Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fat Cod Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
8.6

Good place to stay. Great location right next to the ferry. Quite basic, but with a lovely atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Was a nice place to stay and I could really enjoy it. The only negative thing is that there are no lockers for your things but the rest was nearly perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.3

Only a 5 minute walk from the ferry! Staff are great, there's no lockers though unless you pay for them. Facilities are great but lots of families. Not really to sociable. But perfect for a quick night stay or so. And great wi fi !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
15th Mar 2017
7.1

Beds were super comfortable ! Owner was were friendly. Hostel is very dated and kitchen is very tired and basic. We stayed i a room below the kitchen which ment you couldn't sleep well as the floor squeaked so much when anyone walked on it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
3.1

They actually kick me out in the morning and this place is not super nice, you have to press a button for hot water for 8 min of hot shower and it's outside the shower room. The bed was clean but staff didn't advised me about the fact that I 10am I have to run outside and I cannot go in the kitchen to grab my things. So ok if you have to wake early and go before 10am if not don't ever go there. Staff was not cool at all and also not friendly and communicating

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.6

Nice little place. Needs some updating but otherwise I was happy there. Most happy that the bunks were made of wood. That means they weren't so squeaky every time myself or my bunk mate moved. Great value for the money. Unlimited wifi. Nice kitchen. Very clean place. Word to the staff though: invest some money into updating your space!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.9

Location was perfect, right by the beach and about a 5 minute walk to the town. Staff was super helpful, we need to catch a bus to Christchurch the following day so we can catch a flight home but had trouble, the staff tried to do everything for us. Ended up staying an extra night which worked out. P

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
9.4

Well equiped kitchen and a nice common area made this hostel a very nice place to stay. The location made it excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Just wow! What a great place. So close to the beach with clean facilities and superfriendlt staff. It felt like being surrounded by friends and family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th Feb 2017
5.7

Great location near to the ferry.Have to pay for lockers,and doors left open. very cramped.Bunks are back to back with one stair to top bunks which is closer to one bed than the other, two floating beds which unless being used by someone are everyone else's dumping ground.Beds look clean but covered in white powder.Showers are a pain and limited to 8mins hot water. Not a great vibe or feel. Washers look scummy. If you don't want your card charged if you don't arrive before 5pm you need to call

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.