Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fawlty Towers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 629 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 629 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • klaartjevandenbos8303
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.0

Location is great. Right opposite of shops and near to the museum. Room was very clean and had airconditioning. Reception when we got in was a bit indifferent. No good morning or how are you. When we left, someone else was at reception. She was friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you very much for your email. We are delighted to hear that you were in the main very happy with your stay. I am sorry to hear one of our reception staff was not on form, but am glad to hear we redeemed ourselves the next day with another staff member making up for it. Thanks for taking time to send feedback. With best wishes, Elissa - Lodge Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel with excellent facilities (but no AC in the 4 bed dorm) and an on-site booking service for all the activities you can think of (they accept card payment too!) There's a nice pool on site, a bar, free pancakes at 3pm and a free shuttle service to Victoria Falls at 10am. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear you had a good stay with us. Unfortunately, at $8 per bed per night, it is impossible for us to offer airconditioning in our dorms without increasing rates by at least $6 or $7. But we may put airconditioning in some of the dorms with the option for guests to pay a bit more if a they want the airconditioned option. Thanks again for the positive review. With best wishes, Elissa - Lodge Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
3.7

Stayed for one night as we had a connecting flight, from the minute we arrived it was terrible, atmosphere was terrible dorms were horrendous so we upgraded to a private room which had a funny smell the bathroom was beyond tiny and we saw a dead cockroach. Awful. As well as this my friend woke up with over 15 bites on her legs, we had come from a safari we'd been on for a week and only had minimal bites. Wouldn't recommend to anyone. Dorm beds aren't stable

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there. I am sorry you had such a rubbish stay with us. Most guests love Fawlty Towers, but unfortunately, we cannot be everything to everyone. We have accommodation to suit all budgets and requirements and I think you would have been very happier in one of our large deluxe rooms. Livingstone has a bad mosquito problem at the moment, a problem that is not unique to Fawlty Towers, and we do provide insect spray in our rooms for that purpose but also advise that guests take their own measures to avoid being bitten (ie: repellent etc). With regard to finding a cockroach, I am delighted to hear it was dead, which means our pest control measures at Fawlty Towers are working. Cockroaches are one of the many insects that we find here in Africa, and no, they are not tolerated at Fawlty Towers, hence you finding dead ones, rather than live ones. Thanks again for sending feedback. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
8.6

Best place to crash for the night when you are on a budget. The location is so convenient if you have a place you want quickly to dash off to, whether the supermarket across the road, the terminus to board the coach or the shops and curios to spend your money on some really awesome art work done by the town locals. The staff are super friendly, the town is wonderful. Hopefully, I will be back real soon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And we hope you will be back real soon too. Thank you for your fabulous review. With best wishes, Elissa - Lodge Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.9

Good hostel with huge common areas. Good location, close to the bus stop (should be less then 40 kwacha). My only big issue was the lack of storage lockers in the room and that each dorm only had one key so you can't lock it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the constructive feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We shall look at providing more lockers. With regard to dorm keys, unfortunately, if we give every person a key, it becomes a security risk as there are too many keys in circulation. The last person in the room is supposed to lock the dorm and hand the key in at reception for safe-keeping. I think your room-mates perhaps did not understand the concept and maybe wandered off with the key. Thanks again for the fab feedback. With best wishes, Elissa - Lodge Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
7.7

Very nice. Will recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for the lovely review and recommending us. We so appreciate the positive feedback. With thanks and best wishes, Elissa

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.