X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
345 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The water pump at the "hawk" room during the whole night was annoying.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found our water pump a disturbance. Unfortunately, we need our water pump to pump water from our borehole well to the rooms, bathrooms, kitchens etc and there is not too much we can do about this. We are, however, currently discussing ways in which we could possibly sound proof the pump-house. Thank you for bringing our attention to this. If we had availability, we could have moved you to another room. With best wishes, Elissa

80%

Beautiful propertie. The garden and pool are ideal to rest and read before taking the next step.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It sounds like you had a really relaxing time with us. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

I love this place. Everyone is helpful in making my stay comfortable. This place itself is in a great location with restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy, banks/ATMs across the street and the city center and bus station within walkable distance. There's a pool, living room and spacious dining room. It provides daily shuttle to the falls. Wifi is present and the hostels food is great. Above all I love the staff, very personable and accommodating.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you found our staff so wonderful and that we were able to contribute to making your visit to Livingstone so enjoyable. Visit us again if you come back to Livingstone. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

Really awesome staff and environment at Fawlty Towers. The location is so convenient and there are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance - the food at the hostel isn't bad either! Would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you very much for your great review. Looking forward to you visiting us again someday. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

It's clean, has good beds, and is right in the main part of town. There were a number of families and older people there during my stay so I ended up hanging out at jolly boys more but I prefer staying at fawlty towers for the location and cleanliness

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location good & our lodge clean & comfortable. We cater for all budgets from backpackers through standard to luxury suites so we tend to have a variety of guests of different ages & although we offer a relaxed holiday atmosphere within the lodge we are close to local bars & restaurants should our guests be in search of some excitement. We hope you will visit again. With best wishes, Elissa -GM

100%

Fawlty towers is a hidden gem in zambia, I have traveled all over zambia and this is still my most fav. The staff is excellent and so helpful, helped me in the process to set the perfect atmosphere to propose to my love one. Would recommend Fawlty Towers to everyone.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your rave review. I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was fabulous. Congratulations on your engagement and all the best for a wonderful marriage together. It would be marvellous if you would visit us again one day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

86%

Had a great stay at Fawlty Towers. Staff were always happy to help with any dilema or request. Great facilities and always clean and tidy - thankyou!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It's wonderful to get feedback from our guests, so thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again one day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

97%

It was a very enjoyable time! Beautiful weather and Great accommodations with a fantastic Shower!!! Rooms are cheaper if you reserve them on line. However, you can not reserve them with a VISA from Zamiba because they do not have Kwacha on their webb site to reserve the room. You have to do it in USD and you also can not pay for the entire amount on line, only the deposit. US VISA card then charges you a lot of money to use it overseas, so you do not save anything.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are running an online special until the end of March, so yes, rooms are currently cheaper if you book online. So glad you enjoyed yourself. We hope you will visit us again one day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

77%

Nice place, friendly staff, had lost our reservation but managed to provide us with a room. Listening to the rain on the tin roof at night was amazing.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that we were able to sort out a room for you without much ado. We are usually very good a problem-solving. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you visiting again some day. With best wishes, Elissa, General Manager.

100%

Really enjoyed my stay. I had a 3 bedroom dorm all to myself which was nice. The staff were very helpful in booking things for a single traveller. The pool is nice and the dinners you can purchase there were very delicious. I would definitely stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the positive review. So pleased to hear you found our staff helpful and enjoyed the meals on offer. We do hope you will visit us again. With best wishes, Elissa, General Manager.

94%

Such an terrific place! I mean they offer free pancakes? How nice is that? :)

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you so very much for your positive review. I am glad to hear that you got to sample our free pancakes. With best wishes, Elissa, General Manager.

89%

They should inform tourists that some people walk through their doorms in order to get to another one. Sometimes people walk in the night and make some noise. Other than that all was excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So pleased to hear your stay with us was "excellent" & thank you for your comments about the dorm. Most of our dorms are no larger than 6 beds, but there is 1 dorm that has 2 rooms inter-leading into each other, which is very popular with groups. Most guests are aware that when they book into a dorm, they are sharing with strangers & there is always a risk of sharing with noisy people. We do however have 24 private suites for guests who prefer a quiet space to themselves.

83%

The Fawlty Towers has a very nice garden with swimming pool. It is very nice to enjoy their a (free!) coffee or tea. Other drinks are also available, but not free. Very kind staff!

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you were able to enjoy the sanctuary of our lovely garden and swimming pool. I hope you also tried our free pancakes with your coffee/tea. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

As we changed our plans we stayed 5 nights and our staying was excellent because the staff is very kind, and the manager has bene very helpful in suggesting what to do in our staying. Thank you, Elissa!

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for the lovely review. Viaggiare in sicurezza! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

OnThere was loud music playing up to four in the morninge

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, there are a couple of night clubs nearby that play music until the early hours. We have recently requested that the local authority take steps to ensure these clubs abide by the law and keep noise levels down. Our own bar usually closes by 23h00 as we are aware that our guests do not want to sleep in a noisy establishment. Thanks again. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

83%

I had 4 bed dorm to myself - it was never serviced once. bathrooms could be cleaner but overall cleanliness good. wifi is weak and mainly only works in lounge where music is usually too loud but off before most go to bed. staff pretty friendly and can book all activities through them. I like how it is across the street from ATMs and a cheap grocery store. stayed 3 nights and only made it back one day for 3pm pancakes which are no more than a light snack. would stay again. Livingstone cheaper Zim

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you tried our free pancakes. Re: the wifi, we are 1 of the few hostels that offer free internet here. Signal can be weak if many people are on the internet at the same time. I expect you were using it in our bar, hence the music - There is good signal upstairs. Guests often do not want staff to go into their rooms in their absence, so we only service rooms on request. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness so I will definitely look into the bathroom matter. Elissa, G

1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback