Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fat Cod Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.7

Fantastic location, really super friendly staff. Only biggest downfall was the showers. Hot water for 8mins is fantastic for water saving but when the hot water comes out at a dribble - not only making it super inconvenient and cold (winter) to shower/wash hair, this is disappointing. Washing machine/Dryer costs were expensive, especially considering dryer needed to go on twice to dry clothes completely.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
9.1

The Fat Cod is a great place to stay while you're in Picton. I enjoyed the free breakfast and dinner soup. A couple of the showers didn't have very good water pressure, and you have to wear a wristband while you stay there. I thought the wristband was a little excessive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Enjoyed my stay, be back again,very nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
9.4

Wonderful location, incredibly friendly staff, and great facilities. The bathrooms were really clean and the showers were free. I had a really great time staying here and would recommend it if you need a place to stay before or after taking the ferry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.6

Good place to stay. Great location right next to the ferry. Quite basic, but with a lovely atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Was a nice place to stay and I could really enjoy it. The only negative thing is that there are no lockers for your things but the rest was nearly perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.3

Only a 5 minute walk from the ferry! Staff are great, there's no lockers though unless you pay for them. Facilities are great but lots of families. Not really to sociable. But perfect for a quick night stay or so. And great wi fi !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
15th Mar 2017
7.1

Beds were super comfortable ! Owner was were friendly. Hostel is very dated and kitchen is very tired and basic. We stayed i a room below the kitchen which ment you couldn't sleep well as the floor squeaked so much when anyone walked on it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
3.1

They actually kick me out in the morning and this place is not super nice, you have to press a button for hot water for 8 min of hot shower and it's outside the shower room. The bed was clean but staff didn't advised me about the fact that I 10am I have to run outside and I cannot go in the kitchen to grab my things. So ok if you have to wake early and go before 10am if not don't ever go there. Staff was not cool at all and also not friendly and communicating

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.6

Nice little place. Needs some updating but otherwise I was happy there. Most happy that the bunks were made of wood. That means they weren't so squeaky every time myself or my bunk mate moved. Great value for the money. Unlimited wifi. Nice kitchen. Very clean place. Word to the staff though: invest some money into updating your space!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.