Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flinders Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2121 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2121 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
8.9

Rooms were clean and value for money! Includes linen and towel and the toilets are cleaned very day. The location is fantastic. We met this German flinders backpackers staff who was really helpful at the front desk and also told backpackers what they should be and should not be doing in a very friendly and pleasant way. She's a great staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
2.0

We booked a 2 beds private room for 3 persons (as selected on hostelworld) and when we arrived there they told us the room was maximum 2 persons for safety purposes so they didn't let us, the hostel was full and we lost our money and we needed to book another hostel. We are really really disappointed about hostelworld and flinders backbacker. Will never book there again, and nor with hostelworld again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
8.9

Atmosphere was good, and the bar next door was fun. Kitchen facilities were on point.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
8.3

The facilities at the hostel were sufficient during my stay. There was plenty of space in the room as well as lockers provided (byo lock) for each person. Clean linen and beds were comfortable. Well secure premises and clean bathroom facilities that were cleaned daily during my stay. My main criticism would be the atmosphere at the hostel. I would have liked to have seen more events for short term travellers (especially on the weekends) in the form of pub crawls, bar tours or the like.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Feb 2017
7.1

I was nervous to stay here because of things I had heard. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't great either. Free pancakes were awesome. The staff were really lovely and gave recommendations of things to do. But the place is so big that it's lacking atmosphere and its not always super clean because I imagine a place so large is hard to maintain. There was also only one lift, which made wait times really long. You could take the stairs, but they were kinda sketchy. Great location in CBD though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cpreston
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
8.3

Great location, really helpful staff, enough space for everyone I'm the kitchens and common areas. The only negative was the 4 bed dorm I was in was wayyy too small for 4 people, the 2people on the bottom bunk had obviously been there for ages and took up literally all the floor space so I couldn't move or do anything comfortably.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
8.3

Positive points: It's in the middle of CBD. Everything you need is just around the corner. Clean and big bathrooms, separate by gender Free pancakes :) Negative points: Just one lift works (for 7 levels full of backpackers, so it was very annoying to wait 10/15 min everytime to go to the room. if you have light sleep it will be a problem cuz the trains are very noisy and work the whole night. Overall it was a good stay, but I think they could charge less for the big room (14 people).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Large hostel, right in the middle of the city. There's a market across the street and several tram stops nearby. It was clean, and offered complimentary breakfast which was nice. Wifi is not free and even when you pay $1 for 30 min, it's terrible. Also, beds are pretty uncomfortable. Otherwise, it was very clean, has a nice bar downstairs and tons of activities during the week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
8.9

Excellent location, nice clean rooms, free breakfast is underrated and much better than you expect very convenient, free wifi would be nice and easy to change but apart from that great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Really enjoyed our stay at Flinders :) for such a big hostel it could easily have been rubbish and just like a Base or Nomads however the staff were super lovely and helpful (Jeff even went all the way up 6 storeys just to put a parcel I received on my bed!), the facilities were awesome never queued for a shower kitchen always clean and so much free stuff! Only issue was we had some weird stains on our duvet cover but weren't bothered enough to complain. Overall great vibe and location too :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.