X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6434 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

LOVED this hostel. Will definitely be the hostel we come to on future trips to Amsterdam, Downtown. The location is easy to find from Amsterdam Centraal, and there is a market down the street. They have a kitchen you can cook in, they have huge lockers you can use if you are waiting for your room or later flight/train. It was a very clean hostel as well. They also have a smoke room and a deck, which they move the party inside around 9pm, so that the rooms nearby are not disturbed! Staff = A++++

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) WOW! Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are glad to hear that you made good use of our kitchen as well as our large hallway locker facilities after you checked out. Thank you for mentioning that we are a clean hostel, this means a lot to us as our staff work hard to keep it that way :) We will be sure to pass on to them that you think they are A++++ ;) They will love to hear this. Thanks again, we very much hope to see you again someday! Happy Travelling, The Piggies

97%

Good location, great bar prices,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to write a little bit about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and great bar prices! We hope to see you again someday! Happy Travels The Piggies

100%

My 5th time staying!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Great to hear that it was your 5th time staying with us! That is awesome to hear! We hope to welcome you back on your 6th! See you soon The Piggies

97%

Great hostel. The bar in the downstairs area was so awesome and I met a lot of super cool people this way. The rooms could get a little loud if the windows were open but really no complaints from this hostel. Best hostel I have stayed in so far!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us ;) We are happy that you met super cool people in our bar! We are extremely happy that you have named us the best hostel you have stayed in so far :D This makes us very proud and we very much hope that you will choose to come and stay with us again in the future Happy Travelling! The Piggies

97%

Ideal location. Lots of atmosphere. Free breakfast. Much more expensive than other hostels around Europe but I was upgraded to 4 room dorm from 6 room dorm 😃😃

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks so much for leaving a review about your stay :) We are happy to see that you enjoyed our central location and free breakfast. Great that we upgraded you for free to a 4 person dorm! We hope that you will stay with us again someday. Happy Travelling! The Piggies

97%

Amazing hostel. The staff were extremely helpful especially the Kiwi bloke. Great facilities and great to meet people. Easy location to get anywhere. Will be back

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us! We are happy to read that you thought were were an amazing hostel and that we have great facilities ;) Thanks for commenting on the staff being helpful and especially 'the kiwi boke' ;) We will be sure to pass on your kind words to him, he will love to hear this ;) We hope you will return to visit us some day in the future! Safe Travels The Piggies

66%

Due to the smoke room and bar which I personally dislike, I hardly venture out to meet and talk to people in the common area. The music from ground floor is too loud and I can hear very clearly well past midnight

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay.Your comments mean a lot to us as we can learn how to improve ourselves in the future. We are sorry to hear that you found the music loud past midnight. Indeed we have a closed bar which is open until 3am, but at this time the music must go down.We will ensure that we remind all of our bartenders about the music volume. We offer free earplugs to all of our guests at reception to try to help too. Safe Travels. Piggies

97%

Our stay at flying pig was great! It was the first hostel experience I have ever had. The rooms were clean and the showers were as well! The staff was friendly and very accommodating when we needed help with directions, random questions about the city or anything in between.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are happy to be your first hostel experience! We are very glad that you found the rooms and showers clean. Great that the staff were friendly and accommodating. They love their job and so love to help out with questions and directions! We very much hope to see you again one day! Happy travelling :) The Piggies

94%

Awesome hostel so many friendly people, especially the staff.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely things about your stay! We are very happy that you met lots of friendly guests and staff whilst you were here. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future! Safe Travels The Piggies

94%

Flying Pig Downtown was AWESOME! Probably the best located hostel in Amsterdam only a few steps away from the train station and the red light district. The staff was super helpful with questions we had about anything. Our room was also pretty clean, bathroom toilet was a little tiny for space but that's the ONLY downside. Will definitely come back here again, such a great experience.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there :) Wow! Thank you so much for such an amazing review! We are very happy to hear that you thought we were awesome and that the staff were super helpful with all your questions! Great to hear that you will definitely come back and stay with us in the future :) We look forward to it! Happy Travels The Piggies

97%

Excellent. Was surprised at how secure the hostel felt, even though we stayed in a 32-bed dorm. Bathrooms and rooms are cleaned regularly, so the bathrooms and toilets felt clean (even though there were so many people sharing). Staff are generally friendly and always helpful. The only down side was that we were staying on the ground floor right by the elevator, so were woken up at 4am by people coming in from a night out, but that was only one of the nights we were there.


94%

Excellent hospitality, all the staff are fantastic and helpful, more than we expected, would definitely go again and recommend it to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your stay. We are so happy to read that you found the staff fantastic and helpful! We will be sure to pass your kind words on to them...they love to hear this ;) We are glad to read that you will definitely return some day and recommend us to others :) Safe Travels The Piggies

71%

Flying Pigs Downtown is in a great location, literally a 3 min walk from Centraal Station. There's also a lot of cheap places to eat around the hostel also. The bar and smoking room are always lively and fun. Cheap drinks at the bar. However, it wasn't very clean and I found a couple of the staff members to be quite rude when my friend forgot her keycard. Apparently, you're also not allowed to bring outside friends in, not even to the lobby bar. I found that a little odd.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know a bit more about your stay. Your comments mean a lot to us as we can learn from them. We are happy to hear that you found the bar and smoking room fun and took advantage of our drinks specials. We indeed have a hotel license which means we are an over 18's hostel and only have a license for the guests staying with us. We will contact you personally to find out a little more about your experience. Safe Travels, The Piggies

80%

Very fun hostel and good to meet people. A little dirty but thats what you are to expect at a party hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for leaving a comment on your review, we can learn a lot from your experience with us. We are happy to hear you found the hostel fun and that you were able to meet people! We very much hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future! Happy Travelling, The Piggies

94%

Awesome place to stay. Central location, clean, great facilities, good staff. Smoke room is awesome. We will definitely be back to this place when in Amsterdam again.


89%

Staff and people are friendly and common areas are great. Was fearful of staying in the 32 bed dorm but it was better than expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) Thanks for commenting on your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our common areas and found that staff friendly :) We hope to see you again someday! Happy Travels The Piggies

94%

My stay at the Flying Pig was fantastic. The staff was really helpful and were always available. The smoking room was extremely cozy as well and a lot of the sites are within walking distance. Definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) Thank you for your lovelycomments! We are happy to hear you had a fantastic stay with us and found our smoking room cosy. We hope you will visit us again :) Happy Travelling The Piggies

83%

Pretty chill place. Be ready to smoke some weed.


89%

One of the pricier hostels no doubt due to its reputation. However the hostel bar wasn't nearly as loose/fun as I expected. It was VERY obvious who worked there and who didn't... As staff mingled with themselves only and rarely spoke to anyone just staying there. Smoking room was a massive convenience, especially when everywhere else closes. Helpful reception staff minus the male with the glasses who told me "I wouldn't be allowed back in if I forgot my key." Shut up idiot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Your comments are valuable to us as we can learn from them for the future. We were disappointed to hear about your encounter with one of our staff members. It is most certainly not our intention to come across in this way. We will contact you personally to find out more about this. Thanks and safe travels, The Piggies

100%

Best hostel I've ever been to and best hostel in Amsterdam. Great staff, facilities, and clean. Definitely worth the money! Hope to go back soon

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there WOW! Best hostel you have ever been to? This makes us blush ;) Thank you so much for your kind comments and taking the time to leave a review . We very much hope to see you again some day in the future! Happy Travels The Piggies

(176 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback