X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flushing YMCA Reviews

138-46 Northern Blvd., Flushing NY, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
425 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

20%

Very bad experience at flushing YMCA. We booked a double room and when we went to YMCA flushing they gave us a single room. we only got to know this when we when to the room. When we inquired the night staff said they do not have any more double rooms. we made the reservation three months before. We called the YMCA flushing to conform our reservation 2 days prior to our arrival. We were giving only 1 pillow for 2 ppl. the room had a very strong chemical smell. we will never book YMCA flushing.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Very friendly nice staff. Close to JFK airport. A bit noisy and not such a good window view, but it's not a problem if you spend all day out and come back late evening.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

No person at a reception desk when we arrived - we had wait 10 minutes. It is not short distance from a subway station - it takes about 7-8 minutes walk.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I have booked a twin bedroom. However, when I arrived, I only got the double bedroom because out of twin bedrooms, which made me quite disappointed.


89%

The person who was in charge of the parking security was very rude and not very informative!


80%

Great Staff. A shout out to the night janitor playing his music in the eating hall. I wish i asked who the music artist were. Breakfast is a little small though.


80%

Very nice stay for very good value, I felt safe around the hotel at night, subway to Timesqare is near, room and shared bathroom were clear, breakfast included, posibility to go to gym, fitness, ...

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Sorry, but hostels typically give you the "third world" experience. Sharing bathrooms with strangers? No - third world. No thanks.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Would stay again

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Although Flushing YMCA is located relatively far from Manhattan (40 minute train ride), it was a very good value for a good week of accommodation. Flushing itself had a lot to offer as well (many Asian restaurants, Citi Field, Queens Botanic Garden). 24 hour reception staff were very nice, and the cleaning staff were professional. The bathrooms and rooms are cleaned every morning.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The bad thing is that they bloc access to many websites including some websites with no offensive or illegal content


77%

Basic but entirely adequate facility. Clean room, bathroom, well-lit hallways with cameras. Felt very safe. Single bed, clean linens, towels & soap, closet, small desk, light, mirror, small fridge, window, & window A/C in room. 25 continuous night limit. Mattresses wrapped well to reduce bed bug habitat. Gated vehicle parking for $5/night. Would definitely return.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

smell awful and nobody care you


74%

the room was clean, the staff was mostly kind and helpful, it was fun to use the swimmingpool or the gym, but: the "breakfast" is cafe or tea with a toasted bagel or a cake / Muffin (very sweet), the subway Station is about 10-15 mins away, takes nearly 45mins to go to Manhattan with a local Train. nevertheless it was a nice stay surrounded by chineses.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

One hour away from downtown NY, this hostel is 10 minutes walk away from Flushing Subway Stn. The plus point of this hostel is its access to the excellent fitness facilities including 2 swimming pools and the gym. Also, it is one of the economy places to live in the New York area in a not-so-bad neighbourhood of Queens. The downside is that there is no kitchen avlbl, but of course, the nearby chineses/japanese/korean restaurants offer cheap and good asian food!! Overall, a should visit place


83%

A room is small and not fancy at all, but it's New York City. Very good value for the money. Good security and feel safe.


54%

At first glance the flushing YMCA looks nice and just like you would expect a YMCA to be. When we checked into our room it was small and noisy due to a massive machine outside our window. Value for money? not relly, the toilets are clean enough, tv and fridge in the room, but the free breakfast is nothing amazing, and small rooms. If you need a place to stay this is okay I guess, but takes some time with the metro. The area it self is quite secure, located in the hearth of flushing china town.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nothing special, lacking friendly backpacker hostels atmosphere so don't expect more than a place to stay for a night. However, it's clean and good place in case you want to stay in NYC for affordable price.


77%

Value for money is definitely excellent due to the fact that no additional cost is required and comparing to other ymca across New York region, flushing ymca is the cheapest. The hostel is around 7-12 minutes walk from the Main Street metro station( depends how fast u walk) However, it does get a bit noisy sometimes during night time due to buses and trucks running thru northern. Boulevard. Besides that, staff were nice and gym + cardio room were a plus Bathrooms are acceptable.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

This hostel is probably also a homeless shelter/ drug rehab. Dirtiest bathrooms ever. No kitchen. Room was clean and had clean towels everyday, though. You get what you paid for.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(338 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback