Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flying Pig Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 7,320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 7,320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Downtown Located at Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Downtown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 MR Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR
88% 7320
52.3769615 4.8965013
Flying Pig Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • captainrana
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.4

Very friendly and helpful staff. the location is very central. Would definitely come back here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for leaving a review about your stay with us! Great to hear that you enjoyed it and found our staff and location central for all of your Amsterdam needs! ;) Thanks for mentioning that you would come back! :) That is wonderful to hear! We cant wait to welcome you back home! Take care, The Piggies

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Lack of aircon or fan was disappointing! Very hot both at night and during the day so hard to sleep. Great atmosphere at night! Great showers and bathroom facilities however the dorms were average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here.Great to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere in our common areas and found our shower block ideal :) We are sorry though to hear that is was warm during your stay. Sadly the weather here is only warm a few days of the year but we do have lots of fans available from our 24 hour reception desk for warm nights to help! We would love to know where we could improve our facilities so will contact you personally about this :) Take care and safe travels! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.9

Excellent staff and atmosphere..it was very hot and stuffy in the dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.9

Perfect place to stay - can't imagine better! Great atmosphere, cool decor downstairs, good rooms, keycard locks, even an (okay) ensuite, toast/cereal breakfasts, and cheap lockers. Ideal location for us near the train station and cultural areas etc, but consider whether you'd prefer the 'Uptown' Flying Pig Hostel which is closer to main area of bars/restaurants (including the big bar crawl!) - but for the easy station access I reckon this one wins. Noisy generator outside was fine really.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for your kind words :) We are very happy to see you and your friends had such a good time with us! Whenever you come back to Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again at the Pig. Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

13th Jul 2016
8.0

Great security with key card to get into the building and then again past reception. Locker under bed was broken and barely accessible due to location of the bed in the room. Used the payed lockers which were safe. Location is right in the middle of everything and easy to get to. Staff was very helpful with figuring out future travel plans. Good party atmosphere with beer pong nights and bar. Smoking room and patio. Bathrooms not stocked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Rad staff that are always happy to help and down for a drink. Awesome atmosphere and just an overall rad place to stay. Would highly reccommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much! We are very happy to hear you find our staff so helpful and fun, that is what we are all about! :) Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
3.4

It was very dirty and the staff we're not friendly at all. Breakfast was not worth it and the place smelled and had never been cleaned. The bar is way too noisy and you can't get any sleep because people are outside making noise.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed our stay here. Location is fantastic and staff are great. We stayed in a 14 bed double dorm and there was plenty of room and lockers big enough to store two large backpacks. Heaps of showers and toilets which were always clean. Showers hot and powerful. Bar downstairs was good/cheap and activities put on like trivia night were a lot of fun. Would stay here again just probably in a smaller dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
8.3

Great people in an amazing location. Weird shower was my only complaint (water gets everywhere).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.0

Well, it is kind of a party hostel. They have their own bar, occasionally there is a DJ playing and they have their own smoking room. So basically you can spend a lot of time in the hostel itself if you are into smoking pot.The location is near the Central Railway Station and also you can walj around the town and the Red Light District. I really enjoyed my stay there, and surely would recommend if you like to party and meet other travellers. Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for commenting on your stay with us! Great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and found time to hang out in our bar with nighttime events! Indeed we are a party hostel with a closed bar so do attract like minded travellers :) Great to hear that you would recommend us! Thank you so much for this ;) Take care and safe travels! The Piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.