X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Firehouse Hostel Reviews

605 Brazos Street, Austin, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
247 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The place is really good locates in Austin, close to everything the city can offer. It is clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast served in the morning is abundant.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Location, location, location. Perfect for the weekend warrior or anyone wanting to be central. Pub crawls were a great way to meet people and common room was good. And breakfast was top shelf Only downside was the wifi sucks and really only works on morning or when people are out and about. Will stay here again for sure.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel right next to 6th Street in Austin. Bathrooms and showers were clean, but the bed was old and lopsided (but still manageable as a side-sleeper). Great kitchen area for meeting people. Staff was friendly enough, but they were not that helpful in finding things to do during the day, and were often not at the desk. I experienced and witnessed several instances of waiting around for the staff. Overall, great hostel and I would stay there again.


89%

Clean rooms, friendly staff, a bar downstairs and fruit with breakfast. This is a good hostel at an amazing downtown location.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Good: > The hostel was located right in the middle of the night life action. > There was a large locker under my bed which fitted my entire large suitcase Bad: > The bar downstairs was a good bar but not very practical for anyone on the second floor of the hostel as it went on till 2AM very loudly and I could not sleep. > The coffee was disgusting. > The blanket was tiny


100%

Great hostel. Excellent location, not even a block from 6th which is where a good chunk of nightlife occurs. Walking distance to almost everything. Lovely helpful staff. Clean bathrooms, rooms and common areas. Only suggestion would be to up the wattage of the lightbulbs in the rooms. Even with the light on the rooms are very very dark. Also, try to pick a bed with a wooden frame (you'll see what I mean when you arrive). I heard these were comfier than the wire ones. Overall an excellent hostel!


74%

I'm sure this is a great place if you're looking to party all night in Austin - but otherwise, try somewhere else. Hot, stuffy dorms and creaking beds. It is virtually on the main party drag in Downtown, but that means that you'll have music blaring away well into the small hours.


91%

Perfekt ställe mitt i nöjeskvarteren.


83%

Breakfast was great if a little over the top. Bar downstairs good. Great location. Shame the bar crawl was cancelled just because of a little rain.


80%

Poor WiFi made it hard for us to arrange things. Clean and well catered.


94%

Had an absolute blast here. Great group of people made it a great time. Staff and location are excellent. Only drawbacks are the wifi which was terrible and the bar downstairs which doesnt close till 2am. The one night i wasnt out made it very hard to go to bed at a decent hour as the music can be clearly heard all through the hostel. All in all was a really positive experience and i would definitely come back


100%

Loved the firehouse only downside is there isn't really a common area to chill out but its probably because it used to be a firehouse most socializing was done in the Kitchen. Hostel location is perfect right next to all the bars on 8th st and rainie st is only a 20 min walk away. Would definitely come back and stay here given the chance again


77%

I gave "poor"mark to facilities because of the bathroom.Personally I feel that only minimal investment may be needed to make bathroom a more pleasant area.For instance wooden countertop around sink is an area where just a nice one made of formica or even artificial stone would make that area looking much better,kept clean and dry unlike what iy looks today..Shower head in the stall that I had used is loose and cannot be adjusted.As I said these are not big and I certainly think expensive .

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I was in austin for the F1 and could not have picked a better place! Its a bit cramped to in the rooms but as a base its ideal. Large breakfast area with a great choice of goodies and a computer for residents. My room included charge points by the beds and privacy screens! Would happily stay here again!


91%

Staff were super helpful in offering advice on best bars and restaurants around. Super clean place and cool speakeasy bar downstairs. Good breakfast on offer too! Those muffins....:)

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The best breakfast I've ever had in any hostel and it betters most good hotels too. Great location, helpful staff, handy info about places to eat out and visit on the wall and good bar attached.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel, located right in the centre. Met some great people here. Don't even have to leave the building to see live music!


80%

The breakfast is excellent and location is in prime area of sixth street


100%

Love this place! I highly recommend it to all backpackers or if you are just passing through. It's safe and at a great location. The staff was fantastic!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

If you want to be in downtown Austin, there is no better place. Everything was within about a half-hour walking, and even the airport is a half-hour, $1.50 bus ride away. Even though the hostel sits atop a bar, there was never a noise issue. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and I met some great folks from all across the world. Would definitely, definitely stay here again.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Austin Hostels

Please give us your feedback