Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flinders Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,020 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,020 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
Flinders Backpackers Located at 35 Elizabeth st, , Melbourne.
Flinders Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 35 Elizabeth st
83% 2020
-37.8174291 144.9644494
Flinders Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jan 2017
10.0

No complaints staying here- great location, helpful staff and some awesome activities. I recommend Flinders to anyone passing through Melbourne 👍🏼

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
7.1

Somebody stole my pasta pesto tomato cheese chicken spinach garlic and onion. A lot of care went into that dish and it was left on the side to cool down for tomorrow's lunch. When I came back it was gone. It's safe to say this was a truly traumatising experience and one I would wish never to happen to another backpacker, other than to the thieving culprit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.0

Friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, excellent kitchen facilities, perfect set up for free breakfast and one free meal a week (get there early!). My only downfall was the noisiness of the trams and traffic outside the room. Although you tuned out eventually, it was hard to fall asleep with. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jan 2017
6.9

Honestly, I can sum it up in one word: meh. It works for what it is, but it's pretty much just a massive hostel with facilities that are good, but don't go beyond any expectations. Gotta pay for wifi, which makes sense for such a huge place. Not much atmosphere cuz everyone is just doing their own thing. Staff friendly. Bathrooms kinda dirty even though I know they clean them every day. I think it's due for a renovation...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.4

This hostel is in a fab location in Melbourne, literally opposite the train station and tram stops, couldn't be in a better spot. Like the hostel does state, the traffic noise and trams can be a disturbance at night but you get used to it. Beds are really comfy and hostel is fab. Can't complain. The only fault I found is cleaning the bathrooms at stupid times of the day like 930 when you want to go out and waiting ages for a lift, but stairs are a good workout! Lovely place :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
8.3

Great place if you are a young traveler looking for serious party vibes. Most staying here are living while working and it is very lively. Kitchen for cooking is a bonus, rooms are large but loud with people coming in at all hours of the night. If you want to meet people to party with, this place is for you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jan 2017
6.9

Hostel location was excellent. Free breakfast was good. While I don't expect air conditioning in a hostel, I don't understand why the fans in the rooms are wall-mounted and facing away from the beds?! Between the rooms being boiling and the incredibly loud noise from the trams right outside, it was very hard to sleep. The atmosphere was a bit strange and the only event I went to wasn't very social at all. Overall fine. Clean and comfortable beds - proper pillows unlike a lot of hostels!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
6.6

Party hostel- located above a bar in the heart of downtown close to all trams No air con- cant keep windows open at night due to noise Rooms are quiet, beds are comfy, bathrooms kept clean Feels more like a hotel with all the rooms and small common area (although well equppied for pre parties) Free breakfast

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.9

Im Großen und ganzen ein sehr gutes Hostel. + freundliches Personal ( mein Gepäck ist nicht angekommen und sie haben mir geholfen) + saubere Zimmer + Mega gut Lage, besser geht es nicht + kostenloses Frühstück ( Toast, Cornflakes, pancakes ) + aufgeräumte und saubere Küche - bisschen lauter, weil direkt an der Haupstraße, aber dafür die gut Lage - Toiletten nicht sehr sauber ( warum spülen viele Leute nicht?! ) Duschen vollkommen okay Kanns nur weiter empfehlen ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
9.1

We loved staying at Flinders! The staff were super helpful, friendly and were always around if you needed help! The Hostel had everything and I would 100% go back again! Thanks so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.