X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Dog Hostel Lima Reviews

Diez Canseco 117, Miraflores, Lima, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
239 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Although I told them I would arrive late, the chick in charge just wouldnt wake up to open the door despite repeated ringing. It was 3 am on Saturday night. Rest of the staff really nice, I heard they may kick her out.


63%

The shower and room was average, the bed light in our room didn't even plug in!! (The plug didn't match the outlet, pretty ridiculous). One staff member was very friendly and helpful, the other couldn't be bothered to answer questions, was very short with us. It was very loud with partying people coming in until 4am, the walls were paper thin. The location was great, nice and spacious common rooms. No internet signal in our room. Overall, unimpressed. Oh, and the bed sheets looked dirty.


97%

Friendly staffs. Good location. Quiet place to rest. A guy at the reception helped me to catch a taxi on the street. Moved to this hostel from another one with crazy people, loud music all night long.. I liked this place. I would love to recommend this hostel to someone who avoid party hostel(full with people smoking weeds, drinking in the room and talking and laughing loudly no matter what other people say). Good value for money. Gracias!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the good review! we do our best to keep everyone satisfied with our service! CHeers!

91%

We arrived in Lima and spent one night in a private bedroom in this hostel. It was very clean and quiet and they have a cute cat that lives there. Would definitely recommend as a great option in Miraflores.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the good comment! We try our best to give a great service... and yes, pablito the cat is cute! thanks again. hope to see you again soon!

63%

The room was basic and the window couldn't close so the room was really cold. We wanted to cook but there was no pan in the kitchen?! But it was nice to sit in the couches in the lounge and look at the Kennedy park.


66%

We were staying in a secondary location for this hostel so had to walk our bags over the street. This meant our communal areas were really quiet. Breakfast was odd- we had vouchers to go to two different restaurants, depending on the time we got up but the breakfast was the same in both- pretty mediocre. The room itself wasn't massively clean, although the shared bathrooms were good.


94%

One of the best hostels I have stayed on my whole trip, mostly due to the staff!


57%

We were disappointed by this hostel. All started with the airport pick up, booked in advance but it did not come. So we called the hostel twice and and were told to wait at the airport. After 2 hours of waiting still no driver, so we took a green cab in the end. As a compensation we got the first night for free. Another point was the cleanliness. The bathrooms weren´t clean and the shower was leaking so the whole bathroom was under water for the whole day. Not talking about the cockroach...


51%

This hostel was very cold, and humid inside the rooms. Loud at night from all the street noise. I don't recommend it to anyone .

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Our room shared a very thin wall with the hostel's bar, which played loud music well into the evening hours. Fair enough, but it would be nice if that information was more clear before booking, so people who are looking for a quieter atmosphere will know what they're getting into.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff was helpful and scheduled our taxi pickups. Breakfast is more hearty than some other places but not fancy: toast, an egg, juice, and coffee. This hostel is in a great location in Miraflores, near restaurants, cafés, and a park full of cats.


89%

Clean, secure, and also very cheap compared to other hostels around. It is located in a very central place. (Note that there are three flying dog hostels, so pay attention to the address when you book it). The included breakfast is actually a coupon to some place nearby. It is very minimal. The staff was very helpful, and allowed us to stay half a day more in our last day there. I will definitely be there again if I ever visit Lima again.


74%

Good location close to supermarketshops etc. Was really quiet when we were there so not much atmosphere. Staff were helpful in booking us our next bus trip and our twin room was huge with our own balcony- loved that!


77%

A nice centrally located ( for Mira Flores -not Lima ) hostel and reasonable value for money. Staff had an accepted level of English ( for travellers with no Spanish like us. On the downside the traffic noise , night clubs and firm beds made sleep a challenge for our 3 nights there. Water pressure was low but the shower was hot and the Wifi available OK. The TV reception quality was very poor.but at least we did have one.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location. Would definitely recommend but like others we had confusion over location. Arrived at wrong address so had to walk to the other one which wasn't far but annoying late at night. We tried to confirm our address beforehand but our email query wasn't answered. So make sure you know where you are going then all will be great!


74%

Never got picked up from the airport ( pick up was supposed to be arranged from the hostel) after waiting 2 hours caught a cab, I did not know there was three flying dogs

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Lima Hostels

Please give us your feedback