X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6372 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

One of my all time favourite hostels

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Aw, thanks so much! We are very touched by your lovely review. We love to hear that we are one of your all time favourite hostels :) We hope to see you again soon on your travels! The Piggies

80%

Great location, excellent room. Only thing that let it down was the smoking room was getting renovated at the time, and also breakfast was only served from 8-10 which meant that we missed out due to early departure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there :) Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know a bit about your stay with us :) We are happy that you enjoyed your room and the hostels central location. Indeed we are currently renovating the smoking room, we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Soon we will have a brand new smoking room which will be just as cosy as before :) Safe Travels The Piggies

83%

very good in general, great atmosphere and people in the hostel...it's a shame that some of the facilities are not that comfortable (kitchen and "happy" room) due to the size, but a great place all around


86%

Great hostel, helpful staff and fantastic location. Slightly pricey for very basic room, but overall happy with my stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to let us know a bit about your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear you were happy with your stay here.:) Thanks for mentioning that our staff were helpful and that you enjoyed our location. We hope to see you again one day! Happy Travels, The Piggies

100%

We had an amazing stay at Flying Pig Downtown. It's a great place to meet new people and you just feel comfortable right away. The breakfast was great and we were very thankful for that. The private room we had was just awesome and we felt like being at home. Definitely recommend Flying Pig Downtown. The staff was very helpful and welcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Aw thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are very touched that you felt like you were at home whilst staying here, that is exactly the atmosphere we strive to achieve. We are glad you enjoyed our free breakfast and that you found the staff helpful and welcoming :) We very much hope that you will visit us again if ever you are in Amsterdam! Happy Travelling :) The Piggies

94%

Wish I would have been there longer it was right dab in the middle of everything .. It might be a little too much at times since it's crazy downtown but it was great for one night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We are happy to hear that you wish you could have stayed here longer! We hope you will visit us again some day :) Happy Travelling The Piggies

100%

Great Location and atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) WOW thanks for leaving such a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed our location and atmosphere. We hope you will come back and visit us again one day! Happy Travelling! The Piggies

89%

Very well located and great staff. The rooms are big and very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay :) We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and great staff. We will pass on your comments to them. They love their jobs here so they will love to hear this :) Thanks for mentioning that our rooms are clean, this means a lot to us as we try hard to keep them this way. Thanks, Happy Travels. The Piggies

100%

This hoste has such a great vibe we were so lucky to have awesome room mates as well the staff we're helpful and relaxed all round definitely recommend

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Woweee! We are so touched by your lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the vibe of the hostel and that the staff and your roomies were helpful and relaxed. Great that you will recommend us :D thank you! We very much hope we will see you again someday in the future :) Happy Travels The Piggies

89%

Friendly and helpful staff. Wicked vibe. Cheap drinks.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thanks for taking the time to write such lovely things about us! We really appreciate you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. The staff here love their jobs so they will love it when we let them know that you had such nice things to say about them :) We are happy that you spent some time at our bar and enjoyed our cheap drinks! Indeed we try to offer a well priced range for our lovely travellers :) Take care and we hope you will stay with us again one day! The Piggies

40%

Very noisy the first night when there was a party until 4ish am. Very hot in the room and stinky in most of the places. Not worth the money I paid. This might end my further desire for hostels...

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there Thank you for taking the time to let us know a bit more about your stay. Your experiences are extremely important us as we can learn from them in order to improve ourselves in the future. We were very sorry to hear that the your room was very hot and you found the music loud. We will contact you personally to find out a bit more about your stay. Thanks again,Take Care, The Piggies

100%

LOVED this hostel. Will definitely be the hostel we come to on future trips to Amsterdam, Downtown. The location is easy to find from Amsterdam Centraal, and there is a market down the street. They have a kitchen you can cook in, they have huge lockers you can use if you are waiting for your room or later flight/train. It was a very clean hostel as well. They also have a smoke room and a deck, which they move the party inside around 9pm, so that the rooms nearby are not disturbed! Staff = A++++

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) WOW! Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are glad to hear that you made good use of our kitchen as well as our large hallway locker facilities after you checked out. Thank you for mentioning that we are a clean hostel, this means a lot to us as our staff work hard to keep it that way :) We will be sure to pass on to them that you think they are A++++ ;) They will love to hear this. Thanks again, we very much hope to see you again someday! Happy Travelling, The Piggies

97%

Good location, great bar prices,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to write a little bit about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and great bar prices! We hope to see you again someday! Happy Travels The Piggies

54%

Didn't have any issues at all, good value for your money if you want to stay close to the beach... Very complicated to get back to the hostel from Amsterdam during the night


100%

My 5th time staying!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Great to hear that it was your 5th time staying with us! That is awesome to hear! We hope to welcome you back on your 6th! See you soon The Piggies

97%

Great hostel. The bar in the downstairs area was so awesome and I met a lot of super cool people this way. The rooms could get a little loud if the windows were open but really no complaints from this hostel. Best hostel I have stayed in so far!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us ;) We are happy that you met super cool people in our bar! We are extremely happy that you have named us the best hostel you have stayed in so far :D This makes us very proud and we very much hope that you will choose to come and stay with us again in the future Happy Travelling! The Piggies

97%

Ideal location. Lots of atmosphere. Free breakfast. Much more expensive than other hostels around Europe but I was upgraded to 4 room dorm from 6 room dorm 😃😃

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks so much for leaving a review about your stay :) We are happy to see that you enjoyed our central location and free breakfast. Great that we upgraded you for free to a 4 person dorm! We hope that you will stay with us again someday. Happy Travelling! The Piggies

97%

Amazing hostel. The staff were extremely helpful especially the Kiwi bloke. Great facilities and great to meet people. Easy location to get anywhere. Will be back

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us! We are happy to read that you thought were were an amazing hostel and that we have great facilities ;) Thanks for commenting on the staff being helpful and especially 'the kiwi boke' ;) We will be sure to pass on your kind words to him, he will love to hear this ;) We hope you will return to visit us some day in the future! Safe Travels The Piggies

66%

Due to the smoke room and bar which I personally dislike, I hardly venture out to meet and talk to people in the common area. The music from ground floor is too loud and I can hear very clearly well past midnight

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay.Your comments mean a lot to us as we can learn how to improve ourselves in the future. We are sorry to hear that you found the music loud past midnight. Indeed we have a closed bar which is open until 3am, but at this time the music must go down.We will ensure that we remind all of our bartenders about the music volume. We offer free earplugs to all of our guests at reception to try to help too. Safe Travels. Piggies

97%

Our stay at flying pig was great! It was the first hostel experience I have ever had. The rooms were clean and the showers were as well! The staff was friendly and very accommodating when we needed help with directions, random questions about the city or anything in between.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are happy to be your first hostel experience! We are very glad that you found the rooms and showers clean. Great that the staff were friendly and accommodating. They love their job and so love to help out with questions and directions! We very much hope to see you again one day! Happy travelling :) The Piggies

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(161 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback