Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fat Margaret's

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Would definitely recommend. The hostel is in a great location, literally a minute from old town and really easy to get to from the airport. The rooms and communal areas were very clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • piphorton674744
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.7

Well-positioned hostel 5 minutes' walk from the main town. We didn't spend much time in the hostel itself, but could tell it had a laid-back atmosphere and wasn't suited to party animals! The facilities are very good, especially the fact it has a sauna and plunge pool! Wi-fi was also quick and reliable. Our twin room was ok, but the pillows were thin and lumpy, the bathroom needed a renovation and the shower kept running cold after a few seconds! Staff were helpful but a bit glum at times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andrejscelisevs1909
  • Latvia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.7

Location is perfect - very close to the Old City gate. Parking place is near the hostel (5Eur/night). Fun-zone in the basement with PS / PC / Kitchen / Sofa's / Tennis table / Sauna (7-11AM). One minus - wind was blowing from the window, so I ought to move bed to be able to sleep normally.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
5.7

Toilet located in our floor was filthy, disgusting with garbage spread all over the floor and a stench smell of urine. Pointing this out to staff made her argue with us that it was cleaned that day. The next day, still not cleaned we went again to complain about this but with pictures, this time he politly said he would take care of it but didnt even say sorry. Showers were clogged and falling apart. Room was covered in a layer of thin dust clearly not vacuumed before our arrival.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice hostel in a good location. It was a bit lifeless though. Staff were nice and helpful though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.7

On the whole my stay here was good. A nice location just outside the old Town near St Olaf's Church. Perfect for walking 10-15 mins to the ferry terminal. Room was quiet, liked you could get snacks/beer at reception. They had a book with ideas and activities to do which was helpful. My ensuite bathroom was pretty grim - there was a horrid smell plus it didn't seem to be cleaned with lots of hair everywhere :( If the hostel ran activities that would be amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
9.1

the hostel is very nice and big in a very good location, staff is very helpful and nice, they have a very cool sauna but unfortunately is open only in the morning for 2 hours. Common room is ok but they don't have so much stuff to do there (few games) and they don't organize anything for the guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.9

Overall a nice place to stay. Showers were a bit awkwardly located, and there was a night where the lock on our door was broken, so the door could not even be closed. This was fixed first thing the next morning, but an annoyance to try to sleep with the noise from everywhere else in the hostel coming in. If this had not happened, it would have been a fully enjoyable time spent in this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel is very close to the old town and supermarket. Room was clean, kitchen and lounge area is huge! Sauna and pool was really nice to have in a hostel. Wifi was good. No issues with security

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.9

Clean, great facilities and friendly staff. Really good location and really easy to find. Only complaints are people seem to steal food regardless of it being labelled so anything you can not put in the fridge put in your locker. Apart from that pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.