Hostelworld.com

Flinders Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
Flinders Backpackers Located at 35 Elizabeth st, , Melbourne.
Flinders Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 35 Elizabeth st
81% 1614
-37.8174291 144.9644494
Flinders Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th May 2016
6.0

The room was really smelly and dirty..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2016
9.1

Excellent service! Great value for money. The only issue was that the bathrooms were not operating on my floor, however I was informed of this well before my stay. Would recommend this place to anyone needing wanting to tour Melbourne :) thumbs up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.1

Great place to stay, great staff, great location, always something to do there, would recommend staying there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
15th May 2016
8.0

Good place to stay, great free breakfast,-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th May 2016
5.4

Very cheap, especially as its in the centre of town, was just not my cup of tea. Room smelt funny but then again it was a 16 bed dorm with filthy backpackers sweating everywhere. Staff were really friendly and helpful. They do free dinner on Thursdays which was a welcome surprise. Internet that i payed 5 dollars for worked half the time and was terrible. The people there sucked, but that is probably just personal preference. Perfect for young backpackers who are staying very short term.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
6.6

Very good location and the staff are very helpful. Facilities aren't the best as they're spread between an awful lot of people. On the whole however it is a comfortable place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
7.7

Situated in a great location in the centre of Melbourne this is a reasonable hostel with activities on each night. It has a good communal area with a Movie room and table tennis amongst other things. Kitchen is large with plenty of pots, pans, plates etc.. However they do not provide glasses/cups. Instead you can buy mugs at reception for AU$1 each. One word of warning there is no oven only hobs. 4 bed dorm bunks were creeky and mattresses were uncomfy. Overall an average hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.7

our was excellent bar one staff member on the desk who was quite rude and made us feel like we were inconveniencing her just checking in!! Everything else was terrific, great value for money and loved the pancake brekkies! also best positioning in town. Will certainly stay there again and recommend it to others :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2016
8.3

I stayed in a room by myself over a weekend. In-room lockers were a good size. I fit my medium size suitcase and a small backpack. If you had to share then security would still be ok. The location and security were really good. The floor of the room I stayed in was dirty, and looked like it hadn't been mopped in a while. The linen and bed was very clean. I didn't participate in any communal activities. As warned, the noise from the street was a bit loud but bearable from Lvl 6.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
8.3

Good location for exploring the city. Rooms are tiny and common area can get pretty loud. Staff was very helpful in answering any questions I had

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.