X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6378 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Atmosphere is amazing! Bar/smoke room is a great environment to meet people from all over the world. We are returning guests that hope to return again! We love the flying pig downtown!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay. We are happy to hear that you found the atmosphere amazing and met people from all over the world in our smoking room and bar. We hope to see you again soon too ;) Happy Travels, The Piggies

83%

Location was excellent! It's a good place to kick off getting to know Amsterdam. The staff were really helpful too. Tends to be a bit noisy at night though, but if you're in town for the nightlife, then Flying Pig's the right place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to fill out a review. We are happy to hear that you loved our central location and our helpful staff. We hope to see you again someday! Happy Travels. The Piggies

94%

Amazing hostel in heart of Amsterdam. Close to everything, smoking room was awesome, made it easy to meet people. Staff were friendly and helpful. Amazing wifi. Double bed bunk was surprisingly spacious and had great size locker. Free breakfast was one of the best, and great kitchen facilities. Only negatives that bathroom was not on the same level (bad after a big night) and room was connected to staff quarters (a bit messy). DEFINITELY recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We can learn a lot from your comments :) We are happy to hear that you found our smoking room awesome and that you met some cool people there! Great that you enjoyed our breakfast and found it one of the best! We are pleased to tell you that we are in the process of installing a new toilet block on the floor you stayed on :) Next time you come and visit us hopefully its all finished ;) Happy Travelling The Piggies

97%

I had a very good time in the Flying pig. The Staff were super friendly, the location very good, the breakfast very good, and the atmosphere in general is super cool. I met very fun people there. My only problem was the washroom in my room, it was a little smelly, so I used the washrooms and the showers on the basement.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. Its great to hear that you loved the breakfast and that you met a lot of fun people! We checked which room you stayed in and we will check immediately what is wrong in the bathroom, thanks for letting us know :) . We hope to see you again some day! Safe Travels. The Piggies

100%

Great hostel. Close to central station and not a far walk to the Jordaan area. The smoking room is tight. Best place to stay in Amsterdam for sure

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so happy to hear that you thought we are a great hostel and that you enjoyed how central our location is :) Thanks for saying that we are the best place to stay in Amsterdam! This makes us very happy :) We hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels. The Piggies

86%

Great hostel awesome location friendly staff.... Very big. Nice common area... Smoking room was so cool and chill... Loved my stay but for some reason my friends and I had to share a bed? There were four of us and none of us are dating so while it wasn't awkward bc we knew each other, it was a surprise. I didnt want to pay 37 euros a night to share a double bed even with a friend... Try and keep that for couples maybe ?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to write some comments on your review. We can learn a lot from your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our common areas to chill in :) We saw that you booked a Queensized bed, which means 2 people in 1 double bed with 2 duvets and 2 pillows. We offer this as an option for friends or couples who like to save a bit of money whilst travelling. Safe travels and we hope to see you again some day! Cheers, The Piggies

74%

Essentially a weed-hostel but hey, you're in Amsterdam so what else can you expect... It did have a fun here though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on your review. We really appreciate you feeding back to us about your stay. We are very happy to hear that you had fun with us! Indeed we do have a 24 hour smoking room and also a non smoking bar and chill out room if smoking isn't your thing :) We hope to see you again on your future travels :) Safe Travels The Piggies

100%

The Flying Pig is the best - stay here, you won't regret it. The facilities are clean and spacious. The bar and smoking room is a great area to meet people. It is in a really convenient location close to the train station. The breakfast in the morning is standard continental. The staff are really friendly. If you are looking for a chilled out weekend in Amsterdam it is a good place to be (I wouldn't describe it as a party hostel, maybe look at St Christophers if that is what you are interested)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you found the facilities clean and spacious and that you were able to meet other travellers in the smoking room and bar areas. We hope that you will visit us again next time you are in Amsterdam! Happy Travels The Piggies

94%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. People are great and the atmosphere is amazing. Every night the bar and smoking room is packed with friendly people all wanting to talk and share stories.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Best hostel you have ever stayed in?! Wow we like that title ;) We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and met lots of friendly travellers in our smoking room and bar. We hope to see you again in the future! Happy Travels The Piggies

91%

The Flying Pig was a great first stop! The location was prime and close to the station which was handy and the staff are super helpful, kind and accommodating as well :) Everything was well kept with a thorough cleaning of everywhere daily! Rooms were a decent size as was bedding and you had pretty much all facilities one could need including a filling breakfast :) All in all was a great hostel and would stay again/recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the amazing review. It is so great to read that you loved your stay with us. We hope to see you back some day :D Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

97%

Fantastic stay. Location was perfect. Staff and facilities were excellent. Would highly recommend. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We really appreciate this! It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Loved it here! Very friendly staff and super easy to meet people at the bar or smoking room. This hostel is located in the perfect part of Amsterdam as you can walk to most of the main attractions and smoke shops. Very close to the metro as well so easy to hop on and check out more of the city. Highly recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy to hear that you loved it here and were able to meet our friendly staff and other guests in the smoking room and bar! :) Thanks for saying that you would highly recommend us, we really appreciate this :) We hope that next time you are in Amsterdam that you will stay with us again :) Happy Travels The Piggies

89%

Great atmosphere in the bar/smoking area. Decent drink specials. I was travelling alone and met so many people at this hostel. Good location as the centraal station and major attractions are all within walking distance. Could get a little noisy at night. Overall good experience I would go back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the review. It is great to read you met so many nice people while staying with us. This makes us very happy! We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Was an awesome time, but my key card stopped working a lot and I kept having to go back to the receptions desk to reset it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the great review and thank you for mentioning about the key card. They are indeed super sensitive. Going into a shop where they have security gates can al ready deactivate them. We are in the process of changing key cards at the moment. We are really happy to read you still loved your stay with us! We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Great time, excellent staff and facilities. Lots of fun :-)

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! :) Thanks so much for leaving this lovely review! We are happy to hear that you had a great time staying with us and that you enjoyed the staff and the facilities! We are glad you had lots of fun here and hope that you will return in the future to visit us! Happy Travelling :) The Piggies

83%

I didnt like the location at all. Had a friend in flying pig uptown and ended up hanging out there. Stay at uptown if u can

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Indeed we have 2 locations, one is The Downtown which is located right by the Central Station and the other is The Uptown which is located next to the Vondelpark. This way we try to offer something for everyone :) Thanks and safe travels, The Piggies

89%

By far one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in. Awesome vibes, the staff members are really cool and super helpful. Rooms were big and clean. Nice place to come back to after a long day of traveling/ sightseeing/ getting stoned.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Wow, thanks so much for leaving such an amazing review about your stay with us! We are thrilled that you said we are by far one of the best hostels you have ever stayed in! This makes us very happy :) I will be sure to tell the staff members that you thought they were cool, they willlove to hear this ;) We hope that you will come back and stay with us soon! Happy Travelling! The Piggies

97%

This was my fourth time in the Flying pig hostel and it will not be the last. Again everything went smoothly with the booking, staff were 100%, the atmosphere perfect and above all location couldn't be better. I would live here if I could ;) Thanks again for making our stay perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for staying with us again. It is so great to read you love your stay with us over and over again. We hope to keep seeing you back soon again! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

83%

A great stay! Good location, yummy breakfast and excellent services as they even provides free ear plugs!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the nice review and for letting us know you loved our extended breakfast and the free earplugs. That is great to read! We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

80%

The location is great. I enjoyed staying in the smoking room where you can meet many people. The thing that I didn't like the safe boxes under the beds where they are not safe and mine wasn't easy to pull out. Also the hostel is overpriced during the weekend. when I checked out the staff asked me if I can donate the deposite of the key to charity or I will want it back which I didn't like how it sounded. they could easily put a charity box next to the counter. Everything else was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks so much for taking time to fill out a review about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our central location and met some new friends. We have lockers under every bed as well as a free safe at the reception desk for your valuables. We have found out which bed you stayed in and will make sure maintenance check the locker straight away. We support Team Margot which is a charity for stem cell research, please feel free to have a look on their website. Cheers!

(165 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback