X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flinders Backpackers Reviews

35 Elizabeth st, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1092 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I think you're really paying for the location with this hostel. As a hostel overall it's acceptable but the location really is fantastic.


86%

Really good hostel and good value. Staffs were great, helpful and friendly. The location is very good and convenient, right in front of the Flinders Street station and everything is nearby. Facilities are good,too. Kitchen is kind of big and well equipped. Eating space is enough for people. Bathroom and laundry were good,too. The breakfast is good and enough. One bad thing would be that the room card often didn't work and I had to change it. Other than that everything is good and I recommend.


80%

I really like that there are locker in room and a lots of space under bunk bed. But I don't like that other people can use lift go up to my floor so it may be not safe.


100%

Backpacker was so nice for these money that I paid for it. Staff was very friendly, bathrooms and dorms were pretty clean. One thing that I didn't liked it's a water in shower, because warm water wasn't constant at all, also all doors were squeaky, but reliable though. Managment please do something with water and doors, please. 8,5/10👌 Стоит того, чтобы здесь пожить.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • iaintplayinnogames
  • Estonia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location, good breakie and friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! All the best with your trip. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

57%

Well the location is great,and there's a massive kitchen and comfy TV room. The staff are so rude I found myself open-mouthed with shock listening to them talking to other guests, talk about making people feel unwelcome and not giving two s***s about your job! There were cockroaches running around my corridor, which was grubby and dingy- although at least a lot more spacious than the tiny cramped rooms. At least the bathrooms on the bedroom floors are clean and there's a cheap bar downstairs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests We are sorry our staff didn't live up to your expectations and we are unsure of the situation you witnessed. The only explanation I can give you is that sometime when guests do the wrong thing we need to make it clear that their behaviour is inappropriate as the hostel is a communal environment. I can understand how this would look to other people who didn't know the whole story. Flinders Staff

89%

close to station and main attractions. very clean room and bathroom. love the free breakfast and pancakes! but you have to pay for the Internet. sometimes it's quite noisy from the street and bar downstairs.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Happy top hear you enjoyed your stay and loved the pancakes!! Happy Travels Flinders Staff

86%

Sometimes the bar can be noisy just on the weekend .

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Yep the bar can get loud on the weekends but most guest of our guests seem not to mind as the location is great and the hostel is a awesome place to meet people. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

89%

Decent place. Clean beds, bathrooms. Very big common area, kitchen and movie room which can accommodate for the large amount of guests and makes for a nice balanced vibe between short and long term stayers. Excellent location right in the heart of Melbourne's CBD and on the free tram route. A little noise from the street at night is to be expected. Free breakfast and pancakes is a really nice touch. Thanks to Shane and Kirri on reception for being so nice! Would highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for the fantastic review. We appreciate your support and comments. Hope to see you again sometime. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

63%

Couldn't close the window, seems a bit messy. check in took very long. Location and movie room were great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. I'm sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We will look into why they window in your would not close. Please see reception anytime if you have a maintenance issue as we can often fix any problems very quickly. Our reception does get very busy around the 1pm check in time so we appreciate your patience during the process. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

83%

Great location! Pancakes free everyday, lovely staff!

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review. Have a great time traveling Australia. Flinders Staff

97%

Stayed at Flinders for two weeks at the end of my trip and loved it! Great hostel, right in the city with a great atmosphere. The hostel organised an evening at one of the comedy festival shows, Great evening. Shane and Kerri were always very helpful, friendly and a laugh!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review. So happy to hear you enjoyed the outing to the comedy festival and we helped make the end of your trip a memorable one. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

91%

I really liked that hostel, pancakes everyday haha but serious, whereas it is located is perfect, free tram right in front of the hostel 3 min to big shopping malls, 10-15 min to Central station (Southern cross), locker in every room, enough space to put your luggage, etc. Just the entrance is a little bit hidden Thumps up - great hostel


89%

the noise was very bad

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear that the noise really effected your stay. Unfortunately that is the on of the things that we cant control as of our location in the heart of the CBD and with the nightclub in the basement. That is why we have the disclaimer on hostelworld so that guests know before booking with us. For some guest however this does not effect them staying with us happily for months while they live in Melbourne, so don't be put off! Flinders Staff

86%

Wifi was expensive especially as I couldnt use it in my room on the 6th floor. Pancakes for breakfast were awesome. The staff were all lovely. Shane was really good at giving directions, I got lost very easily

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Shane is the best hey? And how good are pancakes ever morning when your on holiday? We think our Wi-Fi is great value at $5 a day or $20 a week but I can see how it would be expensive when you cant use it in your room. We will look into the Wi-Fi problem on level six so other guests don't have the same problems Happy Travels Flinders Staff

66%

Really noisy hostel, and not very clean. But good common room and excellent film room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that the noise let down your stay with us a bit. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

100%

The Best , the Staff was excellent, considerite well manered, very helpful, informative,.The rooms very clean and excellent bedlinning, the bathrooms where great, showers good, clean, security was very good and made to feel safe. position was the best, for the low price rooms acommadation, love the cooking facilitys, clean easy buget cost savings, including free breakfast from toast to cereral ,tea coffee, all the cook wear you need ,but most of all the politnest of people. 5 star, for hostals.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the amazing review Its so good to hear the staff help made your stay a great one. If your ever back in Melbourne we would love to see you again! Flinders Staff

86%

Awesome hostel with all the things you'll need for a short or long stay. Beds a bit small but hey, I'm 6 ft 4 :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fantastic review! Best of luck with the rest of your Australia holiday! Flinders Staff

94%

So close to downtown and so safe...for a few bucks...awesome

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fab review! You rock! I hope you had an awesome stay in Melbourne. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

74%

Rooms are clean


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback