X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
435 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

My shower drain was blocked for the three days that I was there, and I couldnt seem to get the staff to help me with anything I wanted without dragging it from them. Otherwise it was a pleasant experience.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Botswana
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Faulty towers was truly the best hostel experience I have ever had. They have a pool, great activities organizers and lazy cats laying around (which adds to the homeliness). They also have a kitchen for those on a budget and the place is surrounded with restaurants and a shoprite. Best place for backpackers in livingstone.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Simply - awesome

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

100%

Fawlty Towers has a good atmosphere, well organized and well run. It is a backpacker place, but I had one of the luxury rooms and that was as good as any hotel. Good value for money.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the lovely feedback. We have indeed evolved from just being a backpackers & now cater for all budgets. We have won a Hoscar for 2015 for being the best Hostel in Zambia, so we are very proud of this. Thanks again for the review. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

100%

Everything great except WiFi. Extremely week and pathetically slow internet.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for the great review. We are delighted to have received 5/5 in all categories. Unfortunately, internet is very slow here in Zambia and is also VERY expensive . We use the main service provider and we have the best internet package available. We are just pleased that we can offer our guests free wifi. I stayed in an expensive hotel in Johannesburg recently & only received 1 hours free internet. I then had to purchase it. Thanks again for the great feedback, Elissa GM

97%

really enjoyed my stay here. helpful staff and enough activities that can be organised at the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

94%

Fawlty Towers was an amazing place to stay. I was only there for one night but everything was super clean, the staff are friendly, and the grounds are absolutely beautiful! There is a strip mall right across the road with a supermarket, cafe, craft store, a pharmacy, and other small stores. Within 5-20 minutes walk you'll find bars, the Zimbabwe market, and a sweet ice cream stand! The falls are only 5 mins by car and the border is about 15. Loved my stay and will definitely be back again!

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for a marvellous review. We are delighted to receive such wonderful feedback. Thank you! With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

Why go elsewhere?

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased to hear that we are your preferred choice in accommodation in Livingstone. Thank you for that and for the wonderful ratings - 5 out of 5 for everything! We're chuffed. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

The location of this hostel is ideal as just across the road there is a shoprite supermarket,hungry lion takeaway and various other shops,also close by there are several restaurants which I found to serve great food. When you enter fawlty towers you leave the hustle and din behind as the grounds and pool seem like a oasis ,which is just what you need.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fabulous review. We are delighted you have discovered our secret little oasis! Thanks for taking the time to review us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

83%

I Loved the place. On the downsite, there is no good place to store your valuble's. On the upside, nothing was taken from me! It's a nice place, has a fab. atmosphere, nice pool, vrendly personell

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are currently repairing our lockers in our dormitories (whilst the lodge is in low season) so you may have had the unfortunate luck of having a locker missing from your dorm, but they will soon be back. Thanks for the positive feedback with regard to everything else. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You will see that we have recently won the 2015 HOSCAR on Hostelworld, for being the best Hostel in Zambia. With best wishes, Elissa GM

89%

Definitely deserves a revisit.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we do hope you will visit us again. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

The facility is excellent for a holiday traveller but not suitable for a working business trip as some rooms apart from the Deluxe Twin ones have two small spaces. Best regards. Martin N. Sishekanu

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are more of a holiday lodge than a business facility (ie: we have no conference room, we have free wifi in public places but not in the rooms and our standard rooms are simple, clean and basic). We have however, recently won a HOSCAR for being the best Hostel in Zambia so guests seeking a chilled out oasis on the outskirts of Livingstone will find Fawlty Towers is ideal. Thanks again for your review, Elissa - GM

91%

The overall experience at FT was great!! I will recommend it to others! The minor complaints are that the dorm beds were quite shaky (I could fee when the other person above me moved in their sleep) and the showers in the dorm area didn't have a lot of space to put towels, clothes, etc. Otherwise perfect! Thanks!!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to be the winner of the 2015 HOSCAR for being the best Hostel in Zambia. Thanks for your feedback re: the beds and towel racks in the showers. We will look into putting hooks outside the showers and we will check our beds to see if we can stop them from moving. Your feedback is helpful. Thanks for the great review. With best wishes, Elissa GM

86%

The reason I chose this hostel as opposed to others was because this was the one hostel which did not have a negative review about the staff. I found the management and the front desk person during the day were reluctant to do their jobs. I was passed from post to pillar when all I needed was a map of the town. I've been to many hostels and this is by far the worst staff and management service I've received. Make sure from the start that guests know where the amenities are located

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. I am the manager at Fawlty Towers & don't believe we met. I would have immediately have provided you with a map had you popped into my office located in the admin block off the activites office. I am sorry you were not helped properly by my staff; there are maps on the bar. We will soon be separating our bar from our administrative side and that should resolve a lot of confusion for guests as to who to ask for things. Thanks for the feedback. Elissa

100%

We loved Fawlty Towers and will certainly stay there again. Unfortunately our stay was too short and since we were out at Vic Falls for most of the afternoon we missed the pancakes served at the pool, so we will definitely be back to enjoy those :-)

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you love Fawlty Towers. We look forward to having you back to share free pancakes with us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

Fawlty Towers is more than a backpackers hotel. There are several nice air conditioned rooms with bathrooms and the common areas and pool are quite nice. The staff is very friendly and can sign you up for a variety of wonderful activities in the area. The location is ideal -- near several excellent restaurants, a supermarket, and other shops. I met several interesting people of all age groups at Fawlty Towers; and it was a wonderful choice for me as an older woman traveling on my own.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay here and found Fawlty Towers ideal for your travelling needs. We wish you well on your travels to your next destination. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

80%

The common kitchen could use an upgrade in the fridges and in the utensils available.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our fridges in our communal kitchen are old but are cleaned regularly and still function. As we try to follow a reduce, reuse, recycle policy as much as possible, we hope to get a bit more mileage out of them before we replace them. With regard to utensils we constantly replace these but they always get broken, chipped or disappear. We shall however, look into it and see where we can improve. Thank you for that.

94%

Staff were very friendly and helpful, assisting us in booking activities with one day or less notice. The kitchen was clean and had all utensils and amenities, and plenty of refrigerator pace. Only complaint is poor water pressure in the shower. We were sad to leave after only 3 days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your lovely review. I am glad you to hear that you found our staff friendly and our kitchen clean and equipped with all the necessary utensils. I am sorry you experienced poor water pressure in your shower. It should not have been the case; I will get our maintenance man to check it. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

86%

Most of the staff are unfriendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback and giving us very good ratings on security, location, atmosphere, cleanliness, value for money and facilities. I am sorry we let you down with regard to staff friendliness. We have over 20 staff here, I am surprise to hear that you experienced unfriendliness from most of them as they are generally a happy, friendly team of people. I will bring it up with them. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. With best wishes, Elissa

97%

We stayed at this hostel while visiting Victoria Falls and doing a Safari. The staff was amazing and helped with everything. The pool is perfect to come back to and jump in after a long, hot day. There was a supermarket, pharmacy and banks just across the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to here you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will visit us again some day. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback