X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fernloft KL @ Chinatown Reviews

No 60A Jalan Hang Kasturi, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
929 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Staff were amazingly flexible and left breakfast out for our very early departure. Very nice clean hostel, only stayed one night but I would definitely go back

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is 1mins walk from the pasar seni station (next station from kl sentral) and from the china town Really nice staff, and great security (keys to get to any places) there is a loft where people can sit and communicate Will be perfect if the rooms didn't smell lol 駅と中華街から1分で、最高のロケーション。スタッフもとても親切で、屋上に宿泊者が座って交流できる場所があります。セキュリティーも万全なので、宿泊者以外は入れないようになっています。

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit at Kuala Lumpur

46%

Just not good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, our staff take oride in keeping the place clean and neat. At hostel we want all our guest to feel comfortable staying with us. We hope maybe on your next visit to our hostel, there will be something that you can comment about your stay at our hostel. Fernloft KL Chinatown Team

91%

Very accessible to the train station and the room price is very cheap! Plus the pantry area has a nice view every morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit at Kuala Lumpur

83%

really nice hostel, close to Chinatown. nice rooms and amazing guy at the reception. can highly recommend it!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit at Kuala Lumpur

66%

The staff were nice and helpful, and the atmosphere was relaxed and it was easy to make friends, however I found the dorm smelly, and I woke up the next day with several small bites on my arm. I did not like the city of Kuala Lumpur, so once I checked out, I was happy to leave. Overall this is a good place if you're in transit from place to another.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment. we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Malaysia, Fernloft KL Chinatown Team.

97%

3rd time in this hostel and it's always a pleasure!!!


66%

Unfriendly staff and there is no 24-hours reception, poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, as you know we have mentioned on the hostelworld platform that our operation hour is from 9.00am till 5.00am the next morning and at the same time we have put up an notice on the operation hour at the front desk. All my previous review stated all my staff are very polite and helpfull and there are no negative feedback on the staff. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team

86%

right at the lrt-station and near the big pudu bus station (5 min walk). great stay! will stay here again when back in KL! ONLY MINUS: AC is only working at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

37%

The hostel is very hot and the Cleanliness is not good. There are not good smells inside the hotel.. Very Bad Hostel..

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, as mentioned on the booking platform, our hostel air cond runs from 7.00pm till 9.00am. In between all the rooms are fitted with wall fan. We take cleanliness very seriously, our housekeeping staff are all the time does the cleaning to keep the hostel clean. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

49%

I had a private room, and expected a little cleanliness. Pillow was old and stained, pillow case was torn through, sheets had cigarette burn marks and didnt fit the bed due to being so old. Bed was old and thrashed so the bars dig into you when you sleep...and the room was FILTHY. Im positive it hadnt been cleaned in months. Thats all ok for a dorm, but i expect more from a private. Breakfast sucked. Location was good though, if they put alot more effort in, it could be a much better hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry to hear that you have an uncomfortable stay at our hostel. We always practice to give an clean room with fresh bedding for all the guest and at the same time we always want our guest to have a good stay at our hostel. We always replace any damaged bed and clean all the carpets. Previous guest that stayed in the private rooms did not ant complaint on the room. Thanks for your feedback, we will look into the matter for further action. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

80%

thanks for everything! the place is really confortable, the room is clean. the bathroom need to be more clean. the breakfast was okay. the staff are polite and happy in help us. thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

91%

This was my third time staying at Fern Loft and I wasn't disappointed! The staff are still as friendly and welcoming as ever and the place is exactly what you need. Somewhere that is easy to access and comfortable as well as secure. Awesome backpackers!! :)

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gemma, thanks for your valuable comment, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Fernloft KL Chinatown.

60%

No Air-Con on Room at Night Time, Room Not Clean and Smelly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, our hostel air con operate s from 7pm - 9am. In the day time the guest can on the fan in the room. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

51%

Will never come back again. The bed is dirty. The blanket also dirty. The frame of the bed noisy. Not recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, at our hostel we always provide fresh beds with new bedding to our guest. Upon checking in we will immediately give fresh bedding to them. Every month our staff lubricant on all the joints to prevent any noise from the beds joins. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

46%

very poor breakfast

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, as you know our hostel have mentioned about the breakfast on the website. We serve simple breakfast that is coffee ,tea with toast bread ,we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

71%

Good staff, good location, very good atmosphere. But the hostel unpleasant smells. Bed not very fresh.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment,every month we do pest control and spraying to ensure the beds are not affected with any bugs and at the same time every 2 weeks the beds are placed under hot sun to prevent from any unwanted smell or odor. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

97%

Some of the best hostels I have stayed at have been active with their guests, you guys achieved this fantastically!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

100%

Simple but Comfort environment and value for money . This is the best guest house i ever stay in KL , staff are awesome and friendly . air-conditional is strong enough and there are 3 huge air-conditional unit in the 24 bed dorm which is sufficient to freeze the room . View from the Roof top are extravaganza special for sunrise and sunset . Beside this the only guesthouse provide breakfast with machined coffee which i do believe its cost more then the amount you pay for the room .

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

91%

This hostel has an amazing location! You can walk anywhere from there and everything is nearby. The train is right across the street, same as the buses. Breakfast is just bread and coffee but the staff is super nice, they're always trying to make you feel comfortable and help you with anything you need. The room was huge, good lockers, ok showers, nice common areas, computers, not very good wifi but in general great place. You get more than you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback