X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fernloft KL @ Chinatown Reviews

No 60A Jalan Hang Kasturi, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
916 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

3rd time in this hostel and it's always a pleasure!!!


66%

Unfriendly staff and there is no 24-hours reception, poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment, as you know we have mentioned on the hostelworld platform that our operation hour is from 9.00am till 5.00am the next morning and at the same time we have put up an notice on the operation hour at the front desk. All my previous review stated all my staff are very polite and helpfull and there are no negative feedback on the staff. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team

86%

right at the lrt-station and near the big pudu bus station (5 min walk). great stay! will stay here again when back in KL! ONLY MINUS: AC is only working at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

37%

The hostel is very hot and the Cleanliness is not good. There are not good smells inside the hotel.. Very Bad Hostel..

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, as mentioned on the booking platform, our hostel air cond runs from 7.00pm till 9.00am. In between all the rooms are fitted with wall fan. We take cleanliness very seriously, our housekeeping staff are all the time does the cleaning to keep the hostel clean. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

49%

I had a private room, and expected a little cleanliness. Pillow was old and stained, pillow case was torn through, sheets had cigarette burn marks and didnt fit the bed due to being so old. Bed was old and thrashed so the bars dig into you when you sleep...and the room was FILTHY. Im positive it hadnt been cleaned in months. Thats all ok for a dorm, but i expect more from a private. Breakfast sucked. Location was good though, if they put alot more effort in, it could be a much better hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry to hear that you have an uncomfortable stay at our hostel. We always practice to give an clean room with fresh bedding for all the guest and at the same time we always want our guest to have a good stay at our hostel. We always replace any damaged bed and clean all the carpets. Previous guest that stayed in the private rooms did not ant complaint on the room. Thanks for your feedback, we will look into the matter for further action. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

80%

thanks for everything! the place is really confortable, the room is clean. the bathroom need to be more clean. the breakfast was okay. the staff are polite and happy in help us. thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Fernloft KL Chinatown team.

91%

This was my third time staying at Fern Loft and I wasn't disappointed! The staff are still as friendly and welcoming as ever and the place is exactly what you need. Somewhere that is easy to access and comfortable as well as secure. Awesome backpackers!! :)

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gemma, thanks for your valuable comment, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Fernloft KL Chinatown.

60%

No Air-Con on Room at Night Time, Room Not Clean and Smelly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, our hostel air con operate s from 7pm - 9am. In the day time the guest can on the fan in the room. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

51%

Will never come back again. The bed is dirty. The blanket also dirty. The frame of the bed noisy. Not recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, at our hostel we always provide fresh beds with new bedding to our guest. Upon checking in we will immediately give fresh bedding to them. Every month our staff lubricant on all the joints to prevent any noise from the beds joins. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

46%

very poor breakfast

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, as you know our hostel have mentioned about the breakfast on the website. We serve simple breakfast that is coffee ,tea with toast bread ,we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

71%

Good staff, good location, very good atmosphere. But the hostel unpleasant smells. Bed not very fresh.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment,every month we do pest control and spraying to ensure the beds are not affected with any bugs and at the same time every 2 weeks the beds are placed under hot sun to prevent from any unwanted smell or odor. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

97%

Some of the best hostels I have stayed at have been active with their guests, you guys achieved this fantastically!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

100%

Simple but Comfort environment and value for money . This is the best guest house i ever stay in KL , staff are awesome and friendly . air-conditional is strong enough and there are 3 huge air-conditional unit in the 24 bed dorm which is sufficient to freeze the room . View from the Roof top are extravaganza special for sunrise and sunset . Beside this the only guesthouse provide breakfast with machined coffee which i do believe its cost more then the amount you pay for the room .

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

91%

This hostel has an amazing location! You can walk anywhere from there and everything is nearby. The train is right across the street, same as the buses. Breakfast is just bread and coffee but the staff is super nice, they're always trying to make you feel comfortable and help you with anything you need. The room was huge, good lockers, ok showers, nice common areas, computers, not very good wifi but in general great place. You get more than you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

100%

Great friendly staff, great location to Chinatown and Cetral Market

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Aidan, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Chinatown KL Team.

91%

Great experience! I always come back here in Fernloft whenever I am in KL. CLOSE TO TRAIN STATION, CLOSE TO MARKET, EVERYTHING IS ACCESSIBLE.


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff, AC was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

86%

Basic hostel and rooms but very cheap for the area. Plenty of showers and the security is the best I have seen at a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kevin, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Chinatown KL Team.

26%

Worst hostel in whole KL!!! We moved to another hostel (reggae guesthouse). Everything was dirty and broken. They didn't want to return our money.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, first of all we are sorry on your stay at KL, but your comment did not specify the cause of your uncomfortable stay at the hostel and all my previous stay stated the guest had enjoyed their stay at our hostel. Some of the guest stayed previously have mentioned the place is clean. Thanks again, Fernloft KL Team

83%

For the price tag, this hostel rocks.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Eddy, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Chinatown KL Team.

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback