X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fernloft (City) Hostel Singapore Reviews

257 Jalan Besar, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
578 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Was not impressed. No one around when we left the building to go out for breakfast so took us a while to find the way out via the back of the building. Breakfast was included but only saw bread and jam and coffee machine that didn't seem to work. Power point not working in the room so unable to use TV. Paper thin walls. Typical Singapore expensive budget accomodation which is why we only stayed 2 nights. We spent 2 weeks in Melaka with far better accomodation for far less.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Very poor Hostel, stinky room, no window, humidity, unfriendly staff. It's the hell if you have to live there. Because they don't have so many customer at least you have a room alone for yourself.


100%

Nice and clean hostel, cheap. Transport is very convenient, bus stops and MRT (subway) is just next door. Value for money. Area around the Hostel is 24hrs action with Mustafa round the corner and several cheap n good food, you'll never go hungry. Staff are very friendly too. I like their discounted tours and attractions too, convenient. Recommended to all fellow backpackers.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The situation is really different with 4 years ago when I was there. Cleanliness become worst...

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an excellent stay at this hostel. It's basic and fulfills its purpose. Good, clean, safe and comfortable. Funny how the other reviewers were expecting a Ritz-Carlton when you are paying just 20 a night. You want Ritz's service and facilities, you pay 500 for it. The folks here are friendly and do keep their distance until you approach them but I suppose this is the Asian way of doing things. They are usually in the background until you ask them for help. I'm coming back to Fernloft again.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great experience and thought it was worth a mention in HW for all fellow backpackers. This Hostel is the best amongst all the hostels along the same area. I checked out the other hostels hoping to get a better deal, but this hostel gives you bang for your buck. Location is superb, next to a huge mall with all the modern conveniences, transport links to all corners of Singapore and even to Malaysia. And lots of culture in the area.

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is THE place for cheap n good accomodation. Location was excellent, mins walk to the city and best of all bus and subway links are just 2mins walk away. Cheap n good food is plentiful ard the area. I love the staff and thank you for making it a wonderful experience. Booking their other hostels in KL and Malacca is also a breeze. 15% off... and transport all arranged!!! what more can a backpacker ask? Definetly recommended to stay!

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

need to increase the wash rooms ,break fast is very bad ,they charge 6Euro for the break fast that is cheating with the client

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay. Our breakfast is free of charge. Please leave relevant comments so that we can improve.

46%

Never Again! The staff was really friendly and helpful, but don't expect more. One Toilet/Shower for the whole floor? Be prepared to wait, wait and wait. And dont use their Computers! They're full of trash and viruses that infected our Memorycards and USB-Sticks, so that we lost all our pictures from our travel! Please clean your PC's!!! And most of all, there were no lockers. only a closet with a small lock that even we could easily destroy. Not recommended for alone-travelling women.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your comments. There are 2 toilets/showers in each level. Lockers are also provided inside the rooms. Further than that, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in our hostel. Rest assured that your unfortunate experience has helped us identify a major problem in our hostel which has now been fixed.

54%

I believe the hostel has a bed bug problem. I woke up with quite a few bites on my arms and legs the next day and the lingering smell makes me think there is an infestation.


54%

Location is good. But room is very cold in the night and shower isn't good working.


77%

The hostel was fine but far from luxurious. Simple room but the A/C was outstandingly good. The morning coffee was the best coffee I ever had in a hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your compliments. We hope you had a great time in Singapore. The hostel has since undergone a major renovation, and the rooms are brighter, newer and more luxurious than before. Please come and stay with us again, and hopefully we will impress you and get a better review.

74%

We had a bad experience with check in, having informed the reservation office that our flight would be landing in the middle of the night, we were told to call on arrival so that the reception desk would wait for us. We also paid for the night before so that we could access our room. Although we called on arrival, we were informed that the office would be closed and we had to wait in the airport until 7 AM that morning. We reported this to the Manager, and sent email, but received no reply.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir, Sorry for your unfortunate experience. Our reception is closed at 3am. However, special arrangements can be made. Did you speak to the right person? If you don't mind, could you please provide us with the name of the person you spoke too? We always try to accommodate our guests needs, and most of the time beyond our duty hours. We truly apologise and hope to make it up to you. Please come back and stay with us, you are most welcome.

60%

For Singapore I thought it would be a little cleaner and less run down, but possibly for the little India suburb it's not so unusual. They gave no key to the main door or room itself , so you just hoped the door was open and went in and out , but they had lockers in the 20 bed room. Staff were okay, sometimes a little off putting especially the night guy. The shower is in the toilet, which maybe not unusual for south east Asia?


71%

We stayed in a private room. Only 1 toilet/shower for entire floor. Free breakfast was toast which was good enough and lasted til 12. Wifi pretty good. Location only a few minutes from metro and a few stops from downtown (Orchard Road etc). Staff friendly.


74%

Not the best place I've stayed in, but for the price we paid (by Singapore standards), it was great! Location was handy with only about 5 minute walk to a MRT station! Beds weren't overly comfortable and were very creaky/noisy, other than that, a good experience all round.


77%

We enjoyed our stay, however a window to the outside world would be a real bonus.


83%

Great rooms and excellent staff. I didn't like the showers being in the same room as the toilet as sitting on a wet toilet wasn't great however this was the fault of other guests not staff.


69%

Good location. Private room was a bit stuff and smelly but fine once the aircon was on. Simple rooms but we didn't spend much time there, only sleeping. Short walk to MRT station.


71%

The staffs are very nice and helpful!

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback