Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fat Camel Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 1378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 1378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
4.3

The location of the hostel is very central and it is indeed cheap. However the hostel was very worn out and dirty, there was A LOT of mould in the showers and bathroom which is a health concern, the kitchen area was very dirty and the air in the rooms was very hot, humid and hard to breathe. A fan in the room helped a bit but not nearly enough, no windows in the rooms and no lockers for your stuff. Better to put in a few more euros and stay elsewhere, especially if staying more than one night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.6

No lockers or free wifi, great location (central) but very noisy especially on weekends. Staff weren't great, had a weird moment where I was told to go to reception because one of the guys cleaning wasn't sure what beds to change and for some reason I had to sort it out, was a bit rude. Shared kitchen attached to the room was good. Would recommend for short stays due to location and price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Mar 2017
6.9

Good location for those travelling on stray/kiwi bus but wouldn't want to stay longer than a night or two. Very noisy in evening from bar below and very basic and not particularly clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
4.0

Very noisy, very cramped quarters, very dirty. The only clean things we found (thankfully!) were the bed linens. Toilets and showers, and kitchen were totally disgusting. Thankfully, we had only booked the one night - we will never go back!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
28th Feb 2017
3.4

Just so terrible. No fresh air in the entire building, building itself is falling apart and mouldy. I found a dead cockroach in the shower. Tiny sweltering poorly stocked kitchens. Someone was sleeping in my bed when I got back to my dorm room. I would rather sleep in a 24hr mcdonalds than stay here again. The only plus is the convenient location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Feb 2017
7.1

My bed was used by someone else. Staff solved that problem great - not their fault! Unfortunately, in some dorm rooms sneaked in people (share bed) - really annoying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Feb 2017
6.6

Definitely not my favorite hostel around but obviously you get what you pay for so don't expect much. It is good if you are staying only one night. Very crammed little room with no windows, dirty bathroom and loud travelers. Great location and lovely staff though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.0

The building definitely could use some love sometime soon. Just to patch up some little minor issues. The people definitely made the experience here very worth while. Staff was super friendly and the travellers I was staying with in the all girls dorms were very pleasant. Another bonus, when I arrived super early for check in. They have a luggage storage and allow you to laze around upstairs on the couches. I'd go back 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2017
6.0

I was just staying in a 4 bed dorm for 1 night and it was a nightmare. No space at all, the curtains were broken and you couldn't close the window, because it was broken too. Even though the location was good, I had to sleep next to open window and you weren't able to have a sleep until the bar next door closed at 1/2 am. Finally I didn't get very much sleep and I was sick the days ahead.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
4.0

Good location. Otherwise pretty awful, The whole place just needs a complete overhaul of the interior. Dorms have 1 powerpoint per room, paint is chipping, carpet is threadbare. Very few bathrooms and showers per person. Smelly, particularly in the common areas. Main complaint: It's a 6 story building with no elevator.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.