Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fat Cat Travellers Community

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.3

Very interesting and unique place. Important: It is NOT a normal hostel, it's mainly a long-term stay place. The majority of the people staying are volunteers at the property, either working in the garden or house, or selling fruit from the affiliated farm. It is, however, a lovely relaxing place to stay, with bug group dinners and breakfasts. You are very much invited in to be one of the members of the house during your stay. No alcohol or (illegal) drugs allowed on site.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.1

I loved staying in this hostel - the friendliest atmosphere imagined, social, great vegan breakfast and dinner included and you feel welcome from first to last minute of your time in here. You just need to embrace very basic facilities and don't worry be happy attitude followed by no need to keep the place clean 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
2.3

Never before have I been so grossed out by a location as I was here. I walked into the kitchen and immediately noticed that the place was disgusting. The facility is completely run down, there was food all over the floor with TONS of flies. The room had at least 20 flies and very dirty mattresses. I immediately walked to my car and left. Luckily, the YHA had a cancellation, so I was saved from breathing in flies all night. Save yourself and stay ANYWHERE else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

We spent just 2 nights here but had a great time. The meals were really nice, healthy and generous. Our room was colouful and clean and very comfortable. I loved the shower in the Rimu tree! This place is an urban oasis. We will come back for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
2.9

This hostel is not as described or expected. It is cramped, overcrowded and dirty. There are also rules not mentioned on the website- no alcohol, only vegan meals....if there was a fore here u would never get out. There were also flies everywhere and it didn't smell great!! We decided for health sake not to stay here and found a fantastic hotel in central Auckland. This hostel is definitely not what is described so beware!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
4.0

However the stuff were nice the place itself so dirty Flys everywhere, stink and no wi fi at all for people that need. I couldn't stay there Not for a week anyway, i left the place after one day. Some people will find it fun. But im sorry its not for every body.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
7.1

I loved the people I met at Fat Cat and that breakfast and dinner are provided. My main issue with the hostel was the lack of bathrooms. There were only two toilets and they are both far from the dorm rooms. I was expecting workshops as was mentioned on the description but there weren't any going on. Overall, I'd recommend it bc of the communal atmosphere it provides.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to just go and chill out and practice 'La dolce far Niente', the sweetness of doing nothing. Great like minded travellers. Just a shame I couldn't stay longer!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jahna_koehler6457
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Jan 2017
6.6

Stayed in one of the caravans on it arrival to Auckland. Love what the community is doing with the compost, vegetables and solar showers. Place was very crowded, lots of people for a small house. Caravan was nice and quiet and out of the way and private. The bed was a little disappointing, the mattress had springs pushing up into our backs which made it uncomfortable. Staff were very friendly and looked like a happy group of people!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Great people and good times. It was a great start to my trip here in New Zealand! It is just a little far away from the city, but other than that it was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.