Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 7,153 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 7,153 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Downtown Located at Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Downtown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 MR Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR
88% 7153
52.3769615 4.8965013
Flying Pig Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.9

Really good hostel with a super friendly and helpful staff. It's clean and the location is great. It's a very social place so you'll definitely meet lots of people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
9.4

Great place to go if you are a solo traveler! The bar has a very social atmosphere and is very welcoming and the staff are really friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
10.0

Flying Pig made my trip to Amsterdam amazing! It is centrally located so you can walk everywhere. The staff will help provide you with recommendations and directions. The nightlife of the bar and smoke room is the perfect way to meet people. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to stay in the heart of Amsterdam and hope to return here myself one day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow this is so nice to read! Thank you so much, we are very happy you had such a good time with us. If you ever come back to Amsterdam , we hope to see you again!

22nd May 2016
7.7

Pretty much a good hostel if you only plan on coming to Amsterdam to get high for the entire trip, as they do have a smoking room. However my only complaint was there was a stench coming out of all the sinks that was absolutely rancid and made it hard to even use a sink or shower. Also there is a really loud buzzing noise when the door opens out front, so if you get a front facing room you have to deal with that the entire night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th May 2016
8.6

Can't beat the location! We were there for a 24 hour stopover and its was the perfect spot near the central station. Walking distance to all things to see. Security was great - had to use your key card to enter through the front door and a second barricade. Rooms were cleaned well. They offer all kinds of maps and tours to people at the front desk. And free earplugs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • yapster18
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
6.3

Had high hopes for the hostel but left disappointed. Good things are that staff are friendly and helpful and the location is perfect, very near to the train station. However, hostel is not the cleanest i have been to. Ventilation is very bad in the room but showers and toilets are clean. Security wise not very good if you are staying at the basement. People keep going in and out through the door there, which defeats the point of the card key. Smoke also filter into the room coz of the door.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. Your experiences can help us improve ourselves for the future. We were disappointed and sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you had expected it to be. We are sorry that the door to your room had a lot of people going in and out. We are currently in the middle of resolving this issue so that the door can only be used in case of an emergency as intended. Thanks again and safe travels, The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th May 2016
9.1

Had an amazing experience here. The bar has reasonably priced drinks and food, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Security is great, considering the location. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Amsterdam!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
9.1

Really great location and clean facilities. Enjoyed the atmosphere and loved that each bed had its own plug. The bar was always full of people and a fun place to hang out. Staff were great for the most part minus a few that were slightly rowdy and unprofessional. Stayed for 6 nights and would come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to let us know a bit more about your stay with us. Your comments can help us develop and improve for the future. We are so pleased that you found us a great location and our facilities nice and clean! Great to hear that you found time to hang out at our bar! We are pleased to hear that the staff were great, but disappointed to hear a few let it down. We will contact you personally to find out more about this. Take care and happy travels! The Piggies

16th May 2016
9.4

Staff are really friendly and the bar/lounge areas are good vibes. Would definitely stay again. Great location too being within a five minute walk from the station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2016
10.0

We had a great two night stay at the flying pig in a 4-bed dorm. Staff was really friendly and location is perfect! Good basic breakfast was provided and the bar is open till really late, but at the room it was very silent. Bathroom was very clean too! Can only recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.