Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 7,235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 7,235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
Flying Pig Downtown Located at Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Downtown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 MR Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR
88% 7235
52.3769615 4.8965013
Flying Pig Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jun 2016
8.0

We expected it to have a little more going on but the location can't be beat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the experience. Early check in was allowed at 11am - they noted the room hadn't been cleaned yet but wasn't an issue as the room was relatively clean. Water spreads across the bathroom floor after showers, but wasn't a huge issue. Laundry facility would have been nice, but no complaints. Would recommend to others!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.9

Was in a different dimension for 90% of the stay so you could have given me a cardboard box and I would have been happy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mcuzungece650
  • Turkey, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.6

Great location, very nice atmosphere. I've stayed in this hostel for twice. There're only a few negative points and apart from that it's a fun place to stay. Negative: - Could be a lil bit more clean. Especially the toilets. - They "sell" small locks for the cabins.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2016
6.9

The location of the hostel is really convenient and the staff are friendly and helpful. However, I stayed in a 16 person dorm, and I would not recommend it to anyone. It is in the basement, and backs right onto the smoking room patio. I'm totally fine with people smoking pot, however, it's not too enjoyable to smell at all hours of the day - regardless if it's 8am, 5pm or midnight, it always smells.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know a bit more about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We were sorry that your room backed on to the balcony where lots of guests smoke. We close the balcony at 10pm to try to prevent this at all hours. Thanks again and safe travels, The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.1

I would stay here over and over and over again because the location is just that good. Out of the four hostels that I stayed at on my trip, this was the one that was the least clean. I found the bathroom to be the most disgusting plus it smelled and the building itself was just old -- but I still would stay here in a heartbeat because it is in the heart of Amsterdam. It is a seven-minute walk to Centraal Station, surrounded by coffee shops and delicious food and a five minutes away from a canal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Amberl11
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.7

Great vibes, great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome! Thank you so much for leaving this great review. We are very happy you had such a good time with us :) Hopefully we will see you again one day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.4

Staff was awesome, atmosphere was good. The location was perfect, not too far of a walk to many attractions. Would definitely stay there again! 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there, This is great to hear! Thank you so much, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.0

WiFi is slow upstairs. Staffs are excellent friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you do much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly! We are sorry that we were having slight WIFI problems during your stay with us. We are getting our entire system rebooted tomorrow to fix this :) Take care and safe travels! The piggiges

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
6.0

The only thing this hostel has going for it, is its location. Of all the hostels we stayed in during our trip (5) this was by far the worst! 3 of us stayed in a 4 bed dorm, and the facilities are basic at best. We had a private bathroom, however the shower is on a push timer which only stays on for about 20 seconds. The wifi didn't work in our room for the entire stay. Breakfast was average. For the price per bed, I would look for a cheap hotel as an alternative to staying at this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.