X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flinders Station Backpackers Reviews

35 Elizabeth st, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1077 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good location, good breakie and friendly staff


57%

Well the location is great,and there's a massive kitchen and comfy TV room. The staff are so rude I found myself open-mouthed with shock listening to them talking to other guests, talk about making people feel unwelcome and not giving two s***s about your job! There were cockroaches running around my corridor, which was grubby and dingy- although at least a lot more spacious than the tiny cramped rooms. At least the bathrooms on the bedroom floors are clean and there's a cheap bar downstairs


89%

close to station and main attractions. very clean room and bathroom. love the free breakfast and pancakes! but you have to pay for the Internet. sometimes it's quite noisy from the street and bar downstairs.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Sometimes the bar can be noisy just on the weekend .

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Decent place. Clean beds, bathrooms. Very big common area, kitchen and movie room which can accommodate for the large amount of guests and makes for a nice balanced vibe between short and long term stayers. Excellent location right in the heart of Melbourne's CBD and on the free tram route. A little noise from the street at night is to be expected. Free breakfast and pancakes is a really nice touch. Thanks to Shane and Kirri on reception for being so nice! Would highly recommend.


63%

Couldn't close the window, seems a bit messy. check in took very long. Location and movie room were great.


83%

Great location! Pancakes free everyday, lovely staff!

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review. Have a great time traveling Australia. Flinders Staff

97%

Stayed at Flinders for two weeks at the end of my trip and loved it! Great hostel, right in the city with a great atmosphere. The hostel organised an evening at one of the comedy festival shows, Great evening. Shane and Kerri were always very helpful, friendly and a laugh!


91%

I really liked that hostel, pancakes everyday haha but serious, whereas it is located is perfect, free tram right in front of the hostel 3 min to big shopping malls, 10-15 min to Central station (Southern cross), locker in every room, enough space to put your luggage, etc. Just the entrance is a little bit hidden Thumps up - great hostel


89%

the noise was very bad

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear that the noise really effected your stay. Unfortunately that is the on of the things that we cant control as of our location in the heart of the CBD and with the nightclub in the basement. That is why we have the disclaimer on hostelworld so that guests know before booking with us. For some guest however this does not effect them staying with us happily for months while they live in Melbourne, so don't be put off! Flinders Staff

86%

Wifi was expensive especially as I couldnt use it in my room on the 6th floor. Pancakes for breakfast were awesome. The staff were all lovely. Shane was really good at giving directions, I got lost very easily

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Shane is the best hey? And how good are pancakes ever morning when your on holiday? We think our Wi-Fi is great value at $5 a day or $20 a week but I can see how it would be expensive when you cant use it in your room. We will look into the Wi-Fi problem on level six so other guests don't have the same problems Happy Travels Flinders Staff

66%

Really noisy hostel, and not very clean. But good common room and excellent film room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that the noise let down your stay with us a bit. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

100%

The Best , the Staff was excellent, considerite well manered, very helpful, informative,.The rooms very clean and excellent bedlinning, the bathrooms where great, showers good, clean, security was very good and made to feel safe. position was the best, for the low price rooms acommadation, love the cooking facilitys, clean easy buget cost savings, including free breakfast from toast to cereral ,tea coffee, all the cook wear you need ,but most of all the politnest of people. 5 star, for hostals.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the amazing review Its so good to hear the staff help made your stay a great one. If your ever back in Melbourne we would love to see you again! Flinders Staff

86%

Awesome hostel with all the things you'll need for a short or long stay. Beds a bit small but hey, I'm 6 ft 4 :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fantastic review! Best of luck with the rest of your Australia holiday! Flinders Staff

94%

So close to downtown and so safe...for a few bucks...awesome

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fab review! You rock! I hope you had an awesome stay in Melbourne. Happy Travels Flinders Staff

74%

Rooms are clean


86%

The hostel was clean

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you in Melbourne again soon! Happy Travels Flinders Staff

43%

Our stay was very bad! We booked a twin private room but we got a 2 bunk dorm, when we went to reception to complain about it and they said that we could upgrade to the room we booked if we paid $15 extra. Bathrooms were very dirty! They came in the room to empty the garbagebin at 10 but had no. time to clean the bathrooms.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback I hope the email I sent you clears up any doubts that you did in fact book a twin basic room which has on the Hostelworld website in the room description that this room has a bunk bed in it. The reason why this room is a basic twin is that it is $72 a night for 2 people! What a fantastic price! I feel my staff did the right thing by explaining which room you booked and offering you the room you wanted for the additional cost. Flinders Staff

71%

The showers were terrible: dirty floor, water went from boiling hot or freezing cold without even touching the tap, there was no in between. Our window in the room didn't close properly. The room it self was good though, bed was relatively comfy. The location was fantastic. Great hostel for a 1-2 night stay

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so thankful for your review. We had no idea there was an issue with the hot water in the shower on level 4 female bathrooms. The day we got your review we had the plumbers out to fix the issue that afternoon. When we spoke to some of our long term guest on level 4 they just said they just dealt with it and went to another level! So let me say thanks from the future residents of level 4 for your feedback. Happy travels and we hope to see you in Melbourne again soon Flinders Staff

80%

Great location, liked the movie room and free breakfast. It's a very big hostel with hundreds of people coming and going so loses atmosphere because of that but it was clean and not noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We love the movie room and how good is the free pancakes every morning?!?! Happy Travels Flinders Staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback