Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fat Margaret's

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2017
8.0

I enjoyed my stay. Perhaps the sauna could have been available in the evening as well as the morning. Three complaints: lack of soap for the shower and washbasin, no shelf in the bathroom and no cupboard in the main room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
9.7

We stayed for 6 days and we had a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andyhay42765
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
8.9

Good location and facilities. The receptionist spoke good English and didn't charge us for printing which was a bonus. Spacious common area in the basement. Overall this hostel is a decent choice, just a bit sterile. Free tea and coffee would be a helpful addition.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
9.4

What a gem! This was mine and my boyfriend's first time staying a hostel and it was lovely. The location was completely spot on and our room in the attic with en suite was cosy and comfortable. We loved having the kitchen so we could cook up meals and the staff were all really lovely. Would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
5th Sep 2017
8.0

Great comfortable stay. Walking distance to everything needed and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2017
7.7

The hostel is well located on the edge of old town and very close to the port. The single en-suite room is very good value. You have to leave your keys at reception when you leave. This is annoying, as I had to lock away my laptop when I left - even though I had paid for a private room - in case someone asked for my number room key and was given it. My ensuite bathroom was very clean but my bedroom floor was dusty. Wifi wasn't great. Overall an average stay for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
8.0

The bathroom was not cleaned the three nights I was there, and the fridge was overrun with food that had obviously been there since medieval times. Sichuan a shame because the staff were lovely. The staff however were lovely, and the sauna was fortunately clean. Some music in the dirnstairs omnib room would be great due some ambience, instead of the tv which seemed to be permanently on with none watching

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2017
8.6

The kitchen, whilst kept clean as far as posible by the hostel staff, was busy when we were there. Some people had not washed up or cleaned up after themselves and some of the so called washed plates were very greasy. It is a big, busy hostel, so \i suppose it is to be expected.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.4

Very nice stay. Clean room and good location. Only issue is hostel is next to a main road so can get a bit noisy with traffic, but otherwise a lovely place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
8.6

Dorm bed given to me was clean and comfortable with spacious rooms that make lot of creaking noise. Toilet and shower facilities are none or one in the floor of the dorms. WiFi is excellent and customer service is very good. Location is good but far from the city centre or bus station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×