Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Flying Pig Beach Hostel Located at Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202H2, Noordwijk, Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Beach Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202H2, Noordwijk
85% 1572
52.2459466 4.4329833
Flying Pig Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
2.0

I understand this is a party hostel but I expect the employees to act with a little more professionalism. The male employee who greeted us looked like he walked right off the beach, no shirt, no shoes, and board shorts. The worst was when another employee was banging on the door of the bathroom while my wife was in there. If you want a party, just stay in Amsterdam.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Pretty small hostel. Many locals hang here which is cool. Mostly dudes hanging out smoking weed when I went on Sunday night. They were having a good time but it wasn't really my scene, as a non-smoker. Not their fault, so it still gets 10/10. Everyone I've talked to raved about how fun it was on Friday and Saturday tho. There is a row of bars/clubs and the beach close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostel itself is rather lovely; decked out with a beach-theme and bearing a very open and communal atmosphere, it's perfectly suited to backpackers. Breakfast is provided for free, assuming that you get up in time, the beach is extremely close and there is a (very limited) shuttle service four times a day between the three Flying Pig hostels, so you can easily and cheaply get into Amsterdam itself. If you're planning to spend a lot of time in Amsterdam, though, best look at another option.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nicoleclint
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jul 2016
7.1

The hostel is quite a bit away from Amsterdam so be prepared for 1hr plus journey to city centre. However the shuttle bus is €4 one way which is handy but only runs few times a day, also the staff were all really friendly and approachable and helped with transportation to central Amsterdam when no buses were available. There aren't any individual sockets or lights by your bed, and the top bunks aren't very secure can easily fall off (which happened to someone in our room). Not bad overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
5.7

The location was pretty nice if you want to get out of Amsterdam for a day or two and hang at the beach. I feel like I paid wayyyyy too much money. I was in a 7 bed dorm room and the size was perfect for getting to know your dormmates. THE BATHROOMS ARE AWFUL. For all the upstairs guests there are 2 bathrooms for at least 50 people. The bathrooms are wetrooms, so it takes forever to use one and the floor is all wet. Breakfast had very few options and wasn't that filling or appetizing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.7

This was probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in, I was only there for 2 nights but they were a very enjoyable couple of days there. The atmosphere in the hostel was really really good. All of the staff and most people there are really friendly. i think it is also in a really great location because it is so near a gorgeous beach and you can get the shuttle bus to Amsterdam for €4. In the evening it gets quite busy as lots of locals come and it makes for a brilliant night getting turnt

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
9.4

The staff is killing the game and they just make you feel like your wanted, got a cool little bar inside that is a great time 7 days a week. If you want an old persons home hostel this is not the spot for you, it gets wild and always a good time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
8.9

One of my favorite hostels I've stayed at by far. The staff were all friendly and fun to talk to, they seem to enjoy themselves as much as their guests. The bar is probably one of the most fun (and cheapest) places to party in Noordwijk. It is super close to the beach, the dunes, and a super market. The kitchen can get a little cramped if you choose the wrong time to start cooking. Only reason not to stay here is if you have no interest in partying and want to sleep early (it gets pretty loud).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, but sadly I always had the feeling that it was the staff's hostel. Not that the staff shoudn't be having fun, but I just mean that I always felt like I was disturbing them. They were also pretty loud, from my perspective it killed a part of the vibe. Some people of the staff rocked tho, like that british guy with the dark beard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
8.6

I loved this hostel! It was really easy to be social here because of their lounge areas and bar. It was too cold to swim (even in July) so we spent a lot of time thinking up things to do. However, nearby towns are easy to access through bus or train and their shuttle to Amsterdam was much cheaper than going through transit!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.