X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Firehouse Hostel Reviews

605 Brazos Street, Austin, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
149 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Free towels, excellent breakfast spread (fresh fruit!), basic decor, comfy bed. Water pressure in the shower was great. Right downtown, the location could not be better. If you don't feel like wandering too far away there is an excellent bar by the same name adjacent to the hospital (think they're connected). There's a elevator and laundry available. Limited common area so a little challenging for making friends but great for people who plan to be out all day. I didn't mind the squeaky beds.


100%

nice hostel, good breakfast would come back/10


97%

Brilliant hostel. Won't stay anywhere else in Austin. So clean and friendly people. Didn't want to leave! The bar behind the book shelf is a chamber of mastery!!!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The hostel itself is in a fabulous location, close to everything. No need for public transit or a car, really. The music at the lounge sounded really good. In case people were worried about sleeping, the hostel staff even provided you with free earplugs. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and lockers were a plus. The free breakfast was outstanding. I have travelled for 40 years, staying in hostels all over the world, and this was the best.


100%

This hostel is in downtown, just off sixth street. It's extremely close to 4th street, 2nd street and various other nightlife places, and it's not far from Soco, the capitol, UT, and many other places. All in all, I was very happy with my stay.


100%

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay! Cool old building, clean facilities, amazing breakfast with pastries, fruit, and such. Crazy good location, could walk everywhere. Upgraded to one of their "deluxe" dorms... nicer beds with bigger lockers, highly recommended for $3 more. The bar was awesome, had live music and is popular with locals. Staff was great.


89%

The things other hostels have that would make this one great are curtains around the beds with individual reading lights. This way you are able to see to read, get dressed etc. without waking up others in the room.


100%

thank you all, very satisfied....

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect location. Half a block from 6th street.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

As a student coming to Austin for a conference, I needed a cheap place to stay. You can never be too sure with hostels, but this one surpassed expectations. The place was almost too good to be true, great location, great atmosphere, very clean and had more than you could ask for. Very cool hostel for a very cool city.

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay. This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was a little worried what it would be like but it was a lovely place to stay. Secure, great breakfast, perfect location. They had seemed to think of everything and I would highly recommend this as a place to stay in Austin. Was excellent value for money. I am a deep sleeper and with an eye mask and ear plugs I slept like a baby every night. I had a great experience here.

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I loved this hostel-the only thing I would change is some of the bunk beds are wood and some are a metal net, and the ones with the metal net have very little back support which can be uncomfortable for sleeping.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Self closers on the doors mean that every time someone goes to the loo in the night the door slams and wakes up everyone in the vicinity. Foam draught excluder around the doors would diminish the problem.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great dorm room. Really friendly girls in room. Beds rather squishy so for the last night I moved onto one of the wooden constructed ones which was much more solid. Never queued for the showers, which were always clean and nice. Breakfast was free- fresh fruit bagels toast condiments and cereal and coffee. Great location for 6th street if you want to go to see live music. Close to congress for buses to South congress or out to zilker park. Open mic night at the lounge in Wednesdays.


97%

Great location. Great place.


94%

This hostel is good considering the location. There is a bar street next the hostel on downtown Austin. The room is clean. It offers free Wifi and breakfast,that's awesome. I came for the F1 that week and many guests there are F1 fans. So happy to meet different fans. I will choose this hostel if I can for F1 next year again. But the price for 8 share room is a little bit expensive!

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks by manager por gave your computer.


83%

This hostel is very beautifully designed and has a key location. Amazing breakfast for a hostel. Beautiful rooms & bathrooms. The staff was really 10/10. Collin and the lovely tattooed lady at night (Anette?) were awesome & friendly. They rent locks for 1$/day. The bar is nice but there is a need for a hosteler only common room. It's not as much as a "social hostel" where all the guests interact. It's more of a beautiful affordable alternative to a hotel dt. Very poor wifi and beds are average.


71%

Firehouse is in a great location- right next to 6th St. We got our keys and headed to our private single where we found that the room was not made and dirty sheets and towels were strewn all over the room. Not a good way to start the stay. The wifi had a pretty lousy signal on the 3rd floor. The beds and the pillows were pretty uncomfortable, would expect a little better for ~60 bucks a night. Free breakfast and ear plugs was nice however. Not bad but I think next time I'll pay for a hotel

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

A few really great, helpful staff. Only complaint would be the lack of paper towels in the 3rd floor bathroom!!! Great atmosphere and fantastic location even though I'm a little old to deal with the 6th St Sat nite party noise!!


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Austin Hostels

Please give us your feedback