Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Apr 2017
8.0

Hostel is definitely running as a business rather than for travellers. Weekday night was €15, whereas the Saturday night was €45 !! Definitely not worth that.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
9.1

Though this hostel is not as cushy or chic as others, they take good care of you and I really loved the laidback vibe. - Location is excellent for getting away to the city, and is great for biking through dunes and nearby towns or day trips to the Hague, Leiden, and tulip gardens - Very good price (at least when I stayed there) which includes a very solid breakfast - Great common area with a bar, couches, and a smoking room, good for meeting people - 4 euro shuttle to Amsterdam

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
10.0

Great little place to get away for a while, would go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Apr 2017
2.9

Dirty, careless staffs and really bad service here, definitely not recommended! First day we arrived around 6, couldn't check in because of the computer problems so we had to wait till 11 when we get back from the city. They have shuttle to the center but very less, if you don't sign up earlier you would have to take a bus for 30 minutes and then train for another 20 minutes, which cost a lot and it's tiring at night. Lockers are super dirty and extremely small. ONLY 2 BATHROOM FOR EVERYONE.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2017
4.3

Cheap, free good breakfast. But it's the worst hostel I've ever stayed. Very far from the city center, the cheapest way is taking the hostel's shuttle bus, but the earliest sets up at 9:30, and is always late. Otherwise, you need to change the bus, take more than one hour and 14 euros for one way! Besides, the staff knows nothing about the view spot, inefficiently, one man is very rude. The computer doesn't work, wifi is slow. Only two bathrooms for all. Noisy night because of downstairs bar.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
9.7

Fantastic location outside of Amsterdam next to the beach so you get to experience more than just the downtown Amsterdam. The staff was awesome the whole time! Wouldn't want to go anywhere else to stay if I get to come back to the Netherlands.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
9.4

This is not in Amsterdam so don't book this thinking you'll be in the city. They do have a shuttle into the city for €4 and it's like a 40 minute ride i think. But regardless, I had an dope time here, super clean, great social scene and a nice little bar/smoking room/deck situation where everyone hangs out. Also free breakfast if you can get up before 10:30....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.3

Location by the beach is beautiful, a good place to stay if you're looking for a more relaxed place outside the city. A party every night, so be prepared!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
9.7

I loved staying at the Flying Pig Beach Hostel. It's a very social environment especially at night. They have a bar and a smoking room that people hang out in pretty late into the night. That being said, this probably isn't the hostel for you if you are looking for quiet time. Everything was clean, beds were comfy and the staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions. This hostel is right on the beach in Noordwijk and they have a shuttle to Amsterdam. I would stay again!!!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
7.7

It's one of the cheapest hostels I could find in Amsterdam so there shouldn't be complaints. But if I had a larger budget, I would wish I had made a different choice. Staff are great; nice atmosphere; the bathrooms/kitchen/bedrooms could have been better maintained/cleaned, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.