X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
553 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

A nice regular hostel, friendly and helpful staff, can hook you up with many activities. Pool adds to the chill atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the lovely review. We are glad you found our facilities chilled. We like to offer our guests a relaxed environment and I am glad to hear we are succeeding. With best wishes, Elissa

97%

very pleasant place, tidy communal kitchen with all necessary facilities, friendly and very helpful staff, a perfect place to relax and experience a safe haven. Highly recommended.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa

80%

Very helpful staff, good location opposite supermarket and great value packages

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for a lovely review. We appreciate the feedback and are delighted to hear we had another happy traveller stay with us. Thanks again, Elissa GM

94%

Just perfect!

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for that wonderful feedback. We are delighted!

100%

This hostel totally deserves maximum points. The staff were so nice, I asked a few questions by email before going there, about tours etc., and they always answered within minutes and booked tours for me even before I arrived. There is a great garden to hang out with swimming pool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much! You've made our day!!! With best wishes, Elissa

29%

Noisy as there is no soundproofing between rooms and on a Friday night music plays from nearby till 2am. Showers is a pipe in the wall the sprays everywhere but you. Water is available sporadically as power goes on and off. Mosquito net does not keep mosquitos out at all. You can't open any door fully because the room is to small. 3pm pancakes are barely worth the name and only come with fake lemon and sugar. No breakfast included. Restaurant food is edible. Poor WiFi. Only pro was the pickup.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you were disappointed. Perhaps you should have opted for Sun International.(Their $230 prpn includes breakfast.) Our large deluxe rooms @ $75prpn which rival any good hotel may have suited you better than your $45/$55 room. FREE Pancakes do come with bottle lemon juice; we can't always get the fruit. See http://www.zambian-economist.com/2015/07/zambias-electricity-crisis.html about the electricity crisis so it is a challenge to keep powered up. Will look into nets and showers. :-) Elissa

97%

Great hostel! The staff is very nice, the place is clean and well kept, the pool is awesome and overall it's a relaxing place to hang around. Rooms are bright and with a lot of space, and have lockers. And the showers, delicious. Will definitely come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we hope you do come back soon. Thank you very much for your lovely review.

77%

The breakfast was very poor. In addition, managent had just changed bills to be paid in US Dollars, within 24 hours, prices had doubled!

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast. As a result of the fluctuating exchange rate & the devaluation of the Kwacha, there has been a huge increase in prices of goods and supplies in Zambia & these prices currently change daily (sometimes hourly). We are therefore forced to put our prices into Dollars to stabilise things. Unfortunately there is never a good time to do this. A devalued Kwacha does make your dollar worth more though, so that is the upside.

100%

Wonderful place to stay! Thank you

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you to you for taking time to review us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

83%

Very impressed with the welcome and info on arrival! Lovely place to stay. Quieter too, if that suits you! Shame they only do dinner till very early - I don't normally even think about it at 18.00 but no problem with loads of other places on hand nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Re: dinners, as there are so many restaurants nearby we find guests generally opt to eat out at night so it is not worth our while keeping the kitchen open in the evenings. Thanks again for taking time to review us.

100%

It was a great overall experience. All staff and management were very friendly and professional. The day security guard Chileshe was very well educated, knowledgeable and knew the ins and outs of Livingstone. He was a pleasure to chat to.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall print out your feedback for Wilken (aka Chileshe). He will be delighted to have the positive feedback.

97%

Very hospitable. Family friendly. Great atmosphere. Very helpful staff. Enjoyed the bonfire. Great location, close to everything. Enjoyed the free pancakes, tea and coffee. Had an issue with the shower handle to turn on the water as it had come off. Informed the staff and they immediately fixed the shower handle for me to take a shower. This happened late at night. We were very appreciative of the quick response!! It would be nice to have a designated smoking area.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your fabulous review. We appreciate the positive feedback. With regard to a smoking zone, we have to adhere to the law. This means that guests can only smoke near the pool or in the gardens or under the pergola ie: we have a no smoking policy within the buildings. Thanks again for the positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa GM

1 2 Next » last »
(32 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback