X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flinders Station Backpackers Reviews

35 Elizabeth st, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
916 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Staff were great, very friendly, room was clean and so so comfortable, breakfast was perfect. Will definitely stay again.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

We stayed there one night, in a twin room. The bedroom was cosy and clean. Bathroom (shared) was okay but the main problem is the noise. We stayed at level sixth and we could hear loud music coming from the bar on first floor, just as if we were there, people chatting/yelling in the street, and the tramway... So noisy! The worse was probably the other backpackers who don't care about your sleep and act as if they were alone on the building, but that's the case in every backpack...

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location, nice staff, free breakfast, pool table, table tennis, giant movie collection. Stayed for a week and had no issues. Definitely recommend!


69%

My sister and I stayed here for a weekend. It's nothing like the photos on the website. We booked a private room and was very basic, the tv was positioned facing the wardrobe so neither of us was able to watch the tv if we wanted to, the room was cold and the curtains didn't fit the window properly so let the cold air in. The beds were clean but the mattress that came with them were all springs and dipped in the middle and was very uncomfortable. Gallery is false advertisement. Bin was emptied.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for leaving a review as it has given us valuable input to your stay. You room should of reflected photo 8 on our gallery but after inspection we found it didn't. Thanks to your review we change the room around, replaced the mattresses and inspected all of the other Twin rooms in our building for similar problems. If you are ever unhappy with the room during your stay we encourage all guest to speak with our reception team. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

94%

Great place to stay in melbourne will stay again soon

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

91%

Awesome location. Bathrooms clean and suitable. Good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review after having a good stay. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

57%

Showers were cold!!! No free wifi, No free luggage storage before or after check-in or check-out, need to pay for a mug. Staff was not friendly. Staff pack up breakfast early.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to change and improve. Our internet is not free but great value at $2 hour, $5 a day, $20 a week. The safest bag storage is in a secure locker which is $5 for 24 hours. Unfortunately the only way to keep mugs in the kitchen is to sell them for $1, to compensate we provide free tea and coffee. Our breakfast is between 7.30 - 9.30am. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

60%

In my previous hostel experiences, the staff have been very friendly and welcoming to guests. In this case I wasn't smiled at once by a staff member and felt like I was an annoyance by just staying there, it wasn't a nice feeling.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Horibial would not let me and girl friend stay we had resavations and all she forgot is id had to then find other hotel at 10 at night after long trip would not reconamend to any one .space hotel is way to go

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Found my room to be really clean including bathrooms. Great value for money!

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are very pleased you had a great stay. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

69%

Unfortunately very noisy. Saturday night the pub plays dico musib till 4am. The tram stop in Elizabeth St is also very noisy. I didnt get much sleep during the 5 days I was there.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that your sleep was interrupted during stay. Our location within the city is fanatic but with that location comes the hustle and bustle of the city noise. We also a disclaimer on the website about the additional possible interruption of the nightclub in the building on Friday and Saturday nights. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

89%

Ideal location

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

97%

hi yes I found your place and my room to be very clean and the staff very helpful so good on you only problem I found was I could not find a mug for a coffee with the free breakfast but apart from that all was good

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately most mugs end up in guests rooms and not in the kitchen. To try solve this problem we sell mugs for $1 and to compensate we provide free tea and coffee all day. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

63%

Average. Noisy at night. Location and value for money was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As we are located in the very heart of the city we do get a lot of noise from trams, traffic and people on the street. We are sorry this or any other noise disturbed you during you stay. Happy Travels Flinders Staff and Management

51%

The room was not clean at all and it was not clear which beds were free to use. The broken lockers should be replaced, so one can put the valuables in a save place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. All feedback is appreciated as it provides a chance for as to change and improve. We apologise that your stay was not up to expectations. Our receptions staff are available to solve any issues in the rooms or other areas hostel of the hostel. Thanks to your review the broken locker issue in the room was brought to our attention allowing us to removed and replaced them. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

83%

First off, the location for this place couldn't be any more perfect, right in the heart of the city, easy to walk everywhere and is across the road from finders St station so public transport is very easy to access. I was on the 10th floor so there was no issue of noise from the bar below or anything like that however drunk people loudly returning to their rooms on w/e nights can be annoying. Staff were friendly, rooms were small but good, bathrooms were mostly kept clean.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

94%

Free breakfast, friendly vibe and central location! :)

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

89%

Good hostel, very good location and very helpfull staff. Also its great to have breakfast supplied.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

60%

The staff was the main downfall in this hostel. Throughout my stay they didnt seem the slightest bit interested in helping me. ie. I was checking out early and wanted to leave my bag. There was clearly enough space in the luggege area but refused me putting my bag there as it was only for people arriving! The receptionest was very rude in dealing with the situation. Location is good, thats all...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. All feedback is appreciated as it gives us a chance to change and improve. Thanks to your comments we relised that the old luggage storage situation was not working, so we now provide the safest unattended luggage storage solution with secure lockers for $5 for 24 hours. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

60%

we stayed in a private room with ensuite bathroom. the staff came in every day but just took the rubbish, even if it wasn't necessary. they didn't fill up the toilet paper or the tea and coffee in the room. the guy when we checked-out was also very unfriendly.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. All feedback is appreciated as it gives us a chance to change and improve. The issues you mentioned have been discussed with outr cleaning staff and reception staff. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback