X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
554 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We loved our stay! I will definitely stay there again! Stayed in a double ensuite which was really spacious, clean and had an aircon! My only complaint is that breakfast is not in the accommodation rate which is usually standard for most places. Otherwise, awesome place!

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your super review. We are delighted! You read our minds on the food.... We intend to include breakfast in our rates, once our outdoor kitchen is complete! Watch this space! :-) With best wishes, Elissa

100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed at, flawless!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your super wonderful review. Delighted to hear that we are the best hostel you have ever stayed in! Thanks a million. With best wishes, Elissa

100%

Staff are the very best here. Friendly, helpful and hip. Love the sound track rolling in the lounge area but I am not 22. I loved that it is NOT a party place. It is enjoyable to socialize around the pool without loud conversation or horseplay. If you want to stagger on until dawn, go to Jolly Boys for the fun. If you want comfort, and quiet, come here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You've made our day! Thanks for the awesome review! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are delighted!!!! With best wishes, Elissa - GM

89%

we had a flight cancellation and missed a night and they were more than accommodating and didnt charge us for this mishap. lovely staff. delicious breakfast and efficient laundry

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fab review. We appreciate the positive feedback. With best wishes, Elissa

89%

We had great time at Fawlty Towers. My parents who retired have been excited as well. The hostel is very friendly, clean, save and staff is very helpful. We also booked safari trip at hostel. Opposite of the hostel is big supermarket, money exchange and nearby there is great restaurant Cafe Zambezi... We had really great time there... We recommend for sole travelers, couples as well as for families with small kids,..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you lovely review. We are always super excited to get such positive feedback. Thank you for that. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

77%

I guess it just depends. If your looking for a shared room at a hostel okay this is the place to go. If your looking for a private en suite then you can find other options that are better. For just a tiny bit more you can get a room with a/c and a fridge and a tv. But for a hostel in Livingstone it's the nicest.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your review. We're delighted to hear that you think we are the nicest hostel in Livingstone. Thank you very much for that accolade. Our rooms are simply appointed with everything you need, ensuite bathroom, shelves, safe, ac/fan etc. We have a TV & free WIFI in the bar & fridges in the self catering kitchen but not in each room. As we evolve further we may look at your suggestion of fridges & TVs in the rooms (we do have air conditioning). With best wishes, Elissa

83%

My two friends and I stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed our stay. The masseuse, speedy laundry, clean pool and relaxed atmosphere are just a few of the things we enjoyed. It was also nice to have a booking office to help us schedule some activities and things to do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa

97%

Very comfortable and spotlessly clean hostel. Very friendly staff, lush garden, nice pool and sun terrace and good communal kitchen with all facilities. Nice pancakes for free everyday at 3 pm. The only "neg" thing are the prices of the restaurant. They are to expensive for a hostel and not competitive with food which is easy to get nearby. But staff is so nice that you wished they had more to do and cook for the guests with there warm smile!! Certainly a hostel to recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so very much for such a lovely review. We are thrilled - You have made our day! With best wishes, Elissa Manager

97%

Fawlty Towers is a great choice for backpackers. It's like a huge apartment where people are just comfortably passing by each other in bikinis or towels. My dorm was always unlocked as we were only given one key but I thought it was safe anyway. I love that they have a communal kitchen where you can just cook your own meals without corkage. The pool is definitely a luxury with the steaming Zambian weather. Overall, the place is very cozy and would recommend to both backpackers and tourists.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the super review. We are delighted! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for recommending us. With best wishes, Elissa - Manager

63%

It is a nice place, but it could be so much better of they provided a better service. Unfortunately the staff have been CONSISTENTLY delivering a poor service which left us with a sour taste for the visit. You can definitely improve on that without much effort or costs associated. The signs and notices are very unfriendly - not sure if this was intended as a 'joke' but I would suggest changing them - for example we provide 'tea and coffee, but if you want milk, buy it across the road' (!?!)/

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear you thought we have a nice place. I am sorry you found our service poor. I will discuss with our reception staff. Re: our sign about milk, we state that the FREE tea & coffee comes with coffee cream, & specifically say, "If you would like fresh milk Shoprite is just across the road & milk will cost you about K16 for 2 litres". We feel that is a friendly, helpful suggestion given that we only provide coffee creamer. We like to keep guests informed of what is included. Thanks, Elissa

77%

Nice secure location close to shops and cafes. Thought towels were a norm, not to be asked if I needed one. Hot water did not get hot, however did not really need it as it was so hot outside. My mistake when booking did not specify air con so suffered a bit a night.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you found our location nice and secure. Unfortunately, we have had guests walk off with towels in the past, so now you pay a deposit which you get back when you return your towel. Our basic twins do not have a/c hence being $10 cheaper, but we do have airconditioned rooms. Will look into the hot water issue. Thanks for bringing that to my attention. Thanks for taking time to review us. With best wishes, Elissa Manager

86%

great place, central location. good base to explore and set up tours. suggestions to improve a great stay: screens on the windows for more air flow. bigger/stronger fans vs. install AC in more rooms, especially the ones with limited air flow. reconsider the 100% cancelation fee: handing over money now for a trip 4 days from now that i have to forfeit money for if i get sick or the group changes their mind is a bummer. nice breakfast, but odd to wait for a lady to pay downstairs 1st.

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

If someone is looking for a cheap accommodation option, then Fawlty Towers is a good option. But you get what you pay for. Breakfast should be included. The internet is very poor and almost useless.

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Silas. Thank you for your feedback. We will look at the possibility of adding a couple of dollars onto the rates and then including breakfast once our kitchen has moved downstairs next to our pool. We work on the same internet as our guests and we manage to get through a day's work everyday using the internet we provide. We shall look at offering paid internet again for those who want faster net. Unfortunately we cannot offer better FREE wifi without increasing our accommodation rates.

100%

Great place to stay. Safe and comfortable.

  • 19th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted that you were very happy with your stay. Thanks for taking the time to review us. With best wishes, Elissa

100%

Great Place -we will recommend this to our friends that will be traveling through Livingstone. Nicely appointed rooms, well kept grounds, friendly staff (shout out to Wilkins!!). Very centrally located - convenient to grocery store and many fine local restaurants. We only tried their restaurant for breakfast but it was good.

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for a fabulous review. We are so please you enjoyed your stay and took time to write us such a nice review. Thank you for recommending us to your friends. With best wishes, Elissa

91%

There is a friendly and relaxed atmosphere at Fawllty Towers. The outdoor space is relaxing and excellent services in booking activities. Thank You. Will come back.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a lovely review. We appreciate the wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. With best wishes, Elissa

69%

The pool area is great and it is near a supermarket and restaurants. We were there in summer - the dorm rooms have fans, but the power goes off so frequently (not the hostel's fault) that it doesn't matter. The dorm rooms are in a concrete building that gets NO air circulation. Our windows were all wide open and the outside air temp was significantly cooler, but the room wouldn't cool down. It was cheaper than other options, but we struggled.


97%

The deluxe rooms are really nice. Definitely worth the upgrade. This hostel felt very safe. They have a security guard at the gate which they lock up at night. Wifi in the lobby only but the lobby has lots of comfy seats to relax on and catch up on your wifi needs.

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christy. Thanks for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to send feedback. With best wishes, Elissa GM

29%

Staying at the Fawlty Towers in Livingstone, Zambia was one of the biggest mistakes I made during a recent trip to 4 countries across southern Africa. By far, Fawlty Towers was the worst property of all of the places that my wife and I stayed at. Staff were dismissive, and rude. The hostel was filthy dirty, and did not always have running water. It was loud because it was beside a nightclub. Do not make the mistake of trying to save money and staying here.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We won the Hostelworld Best Hostel in Zambia Award this year & you will see that our reviews are very good. I don't think you are aware of Zambia's energy crisis hence the water issue for 4 hours each day which in turn affects our ability to wash floors and dishes etc for that short period. But between those 4 hours, usual high standards prevail.See http://www.zambian-economist.com/2015/07/zambias-electricity-crisis.html. The noise issue has already been addressed with the local MP. Thank you.

97%

Fawlty Towers is an absolute gem! Very comfortable and incredibly good value for money. I was very sad to leave.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for that lovely review. Sorry you could not have stayed longer. All the best with your travels to your next destination, whether that be home or to another exotic location. With best wishes, Elissa

« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback