X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
355 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very nice place. The room itself was very nice and clean. Showers were warm. The courtyard and pool were a nice touch. Felt very safe at the place, and the beer was not expensive at all. Would highly recommend.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review. Hopefully you will visit us again one day. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

94%

Traveled around Africa for half a year, this is by far the best place I have stayed! Nice atmosphere, the best chill-out places, just perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for your fabulous review. I am delighted to hear that Fawlty Towers is the best place you have stayed in on your travels around Africa, so far That is a huge compliment. Thank you very much for taking the time to send feedback. Happy travels to your next destination! With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

89%

Very small rooms but clean and comfortable. Free transfers to Vic Falls each day was good. Getting back we caught the local bus for 3 Kwacha each instead of paying $10 for a taxi. Internet only works in the bar/lounge area. Kitchen was basic but adequate - we didn't use the restaurant. Location was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We are glad you found our rooms clean & comfortable, our kitchen adequate & our location good. Our Standard Suites are basic rooms but adequately equipped with ensuite bathroom, safe, mosquito nets, shelves etc. Size-wise our larger Deluxe Suites are just $15 more, which are ideal for guests who are planning longer stays with us. Yes, our wifi is available in the communal living space ie: bar area, activity office & upstairs in our lounge. Thanks again. Elissa GM

97%

My girlfriend and I were robbed in Lusaka the day before traveling here. We were very low on funds and wanted a chill-place to stay (not Jolly Boys, although its fun), the staff was so nice that even when the dorms were fully booked they put us in our own room with shower for the same price. For an cheap flexible place, I give Faulty five stars. Thank you Ba Joyce, Timothy, Sitali, Marriam and Ernestine, and the hilarious kitchen staff. Keep up the great work! Britain (Chansa)

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for your great review. We were sorry to hear about you being robbed in Lusaka, but we are so glad we were able to offer you a bit of a sanctuary at Fawlty Towers after your ordeal. Thanks for the 5 Stars! :-) We are delighted! We hope you will stay with us should you come to Livingstone again in the future. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

80%

This was a very good place to stay. Rooms are clean and facing a superb courtyard featuring palms and a pool. Outdoor activities can be easily arranged at reception. Staff were pretty average on my stay, somehow in contradiction with other user reviews. They were helpful and generally nice, but they seemed somehow confused, absent-minded and too laid back - I literally had to pull information out of them about basic things such as seeing the Falls. Other than that, highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities & would highly recommend them. Thank you for the feedback with regard to your experience with our staff. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff nice and helpful but am sorry you felt that they were absent-minded and too laid back. Most of our staff have worked here for many years so are very efficient and knowledgeable. I'll certainly address the matter. Thanks again. With best wishes, Elissa GM

97%

I absolutely fell in love with Fawlty Towers during my stay. The ensuite room was very comfortable, but the outdoor amenities and relaxing atmosphere were what really made this a very nice place to stay. The staff were very helpful in planning other activities during our stay. There were many good restaurants and stores within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Livingstone.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable & our outdoor amenities & atmosphere pleasing. Thank you, too, for the positive feedback about our staff. Yes, our location is ideal for access to restaurants, shops etc, but I am sure you agree, that the wonderful thing about Fawlty Towers, is the fact that it is an oasis where you can get away from it all, when you need to. We look forward to having you back. With best wishes, Elissa

97%

The deluxe rooms are very nice with big comfortable beds and ensuite bathroom. Friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the feedback. We're delighted that you were able to enjoy our new deluxe suites and found our establishment friendly. We hope you will stay with us again some day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

This was the best place that I have stayed at in Africa. The staff was very helpful and friendly easily able to help us plan activities. The guards had great tips for us and even helped arranged transport to the falls and bus station while keeping the street vendors from bothering us. The food here is well priced and tasty. If you're in the mood for something different there are several places including Olga's Italian kitchen

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're thrilled to hear that Fawlty Towers was the best place you have stayed in Africa and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Great to hear that you were able to sample our Chef's home cooked meals. Thanks for the positive review. We are delighted. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

The water pump at the "hawk" room during the whole night was annoying.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found our water pump a disturbance. Unfortunately, we need our water pump to pump water from our borehole well to the rooms, bathrooms, kitchens etc and there is not too much we can do about this. We are, however, currently discussing ways in which we could possibly sound proof the pump-house. Thank you for bringing our attention to this. If we had availability, we could have moved you to another room. With best wishes, Elissa

80%

Beautiful propertie. The garden and pool are ideal to rest and read before taking the next step.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It sounds like you had a really relaxing time with us. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

I love this place. Everyone is helpful in making my stay comfortable. This place itself is in a great location with restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy, banks/ATMs across the street and the city center and bus station within walkable distance. There's a pool, living room and spacious dining room. It provides daily shuttle to the falls. Wifi is present and the hostels food is great. Above all I love the staff, very personable and accommodating.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you found our staff so wonderful and that we were able to contribute to making your visit to Livingstone so enjoyable. Visit us again if you come back to Livingstone. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

Really awesome staff and environment at Fawlty Towers. The location is so convenient and there are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance - the food at the hostel isn't bad either! Would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you very much for your great review. Looking forward to you visiting us again someday. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

It's clean, has good beds, and is right in the main part of town. There were a number of families and older people there during my stay so I ended up hanging out at jolly boys more but I prefer staying at fawlty towers for the location and cleanliness

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location good & our lodge clean & comfortable. We cater for all budgets from backpackers through standard to luxury suites so we tend to have a variety of guests of different ages & although we offer a relaxed holiday atmosphere within the lodge we are close to local bars & restaurants should our guests be in search of some excitement. We hope you will visit again. With best wishes, Elissa -GM

100%

Fawlty towers is a hidden gem in zambia, I have traveled all over zambia and this is still my most fav. The staff is excellent and so helpful, helped me in the process to set the perfect atmosphere to propose to my love one. Would recommend Fawlty Towers to everyone.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your rave review. I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was fabulous. Congratulations on your engagement and all the best for a wonderful marriage together. It would be marvellous if you would visit us again one day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

86%

Had a great stay at Fawlty Towers. Staff were always happy to help with any dilema or request. Great facilities and always clean and tidy - thankyou!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It's wonderful to get feedback from our guests, so thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again one day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

97%

It was a very enjoyable time! Beautiful weather and Great accommodations with a fantastic Shower!!! Rooms are cheaper if you reserve them on line. However, you can not reserve them with a VISA from Zamiba because they do not have Kwacha on their webb site to reserve the room. You have to do it in USD and you also can not pay for the entire amount on line, only the deposit. US VISA card then charges you a lot of money to use it overseas, so you do not save anything.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are running an online special until the end of March, so yes, rooms are currently cheaper if you book online. So glad you enjoyed yourself. We hope you will visit us again one day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

77%

Nice place, friendly staff, had lost our reservation but managed to provide us with a room. Listening to the rain on the tin roof at night was amazing.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that we were able to sort out a room for you without much ado. We are usually very good a problem-solving. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you visiting again some day. With best wishes, Elissa, General Manager.

100%

Really enjoyed my stay. I had a 3 bedroom dorm all to myself which was nice. The staff were very helpful in booking things for a single traveller. The pool is nice and the dinners you can purchase there were very delicious. I would definitely stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the positive review. So pleased to hear you found our staff helpful and enjoyed the meals on offer. We do hope you will visit us again. With best wishes, Elissa, General Manager.

94%

Such an terrific place! I mean they offer free pancakes? How nice is that? :)

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you so very much for your positive review. I am glad to hear that you got to sample our free pancakes. With best wishes, Elissa, General Manager.

89%

They should inform tourists that some people walk through their doorms in order to get to another one. Sometimes people walk in the night and make some noise. Other than that all was excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So pleased to hear your stay with us was "excellent" & thank you for your comments about the dorm. Most of our dorms are no larger than 6 beds, but there is 1 dorm that has 2 rooms inter-leading into each other, which is very popular with groups. Most guests are aware that when they book into a dorm, they are sharing with strangers & there is always a risk of sharing with noisy people. We do however have 24 private suites for guests who prefer a quiet space to themselves.

1 2 Next » last »
(40 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback