Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 8143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 8143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.1

Such a good place we are travelling and spent 2 nights here it's really chilled out and such an enjoyable place would reccomend to anyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

It was great in every way possible, from the people to the facilities and location. We had a great time! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
9.7

First time ever in Amsterdam and definitely not my last Flying Pig was a sweet hostel, really cool atmosphere Definitely in a touristy area though so if you want a more authentic Amsterdam with local bars and stuff I'd go to the Flying Pig uptown location Had a lot of fun and met some really cool people 10/10 would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Dax1328
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

it's really a nice place with good location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jun 2017
8.9

Very good location and good facilities, even thou the room was way too hot for sleeping on a extraordinarily hot summer night. But I guess that's not the standard weather in Amsterdam, it was maybe just bad luck for me. I enjoyed my stay nonetheless...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • CatMcCollom
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2017
8.9

Great location, 5 min walk from Amsterdam Centraal. Stayed in the 6-bed female dorm with ensuite (clean), lockers under every bed. Hostel is right on a busy pedestrian street so can be quite noisy. Bar on ground level is great, as a solo traveller it was easy to make friends. Everything walkable from the hostel. Staff were friendly, beds comfortable and clean, power point and light for each bed. Free breakfast every morning was so nice. Besides having a weird roommate one night, can't complain!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Excellent place and perfect location! The staff were pros and the facilities were adequate. Old school hostel with modern amenities..great spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your great review! See you next time hopefully! - The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.1

Had a great stay! Only stayed for one night but I can tell you this is where you wanna be! It is literally right in the centre of Amsterdam which is the access to everything you can do in Amsterdam! Highly recommend staying here 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for your recommendation! We hope you'll visit us again some day! - The Flying Pig Downtown

9th Jun 2017
8.3

Atmosphere was super chill, free breakfast was pretty complete, close to a lot of bars/clubs/smoke shops. In a big party area it seemed, so don't expect to get a lot of rest. Facilities was nice and clean, and the lockers were big, but bring your own lock if you want maximum security. Staff was less than friendly. They wanted to keep my passport over night, but I wasn't comfortable with that and expressed myself so, but they still persisted.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind and constructive feedback. We are sorry that the communication during check-in hasn't been quite what you would have hoped and expected from us. We do take the passport as a means of security deposit if you check in after midnight, when we don't have a full-on receptionist. We will see if we can perhaps find an alternative solution, as we understand your concerns. Again, our apologies for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again some day! - The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jun 2017
7.4

If you like to party then this hostel is your cup of tea. Personally not the hostel for me, especially as a solo traveller I didn't feel hugely confident to just go down to the bar and meet people as everyone seemed already in groups, unless in the smoking room which I wasn't interested in. But like I said, just not the one for me. Found the bathroom quite dirty but that's what you get when sharing with 10 I guess. Breakfast was a good breakfast

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your fair review. We appreciate that you gave us a shot, and respect that it wasn't your cup of tea. Although we are famous for being such a social hostel, there's always moments when groups that have already formed may seem a tad intimidating. Please always feel free to make our staff aware of a dirty bathroom, and please note that we have plenty of public showers and toilets as well, which you may prefer at times. Thanks again for your review! - The Flying Pig Downtown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.