Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 7868 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 7868 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2017
10.0

Stayed for 1night was made most welcome 😀can get a bit noisey downstairs in smoking room and bar at night but got everything u need and 24hr smoking room is just what u need 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2017
5.7

It is a party hostel, so there's no place to rest. Music is loud all the time and all the place smells of weed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on how your stay with us went, your opinions are important to us as help us develop ourselves for the future. Indeed we are a party hostel with a closed bar and DJs playing until 3am, but the music should not be so loud that you cannot rest. We also have a 24 hour smoking room, but this is the only area in the hostel you can smoke. We have a 24 hour reception and WhatsApp number so if ever you have any queries at any point during your stay our staff are on hand to help out. Thanks again and safe travels, The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Great place to stay, the atmosphere was even better! Staff we're all great but the English man who was working nights on the 17th and 18th of February was especially friendly and made me and everyone else feel very welcome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you found us a great place to stay! Thank you for mentioning our night receptionist Tom, we will be sure to pass on your kind words to him, he will be pleased to hear what a lasting impression he made on your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back someday! The piggies

16th Feb 2017
9.1

Really smooth check-in and great security. the Mixed dorm was a lot of fun in regards to meeting folks. People here like to party! Unfortunately I'm not too into it but regardless I had a bunch of fun meeting some folks. Place is in walking distance to everything, the area is mostly for shopping and touristy things so if that's not your vibe then might not want to try this out. However you will get a 5 minute walk to Centraal which was helpful in doing day trips to Belgium

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for commenting on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice smooth check in and enjoyed meeting other like-minded travellers here. Indeed we are a party hostel here with Djs :) Great that our proximity to Central Station helped aid your other travel plans. Thanks again and we hope to see you next time The piggies

16th Feb 2017
8.0

Excellent location, very clean. Wifi didn't work in our room, even after complained a lot. A very unpleasant situation happened to us. On Feb 19th (evening) the reception gate wasn't working and since the morning we were getting inside swiping the card key only at the outside gate, but the guy who was at the reception SHOUTED at us because of that. Yeah, he didn't ask for the key in a polite way, he shouted in front of everyone, the ruddiest staff I have seen after visiting probably 10 hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased that you found us clean and in an ideal location. We remember you mentioning the WIFI in your room and went up to check it right away and it was working for us which was a little odd. We are shocked to hear your comment about our receptionist and will contact you personally about this. Normally our staff pride themselves on being welcoming and friendly so this seems very out of character for which we send our sincere apologies. Thank you for mentioning this, we will be sure to speak to the staff member as soon as possible about this. Thanks again safe travels, The piggies

15th Feb 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel, felt like at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are over the moon to see that you thought we were an awesome hostel! Great that you felt at home here :) We hope to see you again! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
6.3

I enjoyed my stay in the Flying Pig very much. It is in a good location where there are many shops around and the trams are nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us in a good location :) We hope to see you again! The piggies

13th Feb 2017
8.6

Big party smoking hostel. 6 bed dorms are extremely small and uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Thanks for rating our security a 10! This is something we take very seriously so are pleased to see! Indeed we are a party hostel with a bar and DJs :) We are sorry to hear that you found your room a little small. We have a really old Amsterdam building so some of our rooms are a little oddly shaped. Sorry for that, we also have a choice of other sized dorms too :) Take care and safe travels, The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.9

Great hostel!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are thrilled you found us a great hostel and hope to welcome you back soon! Happy Travels, The piggies

9th Feb 2017
5.4

Cell phone was stolen, people smoked weed in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you mobile phone was taken whilst you were here. We always encourage our guests to keep all of their valuable items in view of them and to use our free safe at reception too. We didn't hear about your phone during your stay, but have a lost and found box so it is always possible it just got misplaced and someone handed it in. We will contact you personally about this. We were shocked to hear your comment about people smoking in the rooms. This is strictly not allowed, wehave a 24 hour smoking room for this, if we were aware of this we would ask these people to leave and they would receive a fine. We have a 24 hour reception desk and WhatsApp number so our staff are always on hand to answer and resolve any queries or questions during your stay. Thanks again and safe travels, The piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.