X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flinders Station Backpackers Reviews

35 Elizabeth st, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1035 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The showers were terrible: dirty floor, water went from boiling hot or freezing cold without even touching the tap, there was no in between. Our window in the room didn't close properly. The room it self was good though, bed was relatively comfy. The location was fantastic. Great hostel for a 1-2 night stay

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

The staff at the Hostel are very rude, insulting, and make racist comments. Had a very very Bad Experience.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your slanderous comments about our staff. They were neither rude, insulting or racist to you while explaining that you had to had photo ID to check in. This is clearly stated on Hostelworld in our property information and things to note sections when making a booking. You behavior at the desk and the proceeding abusive phone calls made it clear to us that we were thankful not to have you as a guest with us. Regardless we wish you all the best with your future travels

71%

Great location, but very noisy, too hot without conditioners. Also, there are too many issues with smokers who seems to smoke through windows and also the hall of the building is also pretty much filled with tobacco smoke as well.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Thanks Shane : )

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Contra: very loud (as advertised) but bearable thanks to white noise from room fan. Pro: the rest (not super good but still good)


97%

Great location, close to the station, tram, shops and cafe, clean room, friendly staff, free breakfast and spacious common areas. Only toilets could be cleaned a bit more. Definitely raccomend it if you are in Melbourne!!!


94%

Great time overall spent here special shout out to the bearded irish guy who checked us in! Would recommend this hostel to anyone location is superb

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Maybe one negative point: The elevator is very slow and sometime confuse people - I met people in the lift which felt very lost between the floors.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was great, I stayed there for only one night cause i didnt have much time but if i go back definitely i ll go there again.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Basically there's no slats on our bed, so there's nothing to support the bed. She said she can give us refund and we can go find somewhere else to stay,I told her it was Australian open plus the Australia day long weekend, all other places were booked out. She then say she can try to call someone and try to fix it. Even the slats were fixed, the attitude of the staffs weren't nice nor helpful. Our room wasn't clean, and look nothing like their photos on their website.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Few facilities (laundry, kitchen, bathrooms) compared to amounts of bed. Moreover, cleaning takes place during busy times so that kitchen and bathrooms are closed randomly.


80%

When we arrives a gentleman with a beard served us, and he was very friendly and helpful and was very personable. The room was what i expected and the people were nice.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Showers were clean. It was nice to have breakfast included. I had a good time there!

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

We have stayed in several hostels around the world and found the staff and facilities poor. We stayed in the deluxe ensuite room which had drink making facilities - Yet the milk that was supplied was 6 months out of date. Unfortunatly we drank it in our morning coffee as the curdling had sunk to the bottom of the cup! We then suffered for the day with stomach cramps and vomiting. The hostels staff reponse was poor - "sorry we did not know" and "maybe we should check them"

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

A bit cramped... We had five in our room... one was a "pick-up" by a young bloke in our room... ! They insisted on making love for most of the night without shame..... PS Your desktop internet facility barely works.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Not too bad. Was not happy about having to wait until 1 to check in and get charged to put bag in storage, bit of a joke

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Beds n rooms were good, bathrooms were ok. Good common areas. Staff were average at best. Some strange rules in the hostel ie. pay for internet, free coffee but you have to buy a cup...


74%

The kitchen and communal areas were kept really clean all the time which was brilliant . The room was good and housekeeping came round everyday. The bathrooms were clean. The most disappointing thing about the hostel was the staff, a couple of them were lovely but most of them were rude and lacked any customer service skills, the way they spoke to some of the guests was awful. Also the hotel bar was very loud on the weekend, don't expect a quiet night!

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location, nice big kitchen space and social area.


49%

you have to pay for Wifi, not the cheapest, and on top of that it was even to slow to Skype! which was very frustrating!! cardboard walls and even on the 7th floor a lot of noises from both inside and outside the hostel. Loud conversations at 4 in the morning weren't welcome either. tea and coffee is free but 1$ for a cup. no luggage room, only lockers for which you have to pay. bad mattress. Good location though.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback