Hostelworld.com

Fish Tank Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 712 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 712 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Fish Tank Lodge Located at 86 West End, , Kaikoura.
Fish Tank Lodge
New Zealand
Kaikoura 7300 86 West End
85% 712
-42.4024100 173.6823248
Fish Tank Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st May 2016
8.3

Lovely budget backpackers hostel. I booked a dorm room but ended up getting a full room to myself. Nice showers and nice kitchen space. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend. Location is a bit far but then again everything in Kaikoura is spread out. Taking a lovely walk by the coast to get to your meal aint such a bad thing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

Great location, clean and friendly :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.7

Convenient spot on the main road, with comfy beds and free coffee. Cat a bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
8.9

Nice hostel with places to eat literally a minute away. Bed was comfy, facilities were clean and good atmosphere. A nice stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Wonderful hostel! Very cozy and nice atmosphere, great facilities, comfy lounge, and a balcony with AMAZING sea views!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
9.7

Such a cute place to stay! Easy to meet people and cook -- great location too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.9

The location is great, right outside the door are the major bus stops, would recommend it for that alone. The lounge is nice and big too with a balcony, great if you want to relax. Downsides are the Wifi is slow and expensive and there is nothing in the kitchen for cooking - I stay in a lot of hostels and there's always free cooking oil at least, I guess because a few of the guests were long term they claim what is left over. No lockers in rooms either so carry valuables with you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
8.3

Awesome location right near all the bars/restaurants, i site and seal swim, good communal kitchen/lounge

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
7.1

The lady who checked me in was super friendly and the bed was very comfy. Negatives were that the kitchen was a tip on the first night I was there and guests were getting obnoxiously drunk in the lounge so I couldn't sleep when I had to be up for the 5.30am dolphin tour. Back to the YHA next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Mar 2016
8.6

Great hostel, only thing that could be improved is unlimited free wifi, but other than that it was pretty perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.