X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flamingo Hostel Reviews

Szewska 4, Krakow, Poland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2378 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Although none of the bedding really fitted onto the beds, I loved my stay at this hostel and can see why it has won awards. It is in an excellent location just off the main square, meaning it can get a little loud at night but that's expected. When we were there, we went on the bar crawl with Bart and he is may favourite. He started the evening by bringing shots round to every dorm and had one with us. We then all played drinking games in the common room, great way to get to know everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Travel is all about fun, isn't it? And we will help You get it in Cracow!

97%

Awesome place, the staff was great and I must say, super clean showers/toilets. I recommend this place to every backpacker! I've backpacked a lot and seen the most but this place really blow me away!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we recomend ourselves too! :)

80%

Really nice rooms, friendly staff but they didn't tell us we were staying in a separate apartment and didn't give very good directions to the apartment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that You had trouble getting to the apartment. No worries, if You are not sure we will give You map with directions and how-to-get-there instructions :)

91%

Average security; buzzed through two doors to get into the property, though rooms aren't locked and my locker was problematic. Krakow doesn't sleep and if you came to party, it has a prime location and fun atmosphere. There's really no way around the street noise that goes on all night long. Staff very friendly and accommodating- kind enough to offer to refund me three nights. Facilities are dated but there's constant effort to keep things clean. Overall value is fair. You get what you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have two secured doors with cameras, we only allow people from the hostel to enter, and we close the dorms on demand - sometimes other guests leave the door opened... You get what You pay for, and more :)

83%

Great location, excellent facilities and great staff. Hostel has a decent bar and is located right in old town, close to pubs and clubs.


100%

I am so happy with the atmosphere of Flamingo Hostel, and the girl who is in the recepcion. The most beautiful and nice girl from Ukrania! Kisses from Spain 😉

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The location is great, staff are great and it's clean. The only bad thing about this hostel are the beds. Which are really old and uncomfortable. It was good that we had some good parties to get to bed drunk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The beds are not old, but they are made of real wood - that's what magic about them :) Thanks for the review!

60%

Location was very central so it was very noisy at night. Not any security- staff buzz you up and the rooms aren't locked. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard- bread, spreads, cereal and meat/cheese.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we are happy to read that You liked the staff and the breakfast, but we disagree with Your score for location and security. We are located just in the heart of the city, so we should get 5/5 there. Everybody knows, that there are no super quiet places just on the Main Market Square, but we provide You with free earplugs. Also, we have cameras and when we buzz You up - we see You and there is 24/7 reception next to the entrance. Come back some day!

100%

good staff and good atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thakns ! See You next year?

80%

Constant party hostel, very loud clubs outside especially on the weekends but amazing location on main square


80%

Awesome location. Great fun


100%

Excellent hostel, definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Flamingos will miss You!

66%

very good location; however, it's a mediocre hostel; double bed apartments are set in an 'adjacent building' that is some hundred meters away staff's friendlyness depends on the employee who is in service


91%

The staff working there r really nice and helpful which makes great atmosphere.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Atmosphere is most important to us!

100%

Staff was extremely helpful. A great location for getting around town. Didn't even need a metro or tram. 5 -10 min walk from the train station.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
They are not regular receptionists - they are Flamingos!

94%

Loved flamingo! Every night everyone got together for drinks in the common room, then you chose to go out on the pub crawl or stay in. Great way to meet people! Loved all the staff- they were all lovely. Especially Paul and Patrick. I highly recommend this hostel, especially if you're keen for a good time in Krakow

Owner Comment (Hide)
You loved Flamingo and You became Flamingo! Paul and Patrick say thanks! Others are sad, that You didn't mention them in the review ;)

100%

Great hostel. Rooms were nice enough, as was the included breakfast. Met some great people in my dorm from different parts of the world. Would recommend the bar crawl - the people who lead the bar crawl put a lot of effort in and are a good laugh! Great way of getting to know others in the hostel! Really good value too.


83%

I would love to be able to rave about Flamingo. There has obviously been so much time and effort invested in it that it seems a shame not to. However, the security is pretty poor as anyone can be buzzed in and only occasionally asked to verify their identity by staff. This overrides the positives for me as it's a fairly basic requirement of a hostel to be secure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have cameras downstairs when we buzz You in 1st time, and than You need to smile to the second camera so we can buzz You 2nd time, only from the reception and only seeing You. Security is very important to us, but we don't want to bother You - that's why You might not see it, Also, if we know You we don't ask You everytime about the ID... Thanks for the review anyway!

100%

It's great hostel, always I go to krakow I chose Flamingo Hostel, the location can't better, and the staff is reallly and helpful. And the best point is the breakfast.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Stayed in a six-bed dorm with ensuite (room 2) which overlooks the street so is very noisy (nightclub is right opposite). Beds are creaky/missing some slats and they had classic Polish linen (e.g. square sheets which don't cover the mattress fully) but was all adequately clean. Hostel is very noisy until about 11.15pm when everyone's hustled out onto the pub crawl - people on that sounded like they were having a great time.


(92 results)


View all Krakow Hostels

Please give us your feedback