X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
403 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

very happy with the room and service. would stay here again.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive and succinct review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes, Elissa

91%

I stayed here a few years ago and liked it then, but they've built some beautiful new private rooms, where I stayed this time. It's a good place to rest or hang out after a day of being a tourist.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We are always chuffed when we have returning guests. I am sure you have seen huge changes in Fawlty Towers since you were last here . We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again sometime. With best wishes, Elissa

71%

The men behind the bar and the gate we're very helpful. During our stay the staff made a lunch with the employers, great for the team spirit, but for the guests not all the facilities were there during this day. Normally when a company is doing such things, they have a backup team. So keep the guests satisfied. Other thing, when people do a tour and want their luggage kept secure at the reception, be sure there is someone at the time people leave. Pickup time 7:00, reception starts at 7:15.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you found our bar/reception &security staff helpful. After a long & tiring peak season, we throw a party for staff to show our appreciation. This unfortunately does mean that there is skeleton staff on duty. It only happens one afternoon a year, but I am sorry it inconvenienced you. With regard to keeping luggage, it would be better to make arrangements the night before as our reception does only open at 7h15. Thanks for the feedback. With best wishes, Elissa

86%

More of a hotel than a hostel with a relaxed quiet atmosphere and various luxurious ensuite rooms. All amenities are available, including a swimming pool, basic bar & restaurant, wifi in the reception area and free daily one way transfer to Vic Falls (don't pay more than 40 kwacha for the return taxi). The activities desk helps you make the most of your stay in Livingstone. Cafe Zambezi almost next door is highly recommended for diner (African or Western).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the thorough review. We appreciate the positive feedback. We cater for all budgets, so we have dorms for backpackers, standard suites for those with a bit more to spend and finally deluxe suites for those who want more luxury. All the best on your travels to your next destination. With best wishes, Elissa

100%

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and really good value for money

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

83%

Very chilled out. Great free pancakes at 3pm

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your succinct review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to sample our free pancakes. Happy travels to your next destination. With best wishes, Elissa GM

91%

We stayed here twice during our time in Livingstone. We had both a private room and mixed dorm and both were very good! Great location and staff. We booked most of our activities through the hostel and they were all great. Free wifi in the reception area although it was a little slow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. Yes, the wifi is quite slow compared to Europe/US, but we use the best available Service Provider in Zambia. I recently stayed in a big hotel at Johannesburg airport where the hotel only gave us 1 hour's free wifi a day and then you had to buy it. I suddenly became quite proud of our free wifi at Fawlty Towers, even though it is a bit slow and can be temperamental. Thanks for your feedback. Happy travels. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

94%

great hostel - 6 years since I was last there ...and has only got even better. great hostel, great staff

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your great review. We're glad you have been able to see our improvements and we'll continue to make more. We look forward to your next visit - Don't wait another 6 years before you visit us again. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

100%

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm room. Rooms cleaned every day free pancakes at 3 and free WiFi aswell as a one way free shuttle to the falls everyday.the WiFi is really only in the reception/bar area but I found at some times of the day I would get it in the upstairs rooms aswell. The staff are awesome and very helpful. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the great review! Come visit us again! With best wishes, Elissa GM

83%

The bar area was a good social space. Booking activities was easy, the staff were very helpful. The food portions were massive and yummy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for taking time to review us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the social scene in our bar & found it easy to book activities through our in-house activities centre. As you know, we are able to book all activities for you at the same price as those that the operator will offer you & in most cases, the operator will pick you up & drop you off. How easy is that?!!! Glad you got to sample our chef's cooking & I agree, portions are large & well priced. Thanks again, Elissa GM

100%

Thx to you guys I really enjoyed my recent stay at Fawlty Towers in Livingstone, Zambia very much!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Happy travels to your next destination. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager and the Fawlty Towers Team.

97%

Fawlty Towers provided the very best base for our Zambia / Nabia experiences. We couldn't have asked for better. Thanks to all for your help and advise. Cheers Collins family

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're delighted that you had such a great time. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. With best wishes, Elissa GM

100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in, staff were very helpful in booking and advising us on any travel and excursions, facilities were excellent and it was a great place to meet new and exciting people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and that you found the staff at our in-house activities office helpful. Yes, it is very simple, we can book your activities for you at the same rate that the operator will offer you if you book directly and then in most cases, the operator will pick you up from Fawlty Towers and drop you back here afterwards. Simple, easy, convenient! Happy Travels! With best wishes, Elissa

77%

Good basic accommodations for our one night in Livingston.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you were happy with our facilities. With best wishes, Elissa GM

89%

Great place with friendly staff

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the very precise and positive review. We're thrilled to hear such positive feedback and we are glad you had a great time. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

100%

Best place with amazing staff and services; we greatly recommend!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive and succinct review. We're delighted with your feedback. Happy travels to your next destination. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

Nice hostel. Only negative is the showers in the dorm in the morning. There can be a queue and only 2 so hard to get hot water if it's busy. But just shower in the evening and you will be fine.The food is lovely and you are near to things. Also free transfers to vic falls and from the airport was a nice touch.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you too for your feedback regarding the showers. Fawlty Towers is just getting better and better and is making more and more improvements and one of our goals is to build more showers at some point. Hopefully the next time you visit us, you will find better shower facilities. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

100%

Thank you for a lovely stay amidst travelers of all ages enjoying your wonderful hotel , town and amazing Falls. A traveler looking for a well located, reasonably priced, perfect hotel, finds it right at Fawlty!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And thank you for your wonderful review.... We are completely delighted to hear your positive feedback. Thank you, thank you, thank you! We wish you well on your travels to your next destination and hope you will visit us again some day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

We stayed at Fawlty towers for two nights! It was one of the best hostels on our trip! The Stuff is extremely friendly a they have a kitchen, pool, restaurant, free shuttle to Vic falls free coffee and tea AND free pancakes:-) sogood, if not thebest placeto stayif visiting Livingstone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your fabulous review. We love being ranked as "the best place to stay if visiting Livingstone", so thanks for that. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

83%

Very nice rooms for cost with lovely decor. Great location in Livingstone - right across from groceries, restaurants and coffee shops. Only stayed for one night in 4 room private, but would most definitely recommend! Only thing is if in need of internet the wifi is very very slow.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for you lovely review & pointing out how conveniently located we are. Regarding the wifi, internet is very expensive in Zambia & by comparison to other countries, it may seem slow, but we do our very best to bring FREE wifi to you. If our guests find the free wifi unsatisfactory we do have a back up facility where guests can buy vouchers & log onto the other internet service provider. Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes, Elissa GM

(42 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback