Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 7863 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 7863 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2017
5.7

It is a party hostel, so there's no place to rest. Music is loud all the time and all the place smells of weed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Great place to stay, the atmosphere was even better! Staff we're all great but the English man who was working nights on the 17th and 18th of February was especially friendly and made me and everyone else feel very welcome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
9.1

Really smooth check-in and great security. the Mixed dorm was a lot of fun in regards to meeting folks. People here like to party! Unfortunately I'm not too into it but regardless I had a bunch of fun meeting some folks. Place is in walking distance to everything, the area is mostly for shopping and touristy things so if that's not your vibe then might not want to try this out. However you will get a 5 minute walk to Centraal which was helpful in doing day trips to Belgium

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Excellent location, very clean. Wifi didn't work in our room, even after complained a lot. A very unpleasant situation happened to us. On Feb 19th (evening) the reception gate wasn't working and since the morning we were getting inside swiping the card key only at the outside gate, but the guy who was at the reception SHOUTED at us because of that. Yeah, he didn't ask for the key in a polite way, he shouted in front of everyone, the ruddiest staff I have seen after visiting probably 10 hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased that you found us clean and in an ideal location. We remember you mentioning the WIFI in your room and went up to check it right away and it was working for us which was a little odd. We are shocked to hear your comment about our receptionist and will contact you personally about this. Normally our staff pride themselves on being welcoming and friendly so this seems very out of character for which we send our sincere apologies. Thank you for mentioning this, we will be sure to speak to the staff member as soon as possible about this. Thanks again safe travels, The piggies

15th Feb 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel, felt like at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are over the moon to see that you thought we were an awesome hostel! Great that you felt at home here :) We hope to see you again! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
6.3

I enjoyed my stay in the Flying Pig very much. It is in a good location where there are many shops around and the trams are nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us in a good location :) We hope to see you again! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.9

Great hostel!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are thrilled you found us a great hostel and hope to welcome you back soon! Happy Travels, The piggies

9th Feb 2017
5.4

Cell phone was stolen, people smoked weed in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you mobile phone was taken whilst you were here. We always encourage our guests to keep all of their valuable items in view of them and to use our free safe at reception too. We didn't hear about your phone during your stay, but have a lost and found box so it is always possible it just got misplaced and someone handed it in. We will contact you personally about this. We were shocked to hear your comment about people smoking in the rooms. This is strictly not allowed, wehave a 24 hour smoking room for this, if we were aware of this we would ask these people to leave and they would receive a fine. We have a 24 hour reception desk and WhatsApp number so our staff are always on hand to answer and resolve any queries or questions during your stay. Thanks again and safe travels, The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Hostel is in a great location. They focus on making sure everyone has a good time, which is cool. Security good too, as they will look after your stuff at reception if you ask. Things to improve: - beds were super squeaky when anyone moved - add some WD40 - you need a large lock to use the underbed cages. Was a bit annoying, but they did sort me out with a new lock which was good - the bathroom in room 308 smelt so bad, from the drains I suspect Overall a great hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you kindly for taking the time to let us know about your stat. We are pleased to hear that you found that we made sure you had a good time here! Great that you appreciated our 24hour safe and reception! Thank you for mentioning the bathroom in your room. We will check it out right away. Thanks again and we hope to see you again! The piggies

3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel in perfect central location, very clean, staff extremely friendly, good vibe in general throughout the building. Great free breakfast, showers nice and warm. Kitchen huge and fully equipped. Bed very comfortable, each of them had own reading light, electrical socket and a safe storage area under them ( but don't forget your own padlock). Very impressed and I have already re-booked this hostel for my next stay in Amsterdam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us! We are thrilled to see such lovely comments! Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed our free breakfast and great showers and guest kitchen! We are pleased to hear that you were impressed with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back next time! Thanks again and happy travels! The piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.