Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 7853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 7853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel, felt like at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
6.3

I enjoyed my stay in the Flying Pig very much. It is in a good location where there are many shops around and the trams are nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.9

Great hostel!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
5.4

Cell phone was stolen, people smoked weed in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Hostel is in a great location. They focus on making sure everyone has a good time, which is cool. Security good too, as they will look after your stuff at reception if you ask. Things to improve: - beds were super squeaky when anyone moved - add some WD40 - you need a large lock to use the underbed cages. Was a bit annoying, but they did sort me out with a new lock which was good - the bathroom in room 308 smelt so bad, from the drains I suspect Overall a great hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you kindly for taking the time to let us know about your stat. We are pleased to hear that you found that we made sure you had a good time here! Great that you appreciated our 24hour safe and reception! Thank you for mentioning the bathroom in your room. We will check it out right away. Thanks again and we hope to see you again! The piggies

3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel in perfect central location, very clean, staff extremely friendly, good vibe in general throughout the building. Great free breakfast, showers nice and warm. Kitchen huge and fully equipped. Bed very comfortable, each of them had own reading light, electrical socket and a safe storage area under them ( but don't forget your own padlock). Very impressed and I have already re-booked this hostel for my next stay in Amsterdam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us! We are thrilled to see such lovely comments! Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed our free breakfast and great showers and guest kitchen! We are pleased to hear that you were impressed with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back next time! Thanks again and happy travels! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
4.9

The hostel itself was nice and had an incredible location! However, three friends and I purchased a 4 room ensuite and our door did not lock from the inside. There was multiple occasions where a staff member would knock on the door and even when we said we were alright /didn't need anything, they used a key to open the door. This is extremely unacceptable. It made us nervous to change outside of the bathroom and made us feel extremely uncomfortable the whole time. Would never stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us, your experiences can help us improve for the future. We are pleased that you found the hostel nice and enjoyed our central location. We are sorry to hear that the cleaners came into your room unannounced. Indeed we tell them to go into every room and clean them, but of course they should knock first. Sorry about this, it was completely not our intention to make you feel at all comfortable at any point. We are now implementing 'do not distrub' signs for our groups to try to rectify this situation, so thank you for mentioning this, hopefully we can strive to better ourselves for future guests. Thank you again and safe travelling, The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
9.4

My first hostel experience was successful! The staff was extremely cool & welcoming! Loved the location. Close to a lot of things!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Thanks so much fo taking the time to review your stay with us! We are thrilled that as your first experience in a hostel it was a successful one ;) Great that you found our staff cool and welcoming and our central location helped you access all of the local sights! Take care and we hope to see you again someday! Happy Travels! The piggies

30th Jan 2017
10.0

Everything about this place is good, can't complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow that is amazing! Thank you so much for your kind words :) We are very happy to see you had such a great time with us. Hopefully we will see you again one day! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.0

A good hostel with great atmosphere. Maybe not the best in Netherlands but close. I found the grates provided for backpacks bit unpractical and not very secure. Staff had a lot expertise on the city which was great, and the provided breakfast above average. Overall a good but slightly overrated hostel experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased that you found us a good hostel with a great atmosphere! Great that our staff were on hand to guide your trip! Sorry that the lockers in your room were a bit tricky. We are working on getting all of those ones updated :) Thanks and safe travels! The piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.