Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 7,078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 7,078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Downtown Located at Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Downtown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 MR Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR
88% 7078
52.3769615 4.8965013
Flying Pig Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
8.6

I liked how fun the atmosphere is there. The bar is definitely a plus. The bed and bathrooms were clean. Overall I liked staying here. The only downside to Amsterdam was parking. Don't drive in. You'll pay €50 euro a day to park. Use public transportation to get here. It's worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
10.0

As someone staying in Düsseldorf Amsterdam is a regular Party joint for me and my friends and this is by far the Best Hostel I have stayed in. It is centrally located, has a great team of staff, awesome bar inside where the party is on, truly enhances the Amsterdam experience. Thank you team!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow this is amazing! Thank you so much for your kind words, we will make sure to pass this on to all our staff too. They will be delighted to hear this! Thanks again, we really appreciate it. Hopefully we will see you soon again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2016
8.6

Pro's - Staff, awesome bar/events, smoking room, location superb, breakfast was nice, facilities. Con's - Rowdy guests (people coming home at all hours, loud and inconsiderate of other guests + had thieves in our room which sucked), creaky beds, sinks in rooms smelt terrible. Overall - Cool! if you just want to party this is the place for you! Awesome for a couple days of going crazy and meeting friends. However for a more relaxed/cultural stay (with some sleep) it's probably not the best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you kindly for taking the time to comment about your stay, we can learn alot from your experiences with us. Great to hear that you found our staff, bar and events awesome and were able to enjoy free breakfast! We checked and cleaned out the sinks in the room you stayed in, we try to do this as regularly as possible, we hope that when you reported this to reception they got them cleaned right away :) We were sorry to hear that your roomies were not as courteous at night as we all would have hoped them to be. You booked to stay in our largest dorm of 32 people, perhaps next time it is best to opt for a 10,6 or 4 bed dorm to help minimisie the risk of noisy room mates! Take care and safe travels! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
6.0

Ok so the Flying Pig is in a great location - the beds we had where disgusting - change the bloody mattress - my mattress had a blood strain and other strains - not for family - the young kids there where great but room wise you need to clean it up

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are happy to see you liked our location in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre and we are happy our staff took good care of you. Sorry to hear about your mattress! We will have it replaced straight away. Thanks for making us aware of this. Thanks again for your time. Safe travels, The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.3

Very cool place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your nice review! We are happy to see you had a good time with us and we hope to see you back one day :) Safe travels, The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Apr 2016
10.0

the best hostel I have ever stayed at

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! WOW!! Thank you so much for your amazing comment, that is so great for us to hear. Come and visit us again some time! Safe travels, The Piggies :)

23rd Apr 2016
9.4

I chose the hostel because of its location and realized that it was so much more. The room was clean and the staff was super friendly and helpful. The bar/smoking room made for an easy environment to meet other travels. The security was great and overall it was a fabulous stay. Would stay again and would recommend to anyone going to Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review. Security is very important to us so we are very happy to hear that you were happy with it and also loved our friendly staff. We hope you will come and visit us again some time. Safe travels, The Piggies :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.4

Stayed here for a long weekend and it was perfect, highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey hey! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are pleased to hear the word 'perfect' in your comments! Thank you for recommending us! This really means a lot to us, do come back and visit us again soon! Take care and happy travels! The Piggies

  • peytonandchris
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.9

Great party hostel in the heart of the city. Don't stay here if you want to sleep hahah staff was super fun and friendly- I would definitely return for a week of partying again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience here! We are pleased you had a party here! Indeed we are a party hostel with a bar and Djs! We hope to see you when you return! Happy Travels! The Piglets

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

We stayed at flying pig downtown for 2 nights, and it was an amazing experience. They also gave us a complementary breakfast on the day we arrived. Overall its location is awesome, the street outside leaves you in awe whenever you walk through it, the atmosphere in the hostel is amazing, since they have their own smoking room and a lively bar which plays great music (wish i could have their Spotify playlist), and they have a pool table near the bar which can be used just for a euro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so pleased that you had an amazing experience here! Great that you enjoyed our atmosphere and staff playlists! We hope to see you again someday! Thanks again and safe travels! The Piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.