Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fat Camel Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 1350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 1350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
8.0

The building definitely could use some love sometime soon. Just to patch up some little minor issues. The people definitely made the experience here very worth while. Staff was super friendly and the travellers I was staying with in the all girls dorms were very pleasant. Another bonus, when I arrived super early for check in. They have a luggage storage and allow you to laze around upstairs on the couches. I'd go back 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2017
6.0

I was just staying in a 4 bed dorm for 1 night and it was a nightmare. No space at all, the curtains were broken and you couldn't close the window, because it was broken too. Even though the location was good, I had to sleep next to open window and you weren't able to have a sleep until the bar next door closed at 1/2 am. Finally I didn't get very much sleep and I was sick the days ahead.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
4.0

Good location. Otherwise pretty awful, The whole place just needs a complete overhaul of the interior. Dorms have 1 powerpoint per room, paint is chipping, carpet is threadbare. Very few bathrooms and showers per person. Smelly, particularly in the common areas. Main complaint: It's a 6 story building with no elevator.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
5.4

"Free meal" was 15 French fries in a bowl. Location is good. Focus on drinking with a strip club next door.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
8.3

Pretty good experience. The people in my dorm weren't that social but the atmosphere in the bar was wonderful. You get to know everyone after a few nights. All the facilities were great. Would go again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
30th Jan 2017
7.1

the room in girls' dorm doesn't have any windows, neither does the kitchen to which its door leads. therefore the air is really far away from fresh and it's very warm in there. wifi is paid only. the guy from staff look a little bit bothered by me asking questions.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
7.7

No free wifi, not enough plugs, no lockers, tiny smelly dirty noisy dorms, but amazing people and meal+beer for only 5$ every night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2017
3.4

The kitchen on our floor was very dirty 2 out of the 4 rings were not working, all the equipment seemed very dirty. The room was very small smelly and cramped, I had to sleep with my bags on my bed. I was very glad I was staying one night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jan 2017
6.0

Pretty dirty, it is not cleaned regularly and staff don't really seem to care. However it's cheap and the location is good!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
5.4

First of all, I was wondering what would happen if there was a fire. There are no sprinklers in the room with NO WINDOW. Isn't that a fire hazard? Second, we stayed the night of January 15th. The person in the room next to us talked extremely loud on his phone and to others in the room all night. They were slamming doors, and leaving lights on in the common area at night. There appears to be no information upon checkin regarding expectations for common courtesy toward other guests. Would help.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.