Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Firehouse Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 668 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 668 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2017
10.0

We had such an amazing stay! The location couldn't be better and the private suite upstairs is so lovely! Great view and perfect atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tlroesch
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
9.1

Awesome hostel. Great location. A super cool speakeasy bar right when you walk in. The security isn't all too great though. Majority of the time I was there no one was at the front desk allowing for anyone to just walk right up stairs. Which wouldn't be a problem except that the bar is in the lobby allowing for anyone to enter the building. Other than the security it is a great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
10.0

What a fantastic place to stay. This was my first ever hostel experience and i absolutely loved it. The staff were so friendly as well as the other guests. I stayed in a shared room and ended up being the only girl in with 4 guys bit it was not an issue and i never felt unsafe or concerned about my belongings. The location was just perfect as was the bar down stairs lol. I highly recommend this place and if i ever make it back to Austin this is where i will stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
10.0

Only good things to say here. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
10.0

The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were well maintained and the rooms very comfortable. Fellow guests were friendly and the building lay out made interacting and conversing with other guests easy. The downstairs lounge exposes you to Austin's music scene and its people, and you don't even have to leave your building.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
8.6

Firehouse hostel is great! It's located right in the middle of the Austin so it's easy to get to around the city. The staff was helpful and friendly, they had a lot of good recommendations. There was a good community atmosphere despite the fact that they don't have a common room- mostly people just communed in the kitchen. My only complaint was that I had to change room in the middle of my stay (I was there for a week) and the bathrooms could have been cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Great stay Hostels is the way to stay meet such great staff and visitors It was a great atmosphere from the start right from check in you get greated with a complementary beer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
8.6

Fantastic location, awesome staff, great vibe. Definitely in the heart of 6th street party land, and there is a bar on the 1st floor, so if you're looking for quiet, ask to be on the 3rd floor and you'll be VERY pleased with this spot. Otherwise, bring earplugs and enjoy your stay in the heart of Austin!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
10.0

I was shocked at how nice and fancy this hostel was. Each bed also has lamps and the bunk beds are shaped so that the light doesn't bug your bunk mates. Very well designed hostel right in the middle of it all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Apr 2017
10.0

I NEVER give 10/10 but this is the ultimate hostel, and i've stayed in a lot! Lovely, helpful staff, best breakfast and kitchen ever, perfect location in the heart of downtown, awesome vibe and I met so many people despite travelling alone. The liveability of this hostel made me never want to leave. I wish more hostels were as perfect as Highhouse. Stay here when visiting Austin - this is what hostels should be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.