X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station Reviews

No.103, Huayin St., Datong Dist., Taipei City, Taiwan (R.O.C), Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
786 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Very friendly and helping staff. Superb location. The stairs to the 5th floor aren't easy to climb though, and the mattress and floor had hair of previous resident.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Stayed at Flip Flop in 2011 but at a different location (in the vicinity of Chengde Road). It's now more visible then before and less chaotic. It's conveniently accessible via the Main Taipei Station/Qsquare shopping mall. The staff are friendly and helpful as usual and they keep the place clean and tidy for guests.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly and helpful staff, value for money & perfect location.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location!


89%

Friendly place. Great place for interaction thought I didnt get a chance to do so due to tight travel schedule. Bathrooms are not enough during peak hours when some users bag the showers too long(small matters though i think). Keep up the good work :)

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear friend, thanks for your comment, and we are glad that you have nice experience stay in out house! We have 2 toilets and 2 showers among each floor, so we usually suggest our guests to use the bathrooms on other floors if the bathroom is full on the one they stay. We appreciate your feedback on Hostelworld, hope can see you again! :)

100%

It's a fantastic experience.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a very nice small hostel close to the main train station, a centre of the city and just near a huge mall called Q-square. The only minus is that there is no elevator (the building is old), and the some guests might have problems with their luggage. I stayed in the single romm, which is the only strange location in this hostel, as its only small window is located somewhere above the head, but there is nothing they can do concerning it (aside putting the bug net on the window).


80%

location is very good, and comfortable.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

this is my second time to stay this hostel, love it so much....nice environment and nice staff....


97%

A very clean hostel near the bus interchange and there are food along the street just beside the hostel. Cozy ambience and pretty reception lady who is very helpful in providing information we need. When it rained, she also reminded us that they have umbrellas that we can borrow. The building is also very easily recognised from the exterior so it makes returning a simple task. We enjoyed our stay very much!


71%

Everything is fine with the hostel however without the lift or elevator really is a headache to traveler with heavy luggage. Perhaps hostel should state it clearly inside the web that the is no lift available so that traveler are aware before choosing the hostel.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear friend, thanks for your comment! We have posted that there's no elevator in the building on our official website, Hostelworld, and the confirmation email as well. Also remind our guests take this into consideration when packing luggage. Our staff will always help the guests who are with big luggages, if they ask for help. We appreciate your feedback on Hostelworld, hope can see you again! :)

77%

excellent location, good security, powerful shower, not too noisy at night. No blanket is provided. by the time I realized, it's already late at night and no staff around. I know it's summer time, but i still like a thin blanket while the air-conditioner is on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear friend, thanks for the comment on Hostelworld. Being eco-friendly, we usually ask the guests not to set the temperature of the air-con > 25°C, and we also posted the note in the room. We do provide blankets, but the guests should ask the staff during office hour. We appreciate your comment and the advices, we will take your it as consideration. Thank you and wish you all the best.

97%

I really loved staying here. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and I really liked the locker being accessible from the bed. The common area was comfortable and wifi super fast. Would definitely come back here again :)


100%

Number 1 hostel in Taipei city. 5 minutes walk from Taipei main station. So clean & Good facility. I would recommend everyone..!!


91%

Perfect location close to taopei main station


94%

Recommend !!!! Nice / Clean / Good location

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff members were really kind. The location was absolutely great - right at the middle of Taipei city. The facilities were overall clean, although some of the roommates were not. But well, not the hostel's fault. They have been helpful to remedy the smelly towels and laundry from my neighbour. Every bed was equipped with electric sockets and lamp - convenient enough. Absolutely value-for-money, would definitely recommend.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I spent 2 nights at the Flip Flop Hostel, and it was wonderful. I've never stayed at a hostel before as I normally stay in boutique and or major chain hotels. The main area, bathrooms, and bed rooms were all clean and roomy. The staff and guests were all friendly and polite. The staff were even helpful in making recommendations for places to go for sightseeing and to eat at. I plan to visit Taiwan again, and I definitely will stay at Flip Flop again!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Location of the flip flop hostel is great, within 5 mins walk from the metro station. Overall condition of the hostel is good and the ladies' floor is securely managed with a separate digital lock. Only suggestion is that - the hostel can try not to accept travellers to the 4/6-ppl rooms if they need to arrive at midnight. Its a little annoying when ppl keep arriving at midnight, then some ppl need to catch flights at like 4 am/ 5am.note that they dont hv curtains for individual beds.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear friend, thanks for your comment! And we are glad that you like our house. We feel sorry to make you feel bad with the guests making noise while you were sleeping. However, it is hard to aviod these kind of situations staying in a hostel, to reduce the problems, we've already posted signs to ask people to keep voice down after 10pm. and we also provide free ear plug at the counter. We appreciate your comment and the advices. Thank you so much! Wish you all the best.

94%

Great hostel. Staff very friendly & helpful.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback