Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Finn McCool's Giant's Causeway Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5
Finn McCool's Giant's Causeway Hostel Located at 32 Causeway Road, Bushmills, Bushmills.
Finn McCool's Giant's Causeway Hostel
Northern Ireland
Bushmills BT578SU 32 Causeway Road, Bushmills
82% 614
55.2297939 -6.5157401
Finn McCool's Giant's Causeway Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.9

We really enjoyed it. The location is perfect: on the doorstep of the Causeway. After the crowds and tour buses have left for the day, you share the Causeway with the few tourists staying nearby. It's a lovely walk to a nearby sandy beach behind the grassy dunes, a bit further you'll find the bustling village of Bushmills. You can even take the train there, leaving just a short walk from the hostel. The staff make you feel at home, and their insider tips are invaluable! Friendly/cosy atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
9.7

A lovely hostel with full of atmosphere. Michael our host was great. Very close to the Giants Causeway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
6.9

Aside from the pile of laundry in the entranceway,the cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and general grunge in the bathroom, my bigger concern was the staff cooking hygiene. I watched one fellow cough over the pan of cooking food, sneeze as he was serving a plate of food, wipe his nose with his hand and not once did he wash his hands. I can live with the general dirt and disorganization, but that was too much for mr.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
4.9

Does not look like photographs! Quite shocking to find out that hot water and kitchen towels were not available in the kitchen, when one is expected to clean up after oneself. (just wash in cold water, a pillow case to dry off) Also, the entryway was dismal, piles of laundry everywhere and a slept-on sofa by way of welcome. Toilet paper was apparently also an extra, as all of the toilets had run out by morning, just as the 20+ guests were getting themselves out and about for the day. DIRTY!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
10.0

I would definitely stay here again. The location is unbeatable - it's literally steps from the start of the path into the Giant's Causeway. Don't make the mistake I did and park at the visitor's center at the causeway - the hostel has parking for free and you can walk! The bed was also really comfy, and after a week of hostel-ing around Ireland, I can say with a lot of confidence that it was one of the better comfy beds in hostels out there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2016
9.4

Just next to the Giant Causeway, perfect for going there and watch the sunshine. Not much nearby and difficult to access by foot, but so peaceful. The staff is really kind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
6.9

My wife and I just stayed there for a night. The staff were friendly, rooms were fine,and the atmosphere was quite cozy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
5.1

Quite shocking to find out that hot water and kitchen towels were not available in the kitchen, when one is expected to clean up after oneself. (just wash in cold water, here's a pillow case to dry off) Also, the entryway was dismal, piles of laundry everywhere and a slept-on sofa by way of welcome. Toilet paper was apparently also an extra, as all of the toilets had run out by morning, just as the 20+ guests were getting themselves out and about for the day. Nice for some, but not for me.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
6.6

Too many people for the facilities. I didn't get hot water all the time I was there, fortunately just one night. Two showers one of which was out of order for over 20 people. The situation was magnificent. Within easy walk from the giants causeway meant we watched the sunset there. That was worth the inconvenience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
3.7

There was no hot water for three days, with no explanation why and no apology. The room we stayed in was right next to the reception and entrance so there was no real privacy. Cleanliness standards were not acceptable as there were many damp patches and mould throughout. An over use of ducktape to fix any problems failed miserabely. Clearly the new owners have a lot to learn. I fear this hostel will put of people returning to the beautiful Antrim coast as we heard many complaints during our stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.