Hostelworld.com

Fernloft KL @ Chinatown

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 1,059 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 1,059 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 5.8
Fernloft KL @ Chinatown Located at No 60A Jalan Hang Kasturi, , Kuala Lumpur.
Fernloft KL @ Chinatown
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur 50050 No 60A Jalan Hang Kasturi
64% 1059
3.1437747 101.6957468
Fernloft KL @ Chinatown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
5.4

We were sadly disappointed by the quality of Fernloft. The sheets were dirty, the staff was unfriendly, and the atmosphere was awkward. Everytime we went to the bathroom there was a guy smoking inside and the staff seemed to prefer for us to not talk to them, which was especially bad because our room was located directly next to the front desk. We were also not too thrilled with China Town in general. You can get a much better room in Bukit Bintang for a similar price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
6.9

Got bed bugs in the 24 bed dorm, but they gave me a new bed (same room). Unluckily still bed bugs. Finally got a bed in the 8 bed dorm, which was ok! Thanks to the staff! Mostly local people over 50 y.o. Not a real backpacker atmosphere though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
6.0

Very dirty. Typically Malaysian.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Mar 2016
7.7

The stuff was pretty helpful, we stayed in 24 bed room. Air conditioner, free breakfast, free movies. The location is pretty good, in Chinatown, near the museums, some temples, and you can walk to the Petronas. I heard there is free buses, but I didn't took anyone, 6 MYR taxi to the towers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2016
6.6

Basic hostel you get what you pay for. Left my iphone charger for a few hours and it went missing no cameras covering the area. Would probably pay the extra and stay somewhere else if could afford too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Gambia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
6.0

Awesome location and friendly staff .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Feb 2016
4.6

Cheap, but you get what you pay for. Stayed in 24 dorm. Old beds, sheets were worn/old. Stained mattress and pillows. The room smelled like something had died in it. Staff were constantly walking in and out of the room spraying some kind of air freshener which did nothing. Bathrooms had leaking pipes and in desperate need of a clean. Location is alright a 5 minute walk from China Town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2016
3.7

Dirty, no handle bar on bathroom door.. Dirty mattress, dirty carpet ( these people may not know what vacuum is or how to use it ) Dark hallways A shity place over all!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2016
6.3

Good for 1 night. Not much else

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bwoodhams3316
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
25th Jan 2016
8.0

This hostel is good and bad all at once. The hostel itself is clean (for travelling standards), has hot showers and free basic self catering breakfast as well as films to watch on the TV. The staff for the most part are polite and helpful. However the rooms are tiny and smell quite musky because they have no windows. The showers and toilets are through the lounge so that means either getting dressed in the shower or walking through in a towel which isn't ideal. It's an ok hostel, great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.