Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fat Cod Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
9.4

Well equiped kitchen and a nice common area made this hostel a very nice place to stay. The location made it excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Just wow! What a great place. So close to the beach with clean facilities and superfriendlt staff. It felt like being surrounded by friends and family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th Feb 2017
5.7

Great location near to the ferry.Have to pay for lockers,and doors left open. very cramped.Bunks are back to back with one stair to top bunks which is closer to one bed than the other, two floating beds which unless being used by someone are everyone else's dumping ground.Beds look clean but covered in white powder.Showers are a pain and limited to 8mins hot water. Not a great vibe or feel. Washers look scummy. If you don't want your card charged if you don't arrive before 5pm you need to call

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
6.6

nothing special, weren't many available hostels, wifi is pretty bad

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.3

Small and cozy hostel, small rooms and the bed was also quite small, but everyone was very nice and it was overall clean. Only 8 minute warm shower and it was a small stream of water. Very close to the ferry

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kittykat222
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Feb 2017
10.0

I only stayed one night but would have happily stayed more. It's very cosy and has a great chill out area. Staff were friendly. Right next to the ferry. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
6.9

This hostel is good but needs some money spent on it to bring it in line with the standard across New Zealand. The showers have hooks inside the cubicles which are mostly broken and the rooms don't have lockers but the beds are comfortable!! If I do stay in Picton again I would return here but I'd try to get straight to Nelson and skip staying in Picton. Staff are friendly though!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feed back. We are trying to do the hostel up and every year we do a little more. Glad you had a comfy bed. Rachelle

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
8.9

Staff are really lovely and it's in such a great location. Free bike hire which is a bonus!! A really nice homely feel to it, would definitely stay again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for you review, we hope to see you again. Rachelle

22nd Jan 2017
8.0

Wasn't there long but the beds were super comfy! Wifi was annoying as you only get 1GB ticket at a time, although they're unlimited. Was frustrated to hear that if you want to hang around and use the kitchen or shower after you've checked out you need to pay $10. The older lady seemed stingy and I understand they prob dont want ppl hanging around but when I asked her for another wifi password after I gave her my key, she gave me a 10MB ticket and said it would cut out at 10. Why so strict??

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. 1Gb is a lot of wifi and should be enough to check and send emails make a few bookings and even skype your Mum!! Unless you are streaming movies that is and if that is the case you will be slowing the internet down for everyone else. Maybe a walk out in our beautiful town on one of the stunning walking tracks might be a better option. As for the check out, yes we are strick on it as we have people checking in at 11am. If you were staying in a motel would you go back into the room after Check OUT and use the kitchen and the bathroom or maybe check your emails?? mmmm probably NOT. We want everyone to get a fair go so these are our rules at our hostel and it works for us. If when you checked in the kitchen was dirty and the showers/toilets had not been cleaned because we were still waiting for the guests from the night before to leisurely start their day would you also complain?? We have to find a balance and this works for us, and quite a few other hostels around NZ.........this is why so strict maybe think about it from the other side and be a little more considerate of the policies of the hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jan 2017
6.6

I was not in love with this place. After all the fantastic hostels I have enjoyed in NZ this one was a bit of a let down. I was especially uncomfortable after booking an all female dorm on purpose I was approached to ask if a male could be admitted to the room... it made for an awkward stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your view. On occasion we have spare beds that are female only. At times the girls who book them have done so because it was all that was left . When we are very full and have only girls beds left, with only males coming in we may ask if the girls mind a boy in the room. On this occasion, this is what we did and you said you did not mind.......why are you now complaining about it? Say NO at the time are there would be no need to complain would there?? Rachelle

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.