X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6184 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of my favorite hostels, if not my favorite one. Just a 5 minute walk from Centraal Station, with lots of bars, food, coffeeshops, and the Red Light District nearby. Everyone I met was really cool and the smoking room is a nice add. The bar was also a nice place to hang out and meet other travelers. I would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Wauw! Favorite hostel! Thank you so much for the compliment :D It makes us blush a little bit. We are happy to hear you met nice people and enjoyed our specially designed smoking room. Come stay with us soon again! Happy travels. Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

You must stay at this Hostel if you like partying, meeting great people, having the best location (3minutes from the HBF) and if you want to have the best time in Amsterdam! The staff is amazing with suggestions, the place has a perfect atmosphere if you are with others or wanting to travel alone. The Wifi works great everywhere, the breakfast was amazing (eggs, actual fresh fruit like bananas, oranges, apples, toast, jam, nutella, butter, cereal etc.) The rooms and beds were very comfortable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your really nice review. We love to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

91%

Stay was great, unfortunately never made it up in time for breakfast so I can't rate the food but the the atmosphere and overall quality of the stay was beyond what I imagined. An excellent first trip to Amsterdam, will definitely be returning In the summer.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the nice review. It makes us proud to read your stay was beyond what you imagined :D We are sorry to hear you didn't catch breakfast but we are sure we will serve it to you soon ;) See you in the summer!! Cheers, the Flying Pig Downtown

89%

great location, friendly staff

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We really appreciate this :D We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in by far! The showers were incredible. There was always hot water available and everything was cleaned regularly. Also had a great breakfast included.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We really appreciate this :D We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

Awesome spot, great staff. Really fun atmopsphere in the hostel aswell would stay again in a second!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your really nice review. It is so great to read you scored us this high and absolutely amazing to see that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

One of the best hostel in my life..it was clean and next to the station and The Red line district. Smoking area was really particular, also if u were alone! If i will come Back there, i will reserve here, for sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wauw! Thank you so much for the amazing review. Best hostel in your life, thank you so much!! It is so great to read you enjoyed your stay and you would come back to stay with us next time :D We hope to see you soon again!! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

83%

Good hostel for partying in the downtown of Amsterdam: fun bar, chillin music, smoking room. It's located very close to the central train station which is fantastic. Beds are comfortable, good lockers under the beds and clean. The best part about The Flying Pig is their breakfast! It's included and delicious!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the nice review. We really appreciate this :D Thank you for mentioning the breakfast, we've been changing it a lot in the couple of months so it is great to read that our guests love our new and improved breakfast! We hope to see you back at the pig some day! Cheers, the Flying Pig Downtown

94%

Barely stayed there but seemed like a cool place. A little large and busy to meet people but the bar seemed cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your great ratings and letting us know about your stay. Hopefully you will stay with us a little bit longer next time ;) Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

97%

Great location, good accommodation, queen bunks in 16 bed dorm are not specified on Hostelworld so double check after booking. Atmosphere is very social but has space for privacy, overall the best choice when staying downtown.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it. It is really great to read you enjoyed your stay and gave us these high ratings. The queen-size bed are mentioned on Hostelworld as double beds. This is sometimes a bit confusing. We will contact Hostelworld to see if we can make it a little bit clearer. We hope to see you back one day and safe travels! Cheers, the Flying Pig Downtown

74%

Second time i stayed there. great location, okay everything else :)


97%

Great location. Very chill relaxing vibe. Smoke room was very cool. Happy Room was nice and wifi was good and strong

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for giving us these high ratings. It is really nice to read you loved the smoking room and the Happy Room :D We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

89%

Location is excellent! Near almost everything. It's also just a few minutes walk from the central station. Staff are nice and helpful. Breakfast was also great. They offered breads, jams, boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, juices and coffee; more than enough to fill you up. We were also provided cages under our beds so we can securely put our stuff there. Just be sure to bring your own padlock. The bar is an excellent place to meet fellow travelers and make some new friends. Cool place all in all!


100%

Everything awesome I definitely recommend the flying pig hostel to meet nice people and have fun

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for this nice review! We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

89%

great location, great staff, great atmosphere


71%

Comfortable hostel. Standard facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for leaving us a review! We really appreciate this. It is nice to read you had a comfortable stay. So learn more about your stay we will send you a personal email and see if you have any tips for us. We hope to hear from you soon! Happy travels. Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

Amazing. I travelled solo but it didn't feel like it as it's such a social place. I met so many awesome people and loved every second there :)

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the great ratings and review. This makes us very happy ;) It is really nice to read you met a lot of amazing people and you felt welcome as a solo traveler. We really aim to make every ones stay as great as possible so it is nice to read you loved it here. We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

94%

The pig is legendary - every traveller I met that had been to 'dam said I had to stay there. it's right in the middle of almost everything, has an amazing fun atmosphere (there was a great toga party) and comfy beds + good bathrooms. Pool table right in front, cheap drinks, and a smoking room in back. met a ton of fun people, met a special girl (the beds are kind of noisy, be considerate) and had the best time. Definitely recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the really great review. It is really nice to read you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and even met a special girl ;) We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

I have travelled the world and this has to be one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The location is fantastic, I used to live in Amsterdam so know where it is, but its 2 mins from central station. Security couldn't be better. The bar is good fun, good prices, great staff and they serve cheap pizza. Showers are very clean, powerful and hot. Theirs a seperate smoking room for smokes, you cant hear the bar from your dorm room. Highly recommended, enjoy amsterdam !

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wauw! Thank you so much for the amazing review! It makes us really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and consider us as one of the best hostels! This really makes us blush. We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

89%

Great hostel. I stayed at a 16 people bedroom but at no time I had the feeling like there were so many people. The only thing that was wrong, is that the staff put us in a double bed, so two persons sleeping together in a 1.5 person bed. And I bookend a double bunk bed.. Other then that, the bed was comfortable, bathrooms are new and clean, the staff is great, the bar and chill area is great! And the location is just perfect, if ever in A'Dam again I would come back. Also just one power plug!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is really nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We indeed have double bunk beds, this means that 2 people share the same 2 person bed. This is a nice way to safe a little bit of money as it is cheaper than 2 single beds. We are sorry this was not clear when you booked this bed. We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! save travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

(146 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback