X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
479 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The staff were ok the room was poorly lit, the toilet door did not stay shut from the outside, no shaver point, the safe did not work, I could not get up the stairs to the restaurant which was on the first floor not ground level,when there was a bbq there was no restaurant food. I also noted it would be difficult for wheel chair users some paths to narrow and steps

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. It sounds like you had a disappointing experience with us. Some of your requirements seem to be more along the lines of a hotel rather than a backpackers eg: shaver point & a fully functioning restaurant. We have been voted best hostel in Zambia & we are for sure the best value in town. Unfortunately, we do not claim to be wheelchair friendly & I am sorry you found this frustrating. Thank you for bringing my attention to the door and the lights. We shall look into this. Elissa - GM

100%

The mosquitos were out of control in the dorm bedrooms and the common area!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you very much for your wonderful rating - 5 out of 5 for all categories. Thank you!!! There are a lot of mosquitoes around at the moment, possibly because winter has not been that cold. I check with the local council as to whether there has been any pest management in Livingstone this year. Thanks for bringing my attention to this. With best wishes, Elissa

89%

Great place. Only problem was that the water out each morning and staff was slow to fix it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your lovely review. Unfortunately, the recent water problem was out of the control of our staff, but in fact due to the Zambian electricity service provider, Zesco, who have had some huge problems recently & as a result, it effected the entire town. Low power from Zesco effects our water pump which is on a surge protector & when the power is low, the water pump switches on & off instead of being constant. These are the challenges we meet on occasion. :-) Elissa

94%

Best hostel I can immagine for a cheap price! We really enjoyed our time there. Thank you a lot! Hope to come back one day!

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fabulous review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We do indeed hope you will come back one day!

100%

Supermarket is across the road, therefor was able to cook each day. Great hostel, great pool, great staff and great rooms. I loved my stay here, would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fabulous review. We are thrilled to receive such positive feedback. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

86%

8 years ago we were not impressed with the place. friends stayed recently and recommend trying again. We did and we really enjoyed our stay. The fire pit was a nice and we enjoyed a few nights chatting with folks there. The afternoon pancakes were enjoyed and a chance to chat with folks upstairs. The place is well situated for self catering in general but we felt the need for an extra cooker and a sharp knife or two in the kitchen. Hanging space in the rooms is limited so please add more.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for giving Fawlty Towers another chance albeit 8 years later. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have won an award this year for being the best Hostel in Zambia and we are very proud of this. I will ensure the communal kitchen has sharp knives. Thanks for this feedback and yes, I will also look at hanging space space. Thanks for taking time to review us and for the lovely feedback. With best wishes, Elissa GM

100%

Great hostel. Great service. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review! Thanks very much for taking the time to send feedback! We hugely appreciate the positive review! Thank you!

97%

I was responsible for booking and arranging activities for 16 people. All went well and we felt well cared for. The rooms were nice; breakfast was great and a great place to gather together at the start of the day; enjoyed the massage. Fawlty Towers arranged our group trip to Chobe and we enjoyed a worry-free day - all transportation and connections were well executed and we felt we had received great value for the cost.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

Really nice hostel, good located close to supermarket und restaurants. Even the possibility to book all the activities is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so very much for the lovely feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa GM

69%

Adequate facilities for the price (in the area there is a choice of basic back-packer style accommodation or very high-end hotels, nothing much in between). Felt safe there. Just over the road from supermarket, taxis readily available.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Joanne. Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you found our facilities adequate. We won the 2015 award for being the best hostel in Zambia and we are very proud of this award. I believe we are the best value in town offering more upmarket backpacker facilities. Thanks for taking time to review us. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

80%

My friend and I were looking of a girls weekend getaway and this place was perfect. Our transport was much earlier than planned but the staff were ready to attend to us. There is a shopping mall right opposite for any cash needs and supplies and a communal kitchen to use whenever you miss some homemade food. Our stay was great and will definitely love to stay here next time am in Livingstone.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a super review. We are delighted and look forward to welcoming you back again, the next time you are in Livingstone. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

94%

The cleanliness question was in the communal kitchen and more a problem of the holiday makers than the staff.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all the excellent scores on security, location, staff, atmosphere, value for money and facilities. I am sorry you found our communal kitchen a bit messy. Our house keeping staff check the communal kitchen several times a day, but guests are supposed to wash and tidy up after themselves. Unfortunately, this does not always happen. Thanks for taking the time to review us and for the high scores. With best wishes, Elissa GM

91%

What a great atmosphere. I really enjoyed the look of this hostel and the location across from a strip mall was quite convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. I hope you enjoyed your trip to your next destination too, which I am absolutely sure you did. It was lovely to have you and your team here. Perhaps you will visit us again some day. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

91%

In the center of the city with plenty shops and restaurants around.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. I see you did not rate us as highly on cleanliness compared to the other catergories. We usually pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and this is one of the reasons we have won the award for being the best Hostel in Zambia. I will certainly look into this to make sure our standards are back to their usual high level. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

86%

Thnx for à excellent holliday. IT was à plessure To be in Fawlty Towers

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the super review. We are so pleased you had a fabulous holiday with us. With best wishes, Elissa GM

100%

Great place that made the arrival to Livingstone such an easy process for me. The airport pickup service was invaluable in getting to the hostel. Great friendly staff doing some amazing work!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for a really lovely review. It is wonderful to receive such feedback and makes all the hard work seem worth it. I shall print your review off for our staff. Thanks again. With best wishes, Elissa - Foreign Relations Liaison Manager

86%

I had a good stay at Fawlty Towers, the activities they facilities are very good. One suggestion for the hostel: please provide more electricity sockets for the guests. We had two sockets in a dorm of 6, everyone was in the common room looking for sockets. This becomes problematic when you want to charge your phone over night (you cannot just leave it in the common room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate the feedback. And thank you for your suggestion regarding plug sockets. I shall look at putting 4 socket adapters into the dorms. With best wishes, Elissa Foreign Relations Liaison Manager

100%

Fawlty towers was brilliant, i only had one night here but i wish i could of stayed longer as it was so nice. It was very, very spacious, a gorgeous garden & pool, friendly & helpful staff. I highly recommend staying here, it's in the heart of the town but it doesn't get noisy, so it's perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for highly recommending us. We appreciate the positive feedback. Thanks again, Elissa GM

91%

Loved it here! For such a reasonable price this hostel was beyond expectation. I could have sat by the lovely pool all day had there not been so many adventures in the area. Safe, good location and cheap beer, highly recommended.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for highly recommending us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We love the positive feedback. It makes our hard work seem worthwhile. Thanks again. With best wishes, Elissa GM

80%

It's a great place

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you for your succinct review. We appreciate the positive feedback! Thanks again. With best wishes, Elissa Manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback