X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fivos Reviews

23 Athinas Street, Acropolis, Monastiraki, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1465 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Not a nice place, not very safe either, rooms are small and beds old and uncomfortable. I made a last minute booking for only 1 night at Fivos since all the other hotels were fully booked... but it was a huge dissapointment! Would never go back again.


46%

Despite it is in a very good location, Hotel Fivos doesnt deserve a cent of your money since there were no hot water, no wifi in the rooms, and not a friendly staff at all. We stayed there three nights, and we thought problem with water was temporary, but the following days instead of repairing it, they accused us of lying about it. It was very rude and they didnt bother to make us a discount or some kind of excuse. Except breakfast and location, nothing is good about this place. ( No elevator!)

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The website of the hostel and the pictures not reflects the Fivos hostel, he look much unkempt from the pictures. The room was very small and also the bathroom that was in the room. In the first day was not hot water. We asked for another blanket and not got a Satisfying answer or a blanket.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Fivos is well located and offers good breakfast. But I must complain about the reception that was not polite at the morning and the 4 bed room located behind a club and with no ventilation. Fivos is just an alternative when other better places are fully booked


66%

The pictures in the Hostelworld listing were somewhat misleading- it appeared to be a modern hostel but turned out to be quite an old building with not much of an atmosphere. The rooms were a bit tired but comfortable enough.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, simple conditions, great value for money.


83%

Would stay here again. Only disappointment is we booked a double room and when we arrived there was only a tiny room with a bunkbed available. But the guy at the reception was so nice and so funny we didn't really mind.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

great location, buffet breakfast included, fantastic value

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was value for money given how it's near to the metro station as well as major attractions. The staff are all really helpful and nice as well. Some of them go out of the way to help us like Panos(: and the black guy ( I never got to find out his name and I'm really sorry for calling him black, I dont know how else to describe him) who held the night/ early morning shift right before Panos. They were both great! The only issue I had with the hostel was the lack of stable Wi-Fi.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Bedbugs are the deal breaker. In other ways good-excellent. Security - staff at desk; luggage storage locked. Location - on Monasteraki Square; M. metro connects direct with Piraeus ferry and airport (or short walk to 24 hr. airport bus at Syntagma Sq.); minutes from Fodors-recommended Bairakteris; easy walk to Akropolis etc. Great breakfast, staff helpful, one power outlet in room, wifi bad except near desk, good AC Verdict: good value for tight budgets - avoid until bedbug prob is fixed.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

At 35 euros for a single room with bathroom and with a location right next to the Monastiraki station, this hostel is good value for money. That said, you should be realistic about what you can get for this money at this area, which is not very much. The bed was squeaky, the sheets threadbare and stained, the bathroom was tiny, the room itself was on street level and a bit noisy as a result. The room had obviously been cleaned but had old stains refusing to budge. Convenient for a short stay.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

We checked in and the girl behind the counter seemed disinterested in her job or dealing with us. The place was not nice and we ended up checking out at 9.30 that night and moved to a different hostel.


43%

Unhelpful staff, lack of common space to meet fellow travellers, no wifi unless you seat down at the front desk but yet they advertise saying wifi throughout building. The only good thing going for this place is it's location. Save your money and go stay elsewhere!


31%

We booked a bed in a dorm and they gave us the worst room ever, this place really sucks!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

No Wifi, rude Staff, and bedroms in bad conditions..... but good location

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The wifi was non existent. Great location. Very friendly, and helpful staff, especially the night porter.


34%

Mould all over the shower and roof, no hot water, wifi connection was so terrible that you might as well not have have any at all, only one power plug in the room, the floor would have been more comfortable than the springy beds, no elevator


31%

BEDBUGS. Our bed had bed bugs. We went downstairs to inform the woman there and she started laughing. They wouldn't let the one other girl in our room move. Their internet wasn't working and again we were laughed at and never told weather or not it would be fixed just ignored. Man in the morning kept insisting an Internet cafe was around the corner and telling us we were wrong that it wasn't there, when the one he was talking to we found 30 minutes away. Very poor. Stay at pella inn.


74%

Fivos has a great location. The rooms were a good size and our ensuite was small but functional. The wifi didn't work the whole time we were there which was annoying. Staff were helpful.


66%

Great location. However advertised laundry facilities and that was not the case. Wifi was spotty at best. Better places to stay in Athens for the price.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback