Hostelworld.com

Flashpackers Hervey Bay

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 825 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 825 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.1

Good enough for a stay before/after Fraser Island, but wouldn't stay more than that. Rooms were quite hot at night, although every hostel is the same! Wifi is free but fairly slow! Kitchen is nice and big, but did notice some ants on the kitchen surface which wasn't great

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.9

For a hostel called 'Flashpackers - affordable luxury' I would expect there to be at least a ceiling fan in the rooms (if not air con), but there were only floor fans which do nothing if you're on the top bunk or not directly in the stream of air. Additionally, I had to try three different elements before I found one that could actually cook my food, and the kitchen area was filthy. Reception was only sporadically occupied, and $5 for luggage storage is ridiculous.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
6.0

The rooms were boiling hot, making it unbearable to sleep, the pool was murky and there were fruit flies all in the kitchen! Not quite the flash packers i was expecting! But the staff were very nice!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Loved my stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.1

Shuttle from the greyhound stop was helpful and staff were friendly and informative. The common area had a deep clean while we were there so we saw how well the hostel was maintained. My only negative was the lack of air conditioning, going by the name "Flashpackers" you would expect air con as standard. I know this is not advertised but maybe something to consider.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
7.4

Cleanest and best kitchen facilities come across on our travels. Disappointed for it to have flash packers name but no air con in room as it was very hot. There was a fan but it wasn't as good as hoped

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
4.0

Flashpackers had little to no atmosphere, poorly trained staff, very slow internet (unavailable in bedrooms) and a dirty pool. Not really sure where the 'Flash' element was hiding during our stay......

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.3

Stayed for one night before going to Fraser Island. Only five minutes from the main road that runs along the beach. The place had a relaxed atmosphere with a big lounge/kitchen area and pool area outside. Two rooms share a single shower and toilet. I stayed in a four bed dorm which was quite small and had no air conditioning. Ended up sleeping with the doors open to get some air.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel. Definitely best kitchen I've seen. Is clean, has loads of pans etc and free breakfast every morning. The atmosphere is nice, everyone is friendly and there is a different activity every night to mingle. Eg on my night I got there it was a wine and cheese evening. There isn't much to do in Hervey Bay, the beach is decent and u can get the bus for $2.70 to the shopping centre 15mins away which is quite good. Stayed for an overnight for Fraser Island, but very nice hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.0

An ok place to stay for a couple nights. The desk was open until midnight, which was nice when coming back late from Fraser Island, but there wasn't always someone at the desk which was really annoying. The staff was super great, when they were there. The kitchen was awesome! The wifi wasn't the best. Main complaint was the rooms, no air-con (very hot in there!), beds were uncomfortable, no place to lock up valuables. Loved the Wednesday wine and cheese :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.