X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6859 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

simply best in amsterdam


100%

Fantastic!! The staff was amazing and the location is perfect. Thank you Flying Pig!

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed in winter and was travelling on my own. Rooms are cleaned every day. Comfortable beds, with huge lockers in each room :) the staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful and fun. The bar downstairs is so much fun. There were always people around happy to have a drink or play pool. The staff usually always end up partying with everyone and know how to have a good time. I did have a night where I wanted to relax which was easy. Safe, secure and fun!


100%

Surely the best

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We love your words and are very proud to hear we are the best ! :) See you next time! The Piggies

77%

We stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm.. And both nights the other guests brought friends to sleep with them... Kinda lame when you know they haven't paid for a bed (even though they are bunking in)

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your stay with us. We were sorry to hear that there were extra people in your room who shouldn't have been there. We have a very strict policy on our door where by only guests may enter with a key card, so we imagine these extras could have been from another room :( We offer our sincere apologies for this and hope you didn't let it disrupt your stay too much. The Piggies .

94%

Great hostel with an excellent location! Easy to find and everything within walking distance. Nice staff and atmosphere. What else would you need? :)

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you kindly for your great review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our nice staff and atmosphere! We hope to see you again someday! Happy travels The Piggies

80%

I really enjoyed my stay at flying pig downtown, I met a couple of very cool people during my weekend-stay, the atmosphere is very laid-back. The hostel itself seemed rather a bit old (not necessarily in a negative sense) BUT the location is unbeatable and the price is very reasonable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your stay with us! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay here! Indeed we are a very old Amsterdam building, hopefully this adds to our piggie charm ;) We hope to see you again someday! The Piggies

86%

I found it not very clean, specially our bed and the room in general. The location is great though, and the staff is awesome!

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Couldn't recommend this place highly enough! Great location, really close to Central Station. Lovely staff, good drink deals.. A really good atmosphere in there! Can't wait to go back!

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Woweee! Thank you for your lovely review! We love to hear that you would highly recommend us and cant wait to come back! We cant wait to have you back! :) Take care and see you soooon! The Piggies

100%

This hostel was great, catered for a large group of 22 perfectly. The free breakfast was ideal and the bar located in the hostel was a bit too convenient.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there Thank you for your awesome review! Great that you found our bar convenient and had a good time here ;) Indeed we normally do not allow for such large groups but it is possible on occasion that we make an exception. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves! Thank you and safe travels, The Piggies

97%

The kitchen was a mess but that is the only complaint. It is the fault of the guests, not the hostel

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you so much for taking the time to write some comments about your stay with us. We are thrilled to see such high ratings! :) We are sorry that the kitchen was not in the state we intended it to be when you went to use it. We will be sure to check it more regularly, thank you for bringing this to our attention :) Happy Travels, The Piggies

100%

Fab atmosphere, all staff were happy to advise on things to do places to go! Enjoyed every minute of our stay and the friendliness of everyone made us fall in love with Amsterdam!

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Woweee! Thank you so much for your kind review and lovely words. We are happy that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us and found our staff happy to help and advise you! They love their jobs so will be pleased to hear that they made a difference to your time here :) We hope to see you again some day! Happy travels! The Piggies

77%

Good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there :) Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review! We are happy to read that you found us a good hostel! We hope you will return one day Take care and safe travels! The Piggies

77%

Welcomed in by a moody and unwelcoming staff member. Hostel was lovely apart from that - great location and buzzing all the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. Your experiences can help us improve ourselves for the future. We were disappointed to hear that your welcome did not meet the standards we intend. We will be sure to follow this up. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. We are very pleased to hear that you did not let this disrupt your stay :) Take care, the piggies

66%

Average hostel to stay. Staff are smoking weed in the smoking room. So they are high like us everytime. It is not professional.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay with us. Indeed smoking and drinking are legal in Amsterdam so our staff are welcome to do either if they chose to hang out after work. We can assure you that they are most certainly not doing so on duty. Take care and safe travels The Piggies

94%

Loved it. Was here for 4 days aside from having to pay to keep my bags in the lockers after checkout i really don't have much to complain about

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for leaving some comments about your experience. Great to hear that you loved staying with us :) Indeed we have lockers to use after check out for those guests who have a late flight. They are €2.00 for 24 hours or 40cents for an hour and ensure your bags are kept securely. Thank you and we hope to see you again someday! The Piggies

57%

Ok, but seems more like just a pub with rooms overhead than a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review. Our bar is the central place of the hostel where everyone meets to have a drink or party til late. I will contact you personally to ask for some more feedback about your comment and find out what you would have liked to see instead. We hope you still enjoyed yourself at the Pig. Take care, The Pig Downtown

100%

Great hostel, very welcoming and a lot of communal space around the bar. Great for a single traveller

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's fantastic to read that you had such a good time with us, and that you appreciated the atmosphere, being a solo traveller. We hope to see you again some day! The Flying Pig Downtown

89%

Super fun vibe and very secure. The staff are generally lovely and very helpful and the rooms are clean. Don't let the indoor smoking room turn you off, the hostel smells completely normal and not like a hot box.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you very much for letting us know a bit about your stay with us. Great that you found us fun and secure. :) Security is something we take very seriously so are pleased to hear your comments. Thank you for mentioning that despite the indoor smoking room, the smell is not in the rest of the hostel. We have a strong extractor fan and a door to the balcony to prevent this ;) Take care and happy travels. The Piggies

86%

We stayed at the Flying Pig downtown for two nights and it was a pretty good experience. The thing I liked best was its location because it's right in the downtown area so it's pretty easy to just walk everywhere. Breakfast was included as well and the staff was friendly.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to read that you had a good experience in our hostel, and that you particularly liked our location and our staff. We hope to see you again next time you're around! The Flying Pig Downtown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(198 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback