Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fawlty Towers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

I have been staying at Fawlty Towers every year and will recommend it to anyone. I had a great duvet in the dorm. They are busy adding additional showers for the dorm, which will be great. This time around they had difficulties with the internet, which was frustrating, but usually it is not a problem. The new kitchen at the swimming pool area is a great improvement. If you have a relaxing day at Fawlty Towers, you are treated to free pancakes around 3pm!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for recommending us. I am so pleased you have got to try out our lovely new duvets and linen that we have just put in all our dorms. Thank you for mentioning the new showers. At Fawlty Towers, we are usually aware of our weak points, and try to fix them as soon as we can... so yes, our old bathroom in the dorm area has been a little under pressure since we knock down our old bathroom block to build Deluxe suites. The same applies to our new al fresco kitchen next to the swimming pool. Our old upstairs kitchen was a little retro, so we are delighted with our new one. Thanks again. Elissa Lodge Management

28th Jul 2017
7.7

The hotel is perfect for the location, staff, and alos there connections and how they arrange your activities, they really do an effort on that. Cons: for the bathroom which is like only 2 spots for around a 50 people and its always dirty and i didnt find that comfortable as well as the rooms are filled with mosquitoes so you must use the a replant while sleeping I also recommend that you take a lock with you to use the locker because they dont sell locks there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your balanced review. We are so glad that you found our location perfect and were happy with our staff, transfers and the way we arranged your activities. Thank you! Thank you too for mentioning the bathrooms in the dorm area. Yes, they have been under a lot of pressure this peak season as the dormitories have been chokka-block full. We have built an additional bathroom with more showers and toilets and this was supposed to be ready by 1st July. Unfortunately, we had to call our builder back to readdress some the work, so we were not able to open these in time. I have however, spoken to my housekeepers and asked them to pay more attention to these bathrooms during busy periods. With regard to mosquitoes, Livingstone is a malaria area and we recommend all guests take precautions with repellent and anti-malaria meds. Mosquitoes are not unique to Fawlty Towers; you will find most lodges in Livingstone will have mosquitoes. We do however spray the lodge from time to time, but the mosquitoes are an ongoing problem. All our beds do however have mosquito nets. Yes, dormitory guests should bring a lock for the lockers. There is a grocery store just across the road from us that sells locks. Thanks again for taking time to review us. With best wishes, Elissa Lodge Manager

25th Jul 2017
9.7

Enjoyed our stay! Beautiful facilities, pool, bar / restaurant area. Self serve kitchen too. Free pancakes were nice (served at 3:30pm not for breakfast). $3 breakfast worth it if you like toast, eggs, beans and sweets. Supermarket right across the street and very close to the falls. Make sure you email for a free airport pick up and save yourself $20! Free shuttle to the falls at 10am too is perfect for tours / visiting. Internet is a bit hit or miss. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. I am sorry to hear you had trouble with our internet. We have done everything in our capacity to make it the best that it can possibly be including upgrading to the best package with our ISP as well as putting in 3 additional access points. The WIFI is free to our guests, but even if we were to charge our guests for it, I don't think there is much more we could do to improve it. Unfortunately, internet in Zambia is expensive and can be temperamental. :-( Thanks again for your feedback. With best wishes, Elissa Lodge Management

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Fabulous place. Great, friendly and efficient staff. Every query was dealt with straight away in a very friendly way and we were made to feel at home as soon as we got there. Our room and bathroom were perfectly adequate and clean. Despite notices for electricity shortages and failures we didn't have a single problem in the 8 days we spent there. Great place to have as a base from which to take day trips and especially great to come back to. Can't wait to go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And we hope you WILL come back!!! Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! You have made our day! With best wishes, Elissa Lodge Management

  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
8.3

Interesting clientele from many countries I enjoyed my stay immensely The location is excellent, opposite a supermarket and surrounded by restaurants and several banks I much appreciated the 1000 am free shuttle to the Zambian border and the entrance to the Zambian side of Victoria Falls. I would recommend viewing the Falls from the Zambian side also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so very much for such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for taking the time to send feedback With best wishes, Elissa Lodge Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
9.1

We absolutely loved our stay at Fawlty Towers. Rooms were basic, but comfortable and the washing facilities were clean and did the job. Dinner isn't served in, but the recommendation given to us by staff (Cafe Zambezi) is a 30 second walk away and is a superb venue! The staff were superb and made very aspect of our stay so easy. The organised day trip to Chobe was well worth doing, and we would thoroughly recommend it. This is a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so very much for such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The good news is.... we have started doing dinners now. We are still finding our feet and testing out what is popular but will hopefully have it down to a fine art soon. Thanks again for your feedback. With best wishes, Elissa Lodge Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Zambia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.1

Great Place, definitely going back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Fantastic! And we look forward to having you back! With best wishes, Elissa - Lodge Management

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.4

It is a gated hostel with a little tropical paradise behind the walls. Pool looks lovely (although I didn't get a chance to swim in it). Communal dining area very pleasant. WiFi only available by the pool. Breakfast and lunch available to purchase between $4-9. Couple of decent nearby cafes and restaurants. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for a super duper review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. Thanks for taking time to send feedback. With best wishes, Elissa - Lodge Manager

  • ianw17
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

I had a fantastic stay. Amazing value for money, helpful staff, and the other guests provided great company. Best hostel I've visited for a while. My only (very minor!) complaint was that the bar wasn't able to give change at night. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look into the change issue. Perhaps we need to top up with float for the evenings. Unfortunately, I have not had this feedback from our barman, so thank you for bringing this to my attention. With best wishes, Elissa Lodge Manager

  • klaartjevandenbos8303
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.0

Location is great. Right opposite of shops and near to the museum. Room was very clean and had airconditioning. Reception when we got in was a bit indifferent. No good morning or how are you. When we left, someone else was at reception. She was friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you very much for your email. We are delighted to hear that you were in the main very happy with your stay. I am sorry to hear one of our reception staff was not on form, but am glad to hear we redeemed ourselves the next day with another staff member making up for it. Thanks for taking time to send feedback. With best wishes, Elissa - Lodge Manager.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.