X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fat Cod Backpackers Reviews

9 Auckland Street, Picton, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
223 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

It's a lovely, homely place, with comfy, cosy beds. It's really easy to get to from the ferry terminal, and it's just across from the beachfront and the town centre.


83%

Decent place to stay for a night after getting the ferry. Rooms were fine and facilities were ok. The whole place is just a bit old and needs modernising a bit.


94%

Fab place to stay in Picton, central, great staff and all the facilities you need. Sadly very noisy as can hear all activity above room with creeky ceiling so impossible to lie in: but everything else was fantastic. Free fishing rods and bikes too!


89%

Small, clean hostel, which is very near to the ferry terminals. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free coffee and tea is a nice freebie. They also have an eco-friendly dryer for your laundry: drying outside in the small backyard ;) Only the room (4-bed dorm) was really small. Not much place for 4 people to leave their luggage.


77%

Great location, the staff couldn't do simple math and tried to short us money, twice. I'd stay there again, and recommend it to others, just be sure to count the change they give back to you.


63%

-WiFi was poor (as usual) which is very bad when needed for hostel bookings -shower provides warm water for a couple of minutes by pushing a red button on the outside ... that's the theory ... indeed only cold water (after pushing the button the 8th time I gave up)


60%

Pretty average. When you need to stay somewhere for one night (before or after catching the ferry) this hostel is good because it's not expensive and pretty close to the interislander. But I wouldn't stay longer than one night. Not really clean, the kitchen was terrible, showers were annoying (you have to step outside to push a button for hot water) and my bed was just a huge mattress in the floor. I've booked a female dorm but there was a boy inside sleeping together with his mum(?) in one bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do our very best this time of year to keep things as clean and tidy as we can, however being a hostel we do rely on people cleaning up after themselves, we do not have a 24 hour staff person on shift and that is the point of a hostel. The bed you are talking about is a proper sleepyhead bed on feet. I am unaware of the child sleeping in the room and wish you had said at the time so we could have looked into it we can only address these issues if we know about them at the time. Thanks

86%

Comfortable beds, and lovely lounge. No freezer, though, which is a bit of a bummer.


94%

A very comfortable stay. Comfy bed and welcoming staff. Showers could do with hooks for towel etc and a soap dish. A freezer for chilly bin slikkas would be good.

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very clean and tidy hostel with great staff and atmosphere. Free wifi, but you have to go to the reception and get your 500mb everytime you want more wich got a little bit annoying after a while... But free though! Good showers, but limited hot water. Very quiet and relaxing hostel, good kitchen with all equipment neede, and close to town and the ferry. Thank you for a good stay, and having us while looking for a job.


69%

Good clean facilites but very thin walls and some inconsiderate staff that stay up late being loud


77%

Very close to the ferry and accommodated for our midnight arrival. Not the place to go if your looking for something fancy but that isn't what backpackers are designed to be. A great stay for the price!


86%

Girl at reception was very kind and give meme information where to eat. But the boy staff in the morning at the check out moment almost kicked me out of the backpackers and can't wait 5 minutes i finish to send text to my friend. He was so uncomfortable and not kind at all!


100%

Found it a bit strange that there wasn't a power outlet in my room but very happy with everything else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we do have power outlets in all the rooms, some of them are just in strange places. What a shame you didn't let us know we would have been happy to point it out for you. Happy travels Rachelle



View all Picton Hostels

Please give us your feedback