Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flashpackers Hervey Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 867 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 867 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.9

Very clean hostel - deluxe female dorms are very spacious with ensuite bathrooms (toilet is separate to shower which is handy) nice comfortable beds (you even get two pillows). The kitchen is well equipped with a BBQ outside. Location is good to get to the esplanade and the beach but if you want a coles or a Woolworths they are a bit further out but they run a free bus to them at 5. Free breakfast is a nice touch too. Will be staying again 100%!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2017
7.1

Nice enough hostel, like most in Australia no oven in kitchen but plenty of hobs. Good clean rooms with individual plugs and lights. Lots of young children staying while I was here which was annoying as they were very loud. But when I came back after fraser island they were gone and it was much better. Good location but not much at hervey Bay anyway!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th May 2017
9.7

Really nice hostel with extremely friendly and helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
8.3

A bit hard to meet people when travelling alone - people are coming/going in groups from Fraser Island trips and are very cliquey. Right across the street from the bus stop and close to town. Other than Fraser, the beach is nice and sand boarding the sand dunes is fun, but not that much else around. Good for a quick stop over before/after Fraser, but maybe not for a few days

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2017
8.3

Lovely hostel, dorm was spacious and clean as was the ensuite, only downside to the room was it had no lockers for valuables. The kitchen is fantastic, the best of any hostel I've stayed in. Not a very lively atmosphere although I think this is down to Hervey Bay being used to stop offs when visiting Fraser Island. The staff were lovely and very helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2017
10.0

I loved my stay! The cinema is amazing!*.*

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • carysnorthmore8848
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel was really nice, our rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The kitchen and sofas area was really nice, lots of space to cook and hang out. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel itself is nice with good kitchen/shared area and ensuite bathrooms. In terms of location it is far way from the main shops but there's regular shuttles running from the hostel - its super close to the beach which is the main thing! One of the reasons is picked Flashpackers was how many good reviews there were about the atmosphere but when I stayed it was pretty dead. Not sure if that is because it's nearing the end of the season but it was very very quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
6.9

I found "Flashpackers" to be a bit misleading - the rooms felt more like a motel than any hostel I've ever stayed at. The one thing that really fried me was their request that we take 3 minutes showers. No where else have u seen that aside from camping or on a boat.. Not to mention the midnight lock out. The staff was friendly enough, but made you feel like they were doing you a favor doing their job. Wasn't a fan. Wouldn't stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

We loved Flashpackers... We ended up staying here for quite a while due to the Cyclone, and we're so glad it was flashpackers we were stuck at! The staff we amazing, especially Bill, Dani & Waz - they were so friendly and helpful and made us feel like we were staying in their home. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.