Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flinders Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Rebbyrebrebs
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.1

We had a really easy stay: great location, key card access to rooms and bathrooms and four power points for our twin share room. The bar on Level 1 has great deals and seemed to be really popular. Free pancakes for breakfast is a great idea (though we were never up in time) and there seemed to be loads of activities on offer. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dyanleota1904
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

Was a great experience. Keep it up!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
17th Apr 2017
6.6

Ok hostel for one night. Common area is unwelcoming, you don't come into the hostel unless one of the security guards from the bar lets you up. No free wifi included. Free breakfast is nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Good overall experience. This is a big hostel so get used to waiting. There is always a line for the front desk, the elevator, everything in the kitchen (burners, sinks). Free breakfast in the morning is great (pancakes, cereal, bread and spreads) but again, expect lines (15+ mins for pancakes). Free pasta and rice too. Rooms are nice, bathrooms fine and location is great. If you can handle waiting, it's a good stay. No free wifi and weak if you pay so I recommend using free wifi in the parks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.9

Great location, right in the centre of Melbourne CBD. We enjoyed our stay here, which included a free curry on the night time and free breakast (make your own pancakes). Everything was very clean which is important! The staff were helpful in pointing out good places to see in Melbourne for us, and the room was very spacious considering the amount of beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • asyraf1925
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Friendly staff, breakfast was provided and people staying there were friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
8.9

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were really clean despite being full (we were in an 18 bed dorm). The bathrooms were also very clean. They weren't on the same floor as the room but that didn't really matter. There was no free wifi which was a bit annoying. The location is perfect - Very central and close to the main streets for shopping and restaurants and bars. Would definitely recommend this hostel for exploring Melbourne.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Decent facilities, free breakfast which is nice including pancakes, yum!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the great review. We are so pleased to hear that you liked our all you can eat free breakfast. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
8.6

Amazing location, cheap, and very accessible. Lift was down when I was here Apr 2017, but overall I get what I paid for. Recommended if on budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review. Hope to see you again in the furture Flinders Staff

8th Apr 2017
8.0

Severe rules focused on bad behaviour didn't contribute to a better atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.