Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flashpackers Hervey Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • carysnorthmore8848
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel was really nice, our rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The kitchen and sofas area was really nice, lots of space to cook and hang out. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel itself is nice with good kitchen/shared area and ensuite bathrooms. In terms of location it is far way from the main shops but there's regular shuttles running from the hostel - its super close to the beach which is the main thing! One of the reasons is picked Flashpackers was how many good reviews there were about the atmosphere but when I stayed it was pretty dead. Not sure if that is because it's nearing the end of the season but it was very very quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

We loved Flashpackers... We ended up staying here for quite a while due to the Cyclone, and we're so glad it was flashpackers we were stuck at! The staff we amazing, especially Bill, Dani & Waz - they were so friendly and helpful and made us feel like we were staying in their home. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
6.0

In the middle of the night we got woken up to loud bangs on the door, then the girl from front desk barges in with a bright torch and shines it in one of the girls faces and says your not suppose to be in this room I have someone that needs this bed. The poor girl is stunned and said I've payed for 2 nights, the staff member tell her to pack up her things. Long story short the staff member had made a mistake and the girl stayed in the room but the staff member went about it in a horrible way!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
5.4

We stayed here for one night and upon arrival asked the lady in reception where to park and she told us to go to the back and park. Once we came back in 3 mins later the reception was closed, knowing we were just parking then check in. Thereafter she came out as we stood and rung, she came out and said reception is closed and we can wait 30 mins to check in once she's had her break. Rooms were fine, free breakfast which was good and close to the bay. Fine for a one night stop over but no more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.1

Good enough for a stay before/after Fraser Island, but wouldn't stay more than that. Rooms were quite hot at night, although every hostel is the same! Wifi is free but fairly slow! Kitchen is nice and big, but did notice some ants on the kitchen surface which wasn't great

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
7th Feb 2017
6.3

Getting to the hostel from greyhound bus is very confusing- had no idea which stop to get off at and then ended up having to walk in the dark to get there. Room was clean however and spacious, but no lockers for belongings or anything. Nice communal area could easily have spent a few days there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.9

For a hostel called 'Flashpackers - affordable luxury' I would expect there to be at least a ceiling fan in the rooms (if not air con), but there were only floor fans which do nothing if you're on the top bunk or not directly in the stream of air. Additionally, I had to try three different elements before I found one that could actually cook my food, and the kitchen area was filthy. Reception was only sporadically occupied, and $5 for luggage storage is ridiculous.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
6.0

The rooms were boiling hot, making it unbearable to sleep, the pool was murky and there were fruit flies all in the kitchen! Not quite the flash packers i was expecting! But the staff were very nice!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Loved my stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.