X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flinders Station Backpackers Reviews

35 Elizabeth st, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1006 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

We have stayed in several hostels around the world and found the staff and facilities poor. We stayed in the deluxe ensuite room which had drink making facilities - Yet the milk that was supplied was 6 months out of date. Unfortunatly we drank it in our morning coffee as the curdling had sunk to the bottom of the cup! We then suffered for the day with stomach cramps and vomiting. The hostels staff reponse was poor - "sorry we did not know" and "maybe we should check them"

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

A bit cramped... We had five in our room... one was a "pick-up" by a young bloke in our room... ! They insisted on making love for most of the night without shame..... PS Your desktop internet facility barely works.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Not too bad. Was not happy about having to wait until 1 to check in and get charged to put bag in storage, bit of a joke

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Beds n rooms were good, bathrooms were ok. Good common areas. Staff were average at best. Some strange rules in the hostel ie. pay for internet, free coffee but you have to buy a cup...


74%

The kitchen and communal areas were kept really clean all the time which was brilliant . The room was good and housekeeping came round everyday. The bathrooms were clean. The most disappointing thing about the hostel was the staff, a couple of them were lovely but most of them were rude and lacked any customer service skills, the way they spoke to some of the guests was awful. Also the hotel bar was very loud on the weekend, don't expect a quiet night!

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location, nice big kitchen space and social area.


49%

you have to pay for Wifi, not the cheapest, and on top of that it was even to slow to Skype! which was very frustrating!! cardboard walls and even on the 7th floor a lot of noises from both inside and outside the hostel. Loud conversations at 4 in the morning weren't welcome either. tea and coffee is free but 1$ for a cup. no luggage room, only lockers for which you have to pay. bad mattress. Good location though.


86%

Very to difficult to locate the place because lack of sign board. Suggest to put up more sign board a big one and easy to read. The price is a bit on higher side, please consider to make it more competitive.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very well located, clean, efficient friendly staff , unexpected free dinner and pancakes for breakfast: a good experience.


74%

Good hostel, most central location in the CBD, free breakfast with pancakes is nice!


51%

First things first, if you want a hot shower dont even bother. Perfect location, perfect kitchen. Everything else was horrific. One of the lifts was broken so the one lift for 10 floors. The cleaners clean the toilets and stairs at the most awkward times when your trying to get to work. One day they wouldnt let me into the toilet, already running late for work. I went to go up a floor but couldnt because they were cleaning the stair and wouldnt let me. So waited 11 minutes for the lift. Pish

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We really enjoyed our stay at Flinder Station. The free meal was a pretty good curry and every morning there is Free Pancakes, toast and cornflakes. The location of the hostel was excellent to visit the city and the price for a private room is good. It was clean and the staff was friendly.


74%

Entrance is a little bit find difficult. Other is good.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

Rooms were like a prison cell

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a great hostel the location is brilliant right in town, the only thing i'd say as a negative was the top bunks had no cage thingy around it so when climbing up and sleeping in after a big night out was a wee bit worrying! other then that, great hostel great stay two thumbs up!!


94%

the hostel was located very conveniently next to loads of shops, a tram and train station and a free wi-fi spot at "happy travels" downstairs. the rooms were clean and breakfast was good. great opportunity to meet people!


91%

I stayed for 3 day in 4girls share room. Great place! Great location! Very helpful and friendly staff !! Excellent value for money!!! I will comeback for sure )))))

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Didn't realize the hostel was above a nightclub and it was rather loud when we tried to sleep at normal times and most nights found it extremely hard to sleep.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. Our Hostelworld hostel information does ask you to take note before booking: "Flinders Backpackers is in the heart of the busy CBD. As such, guests may be disturbed by noise due to trams, traffic, and people on the busy streets surrounding the hostel. Friday and Saturday night’s guests may also be disturbed by noise from the bar in the basement" Happy Travels Flinders Staff

34%

AWFUL place

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, but hope the rest of your time in Australia is better Happy travels Flinders Staff

80%

Nice place I was on the 3rd floor rooms were good and bathroom real good unless you shower early Nice people great young kids about were from the world around a good breakfast was laid out Every mourning just enought to kick start your body.


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback