X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fat Cat Travellers Community Reviews

2A Sherrybrooke Place, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
70 Total Reviews
  • 97%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very nice stay. Just the cost of internet access war a bit high. 8 $ for 100 MB hmm, a little bit to much.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely brilliant place for the enjoyuos man and woman. This is not the place for the luxury man, but a place to settle for longer than you expect. Loved it. Outside of the city.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was one of the best hostels I've stayed so far. super friendly lovely people, spontanous, great ideas and everybody accepts each other. I used it as a base to get back to and it felt like home coming back :) stayed 3 times for around a week, just because food was so amazing and all the little chats and games and night. It really make it difficult to leave this place, once you enjoyed staying there: Thanks for making these amazing memories I really love to look back to! xxxx

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

This is certainly for the more bohemian traveller. Beautiful garden and lots of places to chill out with people or just by yourself. But it is shabby in parts and a little old and dated. But its a nice atmosphere. The owners were away when I stayed, but the long term WWOOFers showed me around. Its very eco friendly, recycle and compost most waste. A lovely kitchen garden is out back, you can pay to sit with the other stayers and eat from the garden. This was great as Rafa was a good cook!

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

place is just awesome. perfect to meet some travelmates and to get set up for you newzealand trip. Big shopping mall with bank postoffice, countdown nearby. athmosphere is just nice. You might think its to hippie for you when u arrive but 30 mins you just feel like one of them. its a really nice homy athmophere :) Will come back, thats for sure!


31%

If you want a hostel - don't go here: You can't lock any doors but the toilet (and you have only one normal toilet in the hostel), mould grows not only in the bathroom (also only one), walls and doors are thin and other customers loud, beds have bedbugs (a lot), not to mention the mouldy food in the (very small) kitchen. Staff are woofers only. Location is far off from public transport and the city center. Looking for a hippie-community? You're right here. Otherwise: Stay off.


94%

Fantastic hostel, the atmosphere is pure hippie happy. Great people, it feels like staff and guests are one big family after only 1 or 2 days. On the last night I was there, there was a beach party and BBQ in the garden with a big bonfire, good food and cold beers. For only 6 $. It was hard to leave this gorgeous place, and me and my friend are planning to go back at the end of our stay in NZ. Please recieve my warmest recommendations. :)

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

a really nice and cozy place. lovely people, nice food, great place to be and hang out. like a little family.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to meet amazing people, felt like beeing part of the community family specially when having dinner together cooked with love from the people that work there ....thanks for a awesome time


80%

The kitchen was quite small, so that is a bit challenging if you like having your meals at the same time as everyone else. It's also a bit out of town, which was great for relaxing and getting over jetlag, but not if you're looking for nightlife and excitement. A great place, for the lowkey traveler.


31%

It certainly was not for us! A lot of the people there seemed to love it! I found it dirty&dusty (brought on BOTH of our allergies pretty strongly). The kitchen is TINY and making food is such an ordeal due to this. When we arrived we were told they had given our room to people who had arrived without a booking, which seems to happen all the time. We were given a van to sleep in (cool idea-they put a big mattress in the back of it.) Owner rarely there. Supposed to stay 4 nights - left after 1.


97%

Excellent. This place is more a share house, not a hostel. We stayed in the city 2 days in a sterile, soulless place; thankfully we came here and stayed for 13! We were able to organise ourselves, open bank accounts, buy a van, meet other people who had been in NZ for a while so could get all the info. Really cool vibe, out of the city, but close to where we could organise everything. Bit messy at times, but super relaxed. if u want modern, new, white, don't come! Great place to start our trip!

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Loved that place and its community atmosphere! A wonderfull experience, very peacefull and friendly!


91%

We loved our stay & would recommend it: +double room, was large, 2 windows for the garden, a couch, mini fridge & not expensive -the furniture was old, + but the bed comfy +facilities: the hostel has a cow!!! Fresh milk on the table, tea, coffee, & a garden bath -house is run down, clean, but not so tidy, old Location:+on a farm, not in the city :) but very close, green & relaxing, -outside the city, not good for one night stay, +excellent for a few days Staff: Excellent. We'll return:)

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

A very different place! Wonderful, on a farm, relaxing, out of the city. The house is old, nothing modern about it! Everything is recycled, so it looks a bit shabby, but i liked the concept, good to see people trying to re-use, even if the result is not 100%! Really great staff, travellers who live / work on the farm, helped me with lots of info and really welcoming, I felt like I was coming home to a family. Would definitely stay there again!

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We were going to stay for one night but we fell in love with the place. You always meet great people when you are travelling, but in Fat Cat everyone is great! This was our best experience in Auckland!

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

It is a hippy commune, we got in our beds were not made, (which was fine). We said we are going out for dinner when we got back at midnight they were still not made, and the admin was all closed, the managment didnt seem to care that their were 5 people in a 4 bed room, as it was a couple. Its not a hostel its a house with bunk beds. Im not sure if it is even legal.


100%

This place is simply amazing! I always enjoy a lot my stay and wwoofing here, since it's the 3rd time I come back... :)

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

We eventually arrived in the middle of nowhere and found a dump. We had booked a private twin room but this was actually a double bed in a freezing, damp and filthy caravan. Not what we booked! I noticed the toilet was in a little wooden hut in the garden and the sink was just in the middle of the garden on its own. The place is filthy


57%

This place was advertised as a hostel, but it most certianly wasn't in the traditional sense of the word. It was so far outside teh city getting around seemed impossible. I booked a two bed tent, and nowhere did I read that you needed to provide your own tent, so when I arrived I had to pay extra to sleep inside the house. This place is more designed for WOOFing than for a typical backpacker. However, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and even picked us up from the airport at 12am


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback