X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
448 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Everything was ok except that the 4-bed dorm was tiny, and very very hot and bad ventilated. When you shower, water comes out of the bathroom and into the bedroom.


100%

This place has amazing character and the people (staff and customers) just make it all the more so characterful and colourful. Always greeted by polite security guards and then front of house staff. The place is kept clean both in the rooms and out. The travel centre is full of ideas and trips to do and Elissa is great at accommodating your every need, no matter what time of day. Love the music in the reception (wish I'd have asked where they get their music from - great mixes).


69%

The mattresses are very uncomfortable and thin. The mosquito nets could do with some velcro to keep them closed. May I suggest some new books in your bookcase or otherwise just start a book exchange, encouraging travelers to leave their books there. Loved that someone left their 30 Seconds board game there, it was good fun. I think you should try as much as possible to keep the dorms non-mixed. The self-catering kitchen is great but someone should clear out all of the old food once in a while.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Most of my issues were with other travellers rather than the hostel, but I really didn't like how my dorm was connected to another, and people had to walk through my room to get to theirs. It made it very noisy when I was trying to sleep, especially since people would slam the doors.


86%

God value for money! Very nice atmosphere. Lovely and very wellkept garden. Nice swimmingpool area. Free pancakes and free tea and coffee every afternoon. The sad thing is Fawlty Towers is so far away as Zambia - if it was somewhere in Europe we would stay there more often!

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the amazing review. We are delighted! With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

80%

Very clean and the reception staff was very helpful when making reservations for activities. Internet was spotty.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it! With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

89%

Well, my staying in the hotel was very pleasant, and I will advice it to my friends. Should I come back to livingstone I certainly will book at your hotel. Many regards, Pina Borsa

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for a lovely review and for referring us to your friends. We appreciate that hugely. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

71%

My shower drain was blocked for the three days that I was there, and I couldnt seem to get the staff to help me with anything I wanted without dragging it from them. Otherwise it was a pleasant experience.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Botswana
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. I am sorry you experience a blocked drain and felt you were not helped as required. I am disappointed to hear about this. You should have come to see me about it, if you had not received the appropriate assistance. I am glad to hear that you had a good experience otherwise. I will discuss the drain matter with our staff. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

The hotel was very clean and good location, next to supermarket and restaurant

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review and I am glad you had a great stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

Faulty towers was truly the best hostel experience I have ever had. They have a pool, great activities organizers and lazy cats laying around (which adds to the homeliness). They also have a kitchen for those on a budget and the place is surrounded with restaurants and a shoprite. Best place for backpackers in livingstone.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for a super review. We have recently won a Hoscar for being the best hostel in Zambia so it is great to hear from our guests that we are still keeping up our high standards. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

Simply - awesome

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

100%

Fawlty Towers has a good atmosphere, well organized and well run. It is a backpacker place, but I had one of the luxury rooms and that was as good as any hotel. Good value for money.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the lovely feedback. We have indeed evolved from just being a backpackers & now cater for all budgets. We have won a Hoscar for 2015 for being the best Hostel in Zambia, so we are very proud of this. Thanks again for the review. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

100%

Everything great except WiFi. Extremely week and pathetically slow internet.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for the great review. We are delighted to have received 5/5 in all categories. Unfortunately, internet is very slow here in Zambia and is also VERY expensive . We use the main service provider and we have the best internet package available. We are just pleased that we can offer our guests free wifi. I stayed in an expensive hotel in Johannesburg recently & only received 1 hours free internet. I then had to purchase it. Thanks again for the great feedback, Elissa GM

97%

really enjoyed my stay here. helpful staff and enough activities that can be organised at the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

94%

Fawlty Towers was an amazing place to stay. I was only there for one night but everything was super clean, the staff are friendly, and the grounds are absolutely beautiful! There is a strip mall right across the road with a supermarket, cafe, craft store, a pharmacy, and other small stores. Within 5-20 minutes walk you'll find bars, the Zimbabwe market, and a sweet ice cream stand! The falls are only 5 mins by car and the border is about 15. Loved my stay and will definitely be back again!

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for a marvellous review. We are delighted to receive such wonderful feedback. Thank you! With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

Why go elsewhere?

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased to hear that we are your preferred choice in accommodation in Livingstone. Thank you for that and for the wonderful ratings - 5 out of 5 for everything! We're chuffed. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

The location of this hostel is ideal as just across the road there is a shoprite supermarket,hungry lion takeaway and various other shops,also close by there are several restaurants which I found to serve great food. When you enter fawlty towers you leave the hustle and din behind as the grounds and pool seem like a oasis ,which is just what you need.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fabulous review. We are delighted you have discovered our secret little oasis! Thanks for taking the time to review us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

83%

I Loved the place. On the downsite, there is no good place to store your valuble's. On the upside, nothing was taken from me! It's a nice place, has a fab. atmosphere, nice pool, vrendly personell

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are currently repairing our lockers in our dormitories (whilst the lodge is in low season) so you may have had the unfortunate luck of having a locker missing from your dorm, but they will soon be back. Thanks for the positive feedback with regard to everything else. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You will see that we have recently won the 2015 HOSCAR on Hostelworld, for being the best Hostel in Zambia. With best wishes, Elissa GM

89%

Definitely deserves a revisit.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we do hope you will visit us again. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

The facility is excellent for a holiday traveller but not suitable for a working business trip as some rooms apart from the Deluxe Twin ones have two small spaces. Best regards. Martin N. Sishekanu

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are more of a holiday lodge than a business facility (ie: we have no conference room, we have free wifi in public places but not in the rooms and our standard rooms are simple, clean and basic). We have however, recently won a HOSCAR for being the best Hostel in Zambia so guests seeking a chilled out oasis on the outskirts of Livingstone will find Fawlty Towers is ideal. Thanks again for your review, Elissa - GM

« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback