Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 7,503 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 7,503 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
Flying Pig Downtown Located at Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Downtown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 MR Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR
88% 7503
52.3769615 4.8965013
Flying Pig Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hannnuli
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.1

Party hostel in a great location. Not really value for the money and the staff wasn't the greatest that I've come across. Breakfast was surprisingly good and really liked the other guests as well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for letting us know a bit more about how your stay with us was! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and had a nice time hanging out with the other piggie guests :) We are sorry to hear that you didn't find us good value and will contact you personally to see where we could improve. Thanks again and safe travels, the piggies

  • kenzie4
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2016
10.0

This is one of the best hostels i have ever stayed at! The staff were the most friendly people, there was a good social vibe. If i got the chance to come back I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
9.1

Nothing bad to say! Dorm was clean & travelling alone I never felt any bad security issues. Had a few problems with my keycard but the staff we polite and sorted it out for me, all the staff had smiles on their faces, as did the rest of the people staying at the hostel which speaks volumes for the place. Location Perfect. If I visit Amsterdam again this will be the place I book with, so should anyone reading these reviews! - Only thing is that I wish the outside smoke area was a little bigger

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased to see you have nothing bad to say about us! :) Great that you felt safe and secure here, this is something we take very seriously so are pleased to read this. We are happy to see that our staff and other guests were always happy and smiling :) The staff love to work here so we are happy to see this comes across really well! Great that you would stay here again! See you next time! :) The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome stay even though it was only 2 nights. Lots of friendly people, great location and good vibes! Bar has good deal on beers so you're never thirsty and the smoke room is great for indulging in Amsterdam's greatest commodity, most importantly it has great ventilation so you don't feel asphyxiated after a good sesh. Only bummer is it is a closed hostel so you cant invite a friend in for a drink, not the end of the world. Would recommend to anyone in the area, wish I could have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey hey! Woohoo! :) Thanks so much for the awesome review! We are thrilled that you had an awesome stay and would recommend us! Thank you so much! :) We hope to welcome you home soon! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
9.7

I loved staying here! The location was a 7 min walk from the train station, and the location was walking distance from so many things, or a quick tram ride away! They had a bar and food downstairs but I surprisingly didn't hear any of it from the second floor. The staff and people I met were really nice and helpful. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for feeding back some comments about your stay with us. We are happy to read that you loved staying here! Great that despite our bar downstairs that you didn't hear anything on the 2nd floor ;) Thank you so much for recommending us :D We really appreciate this! See you next time! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel! I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this is one of the best I've been to. Also, good party location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey!! Woooweee! Thanks so much for the amazing review and great ratings :) We are so pleased that from your vast hostel experience you have named us as one of the best! Thank you :) We hope to welcome you back some day! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.9

Great location, staff, cleanliness and secuirty. Right near Amsterdam's great nightlife and main train station. The rooms were spacious and staff cleaned them everyday and the free breakfast was one of the best going around. However, it was very expensive for a hostel which was its only real downfall

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are very pleased that you found us clean and rated our security high! Great that you found our rooms clean and spacious and enjoyed our free breakfast! Thanks again, happy travels! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.6

Very welcoming and friendly staff, and the hostel the bar gave the place a great atmosphere. My friend and I stayed in a 16 person dorm which was clean, although the beds were not the most comfortable. I felt very safe there and met some amazing people. Overall great place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We are pleased to read you found our staff welcoming and friendly :) This is great to hear! Thank you for mentioning you found the hostel clean and also felt very safe here! We hope to welcome you back sometime int he future! Thanks again and happy travels! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
9.7

We kicked off our two month Europe trip in Amsterdam and could not have picked a better place to stay. The location was close to everything you could possibly need, and the staff were so friendly. We met so many great people in the hostel bar and if we came back, we would never stay anywhere else!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Wow! Thank you so much for your great comments! We are thrilled that as your 1st stop you couldn't have picked a better place to stay! We are so pleased that you would stay here again if you were ever in Amsterdam :) We hope to welcome you back soon! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Only complaint is the bathroom had a bad moldy smell as the shower did not drain properly and made the room stink after a shower. However the bed was extremely comfy and the hostel has a great smoking room. Great location 5 min walk to Amsterdam centraal and red light district.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for letting us know a bit more about how your stay with us was! We are pleased to hear that you found your bed nice and comfy and you were able to visit all of the Amsterdam sights nearby our central location ;) We were sorry to hear the shower wasnt draining well in your room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will send our maintenance team right away! Take care and thanks again! The Piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.