Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flinders Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
Flinders Backpackers Located at 35 Elizabeth st, , Melbourne.
Flinders Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 35 Elizabeth st
82% 1725
-37.8174291 144.9644494
Flinders Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Aug 2016
9.1

Excellent city centre option. Friendly staff, secure, clean dorms/bathrooms and free pancakes in the morning are all positives. Negatives: you have to pay for everything what besides. Baggage storage, mugs, WiFi. Would happily stay there again though. Also, free dinner on Thursday nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
5.7

Room smelt bad. Cleaners came a little before 9am in mornings, and often opened doors without knocking. We had booked and paid to stay for four nights only to have a male staff member burst into our room, without knocking, a day before we were leaving and rudely ask us if we were checking out when we were getting dressed (three women). After explaining we had already paid he then responded saying that was not in his computer I had to find paper work to prove it. No Apology for error. Rude Staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

This was a great hostel! Simple, clean, modern and great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
8.9

Perfect location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Stayed here 3 times now and couldn't say anything bad about it, great central hostel lots going on and free breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.3

Plentiful breakfast. Good kitchen facilities. Good location. No hot water in the showers on one of the days we stayed. The problem was being fixed though. When the water is hot the showers are great! Wifi isn't free, even in the common areas, which is disappointing considering the price you pay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
4.9

Staff are fine! However this hostel seems to attract strange people who are very rude hence the atmosphere being terrible. The two rooms I was in both had a very odd smell...not nice! Kitchen was fine! Wouldn't stay again if I'm honest!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2016
6.6

Excellent location very central for everything. Huge kitchen with free breakfast every morning. Only thing I would say was the room was cold. Our room had a single grazed window with a cold draft blowing through it. You get a little heater but it doesn't give much heat.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Such a good hostel, very well located. Loved the free table tennis and pool in the communal area and the pancakes in the morning were amazing! Only criticism would be that for the three days I was there the showers were cold every day, also the room itself was cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
8.6

Fantastic central location, a bit noisy at night as in the middle of the city (trams etc) however that didn't bother us at all. Free breakfast was pretty standard and plentiful. Lockers were cheap and huge for big suitcases upon checkout. Love that they offer activities each night and there is a bar just downstairs with reasonable priced drinks :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.