X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
341 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Thank you for a lovely stay amidst travelers of all ages enjoying your wonderful hotel , town and amazing Falls. A traveler looking for a well located, reasonably priced, perfect hotel, finds it right at Fawlty!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed at Fawlty towers for two nights! It was one of the best hostels on our trip! The Stuff is extremely friendly a they have a kitchen, pool, restaurant, free shuttle to Vic falls free coffee and tea AND free pancakes:-) sogood, if not thebest placeto stayif visiting Livingstone!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice rooms for cost with lovely decor. Great location in Livingstone - right across from groceries, restaurants and coffee shops. Only stayed for one night in 4 room private, but would most definitely recommend! Only thing is if in need of internet the wifi is very very slow.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It's all pretty good in terms of a hostel. Cheap, safe and a good bed to sleep on. Only complaints are: limited hot water (dont expect any past 7:30am), loud groups of touring students together (class trip?) - so it was kind of loud and there were immature pranks. But otherwise it's a very comfortable place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We have looked into the hot water in the dorm area & have put a larger element into the geyser so that has resolved that problem. We do have visiting students staying in our dorms from time to time. I am sorry to hear they were a little loud & playing tricks. We do have private suites for guests who prefer their own space & a quieter environment. I am glad your stay was comfortable. Thanks for the feedback; it helps us to improve. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

97%

Fawlty Towers is an excellent economical option for staying near Victoria Falls. My friend and I really enjoyed our time there. It was a bit loud some nights but with the air conditioning on in our room it was fine. We did wait 45 minutes for our back-to-back massages to start due to a communication breakdown between reception and the beauty salon. But overall it was an amazing experience! We appreciated the shuttle service from the airport and to the Falls! Thank you!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. Livingstone is a lively town, particularly during peak season, so sometimes the town can be noisy. We took up the noise issue (stemming from local night clubs) with the council. We have since seen a huge reduction in noise pollution, but yes, there can still be the occasional renegade pumping out tunes, & that is when our aircon / fans come into their own as a a multi-functional appliance, drowning out unwanted background noise. We will keep an eye on those clubs.

94%

What an awesome place to stay and base all your activities around Vic Falls and Livingstone from! Great chilled out vibe with a big range of guests. The only thing close to a complaint is that the wifi doesnt extend very far from reception. But even this isnt really a bad thing as it gets people out of their rooms and into the lounge to mingle. If I make it back to Zambia, I'll definitely be dropping into Fawlty Towers again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Fawlty Towers is a bit of an oasis on the outskirts of town & I always find it wonderful to be able to walk away from the hustle bustle of town into the calm sanctuary behind our walls. Yes, our wifi is only available in our reception/bar area & in our upstairs lounge/dining area. I do like your positive perspective, that it gets guests out of their rooms and mingling. Thanks again, Elissa - General Manager

77%

+ve - onsite restaurant -ve-can't do own cooking; no fridge; no lockers

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Thanks for the +ve (ie: positive) regarding our onsite restaurant. With regard to the -ve (ie: negative), we have a fully equipped self catering kitchen downstairs in the lodge which has 2 fridges and a chest freezer plus a stove. I think you must have missed it. Thanks for your feedback, it helps us to improve. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

97%

One of the best hostel in Africa. Great location, great staff, great dorms with good beds and mosquito nets, hot showers, free coffee and tea and free pancakes at 3pm. Wi-fi works pretty OK and is free. You also can get a free ride to the Falls or to the border. I would definitively recommend this place for anyone as they also have private roooms and a pool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gosh! Thanks very much for putting us in the category of one of the best hostels in Africa. We are absolutely delighted! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

100%

Faulty Towers is an excellent choice. The grounds are lovely and the area is well maintaned. The rooms are spacious and very nice complete with mosquito netting. Linen is very good and new. The breakfast allows for an order being placed but is not part of the room tariff. The staff is great and friendly. They are equiped to assist with reservations for the side trips available in Livingstone. The hotel is a great location and close to both Cafe Zambezi and Lola's for dining. Excellent!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Fawlty Towers. I expect you were in one of our newer Deluxe Suites as these rooms are a good size - very spacious. I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful and our location good. I hope you will choose to stay with us again should you return to Livingstone again one day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

91%

Very relaxed atmosphere. Super friendly staff

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. So glad that you were able to experience our relaxed atmosphere and got to know our staff. Thanks for the great feedback. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

Very nice place. The room itself was very nice and clean. Showers were warm. The courtyard and pool were a nice touch. Felt very safe at the place, and the beer was not expensive at all. Would highly recommend.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review. Hopefully you will visit us again one day. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

94%

Traveled around Africa for half a year, this is by far the best place I have stayed! Nice atmosphere, the best chill-out places, just perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for your fabulous review. I am delighted to hear that Fawlty Towers is the best place you have stayed in on your travels around Africa, so far That is a huge compliment. Thank you very much for taking the time to send feedback. Happy travels to your next destination! With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

89%

Very small rooms but clean and comfortable. Free transfers to Vic Falls each day was good. Getting back we caught the local bus for 3 Kwacha each instead of paying $10 for a taxi. Internet only works in the bar/lounge area. Kitchen was basic but adequate - we didn't use the restaurant. Location was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We are glad you found our rooms clean & comfortable, our kitchen adequate & our location good. Our Standard Suites are basic rooms but adequately equipped with ensuite bathroom, safe, mosquito nets, shelves etc. Size-wise our larger Deluxe Suites are just $15 more, which are ideal for guests who are planning longer stays with us. Yes, our wifi is available in the communal living space ie: bar area, activity office & upstairs in our lounge. Thanks again. Elissa GM

97%

My girlfriend and I were robbed in Lusaka the day before traveling here. We were very low on funds and wanted a chill-place to stay (not Jolly Boys, although its fun), the staff was so nice that even when the dorms were fully booked they put us in our own room with shower for the same price. For an cheap flexible place, I give Faulty five stars. Thank you Ba Joyce, Timothy, Sitali, Marriam and Ernestine, and the hilarious kitchen staff. Keep up the great work! Britain (Chansa)

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for your great review. We were sorry to hear about you being robbed in Lusaka, but we are so glad we were able to offer you a bit of a sanctuary at Fawlty Towers after your ordeal. Thanks for the 5 Stars! :-) We are delighted! We hope you will stay with us should you come to Livingstone again in the future. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

80%

This was a very good place to stay. Rooms are clean and facing a superb courtyard featuring palms and a pool. Outdoor activities can be easily arranged at reception. Staff were pretty average on my stay, somehow in contradiction with other user reviews. They were helpful and generally nice, but they seemed somehow confused, absent-minded and too laid back - I literally had to pull information out of them about basic things such as seeing the Falls. Other than that, highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities & would highly recommend them. Thank you for the feedback with regard to your experience with our staff. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff nice and helpful but am sorry you felt that they were absent-minded and too laid back. Most of our staff have worked here for many years so are very efficient and knowledgeable. I'll certainly address the matter. Thanks again. With best wishes, Elissa GM

97%

I absolutely fell in love with Fawlty Towers during my stay. The ensuite room was very comfortable, but the outdoor amenities and relaxing atmosphere were what really made this a very nice place to stay. The staff were very helpful in planning other activities during our stay. There were many good restaurants and stores within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Livingstone.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable & our outdoor amenities & atmosphere pleasing. Thank you, too, for the positive feedback about our staff. Yes, our location is ideal for access to restaurants, shops etc, but I am sure you agree, that the wonderful thing about Fawlty Towers, is the fact that it is an oasis where you can get away from it all, when you need to. We look forward to having you back. With best wishes, Elissa

97%

The deluxe rooms are very nice with big comfortable beds and ensuite bathroom. Friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the feedback. We're delighted that you were able to enjoy our new deluxe suites and found our establishment friendly. We hope you will stay with us again some day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

This was the best place that I have stayed at in Africa. The staff was very helpful and friendly easily able to help us plan activities. The guards had great tips for us and even helped arranged transport to the falls and bus station while keeping the street vendors from bothering us. The food here is well priced and tasty. If you're in the mood for something different there are several places including Olga's Italian kitchen

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're thrilled to hear that Fawlty Towers was the best place you have stayed in Africa and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Great to hear that you were able to sample our Chef's home cooked meals. Thanks for the positive review. We are delighted. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

The water pump at the "hawk" room during the whole night was annoying.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found our water pump a disturbance. Unfortunately, we need our water pump to pump water from our borehole well to the rooms, bathrooms, kitchens etc and there is not too much we can do about this. We are, however, currently discussing ways in which we could possibly sound proof the pump-house. Thank you for bringing our attention to this. If we had availability, we could have moved you to another room. With best wishes, Elissa

80%

Beautiful propertie. The garden and pool are ideal to rest and read before taking the next step.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It sounds like you had a really relaxing time with us. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback