X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Fawlty Towers Reviews

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
355 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very chilled out. Great free pancakes at 3pm

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm room. Rooms cleaned every day free pancakes at 3 and free WiFi aswell as a one way free shuttle to the falls everyday.the WiFi is really only in the reception/bar area but I found at some times of the day I would get it in the upstairs rooms aswell. The staff are awesome and very helpful. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The bar area was a good social space. Booking activities was easy, the staff were very helpful. The food portions were massive and yummy.


100%

Thx to you guys I really enjoyed my recent stay at Fawlty Towers in Livingstone, Zambia very much!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Fawlty Towers provided the very best base for our Zambia / Nabia experiences. We couldn't have asked for better. Thanks to all for your help and advise. Cheers Collins family

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in, staff were very helpful in booking and advising us on any travel and excursions, facilities were excellent and it was a great place to meet new and exciting people.


77%

Good basic accommodations for our one night in Livingston.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place with friendly staff

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the very precise and positive review. We're thrilled to hear such positive feedback and we are glad you had a great time. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

100%

Best place with amazing staff and services; we greatly recommend!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive and succinct review. We're delighted with your feedback. Happy travels to your next destination. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

89%

Nice hostel. Only negative is the showers in the dorm in the morning. There can be a queue and only 2 so hard to get hot water if it's busy. But just shower in the evening and you will be fine.The food is lovely and you are near to things. Also free transfers to vic falls and from the airport was a nice touch.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you too for your feedback regarding the showers. Fawlty Towers is just getting better and better and is making more and more improvements and one of our goals is to build more showers at some point. Hopefully the next time you visit us, you will find better shower facilities. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

100%

Thank you for a lovely stay amidst travelers of all ages enjoying your wonderful hotel , town and amazing Falls. A traveler looking for a well located, reasonably priced, perfect hotel, finds it right at Fawlty!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And thank you for your wonderful review.... We are completely delighted to hear your positive feedback. Thank you, thank you, thank you! We wish you well on your travels to your next destination and hope you will visit us again some day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

91%

We stayed at Fawlty towers for two nights! It was one of the best hostels on our trip! The Stuff is extremely friendly a they have a kitchen, pool, restaurant, free shuttle to Vic falls free coffee and tea AND free pancakes:-) sogood, if not thebest placeto stayif visiting Livingstone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your fabulous review. We love being ranked as "the best place to stay if visiting Livingstone", so thanks for that. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

83%

Very nice rooms for cost with lovely decor. Great location in Livingstone - right across from groceries, restaurants and coffee shops. Only stayed for one night in 4 room private, but would most definitely recommend! Only thing is if in need of internet the wifi is very very slow.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for you lovely review & pointing out how conveniently located we are. Regarding the wifi, internet is very expensive in Zambia & by comparison to other countries, it may seem slow, but we do our very best to bring FREE wifi to you. If our guests find the free wifi unsatisfactory we do have a back up facility where guests can buy vouchers & log onto the other internet service provider. Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes, Elissa GM

89%

It's all pretty good in terms of a hostel. Cheap, safe and a good bed to sleep on. Only complaints are: limited hot water (dont expect any past 7:30am), loud groups of touring students together (class trip?) - so it was kind of loud and there were immature pranks. But otherwise it's a very comfortable place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We have looked into the hot water in the dorm area & have put a larger element into the geyser so that has resolved that problem. We do have visiting students staying in our dorms from time to time. I am sorry to hear they were a little loud & playing tricks. We do have private suites for guests who prefer their own space & a quieter environment. I am glad your stay was comfortable. Thanks for the feedback; it helps us to improve. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

97%

Fawlty Towers is an excellent economical option for staying near Victoria Falls. My friend and I really enjoyed our time there. It was a bit loud some nights but with the air conditioning on in our room it was fine. We did wait 45 minutes for our back-to-back massages to start due to a communication breakdown between reception and the beauty salon. But overall it was an amazing experience! We appreciated the shuttle service from the airport and to the Falls! Thank you!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. Livingstone is a lively town, particularly during peak season, so sometimes the town can be noisy. We took up the noise issue (stemming from local night clubs) with the council. We have since seen a huge reduction in noise pollution, but yes, there can still be the occasional renegade pumping out tunes, & that is when our aircon / fans come into their own as a a multi-functional appliance, drowning out unwanted background noise. We will keep an eye on those clubs.

94%

What an awesome place to stay and base all your activities around Vic Falls and Livingstone from! Great chilled out vibe with a big range of guests. The only thing close to a complaint is that the wifi doesnt extend very far from reception. But even this isnt really a bad thing as it gets people out of their rooms and into the lounge to mingle. If I make it back to Zambia, I'll definitely be dropping into Fawlty Towers again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Fawlty Towers is a bit of an oasis on the outskirts of town & I always find it wonderful to be able to walk away from the hustle bustle of town into the calm sanctuary behind our walls. Yes, our wifi is only available in our reception/bar area & in our upstairs lounge/dining area. I do like your positive perspective, that it gets guests out of their rooms and mingling. Thanks again, Elissa - General Manager

77%

+ve - onsite restaurant -ve-can't do own cooking; no fridge; no lockers

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Thanks for the +ve (ie: positive) regarding our onsite restaurant. With regard to the -ve (ie: negative), we have a fully equipped self catering kitchen downstairs in the lodge which has 2 fridges and a chest freezer plus a stove. I think you must have missed it. Thanks for your feedback, it helps us to improve. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

97%

One of the best hostel in Africa. Great location, great staff, great dorms with good beds and mosquito nets, hot showers, free coffee and tea and free pancakes at 3pm. Wi-fi works pretty OK and is free. You also can get a free ride to the Falls or to the border. I would definitively recommend this place for anyone as they also have private roooms and a pool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gosh! Thanks very much for putting us in the category of one of the best hostels in Africa. We are absolutely delighted! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

100%

Faulty Towers is an excellent choice. The grounds are lovely and the area is well maintaned. The rooms are spacious and very nice complete with mosquito netting. Linen is very good and new. The breakfast allows for an order being placed but is not part of the room tariff. The staff is great and friendly. They are equiped to assist with reservations for the side trips available in Livingstone. The hotel is a great location and close to both Cafe Zambezi and Lola's for dining. Excellent!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Fawlty Towers. I expect you were in one of our newer Deluxe Suites as these rooms are a good size - very spacious. I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful and our location good. I hope you will choose to stay with us again should you return to Livingstone again one day. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

91%

Very relaxed atmosphere. Super friendly staff

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. So glad that you were able to experience our relaxed atmosphere and got to know our staff. Thanks for the great feedback. With best wishes, Elissa General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(250 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback