X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6119 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Excellent location and staff, the bar its a little overpriced but anything else it is just great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We really appreciate this :D We will pass your message on to our staff-members. They love to hear these kind of messages! We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

80%

The outlets at each bed were very helpful and the breakfasts was great, but we found a dead mouse on our floor in the morning.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the outlet next to your bed. All our beds have their own power socket so our guests can charge their phone or other electrical devices while they are sleeping :D It is also great to hear you loved the breakfast. However we are sorry a mouse was able to sneak in from outside. We will make a note of this for our pest control. We hope to see you back some day! Cheers

97%

Smaller rooms are great for sleeping. Big dorms aren't bad either. Location could not be better. Amsterdam is a bike city but The Flying Pig is so central it becomes a walking city. Stay here before its full!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. It is so great to read you loved our very central location :D We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

Super awesome place. Just stayed for a night but I already want to go back. Everyone was nice and liked to have fun so it made for a great atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for this amazing review and ratings. It is always really great to read people want to return straight back to the pig after they left. So, we hope to see you soon again ;) Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

91%

Highly recommended, great hostel to stay in. Great location And price!

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and letting is know about your stay. It is great to read you are recommending us to everyone :D We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

91%

Great and fun hostel to stay in. Very centrally located. The bar area is great if you don't feel like going out. The rooms are nice and heated, which made it very comfortable.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your really nice review. It is so great to read you scored us this high and absolutely amazing to see that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back some day so we can hang out at the bar ;) Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

Brilliant stay here, location is perfect! I will be staying again! Thanks

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We really appreciate this :D We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

Great place, the location is perfect, the staff are always very helpful and animated. I don't think I could have chosen a better hostel in Amsterdam.

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We really appreciate this :D It is great to read you loved our very central location. Everything you need indeed close by. We are also very happy to read the staff was helpful and animated. We will pass your nice words on to them! We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

Hands down dopest place to stay. I have never been to a place with so much culture inside of it. If you are going to Amsterdam you would have to be crazy or ignorant not to try staying here. I will forever remember this place for how incredible it is and as the first and last place I ever did shrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your really nice review. It is so great to read you scored us this high and absolutely amazing to see that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for mentioning our typical Amsterdam character :D We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

83%

Very nice hostel. The only downside is that Amsterdam seems to attract many large groups of Brits, making it a little less social.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate this :D We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

97%

6 lads booked whole 6 man dorm to our selfs , very clean and beds are super comfy ! Bathroom had amazing shower , while room cleaned everyday , staff are great laugh, covers all type people if want drink or want smoke everyone wins , feel very safe as one key card per person , if want to party hard and get in early hours of morning this is place for you !!!

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for the amazing review and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for mentioning the daily cleaning. All rooms are indeed cleaned several times per day :D We hope to see all 6 of you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

97%

Great location only 5 minutes walk from the main station and the red light district. The staff were very friendly and helpful, there are free earplugs which we didn't need and you can rent towels for 3euro each which you get back when you return them. The rooms are fine, first time we had double bed bunks, with lockers/cage storage, which require your own padlock. Free breakfast the best we've had! Downstairs is a nice kitchen/lounge area, plus a bar and smoking room, everything you could need!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for the amazing review and taking the time to write about your experience. We can always learn a lot from our reviews. It is so nice to hear the hostel was everything you expected. We really hope that you will stay with us soon again! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

One of my favorite hostels, if not my favorite one. Just a 5 minute walk from Centraal Station, with lots of bars, food, coffeeshops, and the Red Light District nearby. Everyone I met was really cool and the smoking room is a nice add. The bar was also a nice place to hang out and meet other travelers. I would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Wauw! Favorite hostel! Thank you so much for the compliment :D It makes us blush a little bit. We are happy to hear you met nice people and enjoyed our specially designed smoking room. Come stay with us soon again! Happy travels. Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

You must stay at this Hostel if you like partying, meeting great people, having the best location (3minutes from the HBF) and if you want to have the best time in Amsterdam! The staff is amazing with suggestions, the place has a perfect atmosphere if you are with others or wanting to travel alone. The Wifi works great everywhere, the breakfast was amazing (eggs, actual fresh fruit like bananas, oranges, apples, toast, jam, nutella, butter, cereal etc.) The rooms and beds were very comfortable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your really nice review. We love to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

91%

Stay was great, unfortunately never made it up in time for breakfast so I can't rate the food but the the atmosphere and overall quality of the stay was beyond what I imagined. An excellent first trip to Amsterdam, will definitely be returning In the summer.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the nice review. It makes us proud to read your stay was beyond what you imagined :D We are sorry to hear you didn't catch breakfast but we are sure we will serve it to you soon ;) See you in the summer!! Cheers, the Flying Pig Downtown

89%

great location, friendly staff

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We really appreciate this :D We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in by far! The showers were incredible. There was always hot water available and everything was cleaned regularly. Also had a great breakfast included.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We really appreciate this :D We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

Awesome spot, great staff. Really fun atmopsphere in the hostel aswell would stay again in a second!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your really nice review. It is so great to read you scored us this high and absolutely amazing to see that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

One of the best hostel in my life..it was clean and next to the station and The Red line district. Smoking area was really particular, also if u were alone! If i will come Back there, i will reserve here, for sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wauw! Thank you so much for the amazing review. Best hostel in your life, thank you so much!! It is so great to read you enjoyed your stay and you would come back to stay with us next time :D We hope to see you soon again!! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

83%

Good hostel for partying in the downtown of Amsterdam: fun bar, chillin music, smoking room. It's located very close to the central train station which is fantastic. Beds are comfortable, good lockers under the beds and clean. The best part about The Flying Pig is their breakfast! It's included and delicious!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate this :D Thank you for mentioning the breakfast, we've been changing it a lot in the couple of months so it is great to read that our guests love our new and improved breakfast! We hope to see you back at the pig some day! Cheers, the Flying Pig Downtown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(141 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback