X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Beach Hostel Reviews

Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202H2, Noordwijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
951 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very good hostel, with good staff, if want to go to Amsterdam but don't want to be inside the noisy center, this hostel is a very good option.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

As a solo traveller I had an awesome time here! Smoking room makes it really easy to meet and chill with everyone and the beach is so close and nice


86%

didnt know what to expect, but it turnt out to be awesome. Everybody was nice and friendly. To be honest: who needs high security or the cleanest things, when you have fun all day. I sure come back one day and recommend this Hostel over here.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff her was so cool, very easy to talk to, and willing to accommodate us with anything. It was a super friendly atmosphere and great for anyone looking to party at night when they come back from the city. The shuttles left at reasonable times if you caught them early or late enough and we definitely got what we paid for and more. Would stay at the downtown or uptown hostels as well!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything was great! Such a cheap place to stay and great for college kids. The staff was VERY helpful and were super nice to us when we asked for directions or recommendations. It sucked being a little far, but they had a shuttle to make up for it!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

If you're a fun person, than the hostel will definitely show you a fun time!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The atmosphere and staff at the flying pig made our stay in Holland more wonderful than we could've imagined. The beds were warm and comfy and the people we met were absolutely wonderful. I definitely plan on heading back in the future. You must find the pink journal on the bookshelf and sign your name while you're there!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing staff, amazing place, i'll come back for sure !

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Staffs are fridndly, but room is dirty and uncomfortable. ..


63%

The smell in de hallway and reception is not just smoke... there need to be something done! In the morning it really looks messy, Pooltable changes to a breakfast table with poor choices and almost no free places to sit down. In that case you mis some tables or a seperate area to join breakfast. Night shift person looked really stoned when we came back from town.


89%

Had a great week here, extended a day because I was enjoying it that much :) If your looking for a place to relax and chill out then it's a great place to go if you feel like being away from Amsterdam. Only thing I could say in the negative is no laundry facilities available and at night there are too many locals in the smoking room, gets pretty crowded. Great place, I'll def be back in the future if in the area again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Good point about the smoking room we're going to change the setup. We hope to see you back at The Beach Hostel someday! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

43%

Not for all of them but some of staff really don't know how to run a hostel. They are not responsible people. Especially some of shuttle bus drivers drive the bus like a crazy. All an hour trip (hostel to city centre) you feel really disturbed. Every night there is a party with loud noise&etc. Especially for winter, it is not a good choice for staying. It is really far location in order to sightseeing of Amsterdam. Except that you can go and see the ocean and meet nice friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are sorry to read you didn't like some of our staff members. We find it really important to find out what exactly happened as friendly staff is really important to us. We will contact you personally by email to find out more. We hope to hear back from you. Safe travels, The Flying Piggies

89%

GREAT place to chill at the beach and the staff are incredibly friendly and chilled out!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Cheers, The Pig's

63%

It seems like it is a big community of friends working or living there, which could be nice if you were still treated like a guest. When we arrived the bad we booked wasnt ready (it was afternoon) and two of the kids who work there were sleeping of doing whatever in it. Not a problem at all, if they wouldnt have told us, that we should choose another bed. Except of that an the music, which can be chosen more nicely when people are eating, people were friendliy and everything was clean


100%

Had a really good time here. Even though it was the low season and I was the only person staying there I had fun with the locals and the staff. Would definantly be awesome in the summer


89%

Excellent stay! We arrived New Years Eve and missed our chance to get back to Amsterdam for New Year so we stayed on the beach with these guys and watched the fireworks go off (and joined in a bit ourselves!) =) Awesome, friendly team made our stay here welcoming and homely. Will be going back definitely!!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The big distance to the city is quite solved with the transfers of the hostel, if you make your schedule match. The room was really nice and clean, and the price it had in New Year saved me if you compare it with other hostels in other cities or in Amsterdam. It is cool that it has the beach next to it. The common room is quite hippie but it is Amsterdam, so that´s cool! Breakfast was great.


91%

A stellar visit, and I simply cannot rate the staff and friendliness and atmosphere high enough. Will recommend to friends at every opportunity.


86%

Very comfortable clean safe friendly. A little far from town


77%

I enjoyed the ambiance and all but since it was winter time there wasn't much to do. The stay was cheap however which was excellent! The staff was nice, very chill! Definitely a place to stay during the summer!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback