Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 7,795 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 7,795 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Flying Pig Downtown Located at Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Downtown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 MR Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR
87% 7795
52.3769615 4.8965013
Flying Pig Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.4

Great atmosphere, friendly staff and perfect location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.1

Such a brilliant hostel atmosphere! A great bar downstairs, with plenty of tables to mingle. The location is fab, easily accessible from the airport via the central train station, and able to walk to many main attractions. Security is fairly good, each bunk has a cage underneath (which you'll need to bring your own large locks for), however there are also safes available. Rooms were cleaned daily, and beds super comfy. (I would only recommend that they add bathmats, shower floors get slippery!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • miszxjanice
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel if you are looking to party & smoke green. Unfortunately, I don't share the same aficionado for the green man--but this didn't hinder me from staying. *Felt very safe-location is central to everything-smoking room-bar (open til 3am)-pool table-helpful staff-lockers offered in rooms-short walk to central station* -- bathrooms seemed to need more attention & cleanliness overall needed work. Staff had trouble with reservation so we had to switch beds in the AM which was a hassle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are pleased to hear that you felt safe here and found our staff helpful. :) We were sorry to hear about you switching rooms and were not aware of that ourselves, so send our apologies. Sadly sometimes if there are so many whole groups booked, this can happen due to the nature of the hostel business, but it is very rare. Thanks again and safe travels, Flying Pig Management

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
7.4

Good place to stay for a weekend. Good vibes and great location. 3 nights was a perfect stay for us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are pleased you found us a great place to stay with good vibes and location! Great that your stay was perfect! We love to hear this :) We hope to see you again some day! Happy Travelling! The Piggies

12th Jan 2017
9.1

Great spot in town, not to far from anything. You're in the heart of the shopping district and coffeeshops are all around you. Great food spots and like a 10min walk from the red light district if you're into that. Safe spot in town, staff is great and really friendly. Social atmosphere is fantastic, great for all types of travelers, drinks are priced really well and everyone is super friendly, could be all the weed...but you get my point.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
9.4

Great location, great staff, great atmosphere definitely one of the best party hostels. My only complains are showers don't shower I mean the water pours down really slow and it's a bit cold in some areas of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks so much for your lovely review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, great staff and atmosphere! Thanks for letting us know about the shower pressure in the room you stayed in, we will get our maintenance team to take a look right away! Thanks again and happy travels, The Piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Flying Pigs is excellent hostel to go to as a solo traveller. The bar + smoking room makes for an ideal place to make friends. Beds are small but comfy enough. Most of the staff are very lovely and helpful. Perfect location, very close to the train station, shops, restaurants and about a 15min walk to the main clubbing area. I had a grand old time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you found us an excellent hostel as a solo traveller! Great that our common bar and smoking room made it easy for you to meet new friends! We are pleased you had a grand old time and hope to welcome you back soon! Happy travels! The Piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Had a great stay and great time. Was only there one night, but check in was smooth, and the staff was friendly/ the available smoking room and bar were great to hang out. Only issue I had was that I wish check out time was a bit later, as waking up after a night in amsterdam is never very fun, and 10:30am was a bit early. Free breakfast was great though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for letting us know how your stay with us was :) We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and time with us! Great that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed our common bar and smoking room areas :) Thanks again and we hope to see you again! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.9

Great location and pretty clean! Loved getting a free breakfast but not being able to check in or change rooms except at specific times was difficult. The six person single gender rooms are much larger and nicer (with own bathroom) than the mixed dorms but both did the trick. Would definitely recommend to a friend as a social but clean hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you found us in a great location and pretty clean! We need to have a certain time for check out otherwise people would stay in their beds all day when others wish to check in. ;) Thanks again and safe travels! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jan 2017
7.1

Great location. Didn't find it to be very clean especially the bathrooms. There were lots of staff and they were generally very friendly but were always partying and very loud. Music didn't stop every night till about 2 so if you're staying here make sure you like to party!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you found us in a great location! Sorry to hear that the cleanliness of our showers let us down, we will be sure to remind our cleaners about this. Indeed we are a party hostel with DJs and a bar open until 3am! Thanks again and safe travels! The piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.