X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fireside Lodge Reviews

2117 Nordic Drive, Whistler, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
279 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great facilities and super clean! Very beautiful lodge. There were not very many young people when I stayed, and the staff is very strict when it comes to their noise policy. I would stay again, but it's definitely not a party hostel.


46%

The customer service is really weak, they dont how to give any information about Whistler ! In the room, we can't even talk because the "noisy" so the walls is terrible

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice, clean and quiet (minus thin walls through which we could hear someone snoring quite loud...). Very large kitchen and lounge area which was great. Only downfall is the staff was hardly around to assist, even during their scheduled hours - it'd e great to have someone available more hours to answer questions etc. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend!

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review...we have a call button at the desk if staff is needed...

83%

In general all the facilities were OK. However, I would like to complain about the comforter, bed sheets and towel. I think that the administration of the hostel should change and renew all the bedclothes.

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments...we have just received our new shipment of linen...

77%

A really cosy place to stay, we got upgraded to a loft type suite and it was warm and tidy. Good bathrooms, really clean.


89%

The lodge is very huge, comfortable and quiet despite being a 18-bed dorm. The kitchen and washroom are very clean too. The only downside is that its a short walk from the bus stop and there's no lights along the way, so it's kinda dark and scary to walk up the hill after dark. Perhaps could indicate a sign near the bus stop about the path leading to the lodge.


74%

Staff manning -operating hours 0800-1000 and 1530-2030hrs.We tried calling 20 mins before 1000hrs on 4/11/15, nobody answer but with voice message stating operating hours as above,

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
...sometimes we get quite busy as we only have one staff member working at a time...did you leave a message?

100%

i don't need to write any more. fire side lodge is best. whistler is best.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, but very expensive

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We monitor rates of all similar local facilities and strive to be the lowest priced alternative.

74%

The common areas at Fireside were great! Big kitchen, lounge and games area. Staff were friendly, hostel was clean and good shower pressure. Unfortunately sleeping in the large dorm was difficult due to there being lots of lights. I'm not usually one to need it pitch black and even I struggled. Emergency exit signs stayed illuminated and floor lighting all night. Be aware of check in time as you cannot enter hostel beforehand to leave belongings. Must be left in outdoor lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are required by the fireside to maintain exits and to have them lighted. Also the dorm low level lights are required by the fire department in a dorm facility

100%

Excellent hostel, lovely atmosphere, great facilities and very homely would highly recommend this hostel!

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice cheaper alternative located s short bus ride from the centre. Stayed in a privete rom and it was clean and comfortable enough. Imagine it would be good for a group or when full in peak season however when I was there it was very quiet and as s result the atmosphere very dull.


83%

Great little place, and great value for money for whistler. Just a bit outside of town sadly. Huge kitchen for cooking, loads of facilities, really friendly guy running it. 18 bed dorm rooms are huge and spacious. Felt like I had a good lot of space for my stuff. Would recommend it for seeing whistler. Absolutely zero on the party front when I stayed there though.


97%

It's an amazing hostel! Very clean and big. The staff is very nice, specially JP, the housekeeping boy. Cheers!


91%

Nice place; lots of space and a relaxing atmosphere. A respectable locally owned and run business.


97%

Randy was awesome, the place had more than we needed! We weren't expecting such a grande kitchen and washroom - more than enough space for everyone to do their thing. The lounge area was super comfy and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice and comfortable place, also the 18 People mixed dorm :). Big kitchuen and living room, also nice sauna available.


97%

Fireside lodge was ideal for us - a group of 5 spending a weekend hiking and enjoying the Whistler nightlife. Randy was very helpful on check-in and provided us with all the information that we needed. The lodge is clean, well maintained and very comfortable. The atmosphere is very relaxed. We took advantage of the games room (it rained!) and also the comfortable communal lounge area. The lodge is located in a secluded and pretty area. e. We will definitely be back!

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

This place is great! Although a bit outside of the main village (but that also means it is affordable), the atmosphere was great, and the place is HUGE. Although the dorms were for 18 people, they felt cozy and everyone had enough of their own space and privacy. The only frustrating thing was wifi that stopped working properly every day at 10.


91%

I thought that the staff did a wonderful job of answering any questions that me and my girlfriend thought of and the place was very well kept as well as offered alot for the guests to use in the kitchen and games areas

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Whistler Hostels

Please give us your feedback