X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flinders Backpackers Reviews

35 Elizabeth st, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1188 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Main issue is with the $10 i was overcharged. One was $5 dollars I never received back for a towel I rented, and I was charged $10 for 1 wash 1 dry from my account but only received back $5. Its a vibrant place, I liked atmosphere, and although my experience with laundry was bad, its great that if done properly washing is free.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great time and everything was perfect - Thanks


77%

Some wi-fi access would have certainly complimented the facilities.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It was good for a quick and easy stay. However, I wouldn't recommend for more than a few days, as the other guests are incredibly rowdy and I hardly managed to get any sleep in my time there.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Stayed for a week in one of the private doubles. The room couldn't be faulted apart from the windows not really keeping the wind or noise out to well (wasn't a big issue really just would improve the experience). Downstairs didn't feel particularly social though. Free pool was nice but you really do need to provide free wifi as most other countries do. Most of the staff weren't very engaging either and at times didn't seem too happy to be working there. Overall we got good value for money here!


69%

The place is worth for the price. Bad stuff: Wifi is very bad, every door have to be open by magnetic card even the toilet, for me it is a bit too much. They also ask for deposit for everything: to get a mug, to have access to the laundry room et so on.


89%

Great hostel, with keycard access to all floors and bathrooms and to the whole building after hours, made it feel very safe. VHA shuttle from airport that was recommended by the hostel was good value for money and dropped you right at the door, which was helpful otherwise the hostel entrance could be very difficult to find. Excellent location, near lots of restaurants, train station etc. Pretty quiet and clean, and nice staff.


60%

It was expensive to begin with, then I was disappointed to be charged for wifi, not to mention the constantly smokers outside the front entrance so you had to walk through a cloud of smoke. On the good side it was well located and I made new friends.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Staff not very helpful when we were using the lockers. Hard to find the hostel. No insteuctions on how to reach hostel from airport.


80%

It's a good party hostel, good bar/pub downstairs. Noisy. Included breakfast! but not good included breakfast. Free coffee all day! Instant coffee (almost an insult for a city like Melbourne) the stuff where just doing their job & not very friendly. Rooms were ok, big lockers, share big bathrooms & showers. Located on the CBD it's easy to move around. Easy & cheap, but don't expect more.


80%

I love this hostel. I live in the mountain at the moment but whenever i go to the city me and my friends stay at this hostel. Room is bit small but cozy and comfortable . Location is perfect.


94%

Hostel is located in the center so you don't have to walk much to reach the sights. Kitchen is well equipped, although on the last day of our stay there were not many cups (I wonder what happened to them :D ). Breakfast was good (but don't try Vegemite!). Our room was big enough and clean. Bathroom was nice and clean. The only disadvantage is that there's a club on 1st flour, so it was quite noisy during evenings/ nights.


86%

Liked the hostel and thought the evenings they organised every night were a good idea. Still for me it was too big and too many people to have the atmosphere I prefer, although I realise that other people may like that. Also a random side note for 3 days in a row everytime I went to have a shower they were being cleaned for at least 1 hour, meaning I had to go to another floor. Bit annoying

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests Thanks for your review. Sorry about the cleaning of the bathroom times, but at least its getting a good clean right? Happy Travels Flinders Staff

86%

The first time I stayed at this hostel it was wonderful. I stayed in a 16person mixed dorm and I made friends, made use of the kitchen, and bar. Overall I had a pleasant and fun stay. The second time around I stayed in an all girls 4 person dorm, it was too small and the bed squeaked a lot and I could hear a lot of swearing out on the streets but besides that it was a good stay and I will probably return. Kind regards, Richelle townsend

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased you had a good stay and made friends, that's what hostel life is all about. I have passed on to our maintenance team about the issue with the bed in 622. Thanks for bringing that to our attention. Hope to see you again sometime. Flinders Staff

97%

We had such a good experience at this hostel! Great location and value for money- would definitely recommend!

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests Thanks for the fantastic comments. We are so pleased you had a positive experience staying with us. Best of luck with your future travels. Flinders Staff

89%

Really nice and helpful staff!. Our room 912 got really cold though.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for you nice comments about our staff. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

94%

Great Hostel. Definitely where to stay for a short trip in Melbourne!


86%

After reading all of the reviews about this hostel, I was a bit worried as I had booked it for 4 of us. I have travelled all throughout Europe and this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. We booked a private double en-suite and it was perfect! As we travelled here in July, it was pretty chilly outside, but you get supplied with a oil heater and it made such a difference! The lady who checked us in was lovely and all round I will definitely re book when we come back! Perfect location too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests Thanks for the awesome review and giving as a chance despite what you had read about the hostel. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

80%

Perfect location!


83%

The room was too cold. There was cold air coming through the window even after it was closed.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback