cramped and poorly laid out. The sitting area was dark and dingy. The bar area was large, however was not comfortable and did not have a relaxed atmosphere.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It states on both hostelworld and hostelbookers that all the dorms are mixed sexed and are either 8 or 10 person dorms. This is further confirmed in the confirmation email sent by us. There are further facilities in the building which are bigger in size. As we are a part of green tourism and have a bronze award we use energy saving light bulbs which naturally have slightly dimmer appearance.

31%

Im sorry to say this is one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in!...and I've stayed in lots!!! The room was in need of a complete makeover...the shower room was a joke...you couldn't even stand in front of the sink to brush your teeth or wash your face as the toilet was in the way! There were 4 bunk beds squeezed into a small room which left very little room for bags ect! There weren't enough plugs for everyone to charge their phones and the wifi didn't work! I won't be going back!!!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • denisebadi
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

For this low Price we got everything we needed.


91%

We had a great experience at Farr Cottage Lodge. The staff were really friendly; the room, bathroom and communal areas were spotless; there was ample parking available; and coking facilities are available if needed. Would definitely recommend this hostel.


86%

Personally got on with all the staff really well. I found them very down to earth, accommodating and friendly. The location isnt ideal but if (as i) all you need is a warm room and a local pub to rest your feet after a long walk it is ideal.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

A waste of the excellent location and a great property, we made the wrong choice by staying here. Unfriendly and extremely rude staff, restrictive hours of facilities make a very annoying experience. So be aware of a few hundred rules when you reach there. The central room is a licensed bar so it closes at 10 PM (by law) and you need to go out and walk back into the kitchen through the garden (a dark ally, no one bothered to put a light there) only to find you are not allowed to cook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, What can I say. Going from the majority of our feedback which isn't left on reviews sites, as people only seem to want to complain online. I find our staff to be more than welcoming and extremely happy to help.You ARE allowed to cook. The side alley light is left on over night, so instead of complaining online maybe informing us, as the possibility the bulb might of blown. we have 1 rule and have 2 laws we have to abide by. Which are We're licensed and no smoking in the hostel.

100%

We feel very well at the Cottage. Kirsty is an excelent manager and very friendly! Thank you very much Farr Cottage Team. Regards, Anna

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Must have been a slow weekend, we were pretty much the only ones there, therefore the owners didn't really seem to put a lot of effort in. All in all everything was fine, the double room is extremely (!) small though (no real place for luggage) and the walls are thin as paper.




View all Fort William Hostels

Please give us your feedback