Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fish Tank Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 724 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 724 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
Fish Tank Lodge Located at 86 West End, , Kaikoura.
Fish Tank Lodge
New Zealand
Kaikoura 7300 86 West End
83% 724
-42.4022348 173.6820594
Fish Tank Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.9

No lockers to store valuables in dorm rooms. Only two wall sockets in dorm rooms and only small amount of free wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.0

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel was clean , comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.9

Really nice hostel. Great facilities. However for me it was the view. Beautiful balcony and lounge area. I can imagine in summer it would be amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.1

Clean hostel and staff were great. I was one of the 3 people only staying here but it was quiet and great location. Limited wifi but could ask for more because of the winter months and less people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
29th May 2016
10.0

Loved staying here, staff were warm and friendly and the kitchen facilities were great. Brilliant location too... unparalleled views from the balcony! Also got a great night sleep as the beds were super comfortable. The one thing I would say is that it's a tad cold in the living areas at this time of year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • angelasayx
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th May 2016
10.0

I absolutely loved my stay at Fish Tank. It was quiet, clean and very comfortable. I got some of my best sleep during my 4 months of travel here... super comfy beds. Loved the cat, snuggled with her every day in the lounge! Location is the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
8.3

Lovely budget backpackers hostel. I booked a dorm room but ended up getting a full room to myself. Nice showers and nice kitchen space. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend. Location is a bit far but then again everything in Kaikoura is spread out. Taking a lovely walk by the coast to get to your meal aint such a bad thing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

Great location, clean and friendly :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.7

Convenient spot on the main road, with comfy beds and free coffee. Cat a bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
8.9

Nice hostel with places to eat literally a minute away. Bed was comfy, facilities were clean and good atmosphere. A nice stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.