Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
7.1

The hostel was centrally located. We had a private ensuite. The room was huge and staff made it possible for us to check in really early 8 am as the other guests had left early. A concern was there was no ventilation from our room to the outside so it had a mouldy smell to the room. Fri/sat nights the bar has really loud music. Not the best if you have a colca canyon tour departing at 5am. Breakfast was ok. I would stay here again if I needed an early check in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Aug 2017
5.7

Really disappointed with our experience here, we had purposely booked this to be able to enjoy the bar on Saturday night. It was unexpectedly closed as 'they had had a big party on the Friday and decided to close it'. I could have booked a much cheaper hostel in Arequipa without a bar if I had known this was the case. Also they close the bar every Sunday and Monday night for a break, super disappointed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
9.7

The location is close to restaurants, the cathedral, etc. The premises were clean and colorful. The beds were comfortable. The staff was helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
16th Aug 2017
7.4

Although the room was confy, the staff was slow and grumpy. During the colca canyon tour our backpacks stayed in an clearly unlocked room... luckly nothing happened. Don't get me wrong, it was a nice stay, but it could be much better just with a bit of atitude change.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • markthomas743422
  • Wales, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
8.3

Great location, good breakfast, nice, friendly staff. The hostel ticks all the boxes. TIP: AVOID room 8 at all costs - it's small, damp, windowless and noisy as opposite the bar. Flying dog, make room 8 a storeroom, it really lets you down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
9.4

Fantastic place! My fav hostel by far, great common areas easy to socialise but also retreat to privacy. Only complaint room 8 is a bit silly being opposite bar & eating area, impossible to sleep until bar closes at 12-130am, but great staff moved me to room 16 on my request after a few nights, highly recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2017
8.3

This was a good hostel. The location was perfect for exploring Arequipa - about a 10 min walk from Plaza de Armas, and a short walk from a busy row of restaurants and shops. Staff were friendly and rooms were clean. The cons were: 1) We never had hot water in the three days there. 2) There weren't enough bathrooms - just 3 toilet/2 showers for several sets of 6-bed dorms, so I often had to wait. 3) The top bunks had no guardrails, which was a little precarious!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kristybenstead9467
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th May 2017
9.7

Stayed here in the suite (room 6) twice. Great hot water, lots of space, amazing arched ceiling. Special room, great hotel and would recommend. Good wifi too. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
8.6

One of the best private rooms I've ever had; one of a kind. Beautiful centuries-old building, close to all the action. Some of the staff were a bit grumpy and the atmosphere was lacking, but just walk out on the street and you'll be right in the middle of a wonderful city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
7.4

It is a great hostel in a perfect location, but some of the staff members are unfriendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×