X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Beach Hostel Reviews

Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202H2, Noordwijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
857 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

We had a great blast at the Flying Pig Beach Hostel, the staff were so cool and great to hang out with and so were the guests. The atmosphere is really laid back and everyone got on with everyone. The beach town that this hostel is in is about one bus and one train journey away from Amsterdam but it provides a very complimentary and different experience of the Netherlands.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We arrived a little late and found we had booked the wrong night. The staff were super understanding and found us a bed for the night. They were super friendly and extremely helpful. We weren't there long but it was a great atmosphere.


86%

Location is a bit far out, be very careful with the bus and train times or you'll have to pay €40 for a taxi from Leiden! Lovely hostel though, lovely staff and very easygoing (Emma, Melissa, Rob, etc) would recommend if you want to go to the beach and get out of the centre for a bit :)


74%

This is a great hostel is you're looking for somewhere to relax away from the city. The beach location is ace, but probably wouldn't recommend it if you're looking to explore Amsterdam. Staff were very friendly, but it seemed like there were more staff than guests which gave it a bit of a weird vibe.


83%

It was a great time with friendy staff! From the shuttle service (which I very much appreciate) to the day to day activities and staff members, i really enjoyed my stay. Love the beach!

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A definite party hostel. 20 miles outside Amsterdam on the beach... Not much else to do in the area, so people are there to party. Beach was amazing. Staff was great... Many of them live at the hostel. Free breakfast was great! $4 shuttle into Amsterdam 4 times a day from the hostel. Rooms are fair... Get hot at night. Showers are cleaned well but by days end the bathrooms get messy. Overall a great spot!


83%

ok to be honest, this hostel depends on what you are headed to the beach for. If your going to chill out and relax this hostel is good, but if your headed to enjoy your night and drink/smoke you'll have a blast. It's staff is extremely nice and join in on the fun with everyone. They even stay informed of local events so you might just get to crash a concert on the beach. Amazing place, can't wait to return


97%

As soon as you arrive at the flying pig you are welcomed into a big family. Relaxed and fun atmosphere. Great for young travelers. The staff are welcoming and great at making sure everyone is having a good time. You won't want to leave. I will defiantly be returning to the flying pig.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This is by far the best hostel I have stayed in, in Europe. Chill environment and awesome staff. Seriously felt at home within minutes of being here! It's it the perfect location. I stayed in the 28 bed dorm, super spacious and well thought out. HIGHLY recommended.


94%

To me this is what a hostel should be, most of the staff working there because they love being there, so there's a really laid back atmosphere, the staff are very willing to help and organise things for the guests. It's a lively hostel with great smoking area and outside terrace, I wish we could have stayed longer, but it is expensive but for being beside the beach it is worth it. It was clean and the kitchen was good with food available to buy and a bar. Would definitely recommend.


94%

I had an unreal time at the Flying Pig! Heard great things about the downtown hostels too. Obviously the location isn't ideal if you plan to spend a lot of time in the city, but the shuttle service they operate is cheap and quick. In a way, it was great to have a place to crash when I first started travelling, so I enjoyed not being right in the middle of the city. Spent two nights up until 6am in the smoking area making friends - much better! Amazing staff too, helpful in a tricky situation ;)


97%

Staff was incredibly friendly and worked hard to make sure that everyone had a great time. Not that it's too hard in a surf shack on the beach in Holland. Pretty much as great as it sounds


94%

No, it's not in the heart of Amsterdam but once you arrive there you don't really want to leave. The staff are welcoming and create a family atmosphere where you can chill out with people from all walks of life. Truly a unique hostel experience. Thanks piggies!!!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It was clean, really awesomely decorated , breakfast was great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only things I rated lower for were the location (quite far from Amsterdam, but the beach is really nice!) and the atmosphere. When we were staying there, there were a bunch of really bro type guys on a bender that were rude, judgemental, and very very very drunk/intrusive. Oh well, not the hostels fault!


100%

Really lovely atmosphere and close to the sandy beach. Shuttle service is excellent and the staff are super helpful and fun. Nice for a short break away from the busy city and a great price too. Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling through Europe to meet some cool people!!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. I loved being able to have a few days outside of the city, but you can take the shuttle into Amsterdam cheaply and its only 40 minutes away. The beach and the sand dunes are absolutely gorgeous, as is the quaint little town. The atmosphere was amazing, I met so many great people, many of whom I will be staying in touch with. The smoking room and back balcony provide an excellent place to chill out with friends. The staff is excellent, and they hang out with you and are sick!

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff and the atmosphere of this place is amazing. You meet so many amazing people including Dutch locals. They make you feel like family which makes you not want to leave. Great for travelers looking to get out of the excitement of Amsterdam. Far from the city center, but theres a lot to do right where you are. Highly recommend this place. Shout out to the staff and especially Ed for holding true to his promise. Hope to see you guys soon

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It's a nice place to stay at, although I did a reservation for a room of 7 and they put me in the biggest one, that one was not very clean because of the amount of people staying there. It's Netherlands so it smells like marihuana all the time and everyone is smoking, it's a bit far from the city but it is close to the beach and that makes up for being far


94%

good vibes. cool place. not dt Amsterdam but in a groovy little beach town with a cheap 40 min shuttle.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a fantastic stay at the Flying Pig Beach Hostel. The staff was great and welcoming and made you feel like you were a part of their little family. Ed the bartender was so sweet. The location is great--the beach is so close! We rented bikes and rode around town and the nature trail that is very close to the hostel. The second day it rained, but it was fine because there are so many things to do in the hostel. We played beer pong and cooked for each other and laughed. I loved it!


(122 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback