X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flinders Station Backpackers Reviews

35 Elizabeth st, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1055 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

the noise was very bad

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Really noisy hostel, and not very clean. But good common room and excellent film room


100%

The Best , the Staff was excellent, considerite well manered, very helpful, informative,.The rooms very clean and excellent bedlinning, the bathrooms where great, showers good, clean, security was very good and made to feel safe. position was the best, for the low price rooms acommadation, love the cooking facilitys, clean easy buget cost savings, including free breakfast from toast to cereral ,tea coffee, all the cook wear you need ,but most of all the politnest of people. 5 star, for hostals.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome hostel with all the things you'll need for a short or long stay. Beds a bit small but hey, I'm 6 ft 4 :)


94%

So close to downtown and so safe...for a few bucks...awesome

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fab review! You rock! I hope you had an awesome stay in Melbourne. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

74%

Rooms are clean


86%

The hostel was clean

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you in Melbourne again soon! Happy Travels Flinders Staff

43%

Our stay was very bad! We booked a twin private room but we got a 2 bunk dorm, when we went to reception to complain about it and they said that we could upgrade to the room we booked if we paid $15 extra. Bathrooms were very dirty! They came in the room to empty the garbagebin at 10 but had no. time to clean the bathrooms.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback I hope the email I sent you clears up any doubts that you did in fact book a twin basic room which has on the Hostelworld website in the room description that this room has a bunk bed in it. The reason why this room is a basic twin is that it is $72 a night for 2 people! What a fantastic price! I feel my staff did the right thing by explaining which room you booked and offering you the room you wanted for the additional cost. Flinders Staff

71%

The showers were terrible: dirty floor, water went from boiling hot or freezing cold without even touching the tap, there was no in between. Our window in the room didn't close properly. The room it self was good though, bed was relatively comfy. The location was fantastic. Great hostel for a 1-2 night stay

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so thankful for your review. We had no idea there was an issue with the hot water in the shower on level 4 female bathrooms. The day we got your review we had the plumbers out to fix the issue that afternoon. When we spoke to some of our long term guest on level 4 they just said they just dealt with it and went to another level! So let me say thanks from the future residents of level 4 for your feedback. Happy travels and we hope to see you in Melbourne again soon Flinders Staff

80%

Great location, liked the movie room and free breakfast. It's a very big hostel with hundreds of people coming and going so loses atmosphere because of that but it was clean and not noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We love the movie room and how good is the free pancakes every morning?!?! Happy Travels Flinders Staff

71%

We had a double bed room, which was Ok. The bathrooms are clean. The kitchen is quite big, but it gets crowdy during the free breakfast time. And its too loud, when the TV is on and music is playing. In my opinion they should throw unlabeled food in the bin instead of giving the people one week to label it. There was a lot in the fridge room. The central location is perfect for discovering the CBD. Special thanks to Shane for the easy checkout.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback on your stay! Our level 3 reception area does get busy and noisy in peak times but the staff work hard to keep it clean and organised. Our walk in fridge does fill up but we need to give guests the opportunity to label their food correctly which is why we give guests a week so we don't throw out some poor backpackers only dinner supplies. Best of luck with your future travels and we hope to see you again in Melbourne some time. Flinders Staff

20%

The staff at the Hostel are very rude, insulting, and make racist comments. Had a very very Bad Experience.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your slanderous comments about our staff. They were neither rude, insulting or racist to you while explaining that you had to had photo ID to check in. This is clearly stated on Hostelworld in our property information and things to note sections when making a booking. You behavior at the desk and the proceeding abusive phone calls made it clear to us that we were thankful not to have you as a guest with us. Regardless we wish you all the best with your future travels

71%

Great location, but very noisy, too hot without conditioners. Also, there are too many issues with smokers who seems to smoke through windows and also the hall of the building is also pretty much filled with tobacco smoke as well.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that other guests smoking effected your stay, we have a strict no smoking policy and our staff to frequent walk around of the building asking guest to leave if they are caught smoking inside. We urge all guest to seek out reception at the time a problem happening so we can deal with the situation immediately. Best of luck with you future travels and we hope to see you back in Melbourne soon. Flinders Staff

69%

Thanks Shane : )

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yep Shane is a rock star staff member! Happy Travels Flinders Staff

83%

Contra: very loud (as advertised) but bearable thanks to white noise from room fan. Pro: the rest (not super good but still good)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! Wow is it noisy in the city huh? Still you can beat the location. We hope you had a fantastic time exploring the city. Happy Travels Flinderss Staff

97%

Great location, close to the station, tram, shops and cafe, clean room, friendly staff, free breakfast and spacious common areas. Only toilets could be cleaned a bit more. Definitely raccomend it if you are in Melbourne!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Best of luck with you future travels around Oz. Flinders Staff

94%

Great time overall spent here special shout out to the bearded irish guy who checked us in! Would recommend this hostel to anyone location is superb

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Maybe one negative point: The elevator is very slow and sometime confuse people - I met people in the lift which felt very lost between the floors.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was great, I stayed there for only one night cause i didnt have much time but if i go back definitely i ll go there again.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Basically there's no slats on our bed, so there's nothing to support the bed. She said she can give us refund and we can go find somewhere else to stay,I told her it was Australian open plus the Australia day long weekend, all other places were booked out. She then say she can try to call someone and try to fix it. Even the slats were fixed, the attitude of the staffs weren't nice nor helpful. Our room wasn't clean, and look nothing like their photos on their website.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback