X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fernloft Melaka - The Heritage Hostel Reviews

24, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
76 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Staff was rude. Pillow was almost yellow by dirty.


97%

everything just very good.


69%

great place, clean, with good facilities in a good area... but when you backpack you expect friendly and warmly staff. This is definitely not the case here. Sorry


71%

PROS: Excellent security with two doors requiring a scan card to get in. And location is right in the old town, steps away from the night market and stadthuys. CONS: The lady running the place wasn't the friendliest, only answered questions when asked. When I stayed, there were very few other guests so there wasn't much of an atmosphere. The worst part of it is, I THINK this place has bed bugs! Can't confirm that it was here that I had gotten bitten, but it's something to look out for.


83%

Strategic location! a stone throw to Jonker Night Market & walking distance to tourist places & foods. We have a pleasant stay here. Thanks to Emily for everything!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel was lovely, near to red building and jongker street. The dormitory room was nice and clean. And security system at this hostel was excellent. I have a nice stay experience at this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your valuable comment, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit, Fernloft Chinatown Team

71%

The Dorm seemed like it had way too many beds crammed into one room. Also, the dorm room had windows on one side and daylight barely reached the other end.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comment, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at our hostel. The building was build before world war 2, its under the heritage zoning. Due to the heritage zone we are not able to do any renovation to open up windows if there were space. Thanks again, Fernloft Malacca Heritage Team

66%

It was a nice and clean hostel, with lockers and a nice shower. However, the people who worked there couldnt answer any of our questions. Besides that it is a very quiet hostel, with not really a social place to chill out amd meet people.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tim, thanks for your valuable comment. we look into the way to improve the staff with knowledge about places that you can visit at Malacca at the same we have placed all the details of places of interest at Malacca at the guest notice board for reference. The peak time at Malacca will be on Friday and Saturday as well as public holiday. The weekdays it will be slow. Thanks again, Fernloft Malacca Team

57%

I am still surprised by the reviews before mine, I was expecting much better. Hostel was ok overall, location being the best part. but Emily, the lady working there, was horrible. Didn't know much, had no maps, wasn't the most helpful, even started bashing the Malaysian people about their work ethic and standards of building when I informed her that part of the ceiling was peeling and falling off after a heavy rain. and we won't even get into the drunken domestic dispute we witnessed with her

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tony, thanks for your valuable comments, we will into the ways to improve our staff over at Malacca. At Malacca, the tourist office do not provide free map to the hostels, the guest need to get the Malacca map from the tourism office. Thanks again to lets us know about the painting peeling off, Fernloft Malacca Team,

89%

nice hostel and nice filipina running then place. I had a good couple of nights here!


66%

This location in Malacca was adequate. There is nothing "special" to rave about. Location is decent ,dorm room has to many beds jammed into it. The one staff member running the place (Emily) was very nice and helpful. What is not helpful is that you don't have someone staffing the in the early mornings for checkouts until after 9 am! I had to turn on all the lights and the AC in the main room myself! I stayed at the KL location and it was disgusting. Bed bugs in every room and bad smells

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Eric, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. The operation hours at the hostel is from 10am - 10pm, we have mention the operation hours on the hostelworld platform and about your experience at KL, we are very sorry to hear about it.Fernloft Malacca Team.

100%

Perfect hostel and great price! The person who runs the desk is so lovely and helpful. Would love to return here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Justin, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Malacca Team.

91%

The biggest draw of this place was the location, which was great for exploring Melaka's old city and main tourist sites. There weren't many other travelers there during my two nights, but it seemed like the common area would have been good for socializing during a busier time. If you want a clean place in a central location, I'd recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hannah, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Malacca Team.

83%

Nice hostel, a little on the backpacker side but clean and nicely run. In the middle of Chinatown so perfect for exploring the city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Florent, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Malacca Team.

91%

A very strategic location to stay in melaka..walking distance to all tourist side and the environment is nice..i already love it once i entered!

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Izyan, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Malacca Team.

91%

Really lovely hostel and lovely helpful staff! Thank you for looking after us

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Donna, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Malacca Team.



View all Melaka Hostels

Please give us your feedback