Hostelworld.com

Flamingo Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Flamingo Hostel Located at Szewska 4, , Krakow.
Flamingo Hostel
Poland
Krakow Malopolska 31-009 Szewska 4
84% 2631
50.0620979 19.9358618
Flamingo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • miianiskakoski1605
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th May 2016
7.1

We booked via hostelworld app and got a little disappointed...when booking, we chose this hostel as the rooms looked nice in pictures. At that point we didn't know that we'd stay in a different building. The room was actually quite bad: uncomfortable beds, broken lockers, bad mouldy smell in the room, black spots on the bathroom wall... All of our clothes smell mouldy now, just like inside the room. The hostel staff were really nice and helpful, thanks for that! But the room was no good at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th May 2016
5.4

The good reviews of this hostel appear to be based on the private rooms down the road from the main hostel. I found the facilities in the main hostel to be extremely poor. There's 3 showers, and only one worked (although it was so small that larger/taller people will barely fit). The bathrooms were often filthy. Further, the lights in the bathrooms often flashed on and off, making it difficult to shower or use the toilet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. We believe the good reviews of our hostel come from people who choose hostels not only to get a place to sleep but also to spend time with other guests (who are always wonderful) and with our staff. If guests choose not to interact with others - it's their choice. We offer 3 showers for rooms with shared bathroom - right now one of them is being renovated. The bathrooms are filthy only if you leave them filthy as our cleaning service and staff checks them all the time to make sure that if you decide not to clean after yourself, we clean it before another guest decides to use it. Our receptionist are one of the nicest people on planet and shave their love even if the guest isn't that nice. We're only people not machines, sometimes we need a 2 minute break or we have to take some time to restart the computer or fix minor problem - that's why you were asked to wait couple of minutes to check-in as well as other guests. The lights are connected to a motion sensor - that's our way of saving the enviroment.

13th May 2016
8.0

Flamingo can provide you a place to drop your stuff off and sleep for a few hours. Great central location. McCafe is open at 7. Necessary for a 7:20 scheduled day trip pick-up. Wifi avaible throughout. Showers facilities are either broken or always being used. I had to wait for two hours to get my stuff in my room even though I had been there at 14:00. Although advertised a party hostel I came at what seemed to be a 'hungover' hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
8.6

Fantastic hostel in a great location. We had an issue with our door not locking throughout our stay but the hostel itself was very safe and secure so this was not a big problem at all. Staff were very helpful, friendly and fun. Thoroughly recommended hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're really sorry you had a problem with door - we're working on getting it fixed. Even with that we still have main doors, cameras, wristbands and receptionists trained in kung-fu to protect your safety! :) Thank you for choosing our hostel and, hopefully, see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th May 2016
10.0

Genuinely had a fantastic stay, sad that it was so short, I've stayed in several hostels in Kraków but this one is definitely my favourite, best staff experience I've had as well, Magdalena was brilliant, will back in Kraków in a couple of weeks and will be staying here again, thanks guys, see you soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Guests always have 1 problem: time. Next time you should stay in Krakow a little longer. Magda&Staff miss you! ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel with lots of friendly people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! You should visit us again ;)

8th May 2016
7.7

The staff deserve credit for making this place what it is in the evenings. They try very hard to get everybody to enjoy Krakow, though the hostel itself could use a bit of a make over. Our dorm door was key card access but you could just open it without a key, although there are lockers in the room. Bar crawl is fun if you get the chance, and the location is great if you want to enjoy the nightlife.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're sorry about the door - we're working on getting it fixed. Thank you for what you said about staff - we're proud of our receptionists and pub crawl guides.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
8.6

The hostel have a really nice location and it is easy to find! It is clean and the room are enough spacy. No noise in the rooms unless in the common part, really loud tv without anyone. I recomand this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. We're really happy you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the TV - some of the guests have problem with sleeping at night - that's why we keep the TV on so they can watch it :) Hope to see you again in our hostel!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
9.4

Absolutely brilliant place to stay and I would certainly recommend it. The staff were fantastic and went out of their way to look after one of my party who became ill Cannot believe the low cost given the location Hot water wasn't always available buy hey it didn't spoil our time there and the staff sorted it out for us

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
4.9

Here was noisy and dirty.I don't recommend here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the atmosphere. It is a Party Hostel - you may find this information on our Facebook or any booking site. This means we have to make sure guests who come here to party have a chance to dance and have fun as long as they want to. It's a shame you didn't come to the reception to report it - I'm sure the receptionist would try to turn the music down or offer you earplugs. We could also offer you a different room - but we can't do anything about it now that you left the hostel. Our cleaning service tries to make sure everything's clean and shiny but we can't wait at the doors to check if the guests leave the bathroom clean. That's why we always tell our guests that if anything is dirty of wet they should report it at the reception so we can clean it for them. We hope you enjoyed Krakow anyway and next time you visit the city again you give us another chance - maybe you should try private apartments where you don't have to worry about music or other guests.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.