X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
460 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

My friend and I were looking of a girls weekend getaway and this place was perfect. Our transport was much earlier than planned but the staff were ready to attend to us. There is a shopping mall right opposite for any cash needs and supplies and a communal kitchen to use whenever you miss some homemade food. Our stay was great and will definitely love to stay here next time am in Livingstone.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

In the center of the city with plenty shops and restaurants around.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Thnx for à excellent holliday. IT was à plessure To be in Fawlty Towers

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place that made the arrival to Livingstone such an easy process for me. The airport pickup service was invaluable in getting to the hostel. Great friendly staff doing some amazing work!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for a really lovely review. It is wonderful to receive such feedback and makes all the hard work seem worth it. I shall print your review off for our staff. Thanks again. With best wishes, Elissa - Foreign Relations Liaison Manager

86%

I had a good stay at Fawlty Towers, the activities they facilities are very good. One suggestion for the hostel: please provide more electricity sockets for the guests. We had two sockets in a dorm of 6, everyone was in the common room looking for sockets. This becomes problematic when you want to charge your phone over night (you cannot just leave it in the common room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate the feedback. And thank you for your suggestion regarding plug sockets. I shall look at putting 4 socket adapters into the dorms. With best wishes, Elissa Foreign Relations Liaison Manager

100%

Fawlty towers was brilliant, i only had one night here but i wish i could of stayed longer as it was so nice. It was very, very spacious, a gorgeous garden & pool, friendly & helpful staff. I highly recommend staying here, it's in the heart of the town but it doesn't get noisy, so it's perfect.


91%

Loved it here! For such a reasonable price this hostel was beyond expectation. I could have sat by the lovely pool all day had there not been so many adventures in the area. Safe, good location and cheap beer, highly recommended.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a great place

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you for your succinct review. We appreciate the positive feedback! Thanks again. With best wishes, Elissa Manager

89%

Very nice place, peacefull, great ambient. It is recomneded to stay.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the delightful review and for taking time to write it. We appreciate the feedback. Thanks again! With best wishes, Elissa Manager

80%

Everything was ok except that the 4-bed dorm was tiny, and very very hot and bad ventilated. When you shower, water comes out of the bathroom and into the bedroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for bringing our attention to the shower issue. I will investigate it, but it is likely that the shower rose was facing the shower curtain and perhaps by adjusting it down, it may have prevented the flood. Unfortunately, at the best of times, Livingstone is really hot and the air still and our rooms can be warm. We do have rooms with a/c. Thanks for the constructive feedback. With best wishes, Elissa Foreign Relations Liaison Manager

100%

This place has amazing character and the people (staff and customers) just make it all the more so characterful and colourful. Always greeted by polite security guards and then front of house staff. The place is kept clean both in the rooms and out. The travel centre is full of ideas and trips to do and Elissa is great at accommodating your every need, no matter what time of day. Love the music in the reception (wish I'd have asked where they get their music from - great mixes).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our facilities so much. Thank you very much for taking the time to send feedback. With best wishes, Elissa Foreign Relations Liaison Manager

69%

The mattresses are very uncomfortable and thin. The mosquito nets could do with some velcro to keep them closed. May I suggest some new books in your bookcase or otherwise just start a book exchange, encouraging travelers to leave their books there. Loved that someone left their 30 Seconds board game there, it was good fun. I think you should try as much as possible to keep the dorms non-mixed. The self-catering kitchen is great but someone should clear out all of the old food once in a while.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You had a bit of a disappointing experience which is unfortunate given that we pride ourselves on being the best hostel in Zambia. We have not had complaints about our mattresses before. They are thick, high density foam mattresses. I shall look into the comfort of them. The nets fold over themselves so should be adequate. Exchange of books is encouraged. The kitchen is cleared out of sell by date food regularly but we cannot throw out people's food willy nilly. I shall look into this. Thanks

86%

Most of my issues were with other travellers rather than the hostel, but I really didn't like how my dorm was connected to another, and people had to walk through my room to get to theirs. It made it very noisy when I was trying to sleep, especially since people would slam the doors.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to hear you had issues with noise from your fellow travellers. Unfortunately, dorm accommodation is a bit of the luck of the draw as to who you find yourself sharing with. Fawlty Towers does have private rooms for those who prefer to avoid the dorm style rooms. Thanks for your feedback. With best wishes, Elissa GM

86%

God value for money! Very nice atmosphere. Lovely and very wellkept garden. Nice swimmingpool area. Free pancakes and free tea and coffee every afternoon. The sad thing is Fawlty Towers is so far away as Zambia - if it was somewhere in Europe we would stay there more often!

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the amazing review. We are delighted! With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

80%

Very clean and the reception staff was very helpful when making reservations for activities. Internet was spotty.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it! With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

89%

Well, my staying in the hotel was very pleasant, and I will advice it to my friends. Should I come back to livingstone I certainly will book at your hotel. Many regards, Pina Borsa

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for a lovely review and for referring us to your friends. We appreciate that hugely. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

71%

My shower drain was blocked for the three days that I was there, and I couldnt seem to get the staff to help me with anything I wanted without dragging it from them. Otherwise it was a pleasant experience.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Botswana
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. I am sorry you experience a blocked drain and felt you were not helped as required. I am disappointed to hear about this. You should have come to see me about it, if you had not received the appropriate assistance. I am glad to hear that you had a good experience otherwise. I will discuss the drain matter with our staff. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

The hotel was very clean and good location, next to supermarket and restaurant

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review and I am glad you had a great stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

Faulty towers was truly the best hostel experience I have ever had. They have a pool, great activities organizers and lazy cats laying around (which adds to the homeliness). They also have a kitchen for those on a budget and the place is surrounded with restaurants and a shoprite. Best place for backpackers in livingstone.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for a super review. We have recently won a Hoscar for being the best hostel in Zambia so it is great to hear from our guests that we are still keeping up our high standards. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

Simply - awesome

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback