X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
416 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Why go elsewhere?

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The location of this hostel is ideal as just across the road there is a shoprite supermarket,hungry lion takeaway and various other shops,also close by there are several restaurants which I found to serve great food. When you enter fawlty towers you leave the hustle and din behind as the grounds and pool seem like a oasis ,which is just what you need.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I Loved the place. On the downsite, there is no good place to store your valuble's. On the upside, nothing was taken from me! It's a nice place, has a fab. atmosphere, nice pool, vrendly personell

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are currently repairing our lockers in our dormitories (whilst the lodge is in low season) so you may have had the unfortunate luck of having a locker missing from your dorm, but they will soon be back. Thanks for the positive feedback with regard to everything else. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You will see that we have recently won the 2015 HOSCAR on Hostelworld, for being the best Hostel in Zambia. With best wishes, Elissa GM

89%

Definitely deserves a revisit.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The facility is excellent for a holiday traveller but not suitable for a working business trip as some rooms apart from the Deluxe Twin ones have two small spaces. Best regards. Martin N. Sishekanu

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are more of a holiday lodge than a business facility (ie: we have no conference room, we have free wifi in public places but not in the rooms and our standard rooms are simple, clean and basic). We have however, recently won a HOSCAR for being the best Hostel in Zambia so guests seeking a chilled out oasis on the outskirts of Livingstone will find Fawlty Towers is ideal. Thanks again for your review, Elissa - GM

91%

The overall experience at FT was great!! I will recommend it to others! The minor complaints are that the dorm beds were quite shaky (I could fee when the other person above me moved in their sleep) and the showers in the dorm area didn't have a lot of space to put towels, clothes, etc. Otherwise perfect! Thanks!!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to be the winner of the 2015 HOSCAR for being the best Hostel in Zambia. Thanks for your feedback re: the beds and towel racks in the showers. We will look into putting hooks outside the showers and we will check our beds to see if we can stop them from moving. Your feedback is helpful. Thanks for the great review. With best wishes, Elissa GM

86%

The reason I chose this hostel as opposed to others was because this was the one hostel which did not have a negative review about the staff. I found the management and the front desk person during the day were reluctant to do their jobs. I was passed from post to pillar when all I needed was a map of the town. I've been to many hostels and this is by far the worst staff and management service I've received. Make sure from the start that guests know where the amenities are located

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. I am the manager at Fawlty Towers & don't believe we met. I would have immediately have provided you with a map had you popped into my office located in the admin block off the activites office. I am sorry you were not helped properly by my staff; there are maps on the bar. We will soon be separating our bar from our administrative side and that should resolve a lot of confusion for guests as to who to ask for things. Thanks for the feedback. Elissa

100%

We loved Fawlty Towers and will certainly stay there again. Unfortunately our stay was too short and since we were out at Vic Falls for most of the afternoon we missed the pancakes served at the pool, so we will definitely be back to enjoy those :-)

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you love Fawlty Towers. We look forward to having you back to share free pancakes with us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

100%

Fawlty Towers is more than a backpackers hotel. There are several nice air conditioned rooms with bathrooms and the common areas and pool are quite nice. The staff is very friendly and can sign you up for a variety of wonderful activities in the area. The location is ideal -- near several excellent restaurants, a supermarket, and other shops. I met several interesting people of all age groups at Fawlty Towers; and it was a wonderful choice for me as an older woman traveling on my own.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The common kitchen could use an upgrade in the fridges and in the utensils available.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our fridges in our communal kitchen are old but are cleaned regularly and still function. As we try to follow a reduce, reuse, recycle policy as much as possible, we hope to get a bit more mileage out of them before we replace them. With regard to utensils we constantly replace these but they always get broken, chipped or disappear. We shall however, look into it and see where we can improve. Thank you for that.

94%

Staff were very friendly and helpful, assisting us in booking activities with one day or less notice. The kitchen was clean and had all utensils and amenities, and plenty of refrigerator pace. Only complaint is poor water pressure in the shower. We were sad to leave after only 3 days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your lovely review. I am glad you to hear that you found our staff friendly and our kitchen clean and equipped with all the necessary utensils. I am sorry you experienced poor water pressure in your shower. It should not have been the case; I will get our maintenance man to check it. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

86%

Most of the staff are unfriendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback and giving us very good ratings on security, location, atmosphere, cleanliness, value for money and facilities. I am sorry we let you down with regard to staff friendliness. We have over 20 staff here, I am surprise to hear that you experienced unfriendliness from most of them as they are generally a happy, friendly team of people. I will bring it up with them. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. With best wishes, Elissa

97%

We stayed at this hostel while visiting Victoria Falls and doing a Safari. The staff was amazing and helped with everything. The pool is perfect to come back to and jump in after a long, hot day. There was a supermarket, pharmacy and banks just across the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to here you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will visit us again some day. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

89%

Contrary to the nearby Victoria Falls the shower was not more than a trickle.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great grades for security, location, staff, atmosphere, cleanliness, value for money and facilities. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

91%

A lovely relaxing stay. We will certainly return and recommend to friends. Many thanks Jerry & Marinda White

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for recommending us to your friends. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

100%

I have stayed several times now at Fawlty Towers and really appreciate the friendliness, courtesy and honesty of the staff. I am certainly recommending Fawlty Towers to people visiting Livingston. This time we stayed in November and it was a true oasis once you walked through the front doors. The swimming pool was great! Even the mangoes from the trees were a big treat. I forgot my solar charger outside overnight and was pleasantly surprised when Aston asked around to find the owner! Thanks

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you found our staff friendly, courteous and honest. It is great to receive this positive feedback. I am so pleased to hear you are a returning guest; that is a compliment in itself. I am sure you have seen many changes here and will agree that it gets better and better. Thanks a million for the feedback. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

94%

A nice courtyard setup with rooms all around the edges and a pool in the middle. Restaurant and bar both good. Wifi free. The room was lovely with a great mosquito net and air con. Thoroughly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

83%

Lovely atmosphere, great value for money - there is a pool and fairly good free wifi. The food is reasonably priced and not too bad at all, plus there is a kitten! My biggest gripe was with the reception staff, who seemed uninterested and only friendly because they felt obliged. There were some times that I had to drag myself down to reception to ask for a meal voucher or to extend my stay and felt awkward doing so as they always seemed to act like my presence was an inconvenience. Shame.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you very much for your positive feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to meet our cute little kitten. I am sorry to hear you struggled with our reception staff. I will look into this. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

97%

Great value for the money. Probably the best budget option in town. Helpful staff, good facilities, good location, airport pickup a big plus. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your email. We are glad to hear we are the best budget option in town and that you found our staff, location and facilities good. Thanks for taking time to review. With best wishes, Elissa

94%

loved the pleasant shopping centre (incl bank) right opposite the hostel, also free coffee/tea/pancakes/10am shuttle to falls, friendly staff, good food decent priced, Livinstone feels safe, 3min down road to Cafe Zambezi (fab restaurat with great cocktails)

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. With best wishes, Elissa GM

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(287 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback