X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6851 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The hostel was clean, and the staff were awesome. However it was extremely noisy. Our room was beside the elevator and it shook the entire wall of our room every time it moved. Could hear running water from the next room and most sounds from outside the room.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your review. We will pass on your kind words to our staff! We're sorry about the noise in the room, from the elevator and from the next room. We will look into the situation, and hope to solve the issue. Thanks again for your feedback! The Flying Pig Downtown

69%

My stay was ok. Bteafast was nice. Bathrooms were cleaned daily but very poor job done with vacuuming so the room was very dusty. I heard some staff members insult me and another guest(Italian) which made things uncomfortable for the rest of my stay. This was uncalled for and very unprofessional The rest of the staff was friendly. If you really want to stay downtown near central station and don't mind some dust then I guess this place is ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for your constructive feedback. We learn a lot from your experience, and use it to improve our services and facilities for our future guests. We are sorry about the vacuuming in the room, and will follow up on this. We'd also like to follow up on the staff issue you mentioned, and will get in touch with you personally in order to get a bit more information, and to resolve this with you. Thanks in advance for your response! The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

I am very happy to have stayed in this hostel. The room was super clean, the staffs were excellent, the breakfast was good.... Only suggestion is to have more secure lockers, not the ones under the bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for your review! We will pass on your kind words to our staff, they love their jobs so it is nice that it's being appreciated! We are currently looking into more coin-operated lockers, that can be used aside the cages underneath the beds. Thanks again for your feedback! See you next time! The Flying Pig Downtown

91%

Great location, super nice staff, great parties at the bar, super complete breakfast and amazing smoking room! But some people did take my food from the kitchen and if you stay on the 1st floor like I did, you can hear all the noise from the bar. Anyways great hostel with very good price considering how expensive Amsterdam is!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you made the most out of our location. We're sorry to read that some guests have been so inconsiderate by taking your food, and hope this hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your review! The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

Great place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for your positive review! We are looking forward to your next visit! See you soon! The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

Coffee shop should be open 24hrs for the smokers.....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us! We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself with us. Just to clarify, we do not have a coffee shop in the hostel. Our smoking room though, is open 24 hours a day! So you can enjoy a good smoke anytime ;) Thanks again! The Flying Pig Downtown

54%

I expected a lot more from this hostel. Since I had received good reviews from other friends, so I prefered to spend more Money in this hostel than others, though it was a shame. Dirty place. If you are not in the vibe of smoking 24/7, there is no good atmosphere. Staff are more woried in having fun between each other than with their job. There were weird people in the room, gladly in the last day there was a very nice couple and we could enjoy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback about your stay with us. Your comments mean a lot to us as we can learn from them and improve ourselves for the future. We were disappointed to hear that your stay was not what you had expected it to be. We will contact you personally to find out a bit more about this. Thank you again. Piggie Management

86%

We stayed for two nights and had a great time at flying Pig Hostel. Pros: Very good Atmosphere. Bed was all right. Really Cool and relaxed feeling in the common areas. Easy to reach from the main station. All Main things are walkable from the Hostel. Cons: The Bathrooms are very small. But that's the same situation everywhere in Amsterdam ;) Cleaning could have been a bit better (but never really worse). The breakfast was all right for a hostel breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed our atmosphere! Indeed due to the nature of our building some rooms are oddly shaped. Thank you again and safe travels The Piggies

100%

This place was brilliant, 3 of us stayed in the 4 bed dorm it was really clean with our own shower & toilet, the smoking room is great if you dont want to be hounded by waitreses in the coffee shops to buy a drink every 5 mins you can smoke here in peace with good music an comfy seats. The bar is great aswell cheap drinks and they had a dj spinning the tunes all night. I'll be back

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for this great review! We are very happy to read that you had such a good time with us, and that you appreciated having a DJ in the bar, which, on a side note, is not there every night of the week. We like to change the atmosphere up a bit, so that it caters for all kinds of travelers. We'll look forward to your next visit! - The Pigs

100%

Hostel was great. The only thing I would say to sort is the doors to the bedrooms. The hinges need to be greased as everytime they are opened and closed the squeaking is extremely loud. Also would be a good idea to put in a slow closing system. The door bangs very loudly. It is really annoying when people have to leave early and others are sleeping.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for your feedback! We had been made aware of this issue in the room you were staying in, and have replaced the hinges and installed a slow closing system. We're sorry this wasn't the case earlier, and hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. We hope to see you again some other time! - Thanks! The Flying Pig Downtown

83%

Good hostel in a great position, friendly staff that are always there to help. Great atmosphere that always felt safe and welcoming, and secure lockers that were big enough for all of my belongings.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for your positive review! It's great to see that you appreciated our staff, and we'll pass on your kind words. We hope to see you again some day! - The Piggy family

91%

I would absolutely stay here again upon returning to Amsterdam. If you're looking for a place to meet fellow travelers with fantastic staff & cool vibes, stay here! Our room was in the basement area (queen bed) for 2 people - it smelt a little bit & had no windows looking outside (only windows that looked onto corridor) BUT very minimal time was spent in this room so no dramas & I am sure other rooms would be much better! Thanks to the Flying Pig for an all round great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for your lovely words! Great to hear that you had a great time with us! We hope to welcome you back some day! Cheers, The Piggies

91%

Wish the showers weren't such a hike away and had more hooks. It was tough to change into clothes without them getting wet. OTHERWISE IT WAS AN AMAZING HOSTEL!!!!!!

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some comments about your stay with us. Great that you found us an amazing hostel! Indeed the shower block for your 32 bed dorm is on the floor below you. Most of our rooms are en-suite, perhaps next time you stay with us you can chose to stay in a room with a bathroom inside :) Take care and happy travelling! The Piggies

97%

Perfect! To nitpick, would be nice to have the bongs in repair.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for your highly rated review! Piggie Bong Repairer..perhaps you have found your perfect job? ;) We hope to see you again someday! Take care! The Piggies

91%

Great hostel, top atmosphere the only thing that let it down was the price to stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! It's great to read that you thought we were a great hostel, and that you enjoyed our atmosphere. Amsterdam is a very expensive city, so we can certainly appreciate that you found us to be a bit pricey. We do always keep an eye out to make sure that we are still competitively priced, and we will take your feedback on board going forward. Thanks for the review! - The Piglets

97%

Aweome place and I will come back again next time I'm in town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks a lot for such a positive review, we'll be here and awaiting your return! :) See you next time! - The Piglets

80%

We stayed in the 32 double bed dorm which was not bad! It was great having personal lights and outlets for each bed, as well as private shelves and lockers. The bar area has great atmosphere and the hostel location is great. They put on a fun Christmas Eve trivia for all those far from home. Reception was very helpful in giving us directions. The breakfast was basic and the eating area could be improved upon, it was cramped and dark. I would stay here again. Good place to stay for budget travel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for your interesting review! It's great to read about all the things you enjoyed about your stay, and that you enjoyed our Christmas events. We appreciate your comment about our breakfast area, and will assess the situation in there, seeing if we can add some light and some seating space. Thanks again, you're helping us improve ourselves! - The Piglets

86%

The hostel was in a great location, staff were friendly and the pub in the entrance of the hostel was nice if you were not quiet ready to brave the cold. I really enjoyed our stay at the hostel and would recommend to others!

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for your positive review! We're pleased that you made the most out of our central location, and will pass on your compliments to our staff! Thanks for recommending us to others! Safe travels! - The Piggies

60%

The place has a nice atmosphere and the location is really a differental, but for the price I paid, I was expecting for much more.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our atmosphere, and that you made the most out of our central location. Amsterdam is a very expensive city, but we always try to make sure we are competitively priced. We will get in touch with you personally, in order to find out what else you would have expected from your experience with us. Thank in advance for the extra feedback! - The Piggies

100%

Absolutely the best hostel in Amsterdam and I've stayed in 3 different ones. The place was just super cool! It was inexpensive, the perfect location, breakfast was good, the bed was so comfortable, and we were in a 32 person room but it was sectioned off so you didn't feel like it was big at all. Plus sinks in the room and very clean facilities. Double thumbs up. Wish I had found this place for my first two trips!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Coming from someone who's stayed in several hostels in Amsterdam, we take this as a huge compliment! Thank you so much for your kind words, we'll look forward to your next trip to Amsterdam! - The Piggies

(201 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback