X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
488 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The staff was friendly and professional. Security was always on top of things, so I felt safe the whole time I was there. The cats were friendly and cute. Activity center gal knew what to recommend and what to book us for. I really loved how they used the local fabrics as wall art...So colorful and festive...Very enjoyable stay. I would stay here again!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa GM

91%

Great place to stay in Livingstone, warmly suggested!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for succinct review. We appreciate the positive feedback. Thank you very much. With best wishes, Elissa GM

86%

Great hostel! The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hostel relaxed and quiet, but with enough possibilities to get to know people. Food is very good; although there is no free breakfast, there are free pancakes at three o'clock which are definitely worth it. I you are staying in a dorm though, ask for a one of the wooden beds, as the steel beds tend to rock a lot when you're in the top bunk.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa GM

89%

Faulty towers is a great place to stay inLivingstone, it's enclosed within its own courtyard garden which makes for a safe but sociable atmosphere. The staff are excellent and couldn't be more helpful! The hostel also supports a welfare project that helps to contribute to local children's education.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking time to review us. With best wishes, Elissa

100%

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is easy to access to several museums and shopping center. The kitchen in the hotel is well equipped with all necessary items for cooking and even baking.There are plenty of hot water in the bathroom. There is a space for you to hang clothing after washing. Miriam and Ernestine at reception desk, Timothy - the driver, Peggy - the cleaner, "Papa" - the chief and the remaining team did their excellent job to ensure you have the most comfortable vacation.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fabulous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes, Elissa

97%

Absolute gem! Staff are friendly and helpful. Pool and fire area is great to relax. Pity we only stayed there for one night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the super review. We're delighted and pleased you enjoyed your night with us. With best wishes Elissa

80%

internet wifi didnt work properly. connexion wifi was very poor

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your you great ratings on Security, Location, Staff, Atmosphere, Cleanliness, Value for Money & Facilities. Regarding the WiFi, unfortunately, in Africa the internet is very expensive but the facilities are not good. We have given notice to the current ISP & we are starting with a new ISP next month, so we are hoping to offer better internet in future. We have been having a lot of power outages in Zambia, which does not help things. But onward! We hope to improve the wifi. Elissa

54%

The staff were ok the room was poorly lit, the toilet door did not stay shut from the outside, no shaver point, the safe did not work, I could not get up the stairs to the restaurant which was on the first floor not ground level,when there was a bbq there was no restaurant food. I also noted it would be difficult for wheel chair users some paths to narrow and steps

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. It sounds like you had a disappointing experience with us. Some of your requirements seem to be more along the lines of a hotel rather than a backpackers eg: shaver point & a fully functioning restaurant. We have been voted best hostel in Zambia & we are for sure the best value in town. Unfortunately, we do not claim to be wheelchair friendly & I am sorry you found this frustrating. Thank you for bringing my attention to the door and the lights. We shall look into this. Elissa - GM

100%

The mosquitos were out of control in the dorm bedrooms and the common area!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you very much for your wonderful rating - 5 out of 5 for all categories. Thank you!!! There are a lot of mosquitoes around at the moment, possibly because winter has not been that cold. I check with the local council as to whether there has been any pest management in Livingstone this year. Thanks for bringing my attention to this. With best wishes, Elissa

89%

Great place. Only problem was that the water out each morning and staff was slow to fix it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your lovely review. Unfortunately, the recent water problem was out of the control of our staff, but in fact due to the Zambian electricity service provider, Zesco, who have had some huge problems recently & as a result, it effected the entire town. Low power from Zesco effects our water pump which is on a surge protector & when the power is low, the water pump switches on & off instead of being constant. These are the challenges we meet on occasion. :-) Elissa

94%

Best hostel I can immagine for a cheap price! We really enjoyed our time there. Thank you a lot! Hope to come back one day!

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fabulous review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We do indeed hope you will come back one day!

100%

Supermarket is across the road, therefor was able to cook each day. Great hostel, great pool, great staff and great rooms. I loved my stay here, would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fabulous review. We are thrilled to receive such positive feedback. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

86%

8 years ago we were not impressed with the place. friends stayed recently and recommend trying again. We did and we really enjoyed our stay. The fire pit was a nice and we enjoyed a few nights chatting with folks there. The afternoon pancakes were enjoyed and a chance to chat with folks upstairs. The place is well situated for self catering in general but we felt the need for an extra cooker and a sharp knife or two in the kitchen. Hanging space in the rooms is limited so please add more.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for giving Fawlty Towers another chance albeit 8 years later. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have won an award this year for being the best Hostel in Zambia and we are very proud of this. I will ensure the communal kitchen has sharp knives. Thanks for this feedback and yes, I will also look at hanging space space. Thanks for taking time to review us and for the lovely feedback. With best wishes, Elissa GM

100%

Great hostel. Great service. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review! Thanks very much for taking the time to send feedback! We hugely appreciate the positive review! Thank you!

97%

I was responsible for booking and arranging activities for 16 people. All went well and we felt well cared for. The rooms were nice; breakfast was great and a great place to gather together at the start of the day; enjoyed the massage. Fawlty Towers arranged our group trip to Chobe and we enjoyed a worry-free day - all transportation and connections were well executed and we felt we had received great value for the cost.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

Really nice hostel, good located close to supermarket und restaurants. Even the possibility to book all the activities is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so very much for the lovely feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa GM

69%

Adequate facilities for the price (in the area there is a choice of basic back-packer style accommodation or very high-end hotels, nothing much in between). Felt safe there. Just over the road from supermarket, taxis readily available.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Joanne. Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you found our facilities adequate. We won the 2015 award for being the best hostel in Zambia and we are very proud of this award. I believe we are the best value in town offering more upmarket backpacker facilities. Thanks for taking time to review us. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

80%

My friend and I were looking of a girls weekend getaway and this place was perfect. Our transport was much earlier than planned but the staff were ready to attend to us. There is a shopping mall right opposite for any cash needs and supplies and a communal kitchen to use whenever you miss some homemade food. Our stay was great and will definitely love to stay here next time am in Livingstone.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a super review. We are delighted and look forward to welcoming you back again, the next time you are in Livingstone. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

94%

The cleanliness question was in the communal kitchen and more a problem of the holiday makers than the staff.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all the excellent scores on security, location, staff, atmosphere, value for money and facilities. I am sorry you found our communal kitchen a bit messy. Our house keeping staff check the communal kitchen several times a day, but guests are supposed to wash and tidy up after themselves. Unfortunately, this does not always happen. Thanks for taking the time to review us and for the high scores. With best wishes, Elissa GM

91%

What a great atmosphere. I really enjoyed the look of this hostel and the location across from a strip mall was quite convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. I hope you enjoyed your trip to your next destination too, which I am absolutely sure you did. It was lovely to have you and your team here. Perhaps you will visit us again some day. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback