Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 7936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 7936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay. More power plugs would be nice. ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.9

Great place to party or smoke. Can be loud as people party pretty much all night. I would stay here again for the location and staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
9.4

Amazing location- literally as central as you can get, surrounded by shops, short walk from everything you could want to do in Amsterdam. Such a good atsmophere, great music, communal areas, good bar- cheap prices on drink and food! Staff so friendly and helpful, always Williams by to give tourist advice, always answered any quiries and just generally nice people. No issues. Amazing value for money. Clean and tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi ! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are thrilled to read your lovely comments :) Great to hear that you had no issues here and found us amazing value! We are pleased that you also found us clean and that our staff were on hand to help you out with all of your city questions and needs! Thanks again and happy travels, The piggies

13th Mar 2017
10.0

Flying Pig was a legendary experience for me. There motto is "home is where your head is" and they really do strive to make it feel like home! The staff is so energetic and awesome! I've stayed at tons of hostels in places all across the world and this one is my favorite by far. 10/10 would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey hey! Wooowweeeee! Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are thrilled to hear comments like legendary :) Thank you for mentioning our energetic and fun staff! They love to work here so will be over the moon to hear this! Thank you so much for recommending us! We really appreciate your piggie loyalty ;) Take care and we hope to see you next time! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Was a great place to stay! Group of four 20 year old female backpackers and we felt super happy and comfortable. The vibe is younger here than another big hostel we stayed at in Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! WOOOHOoooooOOo! Thanks so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to see that you found us a great place to stay! Great to hear that you felt super happy and comfortable with us :) We hope to see you again someday! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.0

Extremely loud at night - little sound insulation from streets and directly in party centre of town. No laundry - but there is a cute laundromat nearby that will do your laundry for 9 euros. Lights are automatically dimmed at night in rest of hostel so if you use the showers in the middle of the night you're stuck doing it in the dark. If you're looking for a party, this is the hostel for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our staff and central location! Sorry to hear that you found it loud at night. We have a 24 hour reception desk and Whatsapp number so our staff are always on hand to help out. We also offer free earplugs at reception for any unwanted room noise. Indeed we dim the lights in the bar and smoking area at night to create an atmosphere, but the rest of the lights remain full power. Thanks again and we wish you safe travels :) The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2017
10.0

My friend and I stayed for five nights at this hostel, in an 8 person room. We had so much fun! The facilities were clean, the staff was friendly, great atmosphere for meeting new people, and the location really could not be better. You are two minutes away from Central Station and it's easy to get to any major point of interest. Plenty of restaurants and coffeeshops nearby. The bar & smoking room at the hostel are also really nice. Breakfast and kitchen area are a major plus. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! WOoooHOOOo! Thanks so much for the lovely review! We are pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us! Great that you found our facilities clean and our atmosphere also great for meeting new people! Thanks for mentioning our free breakfast and guest kitchen :) Thank you for recommending us! We really appreciate your piggie loyalty :) See you next time! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.1

If your looking for a hostel in the center, with a bar and smoke room this is the place.. You get discount on the food in belushis too which is handy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay! We are pleased to hear that you found the discount at our sister hostel handy :) Great that you appreciated our bar and smoking room! We hope to see you next time! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Morocco, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
9.1

The staff were friendly and amazing. If you need anything, just ask. I like that they only hold a deposit to use their towels instead of a fee. Most places will charge for every time you get a towel, but here they just kept a deposit and you could either get a fresh towel or get your deposit back. They had a kitchen downstairs where you can either store your food or even cook a meal if you wanted. They also have a bar, but they only except cash. So make sure to bring some if you want to drink.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us! Great that you found our staff friendly and amazing! They will love to hear this :) We are pleased to hear that you also appreciated our free towel rental (with only a €3.00 deposit) and our guest kitchen for you to save a bit of money on your travels! Indeed we only have cash at our bar as it is quite small with only 1 bartender, but you can always get cash out at reception after 7pm and there is a cash point 1 minute walk away :) We hope to see you again sometime! The piggies

2nd Mar 2017
9.4

It was my second time in flying pig. I love the energy of this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for letting us know about your stay! We are pleased to hear that you are a returning piggie! Thank you so much for your loyalty :) Great that what you love about us is our energy! See you next time! The piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.