X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fernloft KL @ Chinatown Reviews

No 60A Jalan Hang Kasturi, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
937 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Bed sheeting and bad really need an improvement.rest all excellent. Staffs are all very nice and restrooms all very clean. Location is very convenient to many famous spot. Sahil, we will miss you!


71%

Accomodiont for travellers looking for a cheap bed. Stayed one night in a dorm room. It was suprisingly quiet and the toilets and showers were enouhg even for a big group of people. Clean enough and nice staff. The bed was a little bit hazardous though: when climbing to top bed the bed almost fell over and during night the handle(rail) in bed fell off. :D

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location, wifi only worked on 2/4 days though. Beds comfortable but a bit rickety


100%

Very nice place !


51%

I wasn't expecting to sleep in a grand palace but this place could def use some work. My room smelled like musty arm pits and the floor needed to be vacuumed. The bunk beds were old and raggitty. There's only one shower and 2 bathrooms on the entire floor. The pillows are flat and filthy, looks like they haven't brought new ones in centuries. All of these things they can improve if they probably cared enough, until then, I wouldn't stay again.


91%

Staff were amazingly flexible and left breakfast out for our very early departure. Very nice clean hostel, only stayed one night but I would definitely go back

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Cassie, thanks for your valuable comment, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our h0stel. Hope to see you again on your next visit. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Team

91%

The hostel is 1mins walk from the pasar seni station (next station from kl sentral) and from the china town Really nice staff, and great security (keys to get to any places) there is a loft where people can sit and communicate Will be perfect if the rooms didn't smell lol 駅と中華街から1分で、最高のロケーション。スタッフもとても親切で、屋上に宿泊者が座って交流できる場所があります。セキュリティーも万全なので、宿泊者以外は入れないようになっています。

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit at Kuala Lumpur

46%

Just not good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, our staff take oride in keeping the place clean and neat. At hostel we want all our guest to feel comfortable staying with us. We hope maybe on your next visit to our hostel, there will be something that you can comment about your stay at our hostel. Fernloft KL Chinatown Team

91%

Very accessible to the train station and the room price is very cheap! Plus the pantry area has a nice view every morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit at Kuala Lumpur

83%

really nice hostel, close to Chinatown. nice rooms and amazing guy at the reception. can highly recommend it!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit at Kuala Lumpur

66%

The staff were nice and helpful, and the atmosphere was relaxed and it was easy to make friends, however I found the dorm smelly, and I woke up the next day with several small bites on my arm. I did not like the city of Kuala Lumpur, so once I checked out, I was happy to leave. Overall this is a good place if you're in transit from place to another.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment. we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Malaysia, Fernloft KL Chinatown Team.

97%

3rd time in this hostel and it's always a pleasure!!!


66%

Unfriendly staff and there is no 24-hours reception, poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, as you know we have mentioned on the hostelworld platform that our operation hour is from 9.00am till 5.00am the next morning and at the same time we have put up an notice on the operation hour at the front desk. All my previous review stated all my staff are very polite and helpfull and there are no negative feedback on the staff. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team

86%

right at the lrt-station and near the big pudu bus station (5 min walk). great stay! will stay here again when back in KL! ONLY MINUS: AC is only working at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

37%

The hostel is very hot and the Cleanliness is not good. There are not good smells inside the hotel.. Very Bad Hostel..

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, as mentioned on the booking platform, our hostel air cond runs from 7.00pm till 9.00am. In between all the rooms are fitted with wall fan. We take cleanliness very seriously, our housekeeping staff are all the time does the cleaning to keep the hostel clean. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

49%

I had a private room, and expected a little cleanliness. Pillow was old and stained, pillow case was torn through, sheets had cigarette burn marks and didnt fit the bed due to being so old. Bed was old and thrashed so the bars dig into you when you sleep...and the room was FILTHY. Im positive it hadnt been cleaned in months. Thats all ok for a dorm, but i expect more from a private. Breakfast sucked. Location was good though, if they put alot more effort in, it could be a much better hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry to hear that you have an uncomfortable stay at our hostel. We always practice to give an clean room with fresh bedding for all the guest and at the same time we always want our guest to have a good stay at our hostel. We always replace any damaged bed and clean all the carpets. Previous guest that stayed in the private rooms did not ant complaint on the room. Thanks for your feedback, we will look into the matter for further action. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

80%

thanks for everything! the place is really confortable, the room is clean. the bathroom need to be more clean. the breakfast was okay. the staff are polite and happy in help us. thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

91%

This was my third time staying at Fern Loft and I wasn't disappointed! The staff are still as friendly and welcoming as ever and the place is exactly what you need. Somewhere that is easy to access and comfortable as well as secure. Awesome backpackers!! :)

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gemma, thanks for your valuable comment, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Fernloft KL Chinatown.

60%

No Air-Con on Room at Night Time, Room Not Clean and Smelly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, our hostel air con operate s from 7pm - 9am. In the day time the guest can on the fan in the room. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

51%

Will never come back again. The bed is dirty. The blanket also dirty. The frame of the bed noisy. Not recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, at our hostel we always provide fresh beds with new bedding to our guest. Upon checking in we will immediately give fresh bedding to them. Every month our staff lubricant on all the joints to prevent any noise from the beds joins. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback